This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mt Fuji Climbing Tour from Shinjuku Station with Optional Crater Tour

Overall Rating

4.56 4.56 / 5

Reviews

9 reviews
Post a review

Amazing experience!! A must do while visiting Japan!

Reviewed by: Kiko & Min, 2019/07/21

I don't know where to start this review except to say this is one of the most amazing experiences in Japan and I wouldn't suggest doing it any other way. I went with my friend and we had an absolutely amazing time. I would like to mention that even the directions about where the meeting location is was very clear. The bus ride was also more comfortable than we expected it to be. We were both a little worried about the hike as we are not too experienced. However, our guide was so kind and helpful and he kept making sure that everyone in our group was feeling okay and that we were all staying hydrated. Our guide was also very good at speaking English so we didn't feel left out at any point. He knew the answers to all of our questions about Mt. Fuji which kept us entertained throughout some of the tougher parts of the hike. We rented a bunch of gear which we highly recommend as it was a very smooth and convenient process to rent and return and the equipment was definitely necessary! I would definitely recommend bringing warm clothes and enough snacks and food as it can be quite expensive on the mountain, or bring enough money as you need to pay to use the toilets as well! The hot spring after the whole climbing experience was a very nice addition and made the trip that much more memorable! Overall, we loved the whole experience and highly recommend it as it was very professional and well-planned which helped ensure it to be a wonderful experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Unfortunate weather but really excellent guides

Reviewed by: Kent and Luc, 2019/07/19

So we didn’t summit due to unfortunate weather. The guides however were top notch. They took such good care of us. We were leading the pack and the guides always caught up to us to make sure we were ok and then went back down the mountain to help others. They even called ahead for us to let the mountain hut know we were coming so we wouldn’t wait in the pouring rain and blistering wind. When we came back down, the guides (Ken and Taichi) provided excellent directions. Later on I was caring a bag of trash around and he took it from me and got rid of it. It’s those little attention to detail that made us feel we want to come back and try again in the future. Ken and Taichi are the best. Thanks for taking such good care of us.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Challenging and rewarding

Reviewed by: S Williams, 2019/07/19

Climbing Fujisan was an unforgettable experience. It was a physical challenge and should not be taken lightly. The guides were excellent and took care of every member of the group. It may feel frustrating at times because the walking pace is slow with frequent breaks, but the guides are experienced and know that this is the best way to avoid altitude sickness. Take it easy and enjoy the experience!
Be prepared. It's VERY cold up the top. Take plenty of layers, wrap up warm to make sure you can enjoy the sunrise over Japan.
The trip was a good way of climbing Fujisan since everything was taken care of. The pick-up and drop-off from/to Tokyo was easy, the accommodation and food at 8th station was all arranged for us, and we knew that we were is safe hands with our guides.
The Onsen on the way back to Tokyo was a treat, and helped with recovery after a tough two days of climbing!
It was a very challenge but a very rewarding experience. And the views were spectacular.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Two days Mount Fuji Tour

Reviewed by: Stine and Ida, 2019/07/18

We had a really good trip with an amazing guide! The guide was really helpful, and we felt safe all the time we were climbing. We will definitely recommend this tour to others! The buses were on time, two hours in Onsen were included and the mountain hut was really cozy with good food.
We had an exceptional experience and a really funny time with a perfect group! Nothing negative to say about this company! Remember to bring warm clothes, rain jacket/trousers, good mood and cross your fingers for good luck!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Kyra, 2019/07/18

Was a great, well managed tour. Despite the weather, our guide was amazing and always checked in with everyone- he even carried two struggling ladies bags for the later part of the first day!
If your a vegetarian/vegan expect a hot but bland dinner of plain noodles with soy sauce

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable experience of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: Jenny Liu, 2019/07/18

We decided climbing Mt. Fuji was one of the must-do things in Japan. We booked with a guided tour with Veltra, which took a lot of the stress off of planning logistics (transportation, lodging, safety). The climb was difficult as we thought it would be, but the tour made things much easier as we had company and guides who were very knowledgeable about the mountain, including safety tips and sites with deeper spiritual meaning. The hike was difficult as expected, but the guides made things as painless as possible such as giving us breaks when needed and going at a decent pace. My favorite parts of the experience were seeing the beautiful sunrise at the top and learning about different aspects of the mountain that I would not have known going by myself. Mt. Fuji in Japan is a must and although challenging, you feel a sense of accomplishment reaching the summit. To top it all off, we were treated to a nice onsen afterwards. If you are thinking about going, I would bring enough snacks (they help rejuvenate you and make the hike less miserable), good hiking shoes, warm layers, and around 2 liters of water as well as enough money for the bathroom and food at the top. The guides gave us some gloves, which proved to be crucial as it is very cold and you do need your hands for climbing at some point. I would also consider investing in a hiking stick that you can buy at 5th station; it made the hike MUCH easier for me. All in all, Mt. Fuji was a memorable experience and I am so glad to have had company who made the hike more pleasant!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience

Reviewed by: Coco, 2019/07/17

This climbing tour is wonderful because I can step out of my comfort zone. I am not an active person with frequent exercises so this climbing tour is a challenge for me. The long-term walking and cold weather were required for me to overcome. However, with the support of professional tour guides, I went to the top of the Mt Fuji and enjoyed a good view of sunrise. Although the course was exhausting, the result is exciting and worth it. I enjoy this wonderful tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great hike and guide but with communication issues

Reviewed by: Jackie, 2019/07/11

The hike was great and the mountain guide Ken was outstanding. But there was an issue of communication on the before and after the hike. This was supposed to be an English-language tour but it was not really in English. I was lucky there was a Japanese lady in our group who speaks English and became my interpreter. Otherwise I would rate this tour 5.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Incredible Hiking Experience

Reviewed by: Zach, 2019/07/05

Hiking Mt. Fuji was one of the biggest highlights of my trip to Japan. The excursion was very well organized. The meeting location was easy to find and the trip to the rental shop and mountain were comfortable and reasonably quick. Once reaching the 5th station we were introduced to our guide Ikeda who gave us an hour to prepare for the hike. Ikeda was a terrific guide leading us up the mountain at a safe rate to prevent altitude sickness. Even though most of the hike was in rain it was still a lot of fun. I suggest either bringing proper rain gear or renting it if anyone decides to undertake the hike. Overall this is an experience that I would gladly undertake again.

  • Lucky picture of the sunset after the rain stopped

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]