Fantasy Kimono All Gender Photo Shoot and Makeover Experience in Tokyo reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Fantasy Kimono All Gender Photo Shoot and Makeover Experience in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.55 4.55 / 5

Reviews

11 reviews
Post a review

Definitely recommended

Reviewed by: Daremo, 2020/01/04

This is one thing that I'll definitely remember about my trip to Tokyo.

The activity itself began by finding the studio. It is well indicated, but since it's in the second floor of a small building, it's a little bit confusing.

Once the activity started, I could feel very welcome indeed. The studio itself was a very enjoyable place, full of incredibly gorgeous dresses, from kimonos to more traditional kinda-Rococó styled ones, including also other types of clothing items such as school uniforms, skirts, etc.

The lady at the studio was incredibly welcoming. At first, she introduced herself and asked about what kind of style I was thinking about, to find the correct coordination between dresses, makeup, wigs and accessories. One thing I had to do, though, was to shave again, since even a one day's stubble can bring the image down. This was not a problem, since she had on hand shaving utensils, including foam and one-use-only shavers.

Once the activity started, she had me put on the kimono underside, and we proceeded to the makeup & wig phase. She was very professional, but also quite nice to talk to her about the whole process. After I had makeup on, I had to choose the wig from a quite spectacular array of wigs of different lengths and colours. And, after that, we went to the main part of the event, the furisode kimono.

I had chosen the base package plus an extra kimono, so in total I wore two furisode kimono. These have very long sleeves, and are decorated quite lavishly, so they were a feast for the eyes. I ended up choosing one in pink and one in black & red, which were gorgeous!. She helped me put them on, all the while explaining their peculiarities and the way you're supposed to wear them.

The photos were also a highlight of the session. 50 were included, but she graciously ended up giving some more to me as a "bonus". She copied them to a memory card I provided.

All in all, I can only recommend this activity. You won't regret it!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/12/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Fun!

Reviewed by: Kari, 2019/12/13

Great fun & will definitely do this again! Staff was helpful and delight to work with!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/09/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Mikki, 2018/09/21

I had a wonderful experience at the Studio, I was travelling alone and had no issue finding the building.

The Owners are both kind and very welcoming to any body of any Gender, they can speak a little English, though it was a great opportunity for me to also practice a little of my broken Japanese Language skills.

I opted for a 2 Kimono Package, and ended up with many beautiful Photo's I hope I get opportunity to return again in the future as I would love to try some more of the Many Kimonos and outfits they have.

If you are fence bout booking just go for it you wont regret it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience & great memory of TOKYO

Reviewed by: petra, 2018/02/20

If was worth every cent and every second - I am so glad, I decided to book this experience. The studio is full of colourful, beautiful kimonos and the lady who arranges everything is such a charming person who really does a great job as make-up artist and also as photographer - she makes you feel and look gorgeous. The pictures I got are really special - where else should they be taken than in JAPAN? Great memories, highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/02/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderfull! A must do! Original experience!

Reviewed by: Mary Nolan , 2017/11/11

The owner of the business did everything from helping to pick out kimono, hair, make up a take the pictures. She is very talented and fast! Very hospitable and makes you feel comfortable as soon as you walk into the studio. There was also a lovely gentlemen that walked me back to to train station entrance. It is a bit hard to find once you are on the street but it is on the second floor of the building and you need to look for the address 8-23. If you come to Japan do this once in a lifetime experience. You will have beautiful pictures of yourself in traditional dress to remember your trip by!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful one of a kind experience!

Reviewed by: tigleous, 2017/08/13

I was expecting a staff of people working like an assembly line to prepare each client for their photo shoots. Instead, it's one amazing lady! She takes care of every detail: assisting and suggesting outfits, makeup, hair, posing the client, choosing the props, dressing the client, snapping the shots, and copying everything on a CD. The studio is small, and organized like a maze of dresses, kimonos, and accessories. She's not fluent in English, but she knows enough to get you to follow her instructions on posing. She has a great eye for what makes a photo beautiful, and that was exactly what I was looking for when considering the many companies providing makeover photo shoots. I will treasure my photos forever.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]