This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mt. Fuji Self-Guided Climbing Plan with Hut Lodging and Bus Transfers from Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.294.29 / 5

Reviews

14 reviews (Post a review)

Excellent value

Reviewed by: Bruske, 2018/07/11

I booked this at the last minute and was worried that I was going for too bare bones of a trip. It was actually great, and the price was just right. Taking the bus from Tokyo and staying at the hut would have cost me more than this tour cost, and this tour included two meals and a hot spring trip at the end. It was really great value, all organized online, and the bus was right where it was supposed to be in the morning and they had all my information. I'm very pleased with the trip I took, very pleased with the climb, and pleased that I saved a lot of money!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience

Reviewed by: Dave, 2018/07/09

I had a great time on the tour to Mt Fuji. The company delivered everything they promised. We weren't able to make it to the top due to a severe storm in the area during that time, but it was still a good trip and I'm glad to have that experience. I know what to expect for next time I climb Mt Fuji to ensure I make it to the top. The onsen after was very relaxing and rewarding.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Could not change sizes on the trekking shoes

Reviewed by: SAITO, 2017/09/15

The package itself was ok except for the fact that the trekking shoes that I rented did not fit correctly. I asked the people at the rental area and they told me that they did not have any other sizes available. The shoes had put a lot of pressure on both of my big toes making it very uncomfortable to hike especially during the descent. A couple of days later, my both of my big toes were black underneath my toenails. This could have been prevented had they had inventory at the 5th station.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fuji trip self guide

Reviewed by: Nguyen Ngan, 2017/09/09

Thank you so much for offering such kind of trip. In general, it was quite fine for me. However, i hope that you can offer us option for choosing the floor at hut. Because all of us are very tall and big. It was very difficult for us to stay at 1st floor at the hut. Thank you so much for all.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Joanna , 2017/09/04

The trip was very well organised. It was perfect! Thank you so much. I will recommend it to all friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

cooperative

Reviewed by: Sushil, 2017/08/29

Recommended ! Though the area provided to us in the hut was very less for 6 people. Others had better sleeping conditions.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best package for Mt fuji

Reviewed by: Bianca Leal, 2017/08/26

I lived in Okinawa and have finally booked my flight and hotel to climb Mt Fuji. I wanted to pay a third party provider for all the transportation, setting up the itinerary, reserving the huts at eighth station, making reservations for an onsen experience after (downfall, if you have tattoos you're not allowed in it) but they do allow you to shower in a hotel room just so you're at least able to wash yourself off after hiking up and down the mountain. This was the lowest priced package for hiking up the mountain. I was also looking at Willer Express, but they charge twice the amount of this package deal. This package was $231, for two people and it was self guided. I preferred this method because you go at your own pace which may be faster or slower than the others. I would definitely recommend this package to anyone who is about to hike it. Everyone was super friendly and there was no issues when we were given instructions on where to meet, what time, etc.





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fuji climb bus and lodge

Reviewed by: Adam, 2017/08/24

This was a great experience.

Through Veltra I was able to organize the return bus trip, lodging and equipment hire without being stuck in a group.

Highly recommended.


  • Beer break at 8th station

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

If you don't know Japanese, just be proactive

Reviewed by: Lawrence, 2017/08/19

I loved the free plan because me and my friends got to go at our own pace, which we needed since my friends are slow. Also the rental packages are no sham; everything is in good shape and everything came in handy, especially the rain jackets, head lights, and walking poles.

My hut staff were very nice and they served us our dinner at 10:30 though every one else was asleep. When I told the staff there my friend was vegetarian and couldn't eat the curry, they made her a special dinner with tofu and rice, again no additional charge.
Be aware the huts are not luxury hotels. You may be stuck between two strangers of the opposite sex on thin futons sharing a blanket. People are waking up and leaving every hour or so. Do not expect a good sleep. It's to escape the cold and lie down.

The summit was cold so bring layers. From the hut in the eighth station to the summit it was about three hours, but it slows near the top due to the traffic of climbers. The climb gets harder the closer you get, but not too bad.

They way back down is rough, 3-5 hours zig-zagging back down on terribly lose rocks and dirt on a steep slope. People are bumping into each other, falling. Some just sprint down. I say do what's comfortable for you.

Please donate 1000 yen at the sixth station. They need it to maintain the trails - if you don't donate to it, you have no right to complain about it. Also it's the honor system for most bathrooms, so please pay. Bathrooms, food, etc. get more expensive the higher you go, that's how it is.

This tour's pamphlets are not fully translated and directions are given in Japanese. It may be hard, but totally doable. Be proactive and friendly; people will help.

Also, the onsen was amazing on the muscles. We used a bandage for my friend's tattoo. You could still see it, but luckily no one kicked her out.

Overall amazing experience. I came, I climbed, I saw, I conquered, I never want to climb that mountain ever again.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Staff

Reviewed by: Meee, 2017/08/15

Everything was nicely planned. However the staff were a bit rude.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VIP Liner Mt Fuji Package

Reviewed by: Sherry Myers, 2017/08/15

Everything was great only thing I wish was that the staff spoke English. There were a lot of international travelers on the bus but the staff only spoke Japanese. It was hard to communicate. Other then that the staff was very friendly!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great place

Reviewed by: Fabricio , 2017/08/13

Climbing Mount Fuji was one of my best experiences in Japan. Finding the bus to go to 5th station and then to leave 5th station was a little difficult. Even though the booking can be done in an website in English, you need to be able to understand Japanese to board the right bus and understand the tickets because everything was printed in Japanese only. If there is a delay, it may get worse, and you need to guess things. Luckily my partner speaks Japanese well. The company provides 2 phone numbers so you can contact them, but whenever we tried to talk to them, those phones never worked. The onsen is nice, but its picture in the booking page is misleading: I couldn't see any lake from the onsen. This tour is really self -guided. You're on own all the time.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Fuji self-guided climbing package

Reviewed by: Johnny, 2017/08/12

This package was perfect for me. Everything was in order and on schedule. Great experience. Highly recommended.



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt. Fuji solo climber

Reviewed by: Gargi Joshi, 2017/08/12

Climbing Mt. Fuji was a dream. With the bus transfers and mountain hut booking taken care of, I could completely focus on the day ahead. Made good friends on the tour.
It was unbelievably awesome !!




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories