Mt. Fuji and Hakone Panoramic Tour from Tokyo reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mt. Fuji and Hakone Panoramic Tour from Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.42 4.42 / 5

Reviews

19 reviews
Post a review

Mt Fuji and Hakone Panoramic tour

Reviewed by: Cath, 2019/04/02

The tour guide, Shin, was excellent, I would recommend this tour. The highlight for me was the pagoda and view of Mt Fuji. We were a little early for cherry blossoms, as they bloom later there than Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour, but hope for good weather

Reviewed by: Michal Golinski, 2019/04/02

This tour was very professionally run, and our guide on the day, Shin, was extremely helpful and willing to do anything on the day to make our experience better.
So the organisionation, coach driving and guides cannot be faulted.
I attended the tour on 31 March 2019. The weather started off a little bit cloudy, but come afternoon it was nice and sunny and generally clear skies, which make it all worth it.

Some advice for potential customers -
1. If you’re wanting to get the classic Japan photo with Fuji, Chureito Pagoda and cherry blossoms, you’ll have to wait till around mid April because the blossoms are about 2-3 weeks behind Tokyo (because of altitude and cooler weather).
2. Let’s face it, you’re going on this trip for the views. Unfortunately that is in the lap of the gods, so check the weather beforehand, and reschedule if you can. If you don’t get done weather, then the trip is basically worthless.

Some advice for the tour organisers/planners:
1. At Hakone, perhaps a better alternative is to go on the rope way to Mount Hakone rather than Owakudani Valley. Much better views from Mt Hakone.
2. A bit of a tough one with the lunch arrangements - the Fuji Q activity is worth it, but apart from that, I wonder if there’s a better way to have lunch, rather than at the amusement park, because it did take up a bit of time for not much return.
3. The highlight is definitely Arakurayama Sengen Park, so there needs to be more time there (weather pending of course). Perhaps a shorter lunch somewhere else would permit this.

Overall I’m very happy with the trip, because we had great weather, the organisation and guide on the day couldn’t be faulted, just perhaps a couple of itinerary tweaks would turn in into an amazing tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was really great experience

Reviewed by: KAZ, 2019/03/30

The trip is very good opportunity to see neighborhood of Tokyo , beautiful nature and stunning views. The guide was very helpful and gave us interesting news about the places we saw and also have us tips what to see in Tokyo. Unless was a bit disappointed we haven’t see Mt Fuji very well. Usually it’s visible when you are really lucky, and we went with expectation to see what’s the pictures show :-). I do recomend this trip for who are tired to be in big city and wants to connect with a nature

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AmaZing tour

Reviewed by: Mark, 2019/03/30

Hiro was an amazing guide. The whole trip was perfect except for the clouds covering mt fuji and sakura not yet full blown but these are out of our control so all good. Only 7 of us in the bus so we were able to interact and make friends. Great day and tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My Fuji and Hakone Panoramic tour with view from Chureito Pagoda.

Reviewed by: RoxC, 2019/03/26

Meeting point was at the Keio Plaza hotel for a 8am departure.Yoko was our guide and we were lucky to have a small group of 9.yoko did a great job with her explanations and kept us well informed.
Well organized, great views. Unfortunately no cherry blossom blooms March 24th.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt. Fuji and Hakone Panoramic tour form tokyo

Reviewed by: MANOJ, 2019/03/11

The bus to Mt. Fuji departed on Tim at 8am. The guide name Taka was very helpful and gentle person. Explain everything about Hakone and Mt. Fuji in detail.. Also suggest that we should take Mt. Fuji walking trip to summit. The best part was we had a very clear view of Mt. Fuji all day. This is very rare.
Sunrise travel staff was amazingly very helpful
Driver of the bus was also good.
This company is highly professional. Must use their services in the future trips to Japan. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was a very nice trip!!!

Reviewed by: Rudaski, 2018/04/28

The itinerary was perfectly organized. We could visited all the important and interesting places(Mt.Fuji, Fuji Q panorama, and Hakone) in one day which would be hard to organize indivisually. The view from the shrine of Mt.Fuji with sakura was priceless and was definitely worth the trip. I didnt have a high expectation on the 3D panorama view at Fuji Q, but it was surprisingly good and fun. It seemed like a popular attraction that there was a long queue for individual visitors. We could enter without waiting thanks to the tour. Unfortunately, we had a bad weather in Hakone so instead of the ropeway we went to the art museum of Japanese paintings. They had a nice collections and the view from there could have been awesome if the rain hadn't been too strong. But overall we were very happy to visit all those places. Our guide was also very friendly and fun to travel with. Thank you!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt. Fuji

Reviewed by: MCB, 2018/04/22

It was a good experience and very organized activity. Our tour guide was really kind and entertaining, she gave us a lot of information about the surroundings on the way to Mt. Fuji and was singing songs too. I would recommend this activity for tourists who love to see nature. The weather was perfect on the day of the tour so we were lucky to see the entire view of Mt. Fuji. I suggest that there should have more time in Mt. Fuji as it took us time to climb up to the pagoda and a little time to take a photo. We spent a lot of time in Fuji Q, but there is nothing much to do in there so I think it would be better to have more time in Mt. Fuji. Although the 4D ride in Mt. Fuji was really fun and very realistic. I would hughly recommend this activity.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING TOUR

Reviewed by: Jerlin, 2018/04/18

Tour guide toshi was really nice and he speaks good english and of course he have good background knowledge of the different destination.

he was willing to help his guest with whatever they needed.

we visited mt. fuji and hakone, it was really memorable.

would advise to others to go on this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

4 in 1 Fun Tour!

Reviewed by: Celeste, 2018/04/11

If there was a VERY GOOD rating then I’d have chosen that! :)
It was a fun tour for me and my sister as we really wanted to experience Japan’s popular sights especially for spring season: Cherry blossoms and Fuji-san plus the pagoda with Hakone ropeway and Fuji-Q Airways 4D attraction which was so cool!
We started off promptly at scheduled time (pick up 9:50am at Keio Hotel) and our tour guide Ms. Hiro-san was very informative and particularly reminded us to be punctual and observe itinerary schedule. Our first stop was Arakurayama where we were greeted with cherry blossom trees! We really smiled seeing that coz it was what we came for! Then we climbed 400 steps to get to the pagoda and got a fantastic view of Fuji-san standing tall, carpeted with cherry blossoms and the magnificent pagoda on the right side! Awesome view indeed!
Next stop was the ultra fun Fuji-Q Airways attraction where we were able to view Mt. Fuji in different seasons and angles, even at the top of the crater! Super cool!
Then we went on to Hakone for the ropeway experience and view Fuji and lake Ashi from the air but the cable car window wasn’t clear enough to take good pictures. :( it would’ve been a very nice view of the lake and Fuji.
That ended the tour and our bus took us back to Shinjuku station.

Overall, it was a very nice experience and I am sure to recommend this to my other friends who
have plans to visit Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Clarice, 2018/04/09

We were slightly late at the beginning of the day which worried us alot . But we manage to make it with help of the staff. The tour guide was really friendly and engaged us really well.

We got really lucky and visited on a clear day which we could Mt. Fuji really clearly. It wad really beautiful and view of the Pagoda with the Mount Fuji on the background was AMAZING.

Then we headed to the Fuji-Q, the food was rather disappointing, and it would have been better if we could get fast pass for some rides. Because the rides look really good.

The tour ended with a ropeway ride to Owakudani Valley, which was an interesting experience

Overall it’s a good memory for a day tour surrounding Mt. Fuji and well-organised tour, will definitely visit again and recommend to my friends!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Mt Fuji one day trip experience!

Reviewed by: Wan Xin, 2018/04/06

Glad to participate in this memorable tour. The amazing Mt. Fuji from shiogama shrine and cherry blossom view at Arakurayama Sengen Park is fascinating. Lucky to have the weather favourable to us in the morning, we are able to capture some clear Mt Fuji photograph. By the way, It’s advisable to check the weather forecast before selecting for the tour date.

Fuji airway is a real fun, amazing 4D experience especially for family and kids.

Unfortunately in the afternoon the weather is not favourable to us and we are forced to cease the Hakone rope way but the tour guide never let us down by replacing it with an interesting ship tour on the hakone lake to have some lake view on the Hakone shrine.

The participants are recommended to be cooperate with the tour guide and the tour members to follow time strictly in order not to delay the schedule.

Overall it’s a good memory for a day tour surrounding Mt. Fuji, will definitely visit again and recommend to My friends!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing view of Mount Fuji but...

Reviewed by: HBryant, 2018/04/04

The tour was fairly well organised, but there could be some improvements. We had a lovely tour guide who spoke constantly throughout the trip giving us information about Japan. The 398 steps to the viewing point wasn't an issue at all - quite fun to walk up. And the weather was great and the view was amazing. exactly as you see on the pictures. There are more steps past the Pagoda too.

I think we were quite rushed at the start of the trip and then we drove to the local theme park where we had lunch, the theme park may be suitable for children, but I didn't think it was a great place to stop for lunch or to spend so much time and in summer would probably be super busy and unbearable. We then went to the Hakone ropeway which was ok, but not amazing and probably would have been better if we'd been able to see Mount Fuji - but that was the bad weather that prevented that.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Beautiful Day

Reviewed by: Cherry, 2018/04/04

My kids-age 7 and 10, my sister and myself went on this tour on 03/25/18. The meeting location is Keio Hotel, which is just about 5 minutes walk from the Shinjuku train station’s west exit through the underground walkway.

Checking in for the tour was a breeze and the tour left on time. Our tour guide Keiko was very friendly and welcoming. She laid out our itinerary for the day. She made sure everyone knew what was expected- the time allocated on each stop, meeting time and location. It made the trip go smoothly. She had trivias about Japan and even sung in Japanese and English a beautiful song about Mt. Fuji. She went over and beyond-she assisted us in getting our food during lunch and she gave each group on our tour direction on how to get home from the hotel. She made sure the kids were entertained when we were delayed getting back due to an accident on the highway.

We couldn't have asked for a more perfect day. Mt. Fuji showed its magnificent self the whole day. The first stop was Arakurayama Sengen Park. We had to hike to the park from where the tour bus parked. This took about 10 minutes, then climbed 50 steps of stairs to reach the first observation site. We had to climb another 398 steps to see the pagoda. If you are able to do the climb, the view is worth it!

The second stop is at Fuji Q Highland, where we stopped for lunch. After lunch we rode the Fuji Airways attraction, a virtual flight. For people travelling with kids: this ride is for 4 years old and up. My 7 year old wasn’t sure about going on this ride but ended up loving it and wanting to do it again.

Our last stop was at the Hakone Ropeway to ride the gondola to Owakudani, a volcanic valley where you can see active sulphur vents and get the famous black eggs. You can see a beautiful view of the lake from up high. We just had enough time to hike to the viewing deck to see the sulphur vents and take some pictures.

We had a great tour and enjoyed the day!




Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: MAT, 2018/04/03

We started the tour by checking into Keio hotel. The staff there was helpful and very friendly. The bus was a two hour drive with commentary on landmarks and Japanese history along the way from our lovely tour guide, Mary, whose English was great and easy to understand.

Highlight of the morning was the view from the pagoda. Slightly overcrowded as most things are in Japan but was still pretty spectacular seeing Mt Fuji “dressed in a white kimono” from where we were standing. It was slightly hot so recommend to leave your jackets at the bus or the info desk at the foot of the pagoda can also look after your coats for you, which was really great so we didn’t have to carry our coats up the many steps.

The second half of the trip, our amazing tour guide Mary took us to have lunch at Fuji-Q Highlands. Mary was flexible in giving us the options to either watch the virtual ride theatre or to have a look around at the theme park. Walking around in the theme park was an enjoyable experience.

The tour ended with a ropeway ride to Owakudani Valley, which was an interesting and lovely experience seeing the volcano steam and eating the famous black egg.

Overall the tour was a wonderful experience and would recommend Veltra to my friends and families.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best tour package for all types of travelers

Reviewed by: Tokyo Traveler, 2018/04/03

Booking a tour package with Veltra was the best decision we made for our trip to Japan. Despite some misunderstanding with booking amendments, we still had a great time. Everything was perfect, from the meet up at the hotel up to the drop off by the end of the tour.

Our tour guide, Mary, was amazing and very accommodating. She maintained a cheerful and positive attitude all throughout the tour. The ride was comfortable and it helped that there was free wifi on board.

The view of Mt. Fuji on top of Arakurayama Sengen Park was breathtaking! Lunch at Fuji-Q Highlands and the virtual ride attraction were impressive. Then finally the ropeway ride to Owakudani Valley was an incredible experience. We were very satisfied with the tour and believe we got more than our money's worth. Will definitely book with Veltra again on our future travels.

  • View of Mt. Fuji from Arakurayama Sengen Park

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A comfortable, hassle free and beautiful spring break experience touring to 5 storey pagoda witth Mt Fuji on the background and Hakone Owakudani Panoramic area in Motor coach with a knowledgable, pleasant english speaking tour guide.

Reviewed by: Menchu, 2018/04/02

Our tour starts by checking in at Keio Plaza Hotel main tower on the third floor. The Hotel is very easy to locate so you will never miss it. There are staff guiding us where to check in. The check in was a breeze since there is a lot of staff that helps us and with our questions. Our guide was Michiko, she very accommodating and a little bit funny. We first stop at Arakurayama Sengen Park to see the 5 storey pagoda, if you cannot climb in a 397 steps stairs you will miss an awesome view of the Pagoda with the Mount Fuji on the background. It was a little hazy but still we were able to see the beautiful snow covered tip Mount Fuji. Then we went to Fuji-Q Highland, we did not explore the park much since we were very hungry, the lunch was fine but not so great. We had ramen and odun , a typical food on a food court, we thought it would be in a restaurant. We love the Fuji airways virtual ride, we think it was so cool viewing Mount Fuji up close and seeing it with different seasons of the year, my son sould not stop talking about it. After then we went to ride a cable car through Hakone Ropeway, the ride was nice , we were able to see Lake Ashi. We stop and got off at the second station. Michiko our guide told the story about the place, we enjoyed the view and we spent shopping some black eggs and souvenirs in shop. After then we were given an option to be dropped off to Odawara train station or go back to Tokyo through Motor coach, since we have Japn rail pass we opt to ride the shinkansen and avoided the long expected traffic gong backvto Tokyo. All in all my husband, my son and I enjoyed this tour. It’s very convenient and our tour guide Michiko speaks english very well, she keep us up to date with what to expect next. Our driver is very quiet but nice. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour to my family and friends. Although we were not able to see Mt Fuji very clearly, the weather was perfect. I think we will go back and visit again on a different season.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect combination - Great experience

Reviewed by: Andy K, 2018/03/28

Keynote: sight seeing combined with: a little bit activity action and fascinating pictures. Our advantages: good weather, only 4 participants, great guide Mika!

First starting at 8.50 am, meeting point easy to find, no problems with rush hour. Good organization of check-in.

First stop at Arakura Sengen Shrine: 400-500 steps to reach the great viewing spot for mount fuji

Second stop at fuji q highland: lunch (fine, good, nothing special), two restaurants with 3 options of Food available, only water included

3. stop (direct after lunch) virtual fuji flight - really amazing!

4. stop at lake ashi and rope car transport to Hakone top and Owakudani- only watching hot springs from distance because of the wind- but great pictures. Mika organized everything perfectly, also ‚the‘ eggs for testing. We did not do hakone shrine as described.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun experience, great value!

Reviewed by: Mai H., 2018/03/20

Our tour guide was both informative and funny. He made sure we were aware of Japanese history and provided good background information on various Japanese structures and landmarks.

Make sure you are dressed appropriately - our group went early March and the weather was still COLD. I didn't feel prepared for the weather, thus the 4 star versus 5 star rating - it made it difficult to enjoy the trip. Also, bring snacks if you tend to get hungry, there is one stop for lunch at the amusement park and that's about half way into the trip itself (roughly 2.5 hours).

Also, there isn't a lot of time to look around (shop, etc) so make sure you are aware of the time.

Lunch was only okay. The line at the amusement park was extremely long when we went (students on Spring Break) so make sure you put in your order into the vending machines early.

Overall, it was a great experience. We didn't get to see Mt. Fuji due to cloud coverage and it wasn't quite cherry blossom season yet (we were 1 week too early!) but this excursion was still worth it considering all the activities we got to participate in!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]