(All Reviews) Kyoto (Top Day Trips from Tokyo), Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Kyoto in Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.30 4.30 / 5

Reviews

46 reviews

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Beautiful and Historic Kyoto

Reviewed by: Laura M., 2016/04/22

This is a fantastic tour for people who are staying in Tokyo but want to see Kyoto. Because of scheduling, we were unable to stay outside of Tokyo but this allowed us to travel to Kyoto and experience its beauty. The bullet train tickets arrived at our hotel with instructions on how to get from Tokyo to Kyoto. We had no problems at all and the bullet train was a great experience in itself. Once we got to Kyoto, we simply followed the map to our meet-up. The morning tour was fabulous and we were able to see many sights such as Kinkaku-ji and Nijo Castle with a guided tour. Our tour guide was fabulous and helped us understand more about the culture in Kyoto. After the tour, lunch and the afternoon were free. We spent the evening at Kiyomizu-dera but there were so many options to explore with a free afternoon that one could do almost anything in Kyoto before needing to return to the train station. We had no problem getting back to Tokyo at the end of the day. I would definitely recommend making the time in your schedule for this tour if you are staying in Tokyo. It was an amazing experience.

  • Kiyomizu-dera in the afternoon

  • Kinkaku-ji in the morning

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/10/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Maximized and very educational tour

Reviewed by: Meluvli, 2019/03/03

I booked our Kyoto tour for my mom and me 2 days before the date. The process was simple and instant confirmation was received. Meet up place was very easy to find. The tour was smooth and very professional. We were escorted to the bullet train. In Kyoto we had a western lunch in a hotel, it was impressive as it has a buffet appetizers, desserts, pastries and the main course was a steak. Everything was prompt and went very smooth. Our tour guide is very professional and seems like she was a history teacher during her younger years. She keeps track of everyone in the group and she’s always on top of the pacing of tge tour. The temples that we went to were well chosen there are really a lot of things to learn about Kyoto and wished that we had more time to enjoy the rich culture and tradition. I am glad that I was able to come across this tour. And will highly recommend this tour to my family and friends. Will definitely avail of the other packages especially a longer KYOTO tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Fantastic Experience

Reviewed by: Parker, 2019/04/09

This was an absolutely fantastic experience from start to finish. I was able to travel from Tokyo to Kyoto quickly and easily and thoroughly enjoyed the logistics of the entire tour. Everything was set up and led very well making this trip unforgettable. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone interested in seeing as much of Kyoto as possible in one day. The only constructive comment was the AVANTI desk was relatively difficult to find. It would be great to include more detailed directions from Kyoto station to the desk. Thank you Veltra and thank you AVANTI!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Really easy, enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: Erin, 2016/03/16

The tour was great and really easy for two people with school-level Japanese skills. We caught the shinkansen from Tokyo without any problems and found the tour desk easily in Kyoto.
Our tour guide was lovely, spoke good English and had a good sense of humour.
We had picked this tour specifically so we could do our own thing and visit other specific temples/shrines in the afternoon, so finishing back at Kyoto station around lunchtime made this achievable.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/02/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Seemless Tour

Reviewed by: Solo Traveler , 2018/09/25

I experienced this tour as a solo traveler, and it was the best decision I’ve made. When I got to My hotel in Japan, my Shinkansen Tickets were already there. Having the afternoon all to myself allowed my to explore more of Kyoto on my own terms, such as Bamboo Grove, Tenryuji Temple, and Fushimi Inari before catching the Shinkansen back to my hotel. Only downside is the places this tour takes you are very crowded, but it’s not the company’s fault.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Kyoto Day Trip

Reviewed by: Robert M., 2017/11/08

Outstanding visit to the imperial palace , shrine and temple which included a decent lunch. The tour staff were extremely helpful and professional. I will definitely use this tour company in the future for other visits. Good value for the money too. :)

Comments from activity operators

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your comment. We look forward to your next participation.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Kyoto trip

Reviewed by: Deepak Thakur, 2017/11/25

We had a great time. Very accommodating, helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff. We'd go with Veltra again and again. We'd booked on the morning tour only but were able to get the afternoon trip so we could use the full day sightseeing at Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Reviewed by: Xavier, 2015/08/12

Kyoto is beautiful. The tour was very good and the guide was wonderful.

The bullet train is great, was able to visit many cities from Tokyo. Would recommend anyone visiting Tokyo to take a trip to Nara, Nikko and Universal Studios in Osaka too.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Kyoto morning tour.

Reviewed by: Mietek, 2017/05/07

Very well organized. Our guide Caiko and our driver were excellent. I would recommend this tour to all.
Great tour of Kyoto with free time to explore
Having the afternoon off to explore was a great way to relax in a new city.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/04

Kyoto is really worth visiting, if you're pressed for time, I recommend this tour. Excellent overview, top must-see temples are visited. Of course, if you have more than a day, take the 3 days or more - there is so much to see.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Reviewed by: Michael, 2017/06/25

Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend this package. Yuki was our guide and she was amazing. We went to 3 temples/shrines on the one day tour. I did the one day trip - it is a long day but a wonderful experience

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Excellent GUide

Reviewed by: Rajeshwari, 2015/10/28

I was on bus No. 1 and the tour guide was very enterprising and made the tour a memorable experience. well managed and well done by the guide, forgot his name hope you figure that out and reward him suitably.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Great tour of Kyoto with free time to explore

Reviewed by: Aaron, 2017/01/26

Tour was excellent and easy to manage. Good points of interest and great guide. We didn't go for the meal but I would recommend it. Having the afternoon off to explore was a great way to relax in a new city.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2016/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Good Value

Reviewed by: From Las Vegas, 2015/05/01

We had transportation on the Bullet Train Nozomi from Tokyo so the tour was an excellent value. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. Also Veltra's explanation of the tour was spot on.

  • Imperial Palace

  • Nijo Castle

  • Kinkaku-ji Temple

  • The Shinkansen Train

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/04/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Kyoto day trip

Reviewed by: Kim, 2018/05/19

Super easy. Thank you for making it easy to preplan a lovely day of morning tours in Kyoto and the experience on the bullet train was exciting. It was nice having our all fine prior to travel.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Reviewed by: Theresa Mae, 2015/08/11

Loved seeing the highlights of the Kyoto area! Must do!

Worth to look into visiting Nara, Osaka and other cities as well if you have time - very accessible by bullet train!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Very good Guide

Reviewed by: Sympathie , 2019/04/27

Very good Guide
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
All very good
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Reviewed by: Mads, 2015/08/14

This day trip from Tokyo to Kyoto is highly recommended. The guide was excellent and the tour overall was an amazing experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Great Tour and Great Value

Reviewed by: Rick, 2018/03/26

Totally worth it. Kyoto is a must see. Bus tour in the morning to 3 spots with guide and the whole afternoon to explore.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/02/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Kyoto is beautiful

Reviewed by: Tarsila Felix, 2017/05/08

Kyoto is super interesting historically speaking and very different from the actual Tokyo, so very worth the day trip!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

One Day Kyoto Premium Sightseeing Tour from Tokyo by Shinkansen Bullet Train

Kyoto

Reviewed by: Allenb, 2015/04/25

Excellent tour. The guides spoke good English, the food was good and the shrines visited were very interesting.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2015/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Tour of Kyoto

Reviewed by: Terri, 2015/11/06

I enjoyed the tour and also the free time at the conclusion of the tour before the train ride back to Tokyo

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2015/10/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Excellent trip

Reviewed by: Anuj, 2018/04/28

Trip was excellent and well organised.
recommend other to book both morning as well as afternoon trip.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Great trip

Reviewed by: Rao, 2017/04/17

Very well organized. Our guide Taka and our driver were excellent. I would recommend this tour to all

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Thank you

Reviewed by: Tatiana , 2016/03/31

Our tour was great! I wish we saw more of Kyoto. Our guide was very knowledgeable

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2016/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Kyoto 1 day bullet train from Tokyo

Reviewed by: Oca, 2017/04/18

if you need to visit Kyoto in 1 day from Tokyo this is the tour for you. Best price too its like the half day tour of Kyoto its free vs getting the tickets on your own. I wish the the bullet train comming back was 7pm and not 8:35pm. do yourself a favor and call Sunrise tours or go to their website (the company giving the morning half day tour) and reserve either the Kyoto afternoon tour ($5900JPY)or even better the Nara afternoon tour($7400JPY) so you dont have to wait 8.5 hours for the train back or try to figure out what to visit and spend a fortune in taxi. I added the afternoon tour and visited additional 3 beautiful temples Heian Jingu shrine, sanjusangendo and Kiyomizudera being the last the most impresive 5 story temple. If you go to Nara instead you will see the Great Budda in the Todaji temple. Ask the guide to leave you in the Kyoto train station they will do so dont need to pay taxi to go back I did had to wait 3 hours for the 8:35 train (but much better than waiting 8.5 hours) if you go to Nara I suppose you will spend 1 more hour comming back to wait 2 hours thats what I think if the bullet train tickets were at 7pm would be perfect for either additional tour. Notice the company also offers a night tour but dont reserve if you are taking the bullet train, wont make it on time (the company could instead give bullet train tickets for later in that case so they can sell you the night tour?) -would be nice but even the way its currently set (and you adding the afternoon tour or Nara) makes it perfect.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Great for young able-bodied individuals!

Reviewed by: Meiling, 2018/04/01

We participated in the morning tour of Kyoto. We really enjoyed our guide. She was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. The places we went were very good choices! The tour was very fast though. It would've been great with an extra half hour or so at each location. At Nijo castle, our guide did a great job of keeping the group moving and being very informative. We had about 15 minutes of free time to explore, I wish we had slightly more time but this was the least rushed stop of them all. The other two stops were extremely fast and we didn't get to explore as much as we had hoped. A lot of people on the tour were lagging behind and I'm sure they didn't get as much from the experience as we did. I would highly recommend booking this tour if you are in your 20-30s and able to walk fast and keep up with the guide. Most of the people lagging behind were in their 40-60s and barely got to the spot where the group was before the guide stopped talking and moved to the next location. It is a very fast tour and would not be for people who like to take their time. The value for the price was good though since round trip bullet train tickets are essentially the same as this tour + roundtrip tickets. The tour guides are great, but the actual tour is very cramped for time. If the tour was longer I'm sure this experience would get 5 stars! This is a very tourist heavy city as most of the people you'll see are tourists. If you're looking for a more authentic Japanese experience this is not the tour.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Full day Kyoto trip with 4 hour freetime revirw

Reviewed by: Mclovin Japan, 2018/11/11

First of all, the sites that you will visit are outstanding and impressive. All of these are well worth seeing. The negative is that we only spent 15 to 30 minutes at each site. The group felt incredibly rushed. Spending at least 45 minutes (more at the imperial palace) would be helpful.
The complaint is that the trip description did not tell us that the 4 hour free time is "complete" freedom. The option was to be left ar the imperial palace or take a bus ride back to the train station. We opted to stay at the palace to get a better look. We then hailed a taxi and spent the rest of the day at Fushimi Inari-taisha (must see). Luckily there was a train station right in front of Fushimi Inari-taisha that got us back to the train station. All worked out fine but would inform to take extra money for the taxi.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Be careful, a long day with a lot of unstructured time awaits.

Reviewed by: Marie, 2014/09/21

First off the tour element of our tour was highly enjoyable, but short as we elected to have half a day guided. The locations visited were all interesting and beautiful, and the tour guide made sure we had all the information well and truly drummed in.
Afterwards we had 8 hours to kill in Kyoto, which we hadn't really planned for, in a heat and humidity we hadn't planned for either.
We made an enjoyable day of wandering shopping districts and finding many small temples, but had we not been so easy-going this day could have been a disaster. Either go prepared, or book in for the full day.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2014/09/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto Full Day Trip by Bullet Train from Tokyo with Afternoon Leisure Time

Wonderfull Kyoto

Reviewed by: Perianayagam T, 2013/08/25

Wonderful trip..I started from Tokyo. First-half tour guided me a lot about Kyoto, so that when am alone in 2nd half I was able to cover rest by myself. Pls include some standard city-maps /attractions list/ brouchers for the second half (Yes, I got that from the guide ..thanks for super nice guide...but I'm suggesting to include this as part of package..).

I think the overall price is cheaper than even the to-and-fro ticket charges in shinkashen. A perfect tour that fit my budget and plan very well. Thank you.

Overall a memorable trip. Would like to go more of such trips from Veltra

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2013/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Tokyo