JSA (Panmunjom) Half-Day Tour from Seoul (Tuesday and Saturday)

Overall Rating

4.534.53 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews (Post a review)

Amazing Tour

Reviewed by: jen0720nj, 2017/04/20

Tour is very organized and informative. It wasn't too long nor too short. The tour guide ( I think her name was Jamie or Janie ) spoke English well and answered questions with a smile. We had extra time before lunch so she actually brought us to Imjingak Park to see the Freedom Bridge.
The lunch choice was bulgogi or bibimbap. This tour was well worth the $$. I highly recommend this tour!


  • overlooking Imjingak Park


  • bulgogi lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/04/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JSA Tour

Reviewed by: Matthew W, 2017/02/23

I was very pleased with the experience with this tour. Having a 6:00 PM flight out of Seoul, my only option was the Tuesday morning JSA only tour. Booking and confirmation was easy, the morning checkin at the Hotel President was quick and easy, and the guide was friendly and insightful. After our lunch at a local restaurant, the larger morning tour group split up, with those only doing JSA such as myself transferring to a minivan to shuttle back to Seoul. Would definitely recommend this tour for those who either only want the JSA tour (or were time-constrained such as myself).

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very interesting tour you shouldn't miss when visit ROK.

Reviewed by: Ooh+, 2016/12/06

Very good management.
(I joined the DMZ tour with another agency and they did not prearrange seat number. What a mess!)

Very good guide, Mr. Handsome Kim, I've got a lot of knowledge all the way there.

Nice lunch ... if only I eat beef or I'm a vegetarian.

Too much time at lunch and not enough time at Imjingak

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

JSA tour

Reviewed by: Amy, 2016/10/27

Was skeptical of this website at first, but the process to purchase the tour, meeting point, and the overall tour was very pleasant. The JSA tour was very interesting and worth the time! Would book again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Meaningful trip

Reviewed by: Brenda, 2016/09/01

We barely see only ONE North Korea soldier at the JSA borderline (though I expected more). Nevertheless, the entire journey was very pleasant and the guide Kim explained well on the history of North Korea and he is hilarious! Lunch is good too.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

perfect time table

Reviewed by: simon, 2016/06/04

Early morning departure and around 14pm back in town, more time is left for other sight seeing opportunities! Most tours spend a whole day which is not necessary. This one will do. Our Guide had humor, wise and took good care of us.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/05/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mysterious

Reviewed by: Toshi, 2015/11/24

My first trip to JSA and DMZ.
Could Cross borderline in bldg and step into N. Korea side.
Every thing was exciting me but a bit scary.
Nice guided tour.


  • Photos at JSA

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, funny guide, excellent experience

Reviewed by: J.L., 2015/08/11

Our guide, "Handsome" Mr. Kim, was an absolute delight to have! Very funny, and gave the commentary an insightful frankness into North-South relations. The experience itself was extremely rewarding and almost surreal given the geopolitical circumstances surrounding the JSA. Overall, staff were very helpful and the tour proceeded smoothly.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just do it to say you did it. That's why I went.

Reviewed by: shewhomustnotbenamed, 2014/11/20

It's........ all right. Everyone says "JSA IS THE BEST! DON'T GO ON A DMZ TOUR WITHOUT THE JSA!!" So I went on the JSA-only tour, and it... was... kinda hilarious to me. Which is bad considering this is the place where you're supposed to be, "Wow, the tensions between South Korea and North Korea! The soldiers are having such a close staring contest! Except you don't know who'll win with those sunglasses on!" But. I was in marching band. We were legit. And we worked closely with ROTC too. So, basically, that's all I saw with the soldiers staying still. It's like the Korean version of going up to British soldiers and seeing how far you can go without them laughing or beating your ass. When we got to the room where half of it is North Korean territory, I literally dramatically stepped onto the other half of the room, and went, "Ahp. Whelp. That was my $90. (Guess it's cheaper than a plane ticket though.)" Anything else on the tour was all right. Food was pretty good. Our tour guide had a really thick South Korean accent, so I hardly understood him, and trying gave me a headache, so I basically ignored half of what he said--but the old people on the bus enjoyed his humor about his good looks (which... sounds kinda mean now that I think of it). He had thick-rimmed glasses which amused me though, because almost every guy there does. But, yeah, JSA. Do it if you want to say you did it. That's all you're spending money for.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2014/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Started out late but enjoyed tour anyway

Reviewed by: Marie, 2014/10/26

Our tour guide, Mr Kim was informative but the tour started 45 minutes late and there was no explanation. The lunch was authentic and delicious but quite rushed due to the late start and some traffic issues. We were not able to visit the Bridge of No Return and we are not sure why this was but we did go to JSA which was our primary interest. It was tense at times but everyone followed the rules so no one was shot. The gift shop was interesting and Mr Kim pointed out sights along the way home. All in all it was a unique experience and we would certainly do it again

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2014/10/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I'm glad I went

Reviewed by: Cookie, 2014/05/14

It was bad weather on the day we went but are guide was extremely detailed with his explanations and I learned a lot.
I'm glad I went.

<Translated by VELTRA.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was good

Reviewed by: Osaka-goningumi, 2014/05/14

I went with five friends. Just like the details say, our guide's explanation was easy-to-understand and made for a fun tour. But the Bridge of No Return (?) was under construction and we couldn't go, unfortunately. I think next I want to go on the DMZ tour with the tunnel and go to the Bridge of No Return (?).
The meals were a little disappointing... well, I guess they're okay for people who are like, ""well, it's free so it'll do.""

<Translated by VELTRA.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Participated in Hanmonten tour

Reviewed by: *Mayu*, 2014/05/14

We’d thought of Hammonten tour plan for a long time. At last we participated in it on 31th Aug Fri, 2013.

So far we always had chance to know North Korea just through the news from TV. This time we actually stepped into the boundary of north and south, seen expressly with my eyes.

You might have a note of caution for clothes to participate in the tour, but now it is not so strict.There were Korean soldiers to check our dress code on our bus, guarding the safety for the bus as well. We were on service of International Cultural Service Club this time and it prepared for some spare clothes in case for those not suited for the dress code.

Then, got to Hanmonten,
I was not so nervous as I’d expected.

However!!

The tour conductor, always talking about the history of South and North in gentle tone, raised its voice at one time.
“Don’t stab a finger toward the North (Korea)!”It was a note of caution the mentioned before, but one of the participants unconsciously did that.
Then, the tour conductor raised the voice “Just I said before not to stab a finger! Never do that!”
I felt kind of expression of the tension between North and South.

According to the explanation, finger pointing seems like pointing a gun as a finger can’t be seen clearly from far point (North Korea).

In Hanmonten, the tour conductor told me “Don’t go behind the soldiers! They’ll think you’ll go into exile.”

Gun,Exile, etc.

On this tour we had such a real chance to hear these unfamiliar words in daily life.

At the beginning, I mentioned “I was not so nervous as I’d expected.”, but if you have an idea to participate in the tour, we believe that you have to feel nervous enough, and please make sure not to bother local tour conductor.

<Translated by VELTRA.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The precious experience

Reviewed by: Takeshi, 2014/05/14

I think we had a really precious experience. I participated the both tour to ""The third tunnel"" and Panmunjom. Visiting both tourist spots, makes us think about the history of North and South Korea. So much of tours are recommended to us when we visit South Korea. Above all, you should absolutely take part in the tour I mentioned above. I spent a worthwhile time there.

<Translated by VELTRA.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was quite a sense of tension.

Reviewed by: Kitano-Tabibito, 2014/05/14

I experienced a sense of tension and thrill far more than expected in this fulfilling DMZ and JSA tour. The female guide explained about Korean history very clearly and I learned a lot.
I was startled to see a North Korean soldier. It was obvious he looked at us with binoculars.
I was worried about clothes and appearance but I think it will be OK if you wear ordinary clothes.
If you are not with small children, I'd recommend this tour.

<Translated by VELTRA.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]