This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market and Maeklong Railway Market Day Tour from Bangkok

Overall Rating

4.374.37 / 5

Reviews

30 reviews (Post a review)

A great tour around Thailand

Reviewed by: Thai, 2018/07/20

We were the only people on the tour, and had a great time. The guide was kind and well prepared.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day out

Reviewed by: Miss purple, 2018/01/08

This was an excellent day and would recommend it to anyone wishing to get a quick experience of what a typical life is like for a local Thai person and their customs. We also had the opportunity to pay extra and get an half an hour elephant ride in. This was awesome.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Adrian, 2017/08/29

A well organized tour with a very competent guide full of knowledge and handy hints. His English was very good

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful day

Reviewed by: Andrea, 2017/08/28

Very good the guide and very good the floating market and the Rose garden.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lim, 2017/08/12

awesome

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lim, 2017/08/09

Wonderful and awesome look forward for next trip to BKK through City Discovery

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ben, 2017/05/15

I was on vacation in Bangkok for 5 days. Damnoen Saduak Floating Markets was one of the must go sightseeing places on my list. Make sure you book the full day tour of Floating Market + Sampran Riverside, not only half day. The value of the tour is far exceeding what you pay for !! Buffet Lunch, Cultural Education, and Show.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ven Hau, 2017/05/10

Interesting places to visit with a good lunch in local & western food The trip took almost a day to complete. April Weather was hot & humid

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alvin, 2017/05/09

Great adventure..

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mayank, 2015/05/22

The tour was good overall and the tour-guide was good but could be better

First stop of coconut factory was fair but could be better . The Floating market was great with quality time spend along with shopping time. Rose Garden stop was good with cultural activity along with lunch....

The overall tour - was good with all the itineraries are well crafted and managed. The time was managed very well...

Note - Suggestion at least the water to be provided to the tour member in limited form (which is done in other tours and countries that I have traveled)

Rest all was good

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sue, 2015/03/14

Our guide was very knowledgable but talked for the whole 1 1/4 hr trip....we would have liked more opportunity to talk to our fellow passengers. It would have been very nice to have some bottled water available on the bus. It was over priced at the restaurant at 40 thb a bottle. The restaurant meal was good, but drinks were overpriced. we enjoyed seeing the orchid farm. We enjoyed the long tail boat ride tremendously. The floating market was very touristy & busy and we didn't need to stay there so long. (1 1/2 hrs) We enjoyed buying food from the vendors on the boats. We didn't really need to stop at the wood carving factory...way to expensive for us. The elephant show at the Rose garden was great and we loved feeding the elephants. The Thai cultural show was first class and we especially enjoyed the dancing, marshal arts demo, long pole dancing, Muay Thai demo. Cost of drinks in the Rose garden was much more reasonable 40 THB for a bottle of water plus a coke light...it was hot in the theatre and we needed drinks. The ride back to our hotel was quite fast only an hour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Hendrik, 2014/12/17

The tour included many more elements than we ever expected. The excursion included seeing the making of coconut sugar, viewing beautiful wood carving, experiencing the floating market, enjoying a superb lunch, seeing an elephant, a Thai culture show and more. Our guide was carefully attentive and friendly. A genuinely wonderful and value for money experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Carmen , 2014/06/03

This was much more than Floating Market and Rose Garden. It also included a visit to a Coconut Processing Plant, a place where they worked with wood, a place where you could ride elephants (better than the Semphra Elephant Ground and zoo, but a little more expensive...yet worth) and in the Rose Garden there was a very interesting cultural performance. This and visiting some temples can give you a very good perspective of Bangkok if you only have a couple of days in the city.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joana, 2013/06/24

The Floating Market is definitely a must do. The Rose Garden (lunch and thai cultural show) did not really appeal that much to me. But on another hand the tour guide was awful. Thank God the other Guides I had in Thailand were great and one of them was actually in the Floating Market and sort of gave me a free tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eric, 2013/04/19

Interesting and informative with excellent ljunch.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: DIANE, 2013/01/24

En visite privée avec un guide qui parlait bien français. Même si le marché flottant est certainement moins typique qu'autrefois, la promenade en longue queue vaut la peine car on perçoit bien la vie des habitants des canaux.
Quant au spectacle, il est amusant sans plus. Le lunch était excellent!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2013/01/01

This tour combined a number of must do activities in Thailand, but what made the tour exceptional, was the guide Chart (I am not sure of the spelling of his name). First of all, the fact that he spoke English was refreshing because few of the countryman do. More importantly, he was attentive to every tour attendees' needs and made his mission to fulfill them. If you want to explore several different Thai traditions, take this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Getrude, 2012/08/29

Great tour, worth leaving the hotel around 6 a.m. Our tourguide was fantastic- he told us a lot about Thai culture. The floating market and the boat ride were very good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rodney, 2012/05/20

This tour was fantastic and well worth it. Our tour guide Ricky was also fantastic.Rose Garden was good and the lunch there was Great. I also had Ricky on a tour to Bridge over River Kwai, another great day

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: adam, 2012/04/25

I totally enjoyed the exsperience...The floating markets was fantastic and the boat ride was great...All up the back canals to the markets..And the rose gardens culturel show was a great thailand exsperience of the culture.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ADELAIDE, 2011/09/05

giornata bellissima, e conosciuto Maria, una guida speciale, preparata, cordiale e deliziosa.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Federica, 2011/08/24

La gita è stata molto interessante e ben organizzata. La nostra guida è stata molto brava nel raccontarci la storia del popolo del posto e molto competente, inoltre era simpatica e gentilissima.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ISABEL MARIA , 2011/06/18

no lo recomiendo.la actividad es un timo y el guia que me toco no sabe mucho de los mercados y no nos explico casi nada;ademas te obliga el guia a que le des propina al chofer y a el.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Veeran, 2011/02/05

Both the tours were excellent. They were very well organized and on time. The tour guides were very courteous, friendly and took good care of us and guided us with efficiency.
As usual, booking the tours with City Discovery assured us that we were guranteed of quality and reliable services.The bookings were easy and efficient.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: mario, 2009/11/30

escursione interessante, da fare..

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: giacomo, 2009/04/06

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Matteo, 2008/11/09

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Paddy, 2008/03/03

We think that the tour guide could be more easily understood and he wasn't as forthcoming with information as some of them on other tours we went. But it was a great day and perhaps we felt a bit disappointed with the floating market in that we didn't actually go around it in the boat. Lunch was fantastic and the cultural show as well.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Paddy, 2008/03/02

It was a great trip but we were under the impression that we would be floating among the boats. We also felt our guide although very good was not a fluent English speaker and not very forthcoming with information. However it was a great trip, thank you very much.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Volker, 2007/11/04

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]