This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for River Cruise in Bangkok

Overall Rating

4.24 4.24 / 5

Reviews

72 reviews

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/09/05

This trip was the highlight of my time in Bangkok. The tour guide, Donna, was wonderful, knowledgeable, and always ready to snap individual pictures for everyone in the group whenever there was a good photo opportunity. It was wonderful to get outside of Bangkok for a day and take in some of the countryside. I was picked up on time from my hotel, and we were bused to the central meeting point where we met the coach. The trip up by coach was relaxing and comfortable (and the driver was non-terrifying, which is always a plus in Bangkok!). We stopped first at the summer palace, then at Ayutthaya ruins, then another temple, and finally at the huge reclining Buddha, where we also went to a small local market, before traveling to board our boat back to the city. The short stop at the small market was actually welcome, as the prices were reasonable, and it was nice to relax for a little bit with a fresh coconut. There was free water in glasses with the buffet dinner on board, no bottled water offered elsewhere, but it was easy enough to buy at most of the stops (for ~10 Baht). The tour did offer iced towels which was very refreshing in the heat. I was also pleased that they offered a choice of three different vegetarian meals to the vegetarians, so you didn't have to pick and choose your way through the buffet. Donna also personally showed me what items were vegetarian on the buffet.

Overall, excellent value for the money, and a wonderful tour. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2004/04/16

a fantastic tour ,, i was the only one on my tour which made it a bit more personal , my guide was very friendly and picked me up on time from my hotel and was then driven to the river city complex , where my long boat was waiting , after a short ride down the phraya river , we turned left into the canals where you pass local houses along the canals with local people going about there daily lives , including fishing , you get to see parts of bangkok you would not normally see , during the boat ride the guide points out loads off different temples and places of interest, you also visit wat arun , the temple of dawn which is very interesting.
if you have half a day free while in bangkok i would recommend this tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Nice tour to visit places in one day

Reviewed by: Francisco, 2018/10/21

Overall, I was very happy with this tour.
The tour had about 25 people, and we've visited Summer Palace, Ayutthaya, and have taken a cruise back to the city.
The guide was very knowledgable and entertaining, and we had fun tour with him.
Ayutthaya is a must visit place, and I'm glad that I took a guided tour. The guide provided us the history and the meaning of the places, and that have enhanced the experience.
The cruise was good as well, and I think it's a very good idea to take the cruise back to the city so that we do not have to worry about the traffic. Along the river cruise, I could see other temples and buildings, and sitting on the top deck was very relaxing.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

One day tour

Reviewed by: VIM, 2017/07/03

I only had one full day free for sightseeing and the full day Ayutthaya up by road and back by boat was a great option for me. You can never go wrong with a UNESCO World Heritage Site. We stopped at some temples (you can see a lot of the ruins just from driving around the coach) but I liked the Wat Mahathat visit the best since we got to explore on our own. The cruise back and the waiting buffet lunch was very welcome after a full morning. The cruise was a bit too long but you can just hang out at the top deck see a lot of Bangkok landmarks along the way.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

We heard about Urban Adventures from a traveler we met in Phuket several days before going to Bangkok. Our guide, Pam, was so friendly and knew this section of Bangkok so well. We wandered down back streets that we would never venture down on our own. She was so sensitive to our needs and even though it was a walking tour, she hailed a Tuk Tuk at one point and a cab at another. She even took us back on the water taxi to where we could catch the hotel water taxi back home. We will definitely book another Urban Adventure next time we travel. Thanks!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/07/02

We saw so much on this tour. My favorite was the Wat Mahathat - loved that we were left alone to explore around the ruins. Giant reclining Buddha was cool, too. Cruise was surprisingly good too. I'd say it was too long but hanging out at the top deck was very relaxing, just sat there taking in the breeze except when I needed to get up every once in a while to take photos :p. Early morning start but enough time to nap in the coach! :D

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: Carmen , 2014/06/03

Great experience, mostly because of the guide. We took the time to visit in depth each of the temples and the Grand Palace. Additionally, the boat ride on the river was a lot of fun ... and also the ride in tuk-tuk to get from the river to the palace.
Just this tour provides a great perspective of Bankok if you have only a couple of days to visit.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

I took this tour the first morning in Bangkok before a multi-day Intrepid tour. It was a great ways to explore the city and learn more about the culture while meeting other travelers (there were 4 in our group). Our guide was very knowledable and friendly. I really enjoy the longboat ride and seeing how people really live.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Yvonne, 2012/04/08

Our Tour Guide was excellent and made the day. He introduced us to our fellow travellers, explaining things of interest on the way, cared for our needs and was humorous. The tour was a lovely mixture of ancient and modern. Lunch on board was excellent and the cruise back to Bangkok was so relaxing.
Yvonne L UK

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: Erik, 2010/11/27

Higly recommended tour! We were picked up e exactly on time. Excellent english speaking guide. Especially the boat tour was great. A very nice way of exploring Bangkok.

A stop at a jewlery shop was unnecessary, but I guess it's hard to find any tour that doesn't include something like that in the end.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Denise , 2014/11/08

My day trip in Bangkok was to Ancient Ayutthaya with river cruise, it was fantastic. Informative, well organised and *** was so friendly. I saw so much and enjoyed the day immensely. I have recommended this tour already to all my travelling friends.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

History lesson with delicious food and great river tour..

Reviewed by: jeff, 2019/01/29

Really good day learning about Ayutthaya and how the capitol of Siam was sacked and looted. Lots to see. Dont miss Buddha in the ficus tree. Finish off with a delicious lunch while cruising down the Chao Phrom river.

Comments from activity operators

Hi Jeff, thank you very much for your feedbacks, we are glad that you enjoyed the tour and get to learn about the city's interesting history. Looking forward hosting you for another tour in the future. Bests, Pascal.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/01/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Excellent trip around Bangkok, learned about the culture far more than just wandering around alone, and we saw unusual sights we'd never have seen otherwise. Our guide was excellent - funny and friendly. Thank you Jo!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/24

Made such a difference to have a guide to actually know what we were seeing (rather than guessing at the history behind something!)Had a great time, and a great guide - would definitely recommend to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/11/12

Gung was a great guide, very knowledgeable on culture and history. She made sure we had memorable experiences. Gung even carried my back pack for part of the tour, thanks Gung.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Duncan, 2013/04/21

A really good trip with a mix of ruined and in use temples. Then the palace which is a great place to wander around.
The river cruise was excellant with real good food

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Emma, 2009/10/28

The trip got reversed so we did the cruise first and was bussed back. No big deal as it was a lovely trip and the river cruise was very relaxing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

It is a worthwhile tour for anyone interested in Thai culture.

Reviewed by: Gordon Larimore, 2019/04/18

A brief explanation was given and then you were on your own to explore the area. Spending about 30-45 minutes was long enough to see it all.

Comments from activity operators

Dear Gordon, thank you for you feed backs. We are you get to discover Ayutthaya and hope the boat. Bests, Pascal.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2019/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Albert, 2010/05/11

Good guide, value for money, excellent - the only downside was seeing the Elephants chained - so sad. We spent a small fortune feeding them.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Denise , 2014/11/08

The trip was fantastic, transport clean and spacious, timing of the tour and stops were exceptional and Donna was a great guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Angela, 2012/12/19

the tour was very good the lunch on board the boat was also excellent . good value for the money definitely would recommend it

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Worthwhile doing when you want to see the best parts of Bangkok!

Reviewed by: Ann, 2018/11/12

Great tourguide! This tour shows you the best parts of Bangkok including the less touristique places.
Worthwhile doing!!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Rosmawati, 2017/07/06

This place is amazing. You can see ruins from the old days. The view is so sad yet so beautiful.
Definitely a must do.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: Tuck Hong, 2017/04/20

Very interesting trip, it is an eye opener to foreigners. Hope the tour agent could at provide a bottle of water.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/05/20

The trip was fabulous. Our Leader Wawa did an amazing job! She was very patient, friendly, helpful and pleasant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: nartarshia, 2011/05/10

beautiful - great day, lovely cruise and food and great acnient ruins. very knoweldgable and fun tour guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Peter, 2015/02/04

A very beautiful day out to a beautiful set of ruins - and a lovely trip back on the boat

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/11/15

this was a great tour and the guide was one of the best i have had very informative

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Shirley, 2017/05/25

The local tour Operator pick us up from the city hotel as schedule.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bangkok Temple Tour with Long-tail Boat Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/05

The guide Gof is very nice guide. Im very happy to travel with her

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]