(All Reviews) Page 3) River Cruise (Sightseeing Tours), Bangkok tours & activities, fun things to do in Bangkok | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for River Cruise in Bangkok

Overall Rating

4.35 4.35 / 5

Reviews

75 reviews

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/09/05

This trip was the highlight of my time in Bangkok. The tour guide, Donna, was wonderful, knowledgeable, and always ready to snap individual pictures for everyone in the group whenever there was a good photo opportunity. It was wonderful to get outside of Bangkok for a day and take in some of the countryside. I was picked up on time from my hotel, and we were bused to the central meeting point where we met the coach. The trip up by coach was relaxing and comfortable (and the driver was non-terrifying, which is always a plus in Bangkok!). We stopped first at the summer palace, then at Ayutthaya ruins, then another temple, and finally at the huge reclining Buddha, where we also went to a small local market, before traveling to board our boat back to the city. The short stop at the small market was actually welcome, as the prices were reasonable, and it was nice to relax for a little bit with a fresh coconut. There was free water in glasses with the buffet dinner on board, no bottled water offered elsewhere, but it was easy enough to buy at most of the stops (for ~10 Baht). The tour did offer iced towels which was very refreshing in the heat. I was also pleased that they offered a choice of three different vegetarian meals to the vegetarians, so you didn't have to pick and choose your way through the buffet. Donna also personally showed me what items were vegetarian on the buffet.

Overall, excellent value for the money, and a wonderful tour. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/09/05

I have mixed feelings about this tour.

The good:
- This tour did not offer pickup from my hotel, but CityDiscovery gave great directions as to alternative pickup points and means of transport to them, so I was still able to join after a ride on the Metro.
-The bonus visit to Wat Arun was nice.
-I greatly enjoyed the trip through the canals to see some of the more rural living conditions.

The bad:
-Roughly half of the tour time (when including driving there) was dedicated to taking our group to a jewelry shop!!! This was not appreciated by anyone in our small group. We were driven there, given a free welcome soda, and then shuttled to watch a 10 minute movie (with about 1 minute of actually interesting information about the gem mining process). We then were made to walk through the jewelry display cases. While the sales agents made it clear that we did not have to buy anything, it was just for advertising, it was still an unwelcome use of our vacation time and not appreciated. When we were finished browsing (probably ahead of schedule) we again had to wait for our tour guide to be called back.
- The tour guide, while friendly, was not very good. She provided basic information, but was not very good with answering questions, and left us to wonder around Wat Arun by ourselves. Neither did she explain anything we saw during the canal tour. While this would have been hard to do with the boat in motion, a few stops here and there with some short explanations of what we were seeing would have been appreciated.

Overall:
-The canals and Wat Arun are well worth the visit, but I did not at all appreciate the extra use of my vacation time, and I don't feel that the tour guide added much, if anything, to the experience.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Yvonne, 2012/04/08

Our Tour Guide was excellent and made the day. He introduced us to our fellow travellers, explaining things of interest on the way, cared for our needs and was humorous. The tour was a lovely mixture of ancient and modern. Lunch on board was excellent and the cruise back to Bangkok was so relaxing.
Yvonne L UK

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: garry, 2012/03/05

because the gates were closed we couldnt go up the canals. so we just went up the river and back. so it was a bit of a fizzer. but that wasnot your fault.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Rebecca , 2011/07/25

The trip was very organized, and I was picked up as expected from my hotel. The guide was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I appreciated that we were given time at each location to explore on our own. Drinks are not provided, so be sure to start the trip with at least one bottle of water.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: nartarshia, 2011/05/10

beautiful - great day, lovely cruise and food and great acnient ruins. very knoweldgable and fun tour guide

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2011/03/23

The tour was very good and I enjoyed the guide. He was funny and knowledgeable.

One thing I noted was the lack of water. I have never before been on a tour where water was not included. Generally guides give you water when you get on the bus and then another with dinner at the very least. I was quite suprised when I had to pay 120 baht for a bottle of water with my meal. It would not have bothered me to pay a bit more for the tour but I was very annoyed to have to pay for such a basic need while on tour (and particularly with my meal). Thank you.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Adama, 2011/03/21

Fantastic

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: Erik, 2010/11/27

Higly recommended tour! We were picked up e exactly on time. Excellent english speaking guide. Especially the boat tour was great. A very nice way of exploring Bangkok.

A stop at a jewlery shop was unnecessary, but I guess it's hard to find any tour that doesn't include something like that in the end.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: KAREN, 2010/11/15

When we went it was just after all the rains had hit so a lot of the city was flooded which was a shame and we couldn't do the cruise part. Our guide Tim was very knowledgeable and the Temples we saw were amazing. Very worthwhile if you want to see part of the history of Thailand.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Albert, 2010/05/11

Good guide, value for money, excellent - the only downside was seeing the Elephants chained - so sad. We spent a small fortune feeding them.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Loganarden, 2010/03/15

The trip was very well organised and the guide was very good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ancient Ayutthaya Full Day Tour from Bangkok with Buffet Lunch River Cruise

Reviewed by: Emma, 2009/10/28

The trip got reversed so we did the cruise first and was bussed back. No big deal as it was a lovely trip and the river cruise was very relaxing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Rice Barge Cruise Along Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: NORMA, 2008/07/10

Good service - pick up and drop off great. All tour guides etc. were very helpful. Would certainly do again

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Half Day Tour of Bangkok Canals

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2004/04/16

a fantastic tour ,, i was the only one on my tour which made it a bit more personal , my guide was very friendly and picked me up on time from my hotel and was then driven to the river city complex , where my long boat was waiting , after a short ride down the phraya river , we turned left into the canals where you pass local houses along the canals with local people going about there daily lives , including fishing , you get to see parts of bangkok you would not normally see , during the boat ride the guide points out loads off different temples and places of interest, you also visit wat arun , the temple of dawn which is very interesting.
if you have half a day free while in bangkok i would recommend this tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Bangkok