(All Reviews) Sightseeing Tours, Vietnam tours & activities, fun things to do in Vietnam | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Sightseeing Tours in Vietnam

Overall Rating

4.50 4.50 / 5

Reviews

94 reviews

Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride

Reviewed by: Harry, 2012/12/20

This was a great active tour. I was the only one one it that day. I was picked up on time at my hotel. It was a bit of
a long drive from the city due to the traffic,
about 1.5 hours each way, but the city
views, the country views, and the vibrant
traffic scenes were quite good. The transportation van was a Mercedes and
in good shape, and the driver was excellent.
On the drive out, there was the usual stop
for 30 minutes at a huge shop selling the usual crafts and souvenirs.
The visit to the temple involved a moderate
amount of walking, but was very interesting.
The bike ride was on main roads and small
side roads and through a village and the scenary was great. There was little traffic
on the roads. The bike was barely adequate, uncomfortable and the gears did
not work and the brakes were marginal. The
ride was flat, although even slight rises were
difficult since one was stuck in a high gear.
I did not feel overly safe on this bike. No
helmet was offered. The ride was about
12km (I opted for the longer ride) done in about an hour, as the guide set a fast pace
but I stopped when I wanted to take pictures.
Lunce was in a patio area at a large hotel and was a varied buffet selection of Vietnamese specialties including spring rolls, noodle dishes, rice, etc. There was
a selection of the local specialtiy: goat meat.
There was something for everyone. Drinks
were extra, but cheap.
The boat ride was fantastic, in a small punt
type craft with two rowers and two passengers. The passengers were allowed
to help row if they wanted. The ride took about two hours and was about 2.5 miles
each way, through beautiful scenary and three caves. At the halfway point there were
boats selling snacks and drinks at the local
cheap prices. It is normal then to buy a
little drink or snack for the rowers.
My guide was fairly good in telling me all
the details about the countryside, temples,
culture, etc.
My guide instructed me about what to tip
the boat rowers, the van driver, and made it
clear he wanted a good tip too. This guidance ended up in tips totalling about
25% of the tour cost, which was not unreasonable considering it had been a
private tour.
Overall, it was a very enjoyable outing into
the countryside to see some great scenary
and enjoy the fresh air.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Cyclo Ride Tour and Market Visit in Ho Chi Minh City

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/02/16

We only had 2 hours of sleep after we arrived in Saigon coming from Canada. That did not prevent us to get up early in the morning and go to meet Hoa Tran, our guide from Urban Adventures for our pre-booked Cyclos & Markets tour. Boy we were happy we did that. That was the quickest, the most personable (it was just 2 of us tourists on the tour) the safest way (because of intense traffic) to get the direct feel of real Saigon. Hoa was so very reliable, pleasant and patient with us as much as her 3 guys who were paddling us in between huuugeee storm of motorbikes (there are about 6 mil. registered motorcycles in this city!), cars, dangerously crossing pedestrians… If we have wanted to see so many different things in one day, we would not have been happy with any other way but with these one seater rickshaws. On this tour, the most we have liked is our visit to the Tan Dinh Market since it was more local and authentic then Ben Thanh) and Hoa knew how to connect us with those sales people. Thanks a bunch! (This is also what we have posted on the tripadvisor’s web site)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ninh Binh Full Day Private Tour with Boat Ride in Tam Coc from Hanoi

History and Scenery

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2019/07/28

Ninh Binh is 100km away from Hanoi but the coach ride didn't feel like it. It was a very comfortable journey and our guide, Hoang, shared fun facts about the city along the way. We chose to have the temple tour first before the boat ride (flexibility–another perk of a private tour). We visited Viet Nam's ancient capital and it was fabulous. You'll really learn a lot about their culture and history. The lunch was in a word–ample. Seriously, you could have a light breakfast before the tour and fill yourself up at the restaurant. My favorites were the fried and fresh spring rolls. Advice: bring your own water because drinks aren't included, but you can buy at the restaurant. The boat ride at Tam Coc lake/river was the definite highlight for us. It kind of felt like we were in a fantasy movie. (Fun fact: King Kong was shot nearby) It was also very relaxing since it was pretty long–around 2 hours—and quiet because there weren't a lot of people around unlike in Trang An and Ha Long Bay.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tour by Night with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: Harry, 2012/12/19

It is impossible for a tourist to find one's
way alone around the old section of Hanoi
covered by this tour, so it was a great way
to see the area and all the different shops
and street eateries. As the guide made
clear, it was a walking and eating tour, and
absolutely no shopping. We stopped at
five different stalls for various snacks,
bowls of noodles, fruit cup, and coffee.
I enjoyed the tour and the food and the
explanations of the cuisine and the old
town streets. I admit some of the venues
were a bit daunting, but the food was
very tasty and I had absolutely no stomach
problems in the morning.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mekong Delta and Cai Be Floating Market Tour from Ho Chi Minh with Cooking Class

Reviewed by: Yong, 2015/04/12

I had an adventurous and a fulling day. Although the weather was hot and humid that day, it did not deter us from having fun. We did every thing as stated in the itnerary. The tour guide ( i think his name is Alvin) was knowledgable and spoke fluent english. He was also very responsible to the group. He quickly went off searching for a couple who got astray when we returned from our biking trip. The couple later, told me that they were very thankful that he found them, they were lost.
HIGHLY Recommended tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tour by Night with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/01/26

As a middle aged couple meeting our group of young travellers for the first time we wondered what could be in store for us! But our group was lovely and the tour guide brilliant, informative and spoke brilliant English. We really enjoyed the food we tasted and were so thankful to have someone point out some great local fare that we otherwise wouldn't have tried. We highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Hanoi for the first time it's the perfect mix of information, fun, and fabulous food!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Cyclo Ride Tour and Market Visit in Ho Chi Minh City

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Our flight into Saigon was delayed and we were able to call up Urban Adventures and reschedule our cyclo tour for the next day-no problem at all. Our guide, Vang, was wonderful. My sister and I were the only 2 people on the trip--so it was like a private tour. Vang did a great job telling us about the sites we were visiting and answering our many questions about Vietnamese culture, traditions, and history. We would definitely recommend this tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tour by Night with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Between barbeque &, mini-baguettes filled with pork and chili sauce, I had a delicious dinner on the town. Our guide made sure we had an interesting time in the Old Quarter, even following raised train tracks as we went from one destination to the next. Absolutely loved our final stop, a location that I never could have found with a pile of guide books, and one that offered a gorgeous view of Hoan Kiem Lake. Thanks Quan!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/07/18

Fantastic day with Cuong who was a great guide. He was informative and funny. The bike ride was the highlight of the tour- I'm not a great cyclist but was able to manage and the group waited when I was a bit slow. We weren't bothered by touts which was a relief. The scenery on the bike and boat trip was superb. The boat area was quite crowded with locals being a Sunday. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hoi An's Old Town Evening Food and Market Tour

Delicious and delightful

Reviewed by: Jas, 2018/05/07

Hearing about the great food, I decided to take part in this tour to taste all the best of Hoi An. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and answered all the questions we had. The best part was how we got to try the famed Banh Mi featured by Anthony Bourdain without waiting on the epic long line. Everything was so tasty and had a great time with a group of fun people.

  • Banh Mi

  • Famous white rose of Hoi An

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overnight Ha Long Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise from Hanoi

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/01/26

The cabins were spacious and very clean. The transport to and from the boat was efficient and very professional. The ship's staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. But best of all was how beautiful Halong Bay was. Although busier than expected our tour did not feel rushed it crowded and the 2 days were spent surrounded by beauty.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saigon Street Food and Night Market Excursion Tour in Ho Chi Minh

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2014/11/19

Annie was a great guide with a great sense of humour. From a tiny cart in a busy street to a small hipster café at the top of a converted apartment building, she took me all over town. We even got a chance to watch the full moon rise over the city while eating freshly made Banh mi. I’d recommend this tour to anyone with a free night in HCMC.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tour by Night with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/30

I've done a couple of these Urban Adventure tours this year and each has been fantastic. Our guide for the Hanoi Street Food by Night tour led us to all sorts of places I never would have ventured on my own. An awesome insight into the local culture and made me feel comfortable to try things on my own from that point forward.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hue Countryside Day Tour with Tam Giang Lagoon Sampan Cruise and Motorbike Ride

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/28

I found this urban adventure the most rewarding from the 3 we did around Hue and Hoi An. The interaction with the local people was so rewarding and their hospitality so warm. We received good sound knowledge of their agricultural lifest<x>yle whilst appreciating their day to day lives. Great time alround and thank you to Phi!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho Chi Minh City Historical Highlight Full Day Tour with Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

I was really pleased with the tour overall. Vin was informative and very patient with my questions, and was excellent at explaining numerous aspects of Vietnamese culture and history. He spoke English very well and I found it easy to understand his explanations. I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and will recommend it to friends.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tour by Night with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: Marilyn, 2014/10/25

For a first night in Hanoi it's a great way to see the old town and be guided. All the food stops were fantastic. Varied great locations and the true flavour of local food. Make sure you try the fruit salad and the egg coffee. Markets backstreets and hidden gems to stop and take in the busy pace. The guide was brilliant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Walking Tour of Hoi An Old Town with Cooking Lessons in English

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/08/10

Luong took us on a very interesting tour of several major sites in Hoi An, providing background info that added significantly to the tour. She then brought us to the cooking class which was very well organized, got us involved in preparation, and was delicious. Kudus to the chef and to Luong! Do this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho Chi Minh City Historical Highlight Full Day Tour with Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/02/14

I'm extremely glad I booked this tour because it was my first full day in Vietnam and provided an excellent overview, especially with crossing the street! My guide, Jay, was fantastic, fun, enthusiastic, knowledgeable and passionate about the city. He and this trip was the highlight of my stay in Vietnam.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mekong Delta Private Tour from Ho Chi Minh with Lunch

Reviewed by: Alison, 2012/04/01

Great trip, well organized and very well worth the day. Included is an amazing lunch and we were exceptionally lucky with our tour guide Tin. Extremely knowledgeable and such fun to spend the day with. Highly recommend the tour, we will do it again when we return to Vietnam next year.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Evening Cyclo Tour with Water Puppet Show

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/01/26

It was a white-knuckle experience in Hanoi traffic but we absolutely loved it! We wanted to travel together in one cab and our obliging driver never complained! His English was great and we loved seeing so much of the city. Our favourite stop was the Water Puppet show- a must see!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Highlights Guided Morning Tour with Traditional Pho Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/20

Lee explained much about the Literature Temple, the prison, the Hoan Kiem Lake island temple, and the lacquer studio, that we would not have been aware of. At the end he brought us to the best street food lunch we had (of many) in Vietnam. A real professional tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho Chi Minh City Historical Highlight Full Day Tour with Lunch

Reviewed by: Terina, 2013/07/17

It was an absolutely excellent tour that took us around to all the main and interesting sites. Our tour was very patient and explained the history well. The driver was also very accommodating when we needed to make a quick stop to the pharmacy! Loved it!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ho Chi Minh City Historical Highlight Full Day Tour with Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/29

Ms. Linda is an amazing tour guide! She made us feel at home in Ho Chi Minh City and we definitely want to come back! She is funny, caring, and very knowledgable. I will tell everyone I know about Ms. Linda and Urban Adventures. Thank you Urban Adventures!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tour by Night with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/04/24

A great tour with a great tour guide. Le obviously has a good knowledge of the area and of what we were looking at. His English is excellent and he was very helpful in giving us other hints and tips about getting on in Hanoi, which I really appreciated.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historic Hue Tour with Perfume River Boat Cruise

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/08

5 gold stars!!! A fantastic motor cycle urban adventure in Hue, Vietnam. Special thanks to our guide, Tran Ngoc Sau - You made the overall experience thoroughly enjoyable for us. Compliments to our drivers too.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saigon Street Food and Night Market Excursion Tour in Ho Chi Minh

Saigon Street Food

Reviewed by: Graeme Baillie, 2017/11/06

Our guide was Queenie. Enthusiastic, knowledgeable. We visited six locations that we would never have found on our own and feasted on food that we would never have ordered.

Everything was exceptional.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/10/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mekong Delta Private Tour from Ho Chi Minh with Lunch

Reviewed by: Florence, 2009/03/11

This was an excellent trip - varied and interesting. The guide and driver were very good, lunch was first class in a serene location - and the canals around the Mekong quite beautiful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Cycling Tour from Hanoi to Local Vietnamese Villages

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/10/15

So much fun! Our guide was great! Unfortunately I can't remember his name. He was so much fun and so knowledgeable. He stopped and bought us some fresh guava to try too. Great tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Saigon Street Food and Night Market Excursion Tour in Ho Chi Minh

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/14

Hoa was an excellent tour guide! She was very caring, knowledgable, and friendly. I would HIGHLY recommend her and Urban Adventures to everyone I know. Thank you Urban Adventures!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hoi An Cycling and Boat Cruise Tour with Sunset Barbecue

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Tuan is a great guide, and was passionate about his country. Bbq dinner was beautiful, with potatoes provided instead of bread for this gluten-intolerant traveller. Thanks Tuan.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]