(All Reviews) Sightseeing Tours, Hanoi tours & activities, fun things to do in Hanoi | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Sightseeing Tours in Hanoi

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

47 reviews

Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride

Reviewed by: Harry, 2012/12/20

This was a great active tour. I was the only one one it that day. I was picked up on time at my hotel. It was a bit of
a long drive from the city due to the traffic,
about 1.5 hours each way, but the city
views, the country views, and the vibrant
traffic scenes were quite good. The transportation van was a Mercedes and
in good shape, and the driver was excellent.
On the drive out, there was the usual stop
for 30 minutes at a huge shop selling the usual crafts and souvenirs.
The visit to the temple involved a moderate
amount of walking, but was very interesting.
The bike ride was on main roads and small
side roads and through a village and the scenary was great. There was little traffic
on the roads. The bike was barely adequate, uncomfortable and the gears did
not work and the brakes were marginal. The
ride was flat, although even slight rises were
difficult since one was stuck in a high gear.
I did not feel overly safe on this bike. No
helmet was offered. The ride was about
12km (I opted for the longer ride) done in about an hour, as the guide set a fast pace
but I stopped when I wanted to take pictures.
Lunce was in a patio area at a large hotel and was a varied buffet selection of Vietnamese specialties including spring rolls, noodle dishes, rice, etc. There was
a selection of the local specialtiy: goat meat.
There was something for everyone. Drinks
were extra, but cheap.
The boat ride was fantastic, in a small punt
type craft with two rowers and two passengers. The passengers were allowed
to help row if they wanted. The ride took about two hours and was about 2.5 miles
each way, through beautiful scenary and three caves. At the halfway point there were
boats selling snacks and drinks at the local
cheap prices. It is normal then to buy a
little drink or snack for the rowers.
My guide was fairly good in telling me all
the details about the countryside, temples,
culture, etc.
My guide instructed me about what to tip
the boat rowers, the van driver, and made it
clear he wanted a good tip too. This guidance ended up in tips totalling about
25% of the tour cost, which was not unreasonable considering it had been a
private tour.
Overall, it was a very enjoyable outing into
the countryside to see some great scenary
and enjoy the fresh air.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ninh Binh Full Day Private Tour with Boat Ride in Tam Coc from Hanoi

History and Scenery

Reviewed by: Nadine, 2019/07/28

Ninh Binh is 100km away from Hanoi but the coach ride didn't feel like it. It was a very comfortable journey and our guide, Hoang, shared fun facts about the city along the way. We chose to have the temple tour first before the boat ride (flexibility–another perk of a private tour). We visited Viet Nam's ancient capital and it was fabulous. You'll really learn a lot about their culture and history. The lunch was in a word–ample. Seriously, you could have a light breakfast before the tour and fill yourself up at the restaurant. My favorites were the fried and fresh spring rolls. Advice: bring your own water because drinks aren't included, but you can buy at the restaurant. The boat ride at Tam Coc lake/river was the definite highlight for us. It kind of felt like we were in a fantasy movie. (Fun fact: King Kong was shot nearby) It was also very relaxing since it was pretty long–around 2 hours—and quiet because there weren't a lot of people around unlike in Trang An and Ha Long Bay.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: Harry, 2012/12/19

It is impossible for a tourist to find one's
way alone around the old section of Hanoi
covered by this tour, so it was a great way
to see the area and all the different shops
and street eateries. As the guide made
clear, it was a walking and eating tour, and
absolutely no shopping. We stopped at
five different stalls for various snacks,
bowls of noodles, fruit cup, and coffee.
I enjoyed the tour and the food and the
explanations of the cuisine and the old
town streets. I admit some of the venues
were a bit daunting, but the food was
very tasty and I had absolutely no stomach
problems in the morning.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/01/26

As a middle aged couple meeting our group of young travellers for the first time we wondered what could be in store for us! But our group was lovely and the tour guide brilliant, informative and spoke brilliant English. We really enjoyed the food we tasted and were so thankful to have someone point out some great local fare that we otherwise wouldn't have tried. We highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Hanoi for the first time it's the perfect mix of information, fun, and fabulous food!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Between barbeque &, mini-baguettes filled with pork and chili sauce, I had a delicious dinner on the town. Our guide made sure we had an interesting time in the Old Quarter, even following raised train tracks as we went from one destination to the next. Absolutely loved our final stop, a location that I never could have found with a pile of guide books, and one that offered a gorgeous view of Hoan Kiem Lake. Thanks Quan!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/07/18

Fantastic day with Cuong who was a great guide. He was informative and funny. The bike ride was the highlight of the tour- I'm not a great cyclist but was able to manage and the group waited when I was a bit slow. We weren't bothered by touts which was a relief. The scenery on the bike and boat trip was superb. The boat area was quite crowded with locals being a Sunday. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overnight Ha Long Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise from Hanoi

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/01/26

The cabins were spacious and very clean. The transport to and from the boat was efficient and very professional. The ship's staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. But best of all was how beautiful Halong Bay was. Although busier than expected our tour did not feel rushed it crowded and the 2 days were spent surrounded by beauty.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/30

I've done a couple of these Urban Adventure tours this year and each has been fantastic. Our guide for the Hanoi Street Food by Night tour led us to all sorts of places I never would have ventured on my own. An awesome insight into the local culture and made me feel comfortable to try things on my own from that point forward.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: Marilyn, 2014/10/25

For a first night in Hanoi it's a great way to see the old town and be guided. All the food stops were fantastic. Varied great locations and the true flavour of local food. Make sure you try the fruit salad and the egg coffee. Markets backstreets and hidden gems to stop and take in the busy pace. The guide was brilliant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Evening Cyclo Tour with Water Puppet Show

Reviewed by: Joanna, 2016/01/26

It was a white-knuckle experience in Hanoi traffic but we absolutely loved it! We wanted to travel together in one cab and our obliging driver never complained! His English was great and we loved seeing so much of the city. Our favourite stop was the Water Puppet show- a must see!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Highlights Guided Morning Tour with Traditional Pho Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/20

Lee explained much about the Literature Temple, the prison, the Hoan Kiem Lake island temple, and the lacquer studio, that we would not have been aware of. At the end he brought us to the best street food lunch we had (of many) in Vietnam. A real professional tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/04/24

A great tour with a great tour guide. Le obviously has a good knowledge of the area and of what we were looking at. His English is excellent and he was very helpful in giving us other hints and tips about getting on in Hanoi, which I really appreciated.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Cycling Tour from Hanoi to Local Vietnamese Villages

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/10/15

So much fun! Our guide was great! Unfortunately I can't remember his name. He was so much fun and so knowledgeable. He stopped and bought us some fresh guava to try too. Great tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi City Highlights Half Day Private Tour by Green Car

Great tour

Reviewed by: Rob, 2018/04/18

We toured around the city, was great experience. Looked at water puppet show, saw the national museum and more. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke good English.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Highlights Guided Morning Tour with Traditional Pho Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/09/04

We really enjoyed this tour and it was a great way to cover many of the highlights in Hanoi. Enjoyed seeing the graduating students celebrating at the Temple of Literature.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi City Sightseeing Private Tour by Motorcycle

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Khalil, 2017/08/12

Tour was excellent and the tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable. She had an answer for everything and showed me places I would have not found otherwise!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/07/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ninh Binh Full Day Private Tour with Boat Ride in Tam Coc from Hanoi

Awesome tour!

Reviewed by: Rob, 2018/04/17

The tour guide was great, very knowledgeable and spoke very good English. If you have the funds, private tour is wonderful, no rush and enjoy yourself

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/08/09

This is the second time that I have taken this tour - it's that good. Round 2 didn't disappoint - the food was absolutely delicious.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Highlights Guided Morning Tour with Traditional Pho Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2014/11/24

We had a great trip. Our guide, Lee, was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The pho we ate at the end was delicious too!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Highlights Guided Morning Tour with Traditional Pho Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2014/12/21

Good orientation tour, gave us the basics of Hanoi. Punctual, clearly spoken guide with excellent local knowledge.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

The tour really was excellent. We tried lots of food which we otherwise would not have done.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Cycling Tour from Hanoi to Local Vietnamese Villages

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

This experience far exceeded our expectations. Guide was fantastic. Great value for money.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi Street Food Tasting Night Tour with Old Quarter Market Visit

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

He did a great job. The food choices were all great. Exactly what I expected.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ha Long Bay Full Day Cruise from Hanoi with Seafood Lunch

Excellent trip!

Reviewed by: Khalil, 2017/08/12

Trip was fantastic. Would highly recommend to traveler's visiting Vietnam.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Private Cultural Hanoi Tour with Green Car Ride and Water Puppet Show

Reviewed by: ROBERTO, 2017/04/24

Excellent tour, Ben our guide was amazing, strongly recomended

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overnight Ha Long Bay Luxury Junk Boat Cruise from Hanoi

Reviewed by: Alison, 2017/04/02

Halong Bay is the most beautifil place I've ever been

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ninh Binh Citadels and Trang An Day Tour from Hanoi with Cycling and Boat Ride

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

In general it was a nice tour, we had a great time. But unfortunately we had not that much time to cycle, so just 20 minutes and then had to go back to Hanoi. I think the cycling was the best thing of the whole UA,because of the amazing landscape. The citadel and the karsts are a very touristy thing, very crowded and have kind of a sales-tour character because of all the tourists and locals trying to sell something, so these parts could have been shortened to have more time to cycle. We first went to the Citadel, then had lunch (which was not really tasty but okay), then went on the boat and then cycling. I talked to the other clients on this UA and they also thought, that the best part was the cycling and that this activity was way to short(just 20min instead of the 12km). Our guide Quang was really great, he had such a huge knowledge about the people, history and culture of everything and was really entertaining.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hanoi City Highlights Half Day Private Tour by Green Car

Reviewed by: Suriyati, 2014/12/09

We were met at our hotel by our guide,Viet, who was fluent in English and knowledgable about the sites we visited. We found the Museum of Ethnicity very interesting especially the ethnic houses on display in the compound of the museum. The best part of the tour was the electric car/buggy ride through the narrow streets of the old quarters of Hanoi was the best way to see Hanoi. We managed to squeeze in some shopping during this short tour of the city. We highly recommend this tour to anyone with limited time in Hanoi.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Cycling Tour from Hanoi to Local Vietnamese Villages

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/10/31

Overall experience was as expected, At times it was a little hard to hear our tour guide due to time of day and peak hour traffic but otherwise communications were good. Our guide was excellent in providing us local knowledge. Being on bikes gave us a good perspective of the area, enabling us to see areas we would not otherwise travel. We were well looked after as far as safety. We booked this tour as we had used this company three times prior and knew the service we would recieve would be excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ha Long Bay Full Day Cruise from Hanoi with Seafood Lunch

Very enjoyable tour

Reviewed by: Patrick G., 2017/08/29

Tour guide was outstanding and entertaining. Good events and activities. Lots done in 4 hours. 4 hours by car each way was long, but unavoidable. The food for lunch was a bit mediocre and underwhelming. No a/c on the boat was also a bit disappointing. Great views and activities in Halong Bay, though. Nice people in the group.

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]