This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Cu Chi Tunnels Adventure from Ho Chi Minh with English-Speaking Guide

Overall Rating

4.414.41 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews (Post a review)

Attended as


Very informative and interesting.

Reviewed by: David E, 2018/04/08

I had no idea about the tunnels-they were incredibly small-there was no way a 'typical' western adult would be able to navigate them comfortably! I was very interested in our guide's explanation of the history of Vietnam, I hadn't realized that Vietnam had fought 4 wars since the second world war. We saw a propaganda video from the North Korean viewpoint, which showed female fighters, and our guide gave us details of how the tunnels were used to fight the American soldiers. The booby traps were quite horrific. There was a very loud firing range on the tour, which was ear-drum bursting, but I would still recommend the tour. It's not a 'fun' activity at all, but very educational and worth knowing about.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/07/23

Our guide Lot (sp?) was really nice, enthusiastic and considerately looked out for what everyone wanted to do once we got to the gun range.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/04/01

Nhi was an excellent, enthusiastic, knowledgeable guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/01/15

I have just completed a cycle tour of Vietnam and was highly impressed with the organisation and staff involved. Our guide Danh was fantastic. He was enthusiastic, active, passionate about Vietnam and great fun. Danh's contacts and connections in the places we visited meant that we experienced aspects of Vietnam that we wouldn't have been able to if left to our own devices. There was nothing that was asked of Danh that he didn't fix and we were all most impressed with his efforts to ensure that we enjoyed our trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/09/09

Our guide Linda was so informative and so friendly and spoke very good English . She made our trip very enjoyable. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/04/01

We enjoyed the tour and in the process learnt about the resistance the Vietnamese people put up during the war. Miss Hoa's extensive knowledge and her passion for her country helped a great deal. One suggestion I would like to make, it would be a good idea to provide free cold water bottles for the duration of the tour since it gets very hot and humid, just like the other tours I went on made this provision. The heat did get to us and we soon ran out of water that we had carried. The next place we could get a drink was only at the Cu Chi Tunnel site.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/02/02

There were only two of us on the tour, so it was a very personal experience. Given that it was such a long day and long bus ride, it would have been nice if water bottles were provided, similar to other tours we did in Vietnam with other companies, but otherwise the trip was great. We enjoyed the quick stop with the local family to make rice paper and feed the pigs too.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2014/10/22

Our trip was very pleasant and informative. Our guide was very enthusiastic. We enjoyed the local farm we visited on the way. We will definitely do Urban Adventures again and will recommend them to friends. We live in NYC and may recommend them to out of town guests.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kerry, 2013/07/18

VERY INTERESTING SO GLAD WE DID THIS TOUR. HUBBY WENT DOWN THE TUNNEL FOR THE FIRST PART AND THAT WAS ENOUGH BUT GREAT EXPERIENCE. WELL WORTH DOING THE TOUR

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

A well run excursion.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Great experience. I will keep travelling with UA in the future then.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

I liked that we were a small group with max 12. people and that we left early so there were less tourist at the tunnels. i really liked the tour because our guide told us a lot of things and also answered all the questions not only about the co chi tunnels but also about vietnam in general.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Our guide Tathi Tham was excellent. She had good knowledge and was very helpful! We learnt a lot about Vietnamese history and enjoyed the tour a lot.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Our guide, Xi, was an amazing guide for this urban adventure. He was informative, spoke good english, and was very active in trying to keep things fun, entertaining, and culturally significant. He told us his goal is to someday be able to do multiple day tours around Vietnam, and I would highly recommend him for the position. Great experience and a very good guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Overall, it is nice to learn how Vietnamese survived during the war time. I just dislike the bullet sounds, it is too loud and unavoidable. If possible, guide should ask if some of their customers who will not do the fire, and offer them to wait/stay for the others in the peaceful area. As you know some people is sensitive to the very loud noice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Really good experience! 100% recommended!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Sam did an excellent job, with enthusiasm for this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Thanks very much for making our trip so specail, we will travel with URBAN ADVENTURES again and again!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

This trip is an excellent snapshot of life in the tunnels, it was nice to see the war from a different view.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/05/27

Was unable to get the 10% promised discount from previous tour- not available until December 2012!! - and tour was more expensive when booked online than others paying cash. Tour itself and service were good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2013/01/03

Small group and the tour was an eye opener. Just have to keep an open mind to the lopsided commentary and you will marvel the ingenious ways the Vietnamese men fought the war. The shooting range was a bonus.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ma. Loreto, 2011/04/17

the Cu chi tunnel experience is a must for travellers to vietnam.It made me feel how real the history of war was than just reading or watching it in movies....

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]