Page 2) The Sound of Music Movie Locations Tour from Salzburg reviews, Salzburg tours & activities, fun things to do in Salzburg | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

The Sound of Music Movie Locations Tour from Salzburg

Overall Rating

4.49 4.49 / 5

Reviews

85 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Terence, 2013/09/24

Amazing tour guide. She was excellent. Beautiful scenery and the singing could not be faulted.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kara, 2013/09/08

The tour reads a lot bigger and better than it actually is... You do not visit Mirabell Gardens as part of the 4 hour tour. The bus terminal (where the tour starts and finishes) is located directly opposite the gardens so you can enter whenever you like (it is open to the public and there is no cost) but it will be in your own time.

It was good to see the Trapp family home, but you will need to zoom in a lot! There is a mention of a ballroom (?) but I don't recall going inside any ballroom.

I found it a waste of time visiting the Gazebo because it is located on the outside of Hellbrunn Palace (which you do not enter in this tour). There is so much to see and do in the 'actual' palace that I spent half a day there. Included of course, is the Gazebo which is also open to public.

Unfortunately it was pouring with rain while we were at Nornberg Alley, but this may be a pleasant lunch break if the weather is suitable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Emma R., 2013/03/15

We really enjoyed the tour and we liked how Peter our guide gave all the details. He was very entertaining.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jenna, 2013/02/03

I had an amazing experience on this tour! The tour guide was very friendly and cheery. It was seriously just awesome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ann, 2012/08/25

It was a great tour the only downside for us was that we didn`t see the Abbey, not even in a drive by.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MONTY, 2012/06/17

Tour guide was enthusiastic and entertaining. Fascinating to learn the behind the scenes knowledge of the movie and to experience the places personally.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joan , 2011/08/09

Overall a pleasant tour. A pity that most of the key venues were not open to the public. Although I understand owners desire for privacy, just driving past these places is not very satisfying.
We went on the Lakes and Mountains tour the day before Sound of Music tour and were a bit disappointed to find ourselves covering some of the same territory. It would be good to make that clear to prospective participants.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marianne, 2010/05/16

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: peter, 2009/09/17

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Renee, 2008/07/31

Great tour----Fantastic guide!!! The scenery was fantastic and the commentary even better! If you love the Sound of Music you HAVE to take this tour! David Turk, Salem Va, USA

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kathleen Hogue, 2008/06/24

Even my traveling companions, who were not SoM fans, enjoyed the tour. The lake area sites were wonderful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Salzburg