This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

The Sound of Music and Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Amazing sites in Hallstatt and good tour of The Sound of Music sites

Reviewed by: Chiara , 2019/02/22

The tour was overall good; we were the only people on it so a small group of 4. Our guide gave us some information about The Sound of Music on a quick city tour; perhaps it would have been more fun/exciting/engaging if we'd been a bigger group. We overheard the "Official" tour at a few spots where we clashed and that would probably have been a bit too cheery for us, but something in the middle of the two would have been good. Al gave us some interesting information about Austria on the way to St. Gilgen which was beautiful. On arrival at Hallstatt he gave us some more good tips. Hallstatt was beyond beautiful, two hours there was probably not enough time to be honest if you want to eat as well. Take some quick photos or don't sit down to eat. We took too long admiring the beauty and thought we'd have time for a bowl of soup as well as shops. It's really wonderful there - I'd definitely recommend a quick cone of chips from the takeaway place between the churches on the right; don't waste time with a proper lunch! Also, you need 1Euro for the toilet by the carpark! The church at Mondesee is cute and we were recommended a great place for a cake stop. We had epic strudel although it took a while to come! Al dropped us back off in town as we asked him too which was very kind. All in, the tour was quite expensive. If you're a hardcore SOM fan then try and do the other tour I think as this one was probably less exciting - I'm not a huge fan though so I was ok but I think the other girls in our group wanted a little more. DO NOT MISS HALLSTATT!!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/02/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic

Reviewed by: Haleigh, 2018/12/11

This tour is perfect for people who aren't in Salzburg for very long. It included sights and knowledge about Salzburg, the Sound of Music filming locations, and the incredible Hallstatt.
Our guide Al was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and passionate about his country. A perfect day.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent experience Highly recommended

Reviewed by: susan, 2018/10/06

Really enjoyed the small group tour.
Scenic, informative and comfortable. Good pace and guide was excellent

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect Day

Reviewed by: Jim, 2018/09/24

We had a great day with RosaMaria last Friday, 9/21. She made it easy from the start, picking us up on time at our B&B. We stopped at all the major sights from The Sound of Music and enjoyed her stories and humor along the way. We made several stops at the Lakes District before having lunch in Hallstatt. This might be the most beautiful place we’ve ever visited. We ended the day with another stop in Mond See to see the church from the Sound of Music wedding scene, enjoying a coffee and local pastries before heading bavk to old town. Overall, this was the best day of our trip. RosaMaria was very funny, accommodating and insightful. Only feedback would be to try to stop a little more frequently to allow for more pictures of the incredible views.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful scenery but vehicle too small

Reviewed by: Chan, 2018/09/12

The tour included a few scenic spots which are wonderful. The only major drawback is the very small transport vehicle. 9 people were jammed in a 9-seater van! There was not even space to stretch our arms and legs during the whole ride.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/09/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wow amazing scenery, great day

Reviewed by: Sue Edwards, 2018/07/21

Picked up on time from hotel, the guide was very informative sound of music tour was lovely and Hallstatt is one of the most beautiful places, the sun was shinning and all in all a fabulous, lovely day thank you would defiantly recommend this tour and Bobs special tours



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely day trip!

Reviewed by: Eva T, 2018/07/03

Our guide Rosemaria was knowledgeable and awesome, timing was perfect and we got to see so much as a small group tour. Would highly recommend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An wonderful guide Mr Luke with great knowledge and history of all landmarks. He was a great friendly person.

Reviewed by: Khondker Rahman, 2018/06/26

The tour was greatly planned and had teh opportunity to visit all the places of interest that we had. The guide, Mr Like was simply the best. His personality, his friendliness and his knowledge all made it a great day for us. The tour is also poised nice with the allocated time.... and Hallstatt is just a mesmerizing place,

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/06/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review - Sound of Music and Hallstatt Tour

Reviewed by: Sid, 2018/06/09

Excellent experience. Slyvia was very organized, professional, proactive and energetic giving us detailed information about the sites and their connections with the movie. We absolutely loved the alpine slide. It was unique. Slyvia also made great recommendations of where to eat and gifts shopping. We definitely recommend this tour and particularly our guide. She even sang the movie songs for us a few times :)

Hallstat was out of a fairy tale. Arguably the prettiest little town we have ever visited - so a big thumbs up for this overall experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great, small-group tour led by funny guide

Reviewed by: Ronnie & Shiping, 2017/11/07

From the get-go, Luke is a warm and friendly guide that speaks good English, albeit with an uncanny Arnold Schwarzenegger accent. Tour was tight knitted at 6 pax in a small mini-bus, which is great as it allows us to take the scenic mountain routes which the big buses can’t. Luke was also knowledgeable about the spots where they were used for the Sound of Music tour. Great tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sound of Music/Hallstatt

Reviewed by: Gregory Taylor, 2017/11/02

Beautiful lake setting in Hallstatt. A few stops for Sound of Music

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful tour!!

Reviewed by: Padi , 2017/10/16

We had a wonderful time following the sound of music scenes. Silvia was our tour guide. We enjoyed it so much!


  • Hallstatt


  • leopoldskron palace


  • View from restaurant in Wolfgangsee


  • Hallstatt


  • Apple strudel


  • St. Michael in Mondsee


  • The Von Trapp gazebo

Reply from activity provider

Dear Padi!

Thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Sound of Music / Hallstatt Tour with Silvia and hope to welcome you again some day!

Best regards from Salzburg
Jonathan

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/10/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was very good trip

Reviewed by: Sung Kim, 2017/07/13

The lady guide was very nice and we'll explained, very friendly, treated us like old friend. You can not see every thing since long trip to Hallstatt. This is one day trip to see both. But it was worth it. Thank to guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/07/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must-do side trip!

Reviewed by: KSC, 2016/11/06

I highly recommend this tour for both fans and non-fans of Sound of Music. Our group enjoyed the semi private tour with 8 people (two groups of 4). The minibus was cozy. We were picked up promptly at 8:30 am from our hotel lobby. The first half of the tour was Sound of Music related, while the second half of the tour featured the beautiful Austrian country side and the truly breathtaking views of Austrian Lake region - Hallstatt. Personally, I feel that only half a day for each part is required and Veltra is the only site with this combo tour available. We went during fall season so we had the added advantage of capturing some beautiful fall colours. At the end of the tour the group was dropped off at the Mirabell Garden (another Sound of Music sight), we wish the tour guide would accompany us all the way through to walk us through the garden and point out some of the significant sights related to the Sound of Music. Overall, we enjoyed this tour very much and Hallstatt is definitely the highlight of our Salzburg visit!


  • I am sixteen going on seventeen...


  • The breathtaking view of Hallstatt

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Sound of Music and Hallstatt Tour

Reviewed by: Rachel & Charles, 2015/09/29

This was our first tour of our vacation and it was wonderful. Our driver, a local raised in Salzburg, was knowledgeable, friendly and most helpful. The large van we traveled in ("Tours by Bob") was most comfortable. The tour titled, "Sound of Music" indeed covered many of the main sights, but our tour guide/driver made it so much more about being in Salzburg and Hallstatt. Was a highlight of our vacation.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour

Reviewed by: Adina, 2015/05/28

The tour was great. The group consisted of me and three other people who were all traveling together. The tour guide was understanding when I was late (had trouble finding the tour office). His explanations were interesting, and it was great seeing beautiful Hallstatt and all the Sound of Music sites. I had a great time!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The world of Sound of Music

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

I was traveling with my friend ant it was a first time we joined a group tour! We were worried if the bus will really come to pick us up and we were relived that it arrived right on time. There was an American family and a young Japanese girl on the tour. Thanks to the nice weather, fun guide and the driver, we had a really great day! The restaurant recommended by the guide was amazing as well and food was very good. The weather in Hallstatt was wonderful, the sun was glittering on the lake, the town and a little church were lovely and we had enough time to see everything.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sound of Music Tour and Hallstatt from Salzburg

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

There were only 5 people on the tour - family of 3 from America and us 2. The guide was very good and nice.
After visiting a few Sound of Music locations, we arrived at Hallstatt.
We had lunch in a cosy restaurant in St. Gilgen called Muehlradl (www.muehlradl-stgilgen.at). The view on Lake Wolfgang was beautiful. For lunch we had local dish Bauernschmaus with sausage and beef. Then we went to the lakeside in Montsee, visited a small church and walked around the town. We had plenty of time to see everything.
The guide was a walking encyclopedia of Sound of Music and was able to answer to all our questions. We will definitely watch the film again after we come back.

I have become a Sound of Music fan again after many years!

<Translated by Veltra.com>





Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sound of Music Tour and Hallstatt from Salzburg

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

There were only 5 people on the tour - family of 3 from America and us 2. The guide was very good and nice.
After visiting a few Sound of Music locations, we arrived at Hallstatt.
We had lunch in a cosy restaurant in St. Gilgen called Muehlradl (www.muehlradl-stgilgen.at). The view on Lake Wolfgang was beautiful. For lunch we had local dish Bauernschmaus with sausage and beef. Then we went to the lakeside in Montsee, visited a small church and walked around the town. We had plenty of time to see everything.
The guide was a walking encyclopedia of Sound of Music and was able to answer to all our questions. We will definitely watch the film again after we come back.

I have become a Sound of Music fan again after many years!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good excurtion to hallsutatt

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

It was sunny and very hot.
We took a boat to have a good view from the lake.
Tis is a very good experience and had a good time there.
The view of the village from the lake was wonderful.
the lake was not clear because of the flood caused by the heavy rain in the eastern Germany.As for the tour of sound music ,it reminded us of some scenes of the movie.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

We confused the meeting point, but actually it helped us to break the ice with other participants. There was a lot of photo stops at different Sound of Music locations around Salzburg, which was great. Hallstatt was our main destination and even though it was foggy, the view was impressive. The tour was in English and the guide's explanations were easy to understand. We really enjoyed the tour. Totally recommend it!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I recommend it

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/25

Hallstatt was beautiful - definitely worth going on this tour!
The guide was very polite, he asked us if we want to have lunch at Hallstatt or the Salzkammergut restaurant with a nice view on the town, and we all decided on the latter. The view on the lake was amazing and we had a plenty of time there. I recommend it.
In Hallstatt we free time to walk around. Because we had a limited time there, we followed guide's advice and went on a sightseeing cruise first, after 45 min we arrived at a different wharf and continues sightseeing through there to the meeting point.
We bought some amazing wooden toys and some rock salt that was cheaper than in Salzburg.
You will enjoy it more if you see Sound of Music before the tour.
You should definitely go!

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Salzburg