This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Kutna Hora Tours in Prague

Overall Rating

4.37 4.37 / 5

Reviews

21 reviews

Kutna Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

Day tour to kutna hora

Reviewed by: Terence Grob, 2015/08/07

I booked the day tour with veltra (operated by Prague sightseeing tours) from Prague to kutna hora as a solo traveller. First of all our guide was great! An elderly gentleman, he seemed to have an endless pool of historical knowledge! Spoke perfect English, German and Russian. His words very extremely informative and gave me a great deal of additional historical knowledge about kutna hora, which used to be a major silver mining city in the Middle Ages. We started by visiting the famous bone church, where a great deal of the interior decoration is made from real bones and skulls, amazing and unusual place! Then we proceeded to the main town which included st. Barbara cathedral and the former silver coin factory. We did get some time for a lunch break too. The tour participants were all nice people as well. The tour lasted about 7 hours by minibus. I would definitely recommend this tour for a beautiful day trip outside of Prague!

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2015/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Todd, 2015/06/19

Very enjoyable day! The highlight was the Bone Church, which is remarkable - haunting, yet somehow beautiful and spiritual. My guide (I believe his name was Peter) was knowledgeable and friendly. He shared a great amount of information, not only about Kutna Hora, but also about life in Prague and the Czech Republic. His conversation was stimulating, revealing, and insightful. An absolute pleasure! The day also included visits to an impressive cathedral, as well as the old mint building, which I found somewhat interesting, though not as essential as the other two stops on the tour. All in all though, a wonderful day that was well worth the money. Also worth mentioning: There were only three people on my tour (myself and another couple), so it was quite intimate; not one of those impersonal, large group tours.Thank you again Peter for being such a good host and providing me with such a memorable day!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

Lady in the forest

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

We've seen this place on NHK and we decided that we definitely
have to go there.
It's a very small town, but very charming and beautiful.
On the little square coffee shops and little shops stand next to each other and when you look up you can see the castle towering over the town.
The town is surrounded by the forest. You can really forget about the real life there.
It was an English tour, but even if you don't speak English very well, you will enjoy it.
There was a lot of free time and we really had a great time.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: John, 2011/12/03

We were there off season in November but the tour was outstanding.Our guide was very informed and engaging. He took us though the countryside to see the real Czech Republic. He timed the visits to enable us to see all of the sites on the tour. We highly recommend this tour to see a little bit of the Czech Republic if you visit Prague.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

Astonishing

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

We've seen it on TV and decided to go there on our trip to Czech. Hotel pick up was on time, the guidance was in English but it was OK and the guide was very nice. The inside of the church was entirely made of bones, so it was quite a rare and astonishing sight.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Bron, 2013/10/02

We thoroughly enjoyed the Kutna Hora experience. Our guide, Margaret, was excellent & we enjoyed her commentary. We would thoroughly recommend the tour. Besides the Bone Church, St Barbara's cathedral was amazing. A must do trip!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

We enjoyed the Cemetary Church

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/13

During the tour we were able to see the Cemetery Church and other sights in the UNESCO town of Kotna Hora. There was a plenty of time and we used it effectively. We enjoyed the tour.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: fatima, 2015/10/05

I really enjoy the trip.. The guide actually talked to me in spanish so.. I could understand more... And also i recieved very quickly answer to my question by email when i have a doubt.... I enjoy the trip

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Kim, 2014/10/24

Very informative tour - it's amazing how much one can still learn about a very dark period of our time. I would highly suggest this tour for anyone visiting Prague. Well worth the time & money spent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: David, 2008/10/25

Peter, our tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions and was very entertaining and at times colorful. The whole tour was very, very good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Gregory, 2016/03/07

Everything pre tour is going well.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

A wonderful trip

Reviewed by: David, 2015/07/16

This is definitively a wonderful trip during our stay in Europe this summer. It's our first time to visit Prague. We have no idea at all to visit any place in Prague. I used to do my trip survey by Veltra. Thanks for their information and recommendations, we booked this trip before our arrival. Not only because of the attraction of bone church, but also our previous good experience with Veltra. We were satisfied with the quality of this trip. For a half day trip, the schedule is pretty tight. We visited bone church, St. Barbara church, monarchy and the lovely old town in 2-3 hours. Trough the wonderful introduction by an experienced guide, we were able to catch every important point in those places. It is not so easy according to my personal experience. The transportation is good. They even provide pick-up service that we can easily access to the meeting point from our hotel!
To sum up, everything is just excellent for this trip. Thanks to Veltra!

Rating:
Attended as: Families with Young Children
Activity Date: 2015/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora and Sedlec Ossuary Day Trip from Prague

Worth Trip During the Week

Reviewed by: Andrew & Hatsue, 2015/09/28

This was a very interesting tour where we learned some fascinating (& often brutal) history of the area, particularly in relation to the silver mines & the plights of the miners . . . Never before have we seen so many human remains collected in one place! The whole interior was elaborately adorned with with skulls strung together & attached to rib bones & many others. The chandelier in the enter of the space is completely made of human bones . . . The church (which took 518 years to build) & surrounding environs were incredible, even with the crowds of tourists . . . Ad, the guide was top-notch - personable, knowledgeable & very helpful, as well as fluent in several languages . . . The only downside was that the tour was schedule on a weekend and, therefore, almost all of the shops were closed . . . Overall, though, highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Nitin, 2017/03/26

Kutna Hora is a beautiful place and a must see place when you visit Czechia. We didn't have any issues with the hotel pickup and the guide Peter was also good. My only complaint is that the tour was a bit rushed and we didn't enough time in the cathedral.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Nitin, 2017/03/26

Kutna Hora is a beautiful place and a must see place when you visit Czechia. We didn't have any issues with the hotel pickup and the guide Peter was also good. My only complaint is that the tour was a bit rushed and we didn't enough time in the cathedral.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Paul, 2008/06/27

The guide was very knowledge, humerous and fluent in several languages. We learned a huge amount about the Czech Republic, Prague and Kutna Hora.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Good tour - terrible driver!

Reviewed by: SJ84, 2018/04/30

We only went on this tour to see the sedlec ossuary but I'm glad the other stops were on the itinerary because the ossuary was a bit of a let down. Its one room. If you've seen pictures you've seen it. Our tour guide gave us a lot of facts but they weren't very interesting mainly dates and architectural styles. There was a Spartan race on when we visited the cathedral, a lot of the walkways were roped off but we still got to see the church. The Italian court was interesting but again very quick and not many original features remain.
There were 5 of us on the tour and having spoke to the other guests, I know we all felt.that the driver of our group was driving recklessly. Speeding, overtaking 2 cars at a time, taking bends at a ridiculous speed, going over speed bumps at full speed. Maybe that's how they drive in the Czech republic but when you've got 5 guests in your car you could at least obey the rules of the road. Also there is only one toilet opportunity right after the ossuary and you have to pay! Just so you know. Wouldn't recommend unless you're very bored.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Kevin , 2013/01/12

the kutna hora tour was very intresting and are guide was very good, the church at kutna hora is very intresting, .
only bad point is yiu do not got enough time at all the locations

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Nathalie, 2012/07/14

Nice place to see but a little to fast, did not have time to really enjoy the place. Our guide made a stop at a restaurant and it was useless since it was a half day trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Alexandrina , 2012/07/24

The guide was great. I took the tour in french, city discovery manage to accomodate my needs.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kutna Hora, St. Barbara's Church and Sedlec Ossuary Day Tour from Prague

Reviewed by: Swee Leong, 2012/12/08

The trip to kutna hora was ok.. The bone cathedral was an eye opener but unfortunately, the guide does not really speak gd english and it is hard to understand. Could have been better if the guide can speak more standard english

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Prague