Page 2) Monet Giverny Gardens and Skip the Line Versailles Palace Tour from Paris reviews, Paris tours & activities, fun things to do in Paris | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Monet Giverny Gardens and Skip the Line Versailles Palace Tour from Paris

Overall Rating

4.37 4.37 / 5

Reviews

52 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Carole, 2012/05/26

Very good day out with an excellent tour operator driving our small mini bus. (Shared Tour of 8)
Monet's Garden first with a very nice stop for lunch before visiting the Palace of Versailles.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Daniele, 2012/04/24

We loved this tour. We would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to see Monet's house and gardens in Giverny and the palace at Versailles. Our driver Stan was great and so were the tours and lunch. There was plenty of time to see everything and the whole day was stress-free because all the details were taken care of by City Discovery. A fabulous day!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rosemary, 2012/04/16

Excellent guide. He was very informative, friendly, and helpful. He used the driving time to give us good background information to put what we saw at the sites into context.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Linda, 2011/10/22

Sophie, our tour guide was excellent. She told us interesting facts and other tidbits about the sights we passed etc. that we wouldn't have found in tour books. The only reservation I had was the cost. For example, in contrast, the day trip of the same length to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Bath was half the price. Now I must be fair. Windsor Castle trip took place on a large tour bus & did not include a lunch or hotel pickup/drop off, however, I felt that the price was still a little steep. We very much enjoyed Versailles and especially Giverny. Wonderful!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robin, 2011/09/24

I would have liked some commentary during the bus trip to geverny and Versailles. We had to keep asking questions such as is that the Forest of Fontainebleau? or what town is that? otherwise it was the highlight of my trip , especially Giverny. Thank you. I'm glad I went on the tour..

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Heather, 2011/09/16

Our Tour Guide was excellent and made the day. Not enough time in Versailles to see everything---probably due to the crowds.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: GLENN, 2011/08/01

Giverny was great. Versailles choked with people. Do not go there on Sunday. Driver and transport were excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Terence, 2011/05/19

I first did this tour back in 2006 and found it very enjoyable. This year, my husband was with me experiencing his first trip to France. We both enjoyed the trip, however were disappointed with the lunch provided. The driver was personable...much better than on our City Discovery Tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: KARIN, 2011/05/08

Loved Giverny. A gardeners paradise.
The Versailles palace should probably have been visited in a whole day tour as the palace was packed to the point of claustrophobia in the afternoon, and there was not enough time to visit the grounds as well as the palace.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Theresa , 2010/11/08

My friends and I loved the tour, but were disappointed that we were not on the same tour even though we let City Discovery know when we booked it that we were traveling together and wanted to be on the same tour. We were staying in different hotels, and ended up on different tours.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2010/10/22

All 5 of us had fun (amidst the uncertainty of strikes in Paris).

The flowers and museum at Giverny was fabulous. Versailles was very crowded on that Sunday.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ian, 2010/10/20

The highlight for us was the terrific guide - best ever. Also the venue for the included lunch was well above average. When we return to Paris will certainly do other City Discovery tours.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: bev , 2010/08/09

this tour was wonderfull and everything we hoped for and loved having just a small group of people who were all very nice too.will recommend this to our friends.regards bev munce

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: José Augusto, 2010/08/02

I had such a great time! The guide was very nice and the places are really fantastic !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: william, 2010/06/20

Excelllant Tour ,Guide First class; Plenty of time at each site no rushing around ;



Lots More Photos if you would like them ;;; Regards Willie

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Laura, 2010/05/24

Our tour guide was 45 minutes late picking us up. Too much time at lunch (a full hour) when most were finished in almost half that time. Would have loved to spend more time at Versailles, less at lunch. Although lunch is in a very beautiful area. The places visited were fantastic and our guide gave us good information in the van.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2010/04/24

I would recommend this only for speed and convenience. The tour package itself did not provide any extra benefit other than a group of individuals to ride with to the destination and the ride itself (and lunch). 1.5 hours to cover Versailles was tragically short changing the immensity of the site.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Helen, 2009/09/20

Giverny was fabulous; the restaurant and food were great, the guide, Diane, was a sweetheart and excellent driver. My sister and I didn't care for Versailles - too gaudy, but that is just our personal opinion.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patricia, 2009/08/02

Plenty of time to see the attractions and the guide was very good

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Laurel, 2008/10/08

The tour guide, Vincent, was EXCELLENT! He was very pleasant and knowledgeable and we are glad to have the opportunity to tell you so. Thanks! Kind regards, Laurel

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tiffany, 2008/05/21

I loved the tour, and the Celine, our driver, was fabulous. I would highly recommend the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2007/11/04

The tour (especially the visit to Giverny) was the highlight of our trip).The driver/guide was excellent (and very knoiwledgable), and the vehicle was comfortable and maintained to a high standard.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Paris Categories