Paris Literature Private Walking Tour of Saint-Germain-des-Pres & Latin Quarter reviews, Paris tours & activities, fun things to do in Paris | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Paris Literature Private Walking Tour of Saint-Germain-des-Pres & Latin Quarter

Overall Rating

4.34 4.34 / 5

Reviews

38 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Caridad, 2016/07/17

Thank you for an amazing time! It was a stress-free, easy, fun way to experience the River Seine and the Moulin Rouge with a great, friendly staff. I highly recommend this company for anyone who wishes to visit the sites in Paris!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2015/07/14

It was great!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Irene, 2014/08/05

Had a fabulous time river cruise excellent. Show outstanding and champagne good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: DEEPAK, 2014/07/29

its a best experience for a visitor who is in paris.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elena, 2013/10/07

All was very well. Paris is wonderful.Show was graphikally and beautiful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tara, 2013/10/05

Very well organized! Stephan was hilarious! Dropped off outside our hotel at the end of the night - big bonus!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Suzanne, 2013/09/23

Great night, great vibe and well organised but very busy with other groups etc. Night was good but tables in Moulin Rouge were very tightly packed.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jane, 2013/07/04

Fantastic Tour ! Our guide was fabulous, very informative and a great sense of humor!

Absolutely loved the River cruise and of course The Moulin Rouge is a must see whilst in Paris.

I would definitely recommend this tour :)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Shelley C., 2012/09/18

The cruise was very interesting with the available narration, the city lights, and the hundreds of Parisiennes lining the river banks. Being in the Moulin Rouge and seeing the show was a fabulous experience. The theater is beautiful, and the show's costumes, choreography, sets, are marvelous. It's expensive --- but worth it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2012/08/31

The Moulin Rouge was disapointting

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Naomi, 2012/07/10

The moulin rouge was amazing. Staff on the tour were very friendly and the bus dropped us back at our hotel which was not specified in the tour and a big plus!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ronald, 2011/08/06

We actually missed the bus for the river part but your tour director was very helpful getting us into Moulin Rouge...but we have to tell someone Moulin Rouge is a bust..a cruise ship quality vaudeville show...trying to be current and missing the point..people are more interested in seeing more of what it was.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: William, 2011/07/10

My wife and I would have done better to get tickets on our own. Our seats at Moulin Rouge were backed into a back corner, one-fourth hidden by a post, and unreachable by the bar tender; if you go, buy whatever you want to drink for the whole show at the beginning. We were told by our guide that our seats were reserved; if so, they reserved the worst seats in the house!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Helen, 2010/10/04

This was an event that we could have organized ourselves but as we only had a weekend in Paris it was great that someone else did the organizing for us. It was a great evening - everything so there were no surprises, even the wait in a huge queue to get into Moulin Rouge. Not cheap but great value because you get what you pay for. Thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gary, 2010/09/19

We felt like sheep being led to the slaughter. We were told to print our ticket (Which we did with great dificulty) which is nearly impossible when traveling and using a laptop. We were told to bring photo ID and the credit card used to book the trip, which we would usually leave locked in the safe but no oe wanted to see them. The lady behind the counter was rude and uninterested in the customer. We were filed on and off a bus in the rain getting quite wet, then left standing on a barge in the rain for 25 minutes while an empty boat sat and we couldnt get on. Apart from the comentary being uninteresting you couldnt hear it because the speakers didnt work properly and the background music was too loud. then we waited in line in the cold (wet) for another half hour until we got crammed into the Moulon Rouge like sardines where we got put at the back of a table of 6 and could not see properly. What we saw of the show was great. The bus driver and guides were good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Allan, 2010/08/09

The river cruise was good. The Moulin Rouge show was entertaining but in the end quite repetitive. The dancing was good, the costumes colourful, the dancers beautiful, the acts excellent - BUT - the dancing was all about showing beautiful bodies and became repetitous after a while.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christine, 2010/07/26

It was very well organised from the moment I booked it. The Seine Cruise was the perfect start to the evening. Moulin Rouge was a good show, waiters were slow with the drinks if you traded the champagne in for a spirit, seating was a bit hit and miss - we were okay as there was only 4 of us - but another party of 8 were split up on 3 different tables.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2010/07/14

Moulin Rouge is a must when you are in Paris, the show was fantastic. Also the river cruise was good. But you should update the information on your site since it didn't finish at midnight, but first at 01.15, and also that the bus drive you home to hotel is missing in information.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rohin & Kasheena, 2010/06/15

Every event seemed to be properly timed. We got on the river cruise within a few minutes of arrival at the port and when we got back to land we had just enough time to get back to the bus, which got us to Moulin Rouge just in time for the start of the show. The wait times were minimal and the cruise directors spoke several languages fluently. My wife and I really enjoyed this tour and we recommend it. It was good value for the money. The cruise was not really a formal event as there were many people on board who were not going to Moulin Rouge. However, for couples travelling together the formal dressing will pay off when professional photographers take your picture upon entering the river boat. These pictures can be purchased for 10 euros upon exiting the river boat at the end of the cruise.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Arash, 2010/05/31

It was so interesting, tour guide was so polite and experienced. Every thing arranged in a very good way. I do recommend it to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eileen, 2010/05/03

My friends and I thought the River Seine cruise and the Moulin Rouge trip was fantastic value for money. The cruise was very relaxing and the show at the Moulin Rouge was worth the trip. It was also nice to be dropped off at our hotel at the end of the night. We couldn't fault it at all. If you booked these two outings separately it would certainly cost you a lot more money. Very professional company and everything went to plan. The staff and guides were all helpful and friendly. I will definitely use this company again and I've already recommended it to a friend who is going to Paris in a few months! Thanks for making our trip better!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sirpa, 2009/10/22

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2009/10/11

Cruise was great and what we expected. Moulin Rouge was something you should do once to tick off - certainly an experience. It is VERY cramped in there, so don't expect to be thet comfortable, or to get anything to drink other than the one that's on the table at the start.

Show was impressive in places but the male dancers were poor and we would have expected performers to be singing live for €100 a head! Watching a range of performers mime to a belting soundtrack got a little tedious after a while.

Still - definitely something to do once and I would recommend it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2009/09/14

Had a lovely time. Cruise was very informative and Moulin Rouge show was amazing. Thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Helen, 2009/09/05

price was quoted in euros - but then charged in US dollars - and then converted to £s by our bank. Why not just charge in Euros as quoted and save two exchange rates ?

At both boat and Moulin Rouge we felt 'cattle-herded' - very cramped. But this was the fault of the venues, not the tour operator.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Angela, 2009/08/27

Thank you so much it was fantastic the cruise was absolutley beautiful and with the eiffel tower lighting up at the end was just magic. Moulin rouge was an amazing show something we will never forget.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Angela, 2009/08/11

It was brilliant thank you so much me and my mum had a fantastic time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mauricio, 2009/08/10

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lauren, 2009/07/29

The staff on the tour were very helpful, friendly and organised. The bus was great and dropped us off to our hotel which was unexpected. We loved the Moulin Rouge. The only problem was the river cruise. It was sold in the package as a romantice river seine cruise which it was anything but. It was a huge ferry boat filled with teenages and hundreds of other people who were not going to the moulin rouge. We were all dressed up and expecting a nice cruise with our tour, not just the regular ferry full of people. We couldn't even get seats together on the ferry. The staff on the ferry however were very informative, and we had some nice professional photos taking which was great. Over all it was not a bad experience we were just disappointed that it was nothing like we expected. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of the tour and would recommend it to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rachel, 2009/04/27

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]