(All Reviews) Normandy & Landing Beaches (Best Day Trips from Paris), Paris tours & activities, fun things to do in Paris | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Normandy & Landing Beaches in Paris

Overall Rating

4.74 4.74 / 5

Reviews

27 reviews

Normandy D-Day Beaches with Norman Lunch and Cider Tasting Day Tour from Paris

Amazing tour!!!

Reviewed by: Crystal E, 2015/09/20

We wanted to go to the beaches of Normandy since we were fairly close in Paris. This was the perfect tour for us! Felix was our guide and did a fantastic job giving us enough of a history lesson that it really took us back to that day and everything leading up to the battles. Honestly I feel that it gave me a better appreciation for the locations we visited because I hadn't learned about them since high school and being an adult gives you more of an appreciation for those events. The sights were breathtaking and emotional. The museum and movie was also well done. The break to go to a cider farm was also a nice break from the seriousness of d-day. The cider was AWESOME!!! The lunch was delicious and was at a Michelin star restaurant. Overall the only "negative" is that there simply was not enough time to take everything in, but this tour did a pretty good job at it! Highly recommend this tour.

  • American Cemetery

  • Cider Farm and tasting

  • Bunker

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2015/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Overall Great Tour

Reviewed by: B2020, 2020/02/24

Overall highlights:
-Very comfortable coach for a long tour
-Extremely knowledgeable tour guide
-The locations we stopped at were perfect

So met the coach early in the morning. After checking in they give you a sticker then you line up in that respective coach once arrived. On the road to the Caen museum the tour guide give plenty of historical information and fun facts along the way. The museum was stunning and we opted for the plan with the lunch which was prepared just for us. The food was amazing and a 3 course meal was unexpected. The remainder of the stops were quick photo stops before making the almost 3 hour trek back

Things to consider:
-6 hours in a coach
- If you like history or museums that blow your mind this is it BUT there is not near enough time to give it the respect it deserves

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2020/01/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy D-Day Beaches with Norman Lunch and Cider Tasting Day Tour from Paris

Reviewed by: Richard, 2014/11/01

The group consisted of only 12 people, our driver and our guide.

The guide, Manto Felix Zorich, was absolutely incredible. Feliz emigrated to France from Croatia, where he earned a degree in world history. His knowledge and understanding of world events gave him a rich perspective into the nuances of the Allies' invasion of the Normandy beaches.

I would imagine that visiting Normandy without a tour guide would give a visitor ample understanding of the historical relevance of that region.

However, this tour guide made our experience one of the best travel adventures ever.

Great job.

Rick Davis
Springfield, Illinois

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy D-Day Beaches with Norman Lunch and Cider Tasting Day Tour from Paris

Reviewed by: Judith, 2015/09/25

Ordering: no personal contact when we had trouble with our charge card; hard to tell where the problem was. Excellent guides: knowledgeable , interesting, prepared you on the bus ride before arrival, which enhanced the experience. I am not a fan of military history, but I gained a whole new perspective and appreciation of it, due to both the guides and sites visited. Lunch was lovely, with great food, service, and speed of completion.nBus was okay; not the most comfortable.nFor the fees, you could have provided a bottle of water person...would be a nice touch!nWe would definitely recommend this to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Juliano Locatelli, 2011/02/19

This was the greates time I had during all my trip, and I´d being in meny bealtiful places such as Paris, Nice (and the Cote d´azur) and Lyon. I´m suspicius because I am a great entusiastic of II WW theme, but these tour is amazing not only for those are looking to get the feeling of the D-Day. I was with my mother and she really enjoyed the tour, the sightseeings and all the history as well. The guide (Isabela) was amazing, very kind and informative. The dinner at Caen´s Museum is also very goos and pleasent. I really recommend, even if you have a tied agenda in Paris.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: JOLENE, 2014/03/29

A very inspiring journey to the Normandy Beaches and cemetery. My traveling companion's father was in the D-Day invasion so the tour was doubly important to us. The journey to the beaches was in a very comfortable bus and the tour guides were very knowledgable. A tour well worth the price.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2012/10/28

The tour was really good, it was above my expectation, the details like lunch, or knowledge of the tourist guide was really good. Of course the places were amazing. In my case I love WWI history ba<x>sed on that I think was 100% suitable for me I don’t know for common tourist.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy D-Day Landing Beaches Small Group Full Day Tour from Paris By Minibus

Fabulous Outing,

Reviewed by: Miriam, 2019/05/24

Dimitri was a wonderful driver and tour guide to the Normandy beaches and the Bayeaux tapistry, it could not have been a better day for what we saw, the descriptions by our fantastic guide and the weather, I can recommend Ventura and Dimitri wholeheartedly!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Judith, 2012/03/25

Great tour. Meeting spot was easy to find. Bus was comfortable. Guide was knowledgeable. Tour was just what I expected. I would definitely recommend it. This is much better than trying to navigate to all the places on one's own.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Stanley, 2013/10/31

The most impressive item was the D-Day Museum, followed by the Omaha Beach area and the Military Cemetery.

I would also like to express our appreciation to the tour guide who was friendly, polite and informative.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: julie, 2008/10/24

It is extremely important to keep this part of history alive. It is a very emotional, and grounding experience that must be felt, in order to appreciate life.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Paul Michael , 2015/04/08

One of the best tours I have ever taken. Extremely interesting and our guide was very informed and knowledgeable on the subject.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Walt, 2014/05/13

Very satisfied with the order process, customer service and would highly recommend City-Discovery to family and friends.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Ryan, 2014/08/04

A very interesting tour. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. The day was well planned and organized.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Carlos, 2008/06/29

Tour guides were informative and we saw value in doing this day trip in the format that it was conducted.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Myra, 2007/12/06

This should be required for all US and Brit citizens visiting France. We loved everything about it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Richard, 2014/03/24

Tour guide was excellent!nLunch was well organized and very good.n

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Mark, 2007/11/15

Really enjoyed it. Tour guides very nice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy D-Day Beaches with Norman Lunch and Cider Tasting Day Tour from Paris

Reviewed by: kevin carey, 2014/10/25

I would skip the stop for cider.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Benita, 2007/11/06

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Interesting war world two museum

Reviewed by: Around-wanderworld , 2018/08/10

The visit was a must to me to see the region and the beaches too where the The Americans & British landed. The cemetery was an interesting place to visit . The museum contains lots of articles about World War Two . The lunch was delicious. What I didn’t like was the guide . She was a disaster and not fit for the trip I mean not able to give the right information. Always in a mess .i don’t remember her name.

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2018/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy D-Day Beaches with Norman Lunch and Cider Tasting Day Tour from Paris

Reviewed by: Ron, 2014/08/19

Most memorable trip to Normandy seeing Utah and Omaha Beaches, Pointe du Hoc and the meticulously maintained American Cemetery. These sites will hold everlasting memories of so many who sacrificed so much during the D-Day Campaign in 1944.

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable of the campaign history and the cider tasting at a local farm was really nice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Amador, 2009/06/16

We fest a bit hurried. The guide should have told us that the shop in the museum was the only place to buy souvenirs as we all thought we could buy them at the beaches. So many of us did not purchase any items to take home.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: GUSTAVO, 2011/08/08

It´s a tour for americans! We spend much time on the americans beaches like Omaha and very few time on the English and Canadian beaches that have better museuns and military equipament.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Doug &amp; Maggie Hayes, 2012/11/25

A great, full day of the Normandy beaches and sites. Good meal, nicely presented, and a knowledgeable tour guide. If you only have a day, this is the way to go.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Terry, 2009/07/03

The tour guide was very helpful & informative, the lunch at the museum was excellent, downside, not enough time at the beaches

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Normandy Day Trip from Paris with D-Day Beaches, Caen Memorial Museum and Lunch

Reviewed by: Penelope, 2008/03/27

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]