This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Heidelberg Guided Tour from Frankfurt

Overall Rating

4.544.54 / 5

Reviews

13 reviews (Post a review)

Great Experience

Reviewed by: Cindy T, 2019/03/03

The guide was funny and knowledgeable. It was a pleasant trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Driver, yes. Tour guide? NO

Reviewed by: Beth , 2017/12/12

I was happy to have a comfortable ride to Heideldberg from Frankfurt. I should've done some more research on the castle and town before going because I didn't really learn anything from our "guide." He got us into the castle grounds and basically told us when and where to be back. Then took us to town and did the same thing. Our lunch was 2 pieces of bread, 1 slice of salami, 1 slice of pickle, and a little mayo with a bottle of water.
So if you just want a ride there, then I'd say it's a little expensive but you can sleep on the way because you won't miss anything.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour to Heidelberg

Reviewed by: Irene W, 2017/09/26

We bought our tickets with VELTRA online few days before we left from US. We were a bit worry about our trip. After we arrived Frankfurt, we received a reminder email from VELTRA. According to the instruction on the voucher, we should call the tour operator, Green Line, one day before the tour day to confirm. We would be in Switzerland the day before our tour and would not back to Frankfurt till 8:00 pm the day before. We contact Green Line and was told not to worry, just bring the printed voucher and show up. We just brought our printed voucher to the meeting place and everything went smoothly.

Our guide Andrew is very knowledgeable and humous. He told a lot of stories and history of Germany and Frankfurt while we were on our way to Heildesberg.

During the castle tour, he explained many details and legendary stories about the castle. He had his unique way to help us to clear the crowd for the group to take a quick photo shoot. We thoroughly enjoyed his wit and knowledge. The Heidelberg old town was charming. The day we went was warm. There were a lot of people eating at the open squar. A lot of street shops were on the square with all kinds of things. The bridge and Church of Spirit were both fantastic.

To our surprise, the tour provided a sandwich and bottle water for lunch. Later we even had a piece of chocolate for desert.

The only downside is that the traffic was pretty bad. It took more than one and half hour from Frankfurt to Heildeberg. The bus had to make back to Frankfurt by 3:00 pm. This had to cut our touring time. It would be nicer if we had more time to spend in Heidelberg. Overall, this is a very good day tour from Frankfurt.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Norman, 2017/09/08

Good knowledgeable tour guide. Was a very good tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: LYNETTE, 2016/10/11

very good organised tour. interesting information given. tourguide friendly

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rifat, 2016/03/22

Very good and informative tour. Heidelberg is a very picturesque city. I took the tour with my three kids and Natalie, the guide customized the narratives to capture the interest of my precocious kids. Next time we visit we will definitely book with them again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historical Heidelberg

Reviewed by: JLW, 2015/10/03

On a narrow street, look for the GreenLine Sightseeing Tour Departure Office sign which is across the street from the Le Meridien Park Hotel. We board the tour bus for a one hour bus ride to Heidelberg. Our Tour Guide is a gentleman named Andrian, who missed his calling as a comedian. He makes what could be a dull tour entertaining with jokes and funny stories.

Heidelberg Castle is one of the most impressive castle ruins in Germany. We began our tour by walking through an arch way with its intricate details and figures of people with an interesting story and background.

As we approached a lookout we could see a calm Rhine River lined on both sides with lush green grass, trees and mansions. Our Guide assures us the homeowners are not wealthy but, extremely wealthy to live there.

Later we were able to go down to the wine cellar to see the biggest wine barrel in the world. It could hold over 55,000 gallons of wine. Narrow steps take you to the top of this enormous vessel. You must see it to appreciate the months of labor it must have taken to make without the benefit of machinery or electricity.

After touring the grounds we went into Heidelberg town. Here, we had some free time to enjoy lunch and a beer before returning to the Sightseeing Tour Office. The tour had a little bit of something for everybody. I highly recommend making this tour a priority when in Germany to experience what life was like before the internet.




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/09/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The old castle!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

Heidelberg is a historical and wonderful town. Especially the old bridge on the Neckar river and a view from the Heidelberg Castle was really beautiful.
It was such a beautiful town that regretted that I had to go back to Frankfurt. Next time I would like to visit with my family or friends.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnificent view

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

I booked this tour tour as it promised to make me experience German esprit.
The view from Heidelberger Schloss was more than fantastic.
The area around the church had great architecture and atmosphere, and even though I was on my own, I could spend an excellent time.
The tour guide was Italian, he was very funny and kept making jokes.
Other participants were all very nice, and I had a great time.
I recommend this tour for those who wish to walk around Heidelberger in a short time.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

I took a morning tour on my own. The tour guide was very funny. We went to Heidelberger Schloss first and then we were given a sandwich and juice on the bus on our way back to the town. We had 45 minutes to stroll at Market Square where we could buy some souvenirs. I enjoyed the ancient castle, authentic European style old streets and shopping. The tour ended at 15.00 so I had a lot of time to do more things after the tour. The tour provides a compact course to experience the medieval Europe.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very satisfied

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

We took this tour on the last day of my trip.
Our flight to back to Japan was around 10pm at night. This tour finishes at 3pm, so we decided to take it.
We had enough time to see the Heidelberg Schloss from both outside and inside and we were able to take lots of photos. Unfortunately it was a rainy day but it was rather poetic. The castle is located at a high point and the view from there is really great.
There was 45 minutes of free time, so we went to the cafe which was recommended to us for German beers.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Efficient, great views and a good guide.

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

During my business trip, I was looking for somewhere I could go from Frankfurt and decided to join this tour.
We drove about 100km on a highway and we arrived in Heidelberg soon. It was a pity it was raining, but I was really satisfied since we had really great views and we had quite lot of free time to walk around by ourselves.
I was extremely satisfied.
There is a German Pharmacy Museum inside the Heidelberg Castle. Maybe because I told them that I was on a business trip from a pharmaceutical company, I received a grand welcome and they gave me enough time to see everything there.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: michael , 2011/05/29

for the time that you have its a good trip and you have some time to go shopping

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Frankfurt