This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Berchtesgaden and Hitler's Eagle's Nest Tour from Munich

Beautiful views

Reviewed by: George, 2018/08/15

Was a nice trip. Our tour director was knowledgeable, but was upset when several of us only had vouchers on our smart phone,not printed out. To little time on top to much time at the bottom restaurant. But the historical aspect of the eagles nest was well worth the trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Very Full Day Out

Reviewed by: Chalet School Fan, 2018/08/12

The tour was well-planned and allowed time to see everything at a good pace - although personally we could have spent more time in the Documentation Centre.
Our guide was Ursula, who provided insightful commentary starting with our tour through Munich at the beginning of the trip to our drive along the Alpine Road and beside the Chiemsee on our return.
Arrive early to get a good seat on the bus - our boarding time was advertised as 8.10, but by then the bus was full and we were leaving. You need to wear comfortable shoes, as there is a lot of walking on cobbles and steep slopes and you also need to have E20 in cash for the trip by special bus up to the Eagles' Nest. The walk down from the top to the first bus park is an easy stroll on a tarmacked path with amazing views - well worth doing and much easy than the walk later to and from Hitler's Berghof.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ursula the Great

Reviewed by: Daniel , 2018/07/16

This tour is an all day journey. Ursula was our guide and she is fantastic. We made a quick tour through München, making note of tour relevant spots (eg Hitler’s apartment- now a police station), etc..). The ride to Berchtesgaden was great views of the Bavarian country side.
The actual Eagles Nest was sort of disappointing. Upon further thought however, it is the same thing it was back when it was built-a place to relax, eat & drink and enjoy the views. Ursula then took us on a walking tour to where Hitler’s actual house once stood. She also showed us where everything used to stand. This made the tour complete and really made it gel into a fantastic journey. I did eat at the diner down at the parking area. Finally found the sauerkraut I was after. Not that sweet crud everyone seems to serve. Very good. Cash only so make sure you have Euros to pay.
I’ll do this tour again with family-not th small kids though. A great deal of walking.
In one word: Awesome!







Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent daytrip!

Reviewed by: Marlas, 2018/07/11

Our guide Barbara was very nice and took good care of us. She also told us interesting things of places during the trip. Very much recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy and no problems

Reviewed by: Henrik J, 2018/05/16

Easy to get hold of the company to verify the trip.

Good instructions from the guide and good time at the sights.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: , 2017/10/27

Our trip didn't start well with the cancellation of The Eagles Nest tour due to bad weather but Elizabeth our tour guide deal with the situation very professionally.
She had to cope with some disappointed and unhappy travelers but this done she turned the day into a very enjoyable experience. The substituted tour to The Salt Mine was first class. The restaurtant for our lunch break was not expensive and the food and service excellent. The only problem with our visit to The documentation centre was not enough time there and we stayed to long and nearly missed the bus back to Munich. The journey through the Alps was stunning even in the wet and misty conditions as Autumn was in full flow and offered great photo and video opportunaties. Elizabeth's historical and local knowledge was excellent and occupied us for the entire day and her personal attention to our questions at the end of the day was great. A five star guide and tour and a day to remember with my Grandson.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Eagle's Nest tour

Reviewed by: Oscar, 2017/10/23

Took a very scenic drive through Bavaria to the Eagle's Nest with an excellent guide Elisabeth. Only bad thing about the trip was that the weather didn't cooperate. it was very foggy at the top. Was so interesting the see the tunnel, brass elevator, fireplace etc. After spending time at the Eagle's Nest, we made a couple stops on the way down: the documentation Center & then Berschtesgaden. would do it again if ever in the area


Reply from activity provider

Thank you, Oscar! Joachim, Department Manager

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Carl, 2017/08/28

Great guide with a lot of information. Good bus also. I highly recommend this Tour. Beautiful mountains along the way to the Nest.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, Carl, for recommending our Eagle´s Nest Tour! Joachim, Department Manager

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rhoda Myra, 2017/06/22

If you love history - this is definitely one thing you must do while in Munich.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: Helga, 2017/06/12

Highly recommend this trip, loved the tour, tour guide was incredible!!! Fun and lots of knowledge but most of all, super easy to to find location of departure.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you, Helga! Great to hear that you had a good time with us. Joachim Department Manager

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/06/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: BLANCA, 2016/08/29

I liked very much this trip at all, the mountains and landscape, as well as the historic sites Eagle`s nest, the museum and the bunkers, and of course our guide Sophie very nice and friendly giving us full explanations of everything.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brian, 2016/06/27

A lot of walking but very interesting and worth doing

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brian, 2016/06/27

A lot of walking but very interesting and worth doing

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Roberto, 2016/05/12

Greetings to our guide Magrit, excellent person, and very kindnRegardsn***

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/16

It was very relaxing to be surrounded by nature. The views were as beautiful as on the pictures on the website. I'm very interested in history, so visiting Hitler's holiday house was a great experience for me.
Berchtesgaden is surrounded by the mountains and I felt like I discovered a whole new face of Germany!!

<Translated by Veltra.com>



Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hitler's mountain villa

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/02/20

The tour to the famous Eaagle Nest, which Hitler got as a birthday present from Bormann, was amazing. As I red in a book, it was almost at the top of the mountain and the view from the windows was beautiful. The interior was impressive, it had a private road leading to the house (which is 1700 m above sea level), wonderful elevator to the summit - you can't possibly call it a summer house, it was beyond all my expectations.
The view was incredible, we was so happy we could see it!

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Colin, 2014/08/19

Well worth he visit - an amazing project if we forget that this was built for one of the worlds worst.Views from the Eagles Nest were brilliant - we were glad that the Americans did not destroy it.
Berchtesgaden was a beautiful old city and perhaps even surpasssed the former

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jon, 2014/07/20

Had a great time. The tour guides were very knowledgable and pointed out and provided information on interesting sites along the way. They are very organized and on time. Would use them again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Karla, 2014/06/02

We really enjoyed the Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest tour. The tour guide was very good and with clouds coming in they made the decision to go directly to Eagle's Nest first. They made the right decision we had lovely views from the top made more impressive as we watched the clouds and fog roll in as we came down. I also recommend leaving enough time to go through the Document Center the underground tunnels/bunker is worth the admission price alone.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gerard, 2014/05/29

Highlight of the trip for me personally. Ill happily do it all again. The Tour Guide was excellent as was the coach.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Janice, 2013/10/29

The tour was very well organized and the tour guide was excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Stephen, 2013/07/25

A fascinating trip and a great contrast to the hustle and bustle of the city. Fantastic views and scenery en route as well as from the Eagle's Nest.
The tour was well organised and the tour guide (Ana?) kept us informed, entertained and on time!
A final thanks to the dispatcher at Munich for sorting things out for me and my brother after we had lost our booking voucher. Much appreciated and excellent customer service.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Igor, 2013/06/26

Historical place. With wounderfull views.

NS-Documentation Center - only for people interested in history

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Peter, 2012/09/03

We really enjoyed our day going to the Eagles nest, our guide Bridget was fantastic.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2010/09/25

The tour is a must.The ride from Munich Berchtesgaden is as good as the Eagle Nest. Thru out the tour you see the great views of Bavaria and see why Bavaria is the best part of Germany.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: igor, 2009/08/16

All the guides are very good
Italians have difficulty with the fast English speech

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]