Siena, San Gimignano and Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting reviews, Florence tours & activities, fun things to do in Florence | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Siena, San Gimignano and Chianti Day Trip from Florence with Wine Tasting

Overall Rating

4.35 4.35 / 5

Reviews

83 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Judith, 2017/07/17

The guides were excellent and everything went very smoothly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2017/04/15

We really enjoyed our day visiting these beautiful towns. The guide on our bus was multi-lingual and very good. She informed us about each place coming up but then left us to look at the countryside quietly as we drove. The guide in Siena was terrific as well! Longer in San Gigninano would be good if possible

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marilyn, 2016/08/24

The bike ride ride at the end was harder than expected but there was an alternative if you didn't want to ride and the food at the winery at lunch was good. The guide was very informative and knew the region and the wines well

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2016/06/04

A well organised tour, interesting and allowing ample time for exploring all places except San Gimignano. Weather unfortunately very wet, but that did not take away from our over all satisfaction.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: parkash, 2016/05/03

Very pleased with the ease of booking, quick response to email so far and am looking forward to same great service for our booked day-tours.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Julieta, 2016/04/24

I would highly recommend this site to all my friends. The email we received for our booking in Milan for Lake Como stated that all reservation is " not confirmed". I would appreciate if you could confirmed upon payment about this Resevation rather than finding out the day or days before the tour that it's cancelled.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CRISTESCU, 2015/10/12

Trip in Sienna and San Gigminiano was really beautiful. Tziana our quide from Firenze who accompanied us throughout the day but also local quide were very friendly knowledgeable and very pleasant. Sienna is a medieval town with a superb cathedral value with centery buildings XIV-XV which keeps beautifull. The clock tower in the central piazza is specially rising proudly skyward.We visited a Contrada from 17 which are in Sienna. In Contrada training is specific for celebration of the race horse and city streets were adorned with multicolored flags. I had free time and although it reined incessantly gladly have traveled city streets. San Gimignano is also a superb medieval town. The Cathedral is magnificent being painted by Ghirlandaio teacher and mentor of Michelangello. City is not large and can be visited during free offer here you can buy souvenirs drink and sweets specific Tuscan. I recommand this trip special from the heart.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CRISTESCU, 2015/09/26

I was verry impressioned in my experience in Spain booking a trip Aqvila /Segovia.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lynne, 2015/08/25

I cannot recommend this highly enough. The guide on the bus Irene was brilliant and coped with having to say everything in 3 languages. She really seemed to care if everyone enjoyed the tour. I cannot remember the name of the wonderful lady who showed us round Siena with a real passion for her city. Visiting the day before the Palio was very lucky as the city was buzzing. San Gimignano is like a film set . Don't miss!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ALINA, 2015/04/17

IT IS A GREAT DAY TRIP EXCURSION ! VERY NICE ORGANISED ! BOTH - SIENNA AND SAN GIMIGNANO ARE FANTASTIQUE ! Was only a small problem - the wine tasting was not on a hill in Chianti , it was done in San Gimignano !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: maurice, 2014/05/28

We were satisfied in general with the tour.
Siena perfect.
San Gimignano we did not have enough time (mainly because all the tour have lost
half an hour +, waiting after 3 couples before leaving Siena.
But we are not satisfied with the activity:
Excursion à travers les collines du Chianti
as indicated on your site.
Your site on this point is not enough clear.
The only thing that would have made us full satisfied with the ti<x>tle of the excursion
(Siena, San Gimignano and Chianti Day Trip with Wine Tasting from Florence)
is to really see only one so marvelous idyllic
scene of chianti. Yes taking highway (question of time) but it may be possible in 15 minutes to make a strategic little detour
well planned...
The purpose of our comment is to be constructive...
thanks

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jean-Claude , 2014/04/25


The guide to Sienna was talking too much.
Furthermore, the bus was parked too far away and the guide was walking too fast.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Judy , 2013/09/23

Brilliant, multilingual guide (Francesca) and very interesting tour. Could have done without the marketing aspects where you get taken to wine places, but otherwise, excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Vivian Lee, 2013/03/21

Both of the cities are very interesting places to now. Siena is bigger and our guide, for the english group, was really great to show us the main places of the city and to tell the history of the city. A good thing was that the group were splited , one for english and other for spanish.
San gimignano is a very tiny medieval city, with towers and several stores, gelatos, cafes. Very good!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lori, 2013/02/27

The tour to Siena and San Gimignano was superb. Stopping at just the two villages during a full-day tour gave us enough time to visit each. Siena Cathedral was a true spectacle. The towers of San Gimignano were also amazing, well worth climbing to catch the view. Guide Tiziana was a treat - it was a pleasure being able to share the day with her as she explained the history of the region. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael Sikorski, 2013/01/22

Excellent tour guides on the bus and in Siena.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alfred, 2012/10/13

Very good tour, the Sienna guide was particularly good. Found the time in San Gimignano too limited. Understand the problem of time needed to drive to both places, but I am sure tour would benefit by a return to Firenze just before 19.00, rather than just before 18.00.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jason, 2012/10/10

A great day out and a break from Florence. Siena is a nice place to walk around and has some good architecture. San Gimignano is lovely little town with some lovely views. Worth walking up the tower.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: antonio, 2012/09/26

muy bueno el paseo, excelente la guía en Siena

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Luzia de Fatima, 2012/07/01

Amazing tour. Siena and San Gimignano are very beautiful and I did feel in a medieval movie. The guides of the agency are also very good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marie-Christine, 2012/06/01

It was a great one-day excursion. Our guide worked very hard speaking 3 languages.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Denis , 2011/10/26

It was a wonderful excursion and tour aroudn Siena, though it was a bit in a rush by an agent and she did not tell more of a history and details and did not allow much time to browse around Siena's Cathedral and enjoy art. In san Gimignano you wilkl be on your won and there is no guided tour and guide will not escort you and tell any history. You will have to wander on your own aroudn town centre. If you can find a cheaper equivalent for this excursion go ahead and you will save money. Enjoy your stay!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Hege, 2011/10/25

The tour guide and the local guide had both a lot of interesting knowledge they shared with us. A bit more time in the Siena dome would have been good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: phillip, 2011/10/03

Found the local Siena guide's English hard to understand. Both towns are worth seeing, but maybe with a little less emphasis on a lot of facts and figures.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Keri, 2011/09/14

I am giving this two stars because I liked the locations that were visited. I found the tour guide, Titziana, to be mediocre. She chattered away non-stop for the entire trip and didn't really have anything interesting to say. It was also very distracting to have to sit and listen to everything she said in multiple languages. After a long day on the road, it would have been nice to have some quiet time on the way home but she just kept going and going. Siena and San Gimignano were beautiful. I took a similar day tour of Tuscany a few years ago through a different company that was much better. The only reason why I didn't go back to them was because they also visited Pisa, which I really didn't need to see again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Wayne , 2011/08/28

Well organized tour. We had sufficient free time in Siena to do some shopping and to have lunch.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: JOSE, 2011/07/20

The tour itself was interesting but the day itself was very hot, being a July summer day. We enjoyed it though and would advise others to take it as well.

We however encourage the tour operator to communicate immediately with the would-be clients. While we continuously tried to communicate with them (specially so that our credit card had been charged already), they did not respond until after about a week or so thereby leaving us wondering if they did want our business or not.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Maureen, 2011/06/27

The tour was run by a company operating in Florence since the 1950s. Our experience was excellent. A guide from Florence was in charge, and she was organized and intelligent. In Siena, we English-speakers were guided by a native, Adele, who had studied art history at university. She was outstanding. Lunch with the group in Siena was optional. Although these tour lunches can be pretty bad, this one took us to an appealing restaurant that we might have chosen on our own, and the meal itself was a good value, including a Tuscan soup that I wouldn't have tried on my own, but did, in fact, enjoy. A good package for a day trip from Florence.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2011/06/21

The tour was well organised and left on time. The guide in Siena was particularly good as she was from the city and obviously had a passion for it. All in all a grand day out and we would highly recommend it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Margaret , 2011/05/20

The guide Margherita in Siena was fantastic, and we had enough time to explore both places. The recommended lunch was good too. Only area for improvement was that the guide we had on the bus could have provided us with more information on history and the area.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]