Highlights of Tuscany from Florence Day Trip with Siena Duomo and Chianti Wine reviews, Florence tours & activities, fun things to do in Florence | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Highlights of Tuscany from Florence Day Trip with Siena Duomo and Chianti Wine

Overall Rating

4.86 4.86 / 5

Reviews

110 reviews
Post a review

Awesome day with Tuscany ☺️

Reviewed by: Sherilyn Mendoza, 2019/08/13

It was a wonderful tour
Thank you Ms. Olivia our tour guide
I enjoyed the full day even in hot weather ☺️

Thank you also to our bus driver ☺️

  • One of the village we visit @ San Gimignano

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A definite must to see a little piece of all the wonders of Tuscany!

Reviewed by: Crystal Gates, 2019/08/12

The tour is a great way to get a taste of all of the best parts of Tuscany. and gives you a little free time in each place to explore on your own after each short, but great and interesting, tour of each city. All the information provided by Alexandra was great. She is really passionate about history. You get to experience the highlights of Siena, see and eat a fabulous lunch with lots of great food, at a beautiful local farm in Tuscany. Be sure to leave time after eating to shop in the wine store, which also carries other products from the farm. Then see the small town of San Gimignano where you can buy the best gelato in the world (they've won the world competition twice!). Then we took a little siesta on our way to Pisa. Pisa is so beautiful as well.

Tips:
1. Bring single euros to buy water on the bus/ coach. I was really surprised that bottled water wasn't included, or at least a couple bottles on this 12 hour tour.
2. Stop for the restroom when you can (bring change as most charge 0.50 or 1 euro each). For such a long day, there are only a few chances for the restroom, and most have long lines.
3. One of the churches you go inside requires shoulders to be covered, but if you forget, they do provide a paper scarf for your visit for free.

The day was long, but perfect to explore a little piece of each. The tour could only be improved by giving a little extra time after lunch to buy wine and/or other items from the farm's store and to use the restroom, as this was really rushed (only 15 min from the time the dessert wine and biscotti were served to the time the bus leaves). I got up before everyone else and went to the store, quickly ordered the wine for shipping, without looking around in the store, and it was time to go... no time for the restroom). And there is no restroom on the bus.

Overall a fabulous day. One of top 2 tours in Italy! Would definitely recommend this one!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/08/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Tuscany trip with lunch

Reviewed by: Elena , 2018/11/28

The trip was very well managed and the guide was excellent. A lot of information about Siena, San Giminiano and Pisa and beautiful landscapes. The meal was very good and I enjoy also the wine test. I strongly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun, long Day!!

Reviewed by: KittyG, 2018/10/28

Very fun day - Long, though. Pisa was not our favorite, but the others were wonderful. Packed a lot of Tuscany in 12 hours!

  • At Winery/Lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/10/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good information and enjoyable trip

Reviewed by: Shannon smith , 2018/09/21

Elisa did a great job and was a wealth of information. However be advised every stop to include starting the tour will include a 10+ minute walk to and from the bus. So you end up spending more time walking to things than you have at any one place enjoying the sites. I felt bad for some older participants who could not handle into sienna and the worst walk was to and from Pisa snd then at the end we were dropped blocks from the train station. We did more walking to and from the bus than st the sites.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Vidya merchant, 2018/08/20

The entire trip was well organised and well coordinated.special mention about our guide lavi.she was very well informed about her subject and took special interest to explain the background of the topic. She made it so interesting.she was also patient thoughtful and caring.i would not hesitate to recommend walk about tours to anyone.a big thumbs up to u guys.great work hope to travel with you once again .

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great whole day excursion

Reviewed by: Preston, 2018/08/08

Perfect day trip hosted by Walkabout. Our guide, Lavi, was absolutely great! Highly recommend

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful day in the country

Reviewed by: Annemarie, 2018/08/07

Sara was an amazing guide. We enjoyed a beautiful day riding through the Tuscan countryside. My favorite part was the wine lunch in Chianti. The food was amazing and the wine was fantastic. Great trip!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good trip

Reviewed by: From California, 2018/07/05

Tour guide was friendly and fun. Need more time at the winery.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Words can’t explain how much we enjoyed the Tuscany Tour alone with Walksabout Tours! Simply the best!

Reviewed by: M.Stinson, 2018/06/29

The Tuscan region is picture perfect! The entire tour was remakable

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/06/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Tuscany Day Trip from Florence

Reviewed by: Timothy Koerting , 2018/05/22

This was absolutely our most favorite tour!! Olivia was an outstanding tour guide and hostess! And we really enjoyed Fernando's driving! There are so many beautiful venues we had the opportunity to view and enjoy!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

VERY ENJOYABLE

Reviewed by: Jessika, 2018/04/06

I love it!!
Itás a very nice way to know a little of Siena, saint Gm}iminiano and Pisa. and the food was delicious!!!!
Our guide was very nice to, Angela!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joyce, 2017/11/12

Wonderful experience!! What a beautiful area! Tour guide was exceptionallly good!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sharon Celia, 2017/11/08

We really enjoyed this tour. It was an enjoyable day with a delicious lunch and wine.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jane, 2017/09/13

Both our tour guide Gloria and bus driver Nando were fabulous. They both made it a very special day. Their knowledge and information was very informative. We had a good group as well and as a solo traveller found it all to be a fun and pleasant tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Julie Ann, 2017/09/12

We loved it and given the chance we will do it again! The places were just as I imagined it to be. Our guide, Olivia made a fantastic job of providing just the right details on the places we've been to. She was also very helpful and ensured that she connected to most of her charge at the end of the day. I definitely love her approach of being very personal and reachable. She even helped us in finding great resto in Florence. Our driver Sergio was also super nice, I like the thought that he takes care of the bus cleanliness for us. We highly recommend the tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jose Alejandro, 2017/03/11

Lavi did it outstandingly!!!! We enjoyed it very much despite the heavy downpour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jose Alejandro, 2017/03/07

Lavi guided us very well during the entire tour! She's a real Pro!!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Samantha, 2016/06/02

This tour was phenomenal! It was a REALLY long day, but we had time to rest on the bus and in the cities along the way. Our tour guide was fantastic, and the day was absolutely wonderful. The highlight was lunch at an Italian farm in the Tuscan countryside. What an amazing tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Vince, 2016/04/13

The tour was very well organised. Both the guide and the driver performed flawlessly. On the tour guide herself; she was very knowledgable which she of course has to be. and that sense of humour is very welcoming. she is not pushy but yet, able to control the whole group well. Humour is always the best tool to make people come together and she did it well. As for the driver, no complaints. Always the silent worker behind supporting the guide. This is one tour company that I would definitely recommend to others. Excellent job!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Derrick, 2016/04/09

Great tour would highly recommend! Tour guide Gloria was excellent. This is perfect way to see Tuscany in short time frame.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CHRYSOULA, 2016/04/04

It worths 100%. Eveything was perfect and very well organised. Our tour guide Stefanos did his best to be our trip a wonderful experience.He was very kind and helpful and he had a good sence of humour. I suggest this tour without any doubt.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ruth, 2016/01/17

I would not hesitate to recommend City Discovery to my family and friends, they have been easy and helpful with all of the tours I have been on with them.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: xdgdfsg, 2015/10/26

The tour was awesome!great oportunity to visit the countryside of florence,Siena,san geminiano(which was great)and pisa! the organic farm where we had our lunch was very good, the food was plenty and to our surprise the wine was Very good and also plenty!!!we had great time there!!the tour was very well organized and Antonella our tour guide was REALLY REALLY GREAT! very friendly and did the best she could so we can have the best experience!
Antonella thank you so much :)
At the end i would like to add that the tour worthed every penny we gave!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: xdgdfsg, 2015/10/19

Excellent tour!! Valyw for money, great experience!!nnMany thanks to our top guide ***!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: KATERINA, 2015/10/12

An excellent tour to experience Tuscany! Our tour guide *** was very helpful and friendly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alvin, 2015/10/10

Highly recommended for those of you who want to take a look of the countryside outside Florence and to visit cultural/historical cities that are otherwise out of the way. Plus the lunch and wine tasting are great. There was a logistical problem early in the morning, but our lovely tour leader Olivia managed the tour very well and I can say all of us wrapped up the day tour happy and enjoyed.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mathew, 2015/10/02

It was a great trip, saw the beautiful tuscan and it was just unbelievable especially siena and san gimignano. The organiser Olivia was so helpful and explained the details clearly. We liked the wine tasting and the lunch too. Thank you for showing us around.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mary, 2015/09/21

Nice bus, clean windows. Loved the towns! Really enjoyed the tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lydia, 2015/07/24

The tour was carefully planned. The selection of sightseeing, wine tasting lunch, and walks was perfect. Tour guide Antonella(?) was very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]