This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Lake Maggiore, Stresa, Isola Bella and Isola dei Pescatori Day Trip from Milan

Overall Rating

4.624.62 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews (Post a review)

Beautiful lake

Reviewed by: Budoor , 2018/05/15

Very beautiful lake the transportation was Amazon the tour leader also only the weather because of the rains could not see lake stressa due to the rains and safety purposes








Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lyubka, 2017/10/08

It was a great pleasure for us to visit Lake Maggiore. We recommend it! Thank you! September, 2017

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Milan to Lake Maggiore

Reviewed by: Darlene Elder, 2017/10/04

We chose this trip initially because we wanted to see the largest lake in the Lakes District of Italy. While we hoped to see the Swiss Alps the cloud cover obscured our view but it did not matter as we were in for a wonderful experience.
Our guide was so lovely, enthusiastic and very helpful in the way she presented the tour. The bus driver was also friendly and genuinely concerned about our comfort.
The visit to the Isola Bella was excellent and the tour of the palace and gardens was breathtaking. We had no idea of the history that we were about to learn. We could not believe it when we saw areas of the palace where Napoloeon Bonaparte and Josephine slept. Also the fact that Princess Diana and Charles had attended a celebration in their honour given by the Borromees during their tour of Italy was another surprise.
We learnt so much about the Italian nobility and the fact that their presence and influence continues today. The fact that they continue to use the top levels of the palace as their summer house took us completely by surprise.
Everything about our tour exceeded our expectations. Even though only 12 people booked this tour it went ahead in a luxury coach with commentary in two languages. Thank you for a great day. Darlene and Rob Elder.


  • Stunning gardens

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/10/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lake Maggiore day trip

Reviewed by: Toni G, 2017/09/28

My husband and I came to Milan for an extended stay in early September. The last Sunday of the month we booked a one-day Veltra trip to Lake Maggiore and Stressa. We left from Milan at 9:00 am and returned about 6:30 pm. The Veltra bus departure location was very conveniently located right outside the Cairola metro stop in the historic center of Milan. The bus was clean and comfortable and a very easy place to relax. The Veltra guide, Antonella was pleasant and informative. She gave information in English and Portuguese. We arrived in Stressa and promptly boarded a boat to cruise around Lake Maggiore. We stopped at Isola Bella where we received a tour of the incredible palazzo and gardens built in the 17th century. We then headed to Isola dei Pescatori where Antonella recommended a restaurant for lunch. Although the restaurant is in a tourist town, the food was quite good and the prices were quite reasonable. Our last stop was in the town of Stressa. A very fashionable town that had a variety of goods for sale and gelato and pastry shops for snacking. We enjoyed getting to see something outside of the city of Milan. I would highly recommend this tour for a day trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lise, 2017/06/02

the guide at the Palace was great. Lake Maggiore is such a nice place to go

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jalpa, 2014/04/21

Really enjoyed the trip - we had plenty of time to look around and enjoy the scenery, and it was very well organised.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: jose, 2013/10/16

We loved the tour. Unfortunately the
rain stole the best part of it. Will repeat but on a sunny day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rob, 2012/05/29

Our only complaint was lunch and free time on the tiny Island of the Fisherman instead of maybe back in the town of Stresa which had a lot more shopping available. All the shops on the island were basically the same.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]