Swiss Alps Bernina Express from Milan with St. Moritz Visit and Hotel Pick-Up reviews, Milan tours & activities, fun things to do in Milan | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Swiss Alps Bernina Express from Milan with St. Moritz Visit and Hotel Pick-Up

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

133 reviews
Post a review

Spectacular train ride!!!

Reviewed by: Hollynn, 2020/02/17

The city of Tirano has a wonderful baroque church, so it makes a great stopping place to board the train. The train was a spectacular ride, so try to sit on the right side for the best views. St. Moritz is super expensive, but glamorous so the people-watching is fun.

3 guys from our group arrived 45 minutes late when we were leaving, so I do not understand why the guide did not call them? We just sat on the bus waiting and missed the bus views of Como on the way back due to the sun already setting. It was a very long day....

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very good day trip

Reviewed by: Siva, 2020/01/04

Amazing journey with a very helpful and knowledgeable Guide
Experienced driver

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful Day Trip

Reviewed by: Otto , 2020/01/02

Great way to get out of Milan and see some nature on a lovely train.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day trip to St Moritz

Reviewed by: Bernie Genner, 2019/08/06

Super tour tour guide and driver both did outstanding jobs.
The train trip was unbelievable and top chance for great photos.
It was racing by the time we arrived in St Moritz, windy and very cool.
Fortunately, the gods were being nice and by the time we all were ready to explore the sun came out and my time there was perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day overall

Reviewed by: Amy, 2019/03/31

We enjoyed the day and the scenery was breathtaking! Tour guide was very professional.

At first stop for coffee and a pastry, we did not have enough time as the line was long and there wasn’t enough help to accommodate everyone. We needed 15 more minutes.

Appreciated the time we had in St Moritz. Tour guide discouraged group from seeing/eating at Badratts Palace hotel. So glad we ventured in anyway. The lunch and view were amazing!!! So well try it!

Bernina Express was wonderful and soo beautiful!

Trip back to Milan was fine. Needed more time at the break stop/restroom stop.

Overall, a great experiment to nc!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

satisfied

Reviewed by: Rekha Senthilkumar, 2019/03/06

had well satisfied trip for 1 days.
but travel iternary shall be changed that they can stop bus in good viewing point in st. moriz than taking us to city. There is nothing to see much inside city. we with our interest walked to frozen lake with our available time and reached common spot to catch Bernina express.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must do tour if you are in Italy - Milano for few days !

Reviewed by: AlexA, 2019/02/02

I booked few days in a hotel for Milano. I did not search what to do in Milan for few days. After I saw that Milano is not a city to be sightseeing for more than 4 days I started to search other things to do in the north of italy. This is a tour you must do if you are in this area. Someone said you are going for a tour on the top of the world.It is guite true. The view is breathtaking. The only regret is that the tour is only few hours.

  • In this photo is just a taste of what you can see

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

LOVE! An absolute must-do!

Reviewed by: Kdizzle, 2019/01/04

Easily the highlight of my trip. Anyone going to Milan should do this tour. The views are stunning, purely unbelievable. Make sure to upgrade on the Bernina Express to first class and pack your own wine, bread, and cookies. You'll never get a better view!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent Train journey....the Bernina Express

Reviewed by: Dibakar , 2018/11/22

Everything is perfect....! Except which I must share with you,please try to arrange the trip,accordingly that people can spend little more time in St. moritz...
Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful with wonderful guided tour and the best part was the train....

Reviewed by: Tapash, 2018/11/12

Everything was excellent the guide was very good....just they did not have pick up service from all the areas of milan as the tour begins early 6.45 a.m

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

extraordinary experience.

Reviewed by: Candida, 2018/10/01

Amazing route and very comfortable train as well van.
Driver was very informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Cara, 2018/05/30

I liked the tour since it is my first time in Europe and the company Was able to deliver. A view of the Swiss Alps is unforgettable!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An Amazing Trip on Bernina Express

Reviewed by: C O Chan, 2018/04/28

We went on the Bernina Express on 4 April and it was certainly an amazing experience. Though we started very early when they pick us up at 6.00am, the guide was very knowledgeable and very caring. Though she had a frozen shoulder she carried out her duties excellently.

The view up to St Moritz was awesome, Though we were on the coach for two and half hours from Milan to Tirano and then lunch at Tirano before boarding the train up to St Moritz it was well worth it. The scenery was splendid all covered with snow. I believe in summer it would even be more beautiful.

  • On the Bernina Express on our way to St Moritz

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simplemente espectacular

Reviewed by: Paola, 2018/02/13

Recomiendo este tour al 100% fui con mi mejor amiga y la pasamos super bien.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

did not stick to the itinery , had no time at any of the stopping places

Reviewed by: Andy B, 2018/01/11

The whole experience was ruined by the tour company changing the Itinerary without any notice or explanation
Had not time at any of the stopping places except the ones at service restaurants
At Saint Moritz only had time to go to the toilet at the drop off point next to train station before catching the train for the return journey

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Memorable journey through the Swiss Alps

Reviewed by: Han from Singapore , 2017/12/21

Sat down 80% of the time in the bus to St Moritz as well as the train ride from St Moritz to Torino. Tour guide was pretty good. Wifi on bus was working but not all the time. For those with motion sickness, the bus ride up the alps may not be comfortable. The lunch is own expense, has at least 50 CHF per pax as St Moritz is pretty expensive

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/12/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

La vista, la naturaleza,la creación.

Reviewed by: Jaime Vernaza, 2017/12/02

Agradable experiencia, un regalo para los ojos , una experiencia casi que espiritual.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great View with Fresh Breeze... .

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2017/11/20

Love the trip. Very patient & accommodating guides.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express

Reviewed by: Norma, 2017/10/14

Great day trip to see the Swiss Alps. Beautiful views.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/09/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best time!!!

Reviewed by: Ivette , 2017/10/12

Great guide!! Beautifull places worth it!!! Go!!!
Short time in st. Mortiz but it was perfect anyway

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

High yield tour

Reviewed by: John, 2017/08/17

It's a full day for sure but well worth it. Great way to rapidly survey a large region between Italy and Switzerland with non stop views to die for. Could be the basis to take more focused trips in the future.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Berninia Express

Reviewed by: Kathy Goldman, 2016/09/22

Trip was very good and very comfortable. St. Moritz was a little disappointing since most of the shops were closed for the season. Our guide was informative and did a great job explaining the history of the area and pointing out different scenery to us. Loved the little town of Torina and the church there.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/09/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very well done (you'll be waking up early!)

Reviewed by: Brian, 2016/06/29

We loved all parts of this trip except for waking up early. The bus ride over to Tourin was quite scenic and involved a brief stop (going each direction) at Italian mini markets that were fun in their own way (lots of interesting food). The town we stopped in to look at the church and then have an authentic lunch in was quite nice. The Bernina Express itself was excellent - we were able to put down the windows of our train cars to take pictures and had several chances to take pictures of each view.

My main reasons not to give 5 stars were (a) we had to wake up very early, being at the (downtown) pickup site by 7:45. The company did not provide a list of hotels that they would pickup from, just telling us too late to rebook that our hotel was not one of them. I felt that the stop at the church was not needed if a later start would have been possible. I realize that the train sets the time of travel to a large degree but staying in St. Moritz (even in the down season) would have been good). The other issue was that (b) the guide, while speaking excellent English and providing good logistical information, did not say as much as I expected. Some sights were explained but others were not, especially on the train ride.

Worth our time. I am not a morning person so I was a little sick the whole time but most of the others were having a great time and we met some interested co-passengers.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lucas, 2016/06/04

Very espectacular good ride

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic Tour

Reviewed by: Gabby, 2016/04/09

I loved this tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful the entire time. I would definitely take another tour with them again.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express, Swiss Alps from Milan

Reviewed by: YKK, 2016/03/28

This was the highlight of our trip to ITALY where we spent 1 week. Before the Bernina, we spent time in ROME, Venice, Milan and did 4 tours. The Bernina express/Swiss alps tour was absolutely breathtaking !! Also since most of the tour was spent inside of the coach and inside the train seated, it was not as tiring as the other tours. These sell out so get it reserved ~6-8weeks in advance.

You won't be disappointed

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Train trip of a lifetime!

Reviewed by: TravelingArtist, 2015/10/09

I had heard of the Bernina Express on a PBS special about famous scenic train rides and started my research on the tour. During the research, I ran across tours offering the trip and decided to book. I am so glad I did! I had hoped to capture a few shots to paint along the way and ended up with so many it will be hard to choose from them all. After a quick trip by bus ( which was also very scenic through the famous Lake Como), the bus took us to Torino where we stopped for lunch and did a bit of local shopping. We then boarded the Bernina Express and started our journey through the Swiss Alps. The tour was led by Andrea who did a fantastic job preparing us before we approached key sights so we could prepare our cameras. The challenge was what to pick from...my camera couldn't take the pictures fast enough to capture all the eye candy! After we arrived in St Moritz and enjoyed a cup of hot cocoa at a local restaurant, we headed back by bus and experienced even more exciting views. One of the thrilling pics I got on the way back was when we drove down thousands of feet in just a few minutes. The road twisted and turned back and forth. Then onward to even more great pics! This was by far the highlight of our trip to Milan! I wouldn't hesitate to do this again as I imagine each time you go...in any season, the scenery would change based on the weather conditions.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express

Reviewed by: Ron Gipson, 2015/10/09

This was our first time to Italy and this excursion was one of the most exciting evens. The views are amazing and our tour guide Andre made the event much more interesting with his discussion about the areas as we passed through. Since we were not experienced with travel methods in Italy it made this outing stress free since all of the activities were organized for us. The view of the countryside was breathtakingly beautiful and early October seems to be a good time to do it as the weather was perfect. I was amazed that we were able to do the entire trip through the Alps with the windows down! Now that's fresh air. In addition to the fantastic train ride the bus portion of the activities was also very comfortable and interesting. The combination of both the bus and train on this route made for a great day.

  • Beautiful views of Lake at San mortiz.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More than what I expected

Reviewed by: Traveller, 2015/08/24

It was a lovely tour which exceeds my expectations. Originally when I booked the tour I thought it is just like a combo ticket with bus from and to Milan and the train Bernina Express. But it had more to offer. The tour guide was very friendly and helpful as she provided many useful information about the region along both the bus and train rides. I thought that this trip would be like an escape-kind-of excursion to Switzerland from Milan but I actually learned a lot more about Italy from the tour guide's commentary. And of course, the views from the Bernina Express train ride are superb and never disappointing.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bernina Express (Jun 02 2015)

Reviewed by: anonymous, 2015/06/14

Riding the Bernina Express has got to be the best and most scenic train ride I have ever taken.

The bus departs early from Milan and after one hour to one and a half hours, you will pass by Lake Como. The views along the lake are stunning, especially in the morning. (Tip: Sit on the left side of the bus if you wish to snap a few pictures.) Unfortunately, the route that the bus travels also has numerous tunnels, so the nice view cannot be seen half the time. After about twenty minutes, you will arrive at the rest stop, before proceeding to the Tirano. Tirano is a charming little town with one main street. You should take pictures at the church and the tourist train (near the main shopping street). You should try the restaurant recommended by the tour guide and try their speciality dish. After that, it's time to hop on the Bernina Express (and remember to snag a window seat)! The train starts off slow, but it gets more exciting as you climb up. Once you higher up in the Alps, the view keeps getting better and better. The best part is to be near the (frozen) lake sitting pretty next to the snow-covered mountains (even though it's already late spring/early summer). After ninety minutes, you will arrive in St Moritz, which has a wonderful lake. If you go in the low season, chances are that most establishments will be closed. Still, the town is worth exploring. You will take the same bus back to Milan. The bus will drive along the lake, before descending the steep roads down the stunning mountains.

Riding the Bernina Express is the highlight of my trip to Milan, and it is very worthwhile to try it out if you're visiting.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/06/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]