This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Vatican, Colosseum and Roman Forum Small Group Tour with Fast Track Tickets

Overall Rating

4.734.73 / 5

Reviews

26 reviews (Post a review)

Reviewed by: KATHERINE, 2015/08/24

A tour we loved as Francesca was unique, she really made a difference! Very tiring though as it has a lot of walking but amazing as you enjoy the Vatican museums and the Colosseum. Very expensive no need for it to be priced so high.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Danielle , 2014/10/28

It was a great way to learn all about the history of Rome in one say. Sergio, our tour guide has to be the most amazing and knowledgeable person! He was absolutely fantastic, we loved him!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Janet, 2014/07/06

This was wonderful! The tour guide was knowledgeable and personable. This tour is a highlight of a visit to Rome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Neil, 2013/08/22

Sadly the Ancient Rome part of this tour was cancelled, so we cannot make comment about that (except to express our disappointment). The tour of the Vatican was interesting. Our tour guide did extremely well to engage the attention of the younger children as well as the adults, and he was very passionate and well informed about what he showed us. It was a long tour, and on a hot day was a bit much.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gary, 2013/06/04

Our tour guide, Sergio, was absolutely wonderful. He was so enthusiastic and involved with all the history of both the Colleseum and the Vatican. His talks were so interesting and so dynamic. You could really see history come alive. His was the best tour we had all week!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jessica, 2012/11/10

We thoroughly enjoyed our tour and would not have been privy to all the information provided by our tour guide Luca had we not done the tour. He was brilliant, well informed and involved the participants on the tour to make it as though we were part of the Roman times.
A great way to get the best out of these two fantastic world renowed monuments.
Thanks

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Micky, 2012/10/08

Our two tour guides Francesca and Lucca were amazing. They were both knowledgable and entertaining. I would highly recomend this tour to anyone considering it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Malcolm, 2012/10/07

Francesca and Luca were absolutely great guides - knowledgeable and engaging. If you do the combo AM/PM tours, be prepared for very little opportunity to sit and rest, even lunch was only 45-minutes.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Teresa, 2012/08/16

Amazing! Both guides were outstanding. So glad we did the tour. Even our 8 & 10 yr old were engaged the whole time. Tell Luca that Dino enjoyed his humor. Thank-you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robban, 2012/08/15

Francesca, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable as well as entertaining! We enjoyed the entire day and learned so much! It is a strenuous day but well worth the effort!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jacqui, 2012/05/27

Francesca was our guide and we were very fortunate to have her. Francesca was extremely knowledgable, witty and interesting. It turns out she studied anthropology! And just loves it!
Our full day tour took in Ancient Rome in the morning filled by Vatican City etc in the afternoon. A very full day made interesting and easy by Francesca! Grazie

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ana, 2012/04/17

We liked and recommend it, but it was quite expensive for what was offered (Although the guides were great and the tour was fine.) I mean, you could pay much less for a tour like that. They dont pick us up at the hotel and not even drive us to vatican from coliseum... You need to take your own cab to coliseum, and from there you need to get another cab to vatican city, and have luck enough to find the guide in front of the vatican totaly crowded.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Charles, 2011/11/01

our guide Franchesca was a wonderful guide!! She was well versed in her history, made it exciting and when questioned about any mundane subject, she had an answer! Being a student of archaeology, she showed us and told us much more than we could have expected of a guide. I reccomend her highly--she was our guide for both the Vatican and ancient Rome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sonia, 2011/10/05

The guide we had for the Ancient Rome portion in the AM was fantastic! (Don't remember her name but she has received rave reviews previously, and well deserves them!). The Coliseum and Forum were both great and the guide really brought them into perspective. Dino our guide in the PM for the Vatican was good too. The sights and information from both parts was really worth it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nora, 2011/06/27

Luca was a great guide(five star ,too!) It was a very hot day when we had the tour, but because Luca was so enthusiastic to tell us everything, we were able to endure the day. Thanks Luca!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patricia, 2011/06/26

Francesca was our guide for both parts of the tour. She was superb! Her English was clear and perfect (although she still had that wonderful Italian expressiveness). She had deep knowledge about the sights, history, etc. She was excellent at managing the group (and keeping others from trying to latch onto our group). (By the way, the group size was kept small. I think there were only about 12 of us.) We enjoyed these tours so much, and we feel that our guide was the main reason. We're so grateful we had Francesca as our guide and highly recommend her. We also highly recommend these Skip-the-Line tours. It was a very pleasant experience to really skip the long lines.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MARCO ANTONIO , 2011/06/17

The tour was fantastic !! We ( me and my wife) loved everything , specially the spectacular performance of our guide: FRANCESCA. Since the first moment we notice that she makes what she loves and transmit such a knowledgement about the matter that impresses the audience.
I DO RECOMEND THIS TOUR, WITH GUIDE FRANCESCA.
Marco Antonio and Monica ( that Francesca nicknamed of Cleopatra - tour june 8, 2011.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lori Dethlefs, 2011/06/05

We absolutely loved the Ancient Rome tour. Booking with City Discovery was easy and high quality. Our tour guide Sergio was amazing. Nothing like having someone who is a specialist in history and archeology guiding you! Absolutely wonderful. We loved Sergio! We did not however like the Vatican tour only because it was SO crowded. It had nothing to do with the tour itself. There were so many people at the Vatican you could not even walk. It would be great if the Vatican would limit the amount of people coming in so people could enjoy it (like they do with the Academia Galleria where David is).

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alan`, 2011/05/23

We found our guides Francesca & Luka to be very knowledgeable and professional - their expertise on Roman history helped make our short stay in Rome a most memorable visit.
However we did notice that some of the members in our group who had difficulties walking or had problem knees did find the day quite exhausting - so maybe the length of the tour and walking requirements could be made more specific. There could be another option or shorter tour for such people to consider.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Adam, 2010/07/17

Francesca was an excellent guide. As a part time archaeologist, her knowledge was fantastic and the two tours go very well together. Our group was small, which made following the guide much easier than the many large tour groups we saw.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: rick, 2010/04/10

Doing both ancient Rome and the Vatican in one day definitely makes for a long day, but well worth it. Word to the wise, wear comfortable shoes.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Karen, 2010/03/17

Francesca was an excellent guide. Very knowledgeable about everything we saw. We did not get to do the Forum as the weather was horrible. But other than the weather, the tours were great.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Birgit, 2009/11/07

Wir unternahmen die beiden Touren an einem Tag. Am Vormittag das Antike Rom. Super interessant und beeindruckend.Unsere Tourleiterin Francesca,eine Archelogin, war klasse. Am Nachmittag hatten wir die Vatican-Tour auf dem Programm.
Luca unser Guide(hat Kunst studiert)führte uns durch den Vatican. Ebenfalls seheswert und ein muß für jeden, der in Rom ist.
Ein großes Lob an die beiden Guides.
Allerdings würden wir die Tour an zwei Tagen buchen, da sie so viel Wissenswertes vermittelt, dass es für einen Tag sehr viel input ist.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jianna, 2009/08/21

We highly recommend these tours excellent,we had a small group of 6 which made all the difference, the guides were very informative with very good knowledge and took the time to explain things and answer any questions. It is though a very long day squeezing in the two tours in one day, you could split it over two days if you have the time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: James, 2009/07/14

We can't say enough about our guides Luca (Vatican)and Francesca (Ancient Rome). They were both very knowledgable and interesting. They are both Romans and know their City well. We liked that the group was small so we could talk to the guides and ask questions one-on-one--no earphones! The tours were great & we saw everything we wanted to see and we learned a lot! One tip: if possible,take the tours over 2 days & not all in one day. Its too exhausting to take all that infomation in in one day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lori, 2008/10/04

Our guides were extremely knowledgable and informative. They were both pleasant and handled the crazy crowds very well. We thoroughly enjoyed the tours being small, some of the other tour groups had three and four times the number of tourists in their groups and ours was much more enjoyable than being one of the herd. We have booked many tours though City Discovery and will continue to do so as we expand our travels through Europe. Thanks for a great time!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]