Borghese Gallery Guided Tour with Skip-the-Line Tickets reviews, Rome tours & activities, fun things to do in Rome | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Borghese Gallery Guided Tour with Skip-the-Line Tickets

Overall Rating

4.66 4.66 / 5

Reviews

29 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2016/10/29

Our tour guide was amazing, and I hate that I don't remember his name. We could see how much he wanted to share his knowledge of the political history and art history of the collection. We loved the tour, both inside and outside. We loved the tour so much that we went back to our room and tried to figure out a way to have another City Discovery tour. Certainly a major highlight of our two week trip to Italy!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tovi Bila, 2016/05/07

It was welll guided. Wonderful tour, organized and recommended!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2016/05/01

I had been to the Borghese Gallery twice before on my own. Had my granddaughter so therefore got a guide this time. So glad we did. In addition to a smooth line less entry, Mike was informative and entertaining. Money well spent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Terrence, 2016/04/22

We thought it was really good although so much information was quite exhausting for us. More time at the gardens would have been better.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Chelsea, 2016/04/13

I was rather sceptical because of some negative reviews on TripAdvisor but pleasantly surprised by the response I had from City Discovery when I had to make various changes to tours that I had booked. nnI liked the fact that City Discovery offers an extensive selection of tours and their pricing is highly competitive. Will definitely use them again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: jirapong, 2016/04/02

Very informative. The tour guide is so knowledgeable and very kind to answer any questions. I will definitely recommend it to my friends.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: RJ, 2016/02/08

We had two tours and were completely satisfied with both.nThe first tour was at Villa Borghese and the guide was ***who was learned and erudite in the subject. He was an American and we were fully able to understand what he said which was delivered with typical American charm.n***took us on a tour of the * and St. Peters and her knowledge of artworks, of which she was most enthusiastic, was comprehensive.nBoth tours were morning ones which we felt was the best time to go before the crowds built up and I would recommend the tours because of the skipping the queue system which operated well.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Guylene, 2015/09/29

well organized, guide very knowledgeable and interesting
crowd well controlled, amazing exhibit
would definitely recommend the tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Guylene, 2015/09/25

tickets were good!ndirection to get to the the start were excellentnwe were glad we booked these ahead of time to avoid line ups

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Miriam, 2015/08/09

Our guide Rebecca was an art historian and had extensive knowledge of the works. Her selection of pieces to discuss was spot on. The gallery is amazing and you could be there for months looking at everything. Would recommend the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Arne Christian, 2015/07/07

Australian guide. But she must have been a renaisanse Italian in her previous life. Also another to-be-borghese-guide from Roma on the tour. She had good knowledge, and will also do just as well I think. They had a nice personal touch with us tourists. Made the guided tour very vivid. I have a degree in history, and good knowledge, and I must say she realy knew her information well. And It was a pleasure to listen to. These are the types of guides City Discovery should use.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christian, 2015/06/13

It was a amacing tour with a phantastic guide. She was exelent and we enjoi this tour a lot!

Thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2014/07/31

allow plenty of time to walk from the metro station through the gardens to tour start location

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: marion, 2014/05/13

Very informative guides , lots of interesting back stories which brings the paintings / objects to life

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

We can't imagine taking the Borghese Tour with anyone other than Rebecca. Her knowledge and passion for the works of art is beyond inspirational. Everyone on a Borghese tour should be given the privilege of sharing their time with someone as wonderful and caring as Rebecca. She is a Dark Rome treasure!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Exceptional guide. Her presentation was equivalent to a performance. It had substance, humor, pieces of information beyond what woukld be typical suggesting she goes above and beyond any normal presentation. A truly delightful person. I would seek her our again on any return trip to Rome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Very Knowledgeable. Made the tour very exciting also to my kids 12 & 10. Gave us a brief history about every artists life, secrets and stories behind so many oeuvres d'arts in the museum and gardens.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

It was a very interesting tour through the villa borghese and the guide definitely knew, what she was talking about! i think that its very difficult to put that much information in one tour because every group just has a limited time to visit the villa but she managed it very well!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

She's very sympatric and we are happy to have spent 4 hours of our life with her at the Borghese museum. Thank you!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Rebecca was AMAZING! I have spent the last two days since the tour sharing with people information on Bernini, Caravaggio, Raphael, Titian, etc. Rebecca brought so much information about the artist, and the Borghese family into the tour, it was fun and informative.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Rebecca was a wonderful guide and very informed. I'm not an art fanatic, however, Rebecca made me appreciate everything that was presented to the group. I'd highly recommend the tour, especially with Rebecca.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Rebecca brought all the art and artists to life for us. We loved her passion and soon loved the art as well. She has a great depth of knowledge about the Borghese and was also helpful to members of our tour who had general questions about Rome. She was simply wonderful and if we ever come back to Rome we would want to hire her as a personal tour guide. Oh!one more thing, she was very well organized. I really appreciated that she started us at the top while everyone else was on the first floor. It permitted the sense of being nearly alone at times. She is a treasure.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Rebecca was an amazing guide - her enthusiasm and extensive knowledge made this the best tour I went on in Rome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Roberta really knew her art history but occasionally she had trouble translating her thoughts into english.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Shane, 2012/10/03

Our tour guide was Lindy. I cannot say enough good things about her. The tour guide makes it or breaks it. Lindy is a bright, energetic, and passionate young woman who knows her stuff. History took on an entirely different perspective when she would color the historical narratives with the rest of the story or the inside scoop. The other thing which impressed me about Lindy was her above & beyond attitude. For example, when the tour ended, Lindy offered to walk with us to the nearest subway entrance. She even taught us how to work the subway token machine and gave tips on navigating the metro. Now, how many tour guides would do that after officially being off the clock? An exceptional young woman and a very informative and interesting tour. Worth the money! Ah, the Borgheses -- how Roman are we?? -- not! To get the joke, you must take the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2012/04/21

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour! Our guide was extremely knowledgable and definitely helped us appreciate all the artwork. Tour was exactly as described on the website. Would definitely recommend!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lina, 2011/10/06

This is a definite in Rome. The Gallery is incredible, especially the Bernini sculptures...and our guide was very knowledgeable about everything.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]