(All Reviews) Winery Tours and Wine Tasting (Food, Wine & Gastronomy), Rome tours & activities, fun things to do in Rome | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Winery Tours and Wine Tasting in Rome

Overall Rating

4.77 4.77 / 5

Reviews

61 reviews

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: Joanne, 2014/08/12

My husband and I were in Rome in July and decided to take a day trip out of the city to see Tuscany, and I think this was my favourite part of the whole holiday! The whole day was extremely well organised and we managed to fit a lot in without feeling rushed at all.

Montepulciano, and Pienza are gorgeous (we got to see a very glamorous wedding party in Pienza but unfortunately didn't mange to photobomb any pics!), the monks chanting in Latin at the abbey was incredible and the lunch in the beautiful vineyard was delicious!

At Poggio Il Castellare there were only two ladies who provided us all with our lunch and 5 different wines, all of which were lovely, and the service, food and wine were al faultless. We didn't want to leave!

Our guide, Lindy, was brilliant and we'd be happy to go on any of her tours in the future. She was enthusiastic, full of knowledge and good hints and tips, and she went round everyone on the bus to ask if we had any questions.

She told us about the Basilica San Clemente which we then went to visit when we were back in Rome and loved. We would have completely missed this otherwise so thanks Lindy for your tips! Oh, and she was also hilarious - go on a tour and you'll see!

Anyway, I cannot recommend this tour highly enough - go do it! (and take me with you?)

Ciao ciao, ciao, ciao-ciao ciao, si, ciao.....ciao (Lindy will get it!) ;-)

Jo and Mike

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Great tour! Worth it!

Reviewed by: SCTigers, 2017/04/16

We decided to do this tour at the last minute, as we had done most of what we wanted to do in Rome and had seen the coast. We took our kids (ages 12, 11, 7) and we all very much enjoyed it. Our guide, Peter, was fantastic. He kept us very engaged on the bus ride, pointing out things along the way. The stop in Montepulciano was fantastic. It is definitely somewhere we'd like to go back to. Our guide there was wonderful and it was a neat town to see. We loved seeing the Castle, and the winery / luncheon couldn't have been any better. The food and ambience were fabulous. We loved our afternoon stop at Pienza as well, and brought home some pecorino cheese. It was the perfect tour to feel like we really had seen "all" of Tuscany in just 1 day. Villages, winery, scenery --- what more could you ask for? Highly recommend to anyone looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of Rome for a day.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/04/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Countryside Frascati Vineyard Tour with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Rebecca was extremely friendly and took time to get to know each one of us. I was impressed that she had all of our names memorized by the time we got off the bus at the vineyard! The tour was very informative, and she was always very patient and gave us plenty of time to wander and take pictures. She even offered to take pictures of my husband and I at the vineyard. She was always very pleasant and cheerful while still giving us loads of great information! I could tell she was passionate about this tour! On the bus ride home she gave us great tips for Rome in general (e.g., what other sights to see, recommended restaurants, foods to try, and even other tours to take). She even spoke to each person separately and answered individual questions. I will recommend this tour to anyone I know!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Countryside Frascati Vineyard Tour with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: Rosalia, 2014/09/16

Great tour guide Lindie. The bus ride was excellent and we were told about ruins on the way to Frascati.. The wine tour itself was fantastic and such great information about the town and the vineyard itself. The history, well that is another great thing in itself, on the property. Mauro, the owner, a great man. I had a great time and experience on this tour. Thank you Mauro, for welcoming us into your lovely properties and for the great tasting wine. Congratulations on your 3 glasses as your wine truly deserves it. Thank you to the team of City-Discovery. Lindie was funny, had great information of the area and the wines. Thank you

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: Natalie, 2017/04/11

We found this tour online, and I am always wary when I try something without a recomendation, however in this instance I was totally and utterly satisfied. Our guide Kylie was amazing. Her passion & knowledge on Roman history, Italy & most importantly wine, was outstanding, and the content delivered perfectly for someone like me, who had very little knowledge on the topics.
The tour itself is well planned, with enough stops along the way to prevent the feeling of being stuck in a bus all day, great locations with picturesque views, the food was delightful, and the walking tour of Montepulciano spectacular.
Thank you so much!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Best day!

Reviewed by: Maryann Kizima, 2019/08/01

Absolutely loved this tour! Best guide ever. Andy made the trip so much more enjoyable. He was very knowledgeable and funny as well. Pit stop to the olive and cheese store was a bonus. The winery/lunch spot was beautiful!! Food was great and views were amazing. One complaint. You should definitely let people shop while walking through the town. I missed opportunities on purchases because I was told we would have time to shop when we got to Pirenze. The stops were very different and did not have the items I had to pass up twice while in the previous stop. Otherwise, it was a great tour and I would highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2019/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Perfect way to spend a day!

Reviewed by: Kelly, 2019/03/24

We were in Rome for a full week so wanted to spend one day in the country side and small towns outside of the city. This was the perfect way to do that! Enjoyed both Pienza and Montepulciano, as well as the short stop at the abbey. Lunch was wonderful - Tuscan bread and tomato soup, pasta, salami, cheese, bread, desert, and of course wine! We liked having free time to shop and grab a gelato in Pienza, but would like to have been able to do the same in Montepulcino for a half hour.

The meeting place in Rome was easy to find, the bus clean and comfortable, and our guide very informative and enjoyable!

  • The first course of lunch!

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/03/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: V, 2015/07/07

This is probably THE BEST tour I've ever taken. From Montepulciano to Montalcino to Pienza - everything was absolutely PERFECT.

The highlights of the trip were definitely the wine tasting (Brunello di Montalcino is love) and hearing Gregorian monks chant in Sant'Antimo Abbey, but walking around Montepulciano and exploring Pienza completed the experience.

The weather was unusually rainy and cold during the day of the trip but it didn't bother anyone. I loved it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: julie, 2017/04/17

it was the best tour we did during our stay in Rome. The scenery was absolutely breathtaking. The stops in the 2 villages were amazing, Pienza and Montepulciano are so rustic and charming . They really make you feel you are very far away from Rome. Lunch at the farm was also a great experience especially in the wine cellar makes it extra authentic. It's a long day but very relaxing . It's really worth it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Great day in Tuscany!

Reviewed by: Paul and Dana, 2018/03/16

The bus was comfortable and the tour guide, Andrew from Australia, was very knowledgeable and entertaining. The itinerary was just right, and the lunch and wine was quite nice! The only real disappointment was the weather. Up in in Montepulciano we were in a cloud and could hardly see anything, but the local guide was extremely pleasant and vivacious in her presentation none the less.

  • Us at Pienza

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/03/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Day trip to Tuscany

Reviewed by: Terri, 2018/05/28

Very much enjoyed the day spent with Kylie as our guide to Tuscany. She was very personable and knowledgeable, never boring! Lots of little aha moments throughout the trip. Only regret was the minimal amount of time spent in each city/stop. The rest stops were appreciated however, the stops in the city were too short to see all that we would have liked.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/05/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Countryside Frascati Vineyard Tour with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

He was knowledgeable and passionate, and we enjoyed every moment of the tour. Also, he gave us a fantastic restaurant recommendation -- Osteria St. Ana -- that turned out to be the best meal of our time in Rome. I have friends who are visiting Rome in a couple of weeks and I am giving them the highest recommendation to use Dark Rome.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: Shawntee, 2012/10/02

My husband and I chose Rome for our honeymoon and this tour was the last one we did before heading back home. It is an absolute must! The guide was very knowledgeable and fun! It was probably the best part of our trip to Italy! We had a wonderful time during the wine tasting and did not feel pressured at all to buy anything.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: Rachael, 2012/08/27

Wine tasting and vineyard was the absolute highlight! The tour guide in the first town had a very thick accent and talked fast, she was challenging to understand. Could have benefitted from more wine, as this is marketed as a wine tasting event. It was more of a medieval town tour with lunch included versus a wine tasting tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Great tour!

Reviewed by: AJ L., 2017/12/26

It was a great day in Tuscany. Our tour guide, Sarah was exceptional. We met some wonderful people and took in breathtaking views. Our tour consisted of a walking tour with some history for towns in the area, a brief stop at an old abbey and then lunch with wine. I'd fully recommend the tour to anyone

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/12/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: Jose M, 2013/07/05

Knowledgeable tour guides (hector and Dario) they are from the area and you may trust in their suggestions and info. Tastin of wine and food were great althought for the price we paid it might be better in quantity. Excellent landscaping pics. Sharing with ppl is another plus for this trip

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Countryside Frascati Vineyard Tour with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Patrice, was above and beyond what we expected, very informative and a really great person to have as our guide. We would highly recommend your company to friends because of your obvious great judgement in picking Patrice as am employee. Thanks once again , great job all around.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Countryside Frascati Vineyard Tour with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Probably our favorite tour! Great job by Tiffany explaining everything about wine! We had a marvelous time and would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Rome! Tiffany was a fun and knowledgeable guide who made our trip informative and made sure we all had a blast!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Tuscany with wine tasting and lunch

Reviewed by: Martha Quintero , 2018/04/27

Ana was outstanding!! Very knowledgeable and organized. If I had my own company I would probably steal her from you .. but nonetheless the trip was quite an enjoyable experience the food was great and so was the wine. I would love to come and do this trip all over again.

  • This is what made the ambience of wine tasting a wonderful experience. Awesome group of people and great hosts

  • Pienza

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Tour on a FIAT 500 with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: Marsha, 2014/09/16

This excursion was the highlight of our visit to Rome. Alexander our driver was superb. His knowledge of the area was excellent and added so much to this experience. He made thus a memorable day we won't soon forget!
Spectacular!!
Thank you Alexander and tour company!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Tuscany one day wine country trip

Reviewed by: Karolina , 2017/05/22

Becky was a great tour guide! Super sweet and educated us alll on the culture and history behind Tuscany. The trip was amazing and as my first time going to Italy I was blown away by the beauty of Tuscany. Definitely recommend this tour if anyone is considering!!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2017/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Excellent Trip!

Reviewed by: CYNTHIA, 2018/10/21

The whole trip was excellent. Our guide, Chiara, was so full of information about wine and grapes, and the region in general, she was like a walking encyclopedia! She also had an excellent sense of humour!

I highly recommend this trip!

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/10/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/05

Tiffany was great! Interesting and entertaining commentary about the cultural history of Tuscany. Beautiful tour with an amazing lunch at the vineyard. The Abbey of Sant'Antimo was also a highlight of the day. Thanks for a perfect day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Wine Tour from Rome with Val d’Orcia Lunch and Montalcino Winery Visit

Wonderful!!!!

Reviewed by: The best place , 2018/04/10

The perfect place. Amazing food!!! Roberta was the perfect companion giving us all the information and taking care all we needs.
The cheese and olive oil, the small stores, landscape y the wine made the perfect day !!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: Lindy, 2013/09/13

This was one of the best tours that I have been on, Julia was very knowledgeable. The bus driver, who I am sorry I can not remember her name, was incredible. Would definitly recommend this tour, well worth the money.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rome Countryside Frascati Vineyard Tour with Wine Tasting

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Ettore was enthusiastic, and he really made it fun and easy to enjoy the tour. He clearly knew what he was talking about--very knowledgeable. One of the best guides we had the whole time we were in Rome!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/05

Tiffani was great! Not only did she do a wonderful job with the tour but also helped recommend some great places to eat after the tour was over. She was smart, fun, and professional. We had a great time!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/05

Knowledgable and friendly. The radio st<x>yle audio guides were great as you could stop and look at things of personal interest but still hear everything that klaus said. She also had great English .

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/05

Stefania was also a very good guide. She knows a lot about the area, and made our stop in the town even better. We are glad that we had her for an hour, she helped us understand that beautiful town.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tuscany Day Trip from Rome with Montalcino Wine Tasting and Lunch

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/05

Lindy is an amazing guide she is extremely knowledgable and entertaining . We had a great day in Tuscany with her. Beautiful scenery , great lunch and wine , one of the best tours I have taken.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]