(All Reviews) Catacombs of Rome ( Rome Top Attractions), Rome tours & activities, fun things to do in Rome | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Catacombs of Rome in Rome

Overall Rating

4.62 4.62 / 5

Reviews

8 reviews

Rome's Underground Crypts and Catacombs Guided Tour

Amazing history tour

Reviewed by: Mark, 2019/05/27

My wife and I booked this tour for our recent visit to Rome. In my opinion, this is the only way to visit the catacombs. Our tour guide, Rebecca, was very knowledgable about the history of the area and was very approachable about answering questions.

Our first stop was the Capuchin Bone Crypt beneath Santa Maria della Concezione dei Cappuccini. The exact reason the bones were arranged as they were is not known. It, in a macabe way, was a beautiful memorial to the members of their order.

The next stop was one of the catacombs. I was not prepared for the size and scope of the underground structures. There was a high childhood mortality rate, and a large number of the burials were children. The builders of the catacombs were experts at maximizing the use of space, each burial slot got just enough space for the person to be buried.

Our last stop was the Basilica of San Clemente. This was a great example of what our guide, Rebecca, called the "historical lasagne" of Rome. We went from a 12th Century church to a 2nd Century church to a 1st Century Roman Temple.

Well worth the money and time.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

人骨で装飾されたガイコツ寺!ローマの地下墓地カタコンベツアー<午後/ローマ発>

ツアーでなければ得難い体験でした

Reviewed by: あざらしの母, 2019/10/02

今回のツアーは、暑い中、快適なバスで移動できた点も良かったです。カタコンベや地下教会、骸骨寺と三ヶ所を巡るだけに、個人では相互の交通の便も悪く、回りきれなかったところでした。

カタコンベはガイドさんなしでは迷子になること必至ですし、解説なしでは到底知り得なかったことも満載でした。地下教会では日本人には馴染みのなかった聖クレメンスという聖人のこと、骸骨寺ではローマの富豪バルベリーニ家出身の修道士と本家との確執、アッシジの聖フランチェスコとの関係なども詳しく聞くことができました。

私たちは英語のツアーだったので、ガイドさんはモニカという明るく気配りのあるイタリア人女性でした。バス移動の中でも途中の様々な建物やローマの歴史に触れて解説してくださり、とても楽しく有意義な時間を過ごすことができたので大満足でした。

  • カタコンベの外は美しい庭園でした

  • 地下教会の中庭

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2019/09/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underground Rome Small Group Tour with Catacombs and Appian Way

Reviewed by: Jorn, 2016/09/27

The guide was fantastic, actually teach in the university and is an archaeologist, she knew her stuff extremely well and made the tour on Via Appia but especially the St Clement Church extremely interesting and exiting. I regret but have forgotten her name. The driver was proffesional for the job.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underground Rome Small Group Tour with Catacombs and Appian Way

Reviewed by: Gary S, 2012/06/17

Francesca was such a knowledgeable and personable guide, she made the tour so interesting.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Underground Rome Small Group Tour with Catacombs and Appian Way

Reviewed by: Gary S, 2012/06/17

Francesca was such a knowledgeable and personable guide, she made the tour so interesting.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exclusive Catacombs of Rome After Hours Evening Tour with Capuchin Crypt Visit

Awesome experience

Reviewed by: Liz Ann, 2017/08/30

Lots of fun! Very entertaining and the tour guide was awesome!

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2017/08/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

人骨で装飾されたガイコツ寺!ローマの地下墓地カタコンベツアー<午後/ローマ発>

面白いツアーでした

Reviewed by: Pitch, 2018/05/04

カタコンベに行きたくて、このツアーに申し込みました。
私たち夫婦以外は全員外国人の方でした。ガイドさんは英語の堪能なイタリア人の女性でした。私は英語が得意でないので、全部を理解できませんでしたが、とてもアクティブに解説しておられました。けっして早口ではありませんが、ある程度の英語力がないと全ては理解できないと思います。
それでも、個人では行きにくいカタコンベに連れて行ってくれますし、骸骨寺も、サンクレメンテ教会も興味深く、面白いツアーでした。

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/05/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

人骨で装飾されたガイコツ寺!ローマの地下墓地カタコンベツアー<午後/ローマ発>

まあまあって感じです。

Reviewed by: jfkennedy, 2017/09/04

バルベリーニ広場で集合し、徒歩で①カプチン派修道会博物館まで行き、そこでバスに乗って②カタコンベまで行き、またバスに乗って③サン・クレメンテ教会まで戻ってくるという行程でした。3ヶ所とも地下施設の見学です。20人ぐらいの参加者で、日本人は私一人でした。②はバスじゃないとけませんが、①③は市内ですので地下鉄でも行けます。カタコンベに行きたい方はこのツアーに参加する意味はありますが、そうじゃない方はご自分で行かれた方が良いと思います。なお、3ヶ所とも施設内部は写真撮影禁止です。

  • カプチン派修道会博物館

  • カタコンベ

  • サン・クレメンテ教会

Rating:
Attended as: Solo Travelers
Activity Date: 2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]