Doge's Palace Skip-the-Line Guided Tour with Special Areas Access reviews, Venice tours & activities, fun things to do in Venice | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Doge's Palace Skip-the-Line Guided Tour with Special Areas Access

Overall Rating

4.53 4.53 / 5

Reviews

19 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Elaine, 2016/09/10

Got straight into venue. No queuing, good sound system linked to guide.very interesting tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dawn, 2015/10/24

Excellent tour guide made it very interesting. My second time but enjoyed it more this time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Doge's Palace

Reviewed by: Arpit, 2015/10/19

Took tour of secret areas (not open to public taking the "regular" tour) in Doge's Palace. Tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. She was easy to understand and entertaining. The group was a good size as well- small enough to have a good time. As for the areas visited themselves: they were interesting, but not quite enough to justify a separate tour. I would recommend visiting if you have extra time to spare, but I don't think visiting these areas makes or breaks your visit to Doge's Palace. The remainder of the palace is quite spectacular, so don't feel like you *need* to see the secret areas.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: SHARON, 2015/08/13

This tour is simply a must! Instead of just your typical and perhaps (more boring itinerary if you have younger children), this tour gives you the option to visit all the secret places not available to the general public. visit eerie dungeons and Casanova's cell, go up dark and gloomy passages and stairs whilst discovering history and secret passages, this makes it all very exciting and especially to young teens or children. Once the tour has finished you also have the option of visiting the main parts of the palace on your own. It was a great tour and our tour guide Elena was just incredible and filled us in with all the historic details, stories etc. Her knowledge, enthusiasm and passion shows and makes it all a very enjoyable and worthwhile tour! 10 out of 10 for this tour. one cautionary note, this tour might be a bit claustrophobic at times to those not to keen on small, tight spaces ! :)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2014/02/21

This was a very good tour. We were able to bypass the lengthy lines and dense crowds by using this tour. The guide was knowledgeable and her English was quite good.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mustafa, 2013/12/01

We enjoyed toooo much .. very interesting palace with too much secret itineraries and information ..

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Fred, 2013/11/10

The history of the palace and it's inner workings would have been missed without the tour. Those inner workings were the real meat of how the system worked in Venice. If you don't have that insight, you don't really know the political structure of Venice. Our guide was exceptionally good at explaining this concept.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Dorothy, 2013/08/06

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable regarding the tour and history of Venice. The tour was well organized and started on time. A great tour for anyone interested in the history of Venice.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jocelyn, 2013/07/12

The tour was great, got a little boring when the tour guide speaks about every painting in detail, would be better as a short brief desc<x>ription. The information on Casanova was great.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

The tour guide was wonderful. She spoke English perfectly, she had a pleasant voice, she was extremely knowledgeable in the subject matter, made sure everyone could hear and was an overall delight. At the end of the tour she told us that it was only her second time conducting the tour and everyone was amazed. She was fantastic! I would highly recommend her.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

The guide and the tour was fabulous! She was very engaging and informative. Loved hearing about the inner workings of the government, casanova's escape, and viewing the beautiful architecture and paintings. Thank you!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Excellent tour of the Doge's Palace; seeing things from a 'behind the scenes' perspective. Our guide left us with a sense of the importance of the system of Rule in Venice throughout history; and the interesting system of government, as well as an understanding of the art we saw.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Our tours was wonderful -- the Secrets added to the tour -- seeing the cell Casanova was held in and escaped from!!!! Loved it. My husband loved the armory room and could have stayed there all day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

A very interesting tour that did a good job at going into the complexities of Venetian politics. I was pleased that I was the only one on the tour and they still ran it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

The Doge's Palace Secret Itinerary tour was an amazing way to get the feel of the city. We made sure it was the first thing we did so we could get the lay of the land. The Palace was wonderful and the tour guide was well informed and actually made the paintings come to life. They take you to the secret rooms of the paige's and learn about the illiterate scribes. Our tour guide engaged us and made us want to further investigate certain artists and locations. Her pace was excellent and she made sure to accommodate everyone while frequently asking if anyone had questions. It would have been nice to know upfront how the tour was divided. It is all day, but it's actually three different tours and three different guides. The boat tour on the Grand Canal went around the whole island basically and gave you an amazing view. Our guide was a local and made her anecdotes all the more interesting. If you have to do a tour, I recommend this one, its a great value for the price and the guides are informative and knowledgable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

It was really interesting to see the contrast between the hidden offices (small, cold, austere) and the “official” rooms of the Doge’s Palace that everyone can access (with gold everywhere, enormous paintings…). We loved how our guide pointed out the “secret doors” from both sides, we would never have spotted them ourselves. Amazing tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Doges palace with the secret itineraries part was brilliant! It was great to see those parts of the palace, it made it much more real and made the whole a e and system make sense. Thanks

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

Guide was very informative and it was fascinating to see the palace interior and be told of the goings-on through history.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2013/06/03

All secret bits about Casanova and judicial system very interesting, would have liked more content about art work as we clearly passed lots of interesting pieces. Loved tour and would recommend!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]