Venice Cicchetti and Italian Wine Small Group Food Tour reviews, Venice tours & activities, fun things to do in Venice | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Venice Cicchetti and Italian Wine Small Group Food Tour

Overall Rating

4.87 4.87 / 5

Reviews

158 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Sharon Celia, 2017/11/09

We had a wonderful evening with a fantastic guide named Iole. She was wonderful and we truly enjoyed our evening.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marilyn, 2017/10/20

Tour guide Giovanna was informative and entertaining. This was our first time in Venice and it is highly
Unlikely that that I would have found any of these bacari on my own. Ahh the advantage of a local guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Debboe, 2017/09/12

Wonderful!!! Informative, fun. Great tour guide!! Would definitely recommend!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: walter, 2017/07/25

nice, fun way to visit a few restaurants to get a small taste of Venice. Really enjoyed the guide and expereince

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/04/16

Pile,
Our guide was knowledabke and pleasant. She gave great recommendations for future trips.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sally, 2017/04/16

Iole was a knowledgeable and pleasant guide giving us recommendations for next
Time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/09/01

This was the perfect way to explore life as a local Venetian. The subtle insights into the day to day life combined with the quality of the food and wine was exceptional. The tour is the perfect amount of time and a very reasonable price considering the amount of food, wine and labor provided by the guide. Will recommend to anyone I know visiting Venice and will look to explore other urban adventure in the future!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/27

Simona was wonderful! We really enjoyed her personality and energy.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/22

Elisabetta was great, we really felt like locals going out for a bar & food crawl

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/08/17

Elizabetta was an outstanding guide. She was able to accommodate a range of people from a variety of backgrounds and of varying age. She was also able to inform us about Venetian culture, even some of the local and current families who make their living in Venice. At the end of the tour we had had the most fulfilling of times. In fact I don't think the short time we spent with Elizabetta and the group will be topped, and we still have 15 weeks of our round the world trip left!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/06/27

Elisabetta was so wonderful. She was very nice and so knowledgeable about Venice. I am so glad she was our tour guide, she did such a wonderful job and went above and beyond in explaining things to us and helping us get around, even after the tour was over. She took us to four great cicchetti and wine bars, all of which had their own special history. She also stopped us at a local wine shop, where the owner/worker gave us a little history lesson and we were able to buy some very cheap wine which was excellent! This was by far the best tour we did while we were in Italy, and we went to Florence, Rome, and Venice. Thanks again Elisabetta for the excellent time!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/06/16

Our guide Elisabeta was very friendly and made the tour really enjoyable and brought the group of strangers together really well with her sense of humour and love for Venice. We had a great time!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/06/07

Excellent event Francesca fluent Englisg charm enthusiasm made her a perfect 'host'

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/05/09

In spite of a very wet tour, our guide was enthusiastic and we all had a fabulous time - who cares about rain when there are great wines and food to savour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/28

Ione, our guide was so nice. She was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The tour showed us a side to Venice life we wouldn't have seen on our own. Thank you.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/25

Really enjoyed the trip thanks,a great insight into the real Venice

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/25

Roberto did a great job. We took in places we normally would never had considered had we been simply touring on our own.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/22

Francesca did an awesome Job, told us many things about the City, took us to hidden places and knew much about the wine we tasted and the delicious Food we tried. Also great to see Venice from the perspective of a local away from the Tourist streets

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/20

My husband and I booked on to the Wine and Cicchetti tour in Venice. The booking process was excellent and very smooth as were the instructions for meeting our guide. Simona was our guide, a local from Venice so she was full of knowledge and enthusiasm for her city which was brilliant. The tour was superb and I honestly can't say enough positive things about it! The knowledge and information that we picked up from the tour enabled us to have a much more informed and interesting stay in Venice overall as we learned so much background and local knowledge (e.g. how to use the traghetti gondolas). In addition to a very interesting walking tour, Simona then took us to 5 different Bacaras and introduced us to wines and foods that we probably wouldn't have otherwise tried. Simona also went above and beyond by giving us recommendations for local restaurants 'off the beaten track' for a special birthday meal for my husband and I. We enjoyed the tour so much in fact (it was the highlight of our whole trip), that we walked the route again a couple of days later and revisited some of the same Bacaras!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/03/04

I love food tours and my one suggestion for this one would be to allow guests to sample more items in each restaurant. Having a plate of six different small things for six people allowing each person to try only one was a bit disappointing. Because of the small amount of food in each location, it ended up a wine speed drinking event and I was fairly tipsy very quickly. I have taken food tours in several cities and I have never had to go out to dinner after. I did on this one because I was hungry.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Astrid, 2016/02/27

I am very satisfied with the order procedure and I would definitely recommend City Discovery to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/02/15

Lovely tour - the Venice wine & cicchetti-tour - we liked about Everything and the we had a wonderful super guide. Went with my husband this time and will come back with my daughter next year. We will do the tour again :-)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/02/02

Our guide Elisabeta was fabulous. Interesting, extremely knowledgeable and so enthusiastic. Guided the group to always say thank you and goodbye in the local language to the people at the places we visited. Simple but effective. Our fellow tourers were also excellent company!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/01/22

This was truly excellent our guide was amazing and I cant wait to see the pics! I would love do to this again!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/01/18

Excellent experience with a knowledgeable and fun guide. Thanks to Giovanna we got money and time saving tips for our Murano trip. She also introduced us to lovely local food and wine. I highly recommend this tour to anybody visiting Venice, whether for the first or 10th time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/29

Another excellent tour. I hope to do this again with some of my family.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/24

Elizabetta (sorry if the spelling is wrong!) was a great guide with a fun personality who provided very interesting information about Venice while taking to many delicious cicchetti restaurants. The tour set-up was great - a walk around cannaregio to get a different feel for venice before digging into the food.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/14

Exceeded expectations! Simona was a wonderful guide and spoke about the history of various buildings in Venice and introduced us to some truly amazing wines and cicchetti!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/13

Our guide was Francesca and she was excellent. We went to some amazing bars which we would not found by ourselves. We tried a lot of different wines as well as some traditional foods. We had a great group which we also met up with the next day for a different tour. The meet location was easy to find, Francesca took control of the group well as well as showing her extended knowledge of the City. I would highly recommend. Josh & Tiff, Nottingham, UK.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2015/12/02

Giovanne was/is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable guide who made the tour so enjoyable. Not only that, but it is great fun mixing with other tourists with a similar passion for food and wine. Salut to the team. An UA tour will now be on a list of 'to do's' on each city trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]