This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Marken, Volendam and Dutch Windmill Village One Day Trip from Amsterdam

Overall Rating

4.294.29 / 5

Reviews

45 reviews (Post a review)

Reviewed by: JODELIZA, 2017/09/19

this is highly interesting and educational to boot! definitely worth it!
i just wish we had more time at the windmill....

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Beena, 2017/04/15

Wish there was more time to explore Volendam and Marken on our own. The guide brought us to a cheese factory, given time for a quick fish and chips late lunch, waffle factory and we were off on our crusie to Marken! At Marken, we only had time for a brisk walk to the clog factory and back to bus for our return trip.Wouldn't have minded starting earlier with the live guide and/or returning later. Would have loved to browse in the shops and walk around just to appreciate the area...

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/11/12

Amazing tour, interesting places, flexible in terms of change in schedule date & last but not the least entertaining tour guide 'Adbergh' from Lindbergh Tour & Travel.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent!

Reviewed by: Andy, 2015/09/02

While Amsterdam is an amazing city, I always had visions of Holland with the windmills, wooden clogs, and also cheese. The trip seemed to include all of the above so my wife and I signed up for the trip, and it definitely included all of the above in just a half day tour. While the trip was tight in terms of time, there were enough for us to just walk around a little. Our guide was excellent, friendly, and provided all sorts of fun facts during the trip. We were very happy to get out and see a side of Holland that we could not get in Amsterdam. We even got to try the world famous Voledam cheese from the original voledam cheese factory!


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day trip from Amsterdam

Reviewed by: Sharon, 2015/08/29

If you want to take a day off from the big city life of Amsterdam, the day trip to Marken, Volendam, and dutch windmill villages is the perfect getaway. We joined the tour as we wanted to see what Netherlands outside of Amsterdam is like previously, and the trip definitely did not disappoint. You got a feel of the Windmill villages and was able to go inside one of them and see how it worked. We then went to Voledam where the cheese market was cool and certain good for tasting. Ultimately, we took a quiet and joyful ride to the island of Marken visiting the clog factory. The only thing we wished was that there were more time at each of the spots for us to enjoy.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/08/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

nice experience

Reviewed by: tansy, 2015/06/25

I took this tour with my husband and mother. We agree that it is well worth the money and great tour getting into Amsterdam countrysides. The tour was user friendly because it provided multi-language audio guide. It was well organised with an engaging and nice tour guide and the announcements of meeting time and place were clear. As we had to visit 3 places in 5 hours, it was a little bit of rush. The sceneries were amazing and we took many beautiful photos. The windmill village was really beautiful. The demonstration in cheese factory was interesting. The fishing village was very different from those in Hong Kong. We took a half hour boat trip to the clog factory where we could buy hand made traditional Dutch clogs. 

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/06/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great scenery!

Reviewed by: Vicky, 2015/06/12

I enjoyed the great sceneries in Marken,Volendam and Dutch Windmill village.These were all good spots for photography session .There were also demonstration of cheese and clogs making for those have interest on it.The tour group size was big and each of us was given a headphone during our bus journey that provide brief introduction of the places that we were going to visit.Tour guides were good in reminding us on our road safety with bicycles .Overall the tour was a bit rush to cover all places .If there were more time given for taking photos it will be even a more excellent and enjoyable experience.I would say it was still a day trip that worthwhile to pay a visit due to its nice sceneries.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth the visit! :)

Reviewed by: Yuki, 2015/06/06

When I first booked the trip, I wasn't too sure if there would be enough time to cover all the places within half a day. But I was not disappointed at the end of the tour! The trip was very organised with friendly tour guides and we were told the meeting point and time at each place. There were demonstrations of cheese and clogs making and people are allowed time to grab a bite or drinks - so don't worry, you don't have to pack your own sandwiches! Personally, I would prefer to have a bit more time for taking photographs as the sceneries were just so breathtaking! In short, this is definitely the tour to show you the gems of Netherlands. :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review for Day Trip fromAmsterdam to Marken, Volendam & Dutch Windmill Village

Reviewed by: Sally Lim, Malaysia, 2015/06/03

I will say that my experience with Veltra just average. Although the tour group size is big but there are 2 tour guides. They are good in concerning our safety with bicycles on the road. However, their English need to improve better.
The itinerary mentioned in the website is 6 hours but the actual itinerary only took about 5 hours. I felt rushing like duck. We do not have much time for photography. In order to have more time for photography, I sacrifice the briefing of the cheese-making and Dutch windmill. Actually I don't understand the rushing as according to the website, we should have 6 hours. The extra 1 hour really make the difference. In fact, I think the tour guide is rushing for next itinerary.
Frankly speaking, the reason why I chose Veltra first place is because I hope that my review submission will get back 50% of the day trip price. Then it will be a value worth day trip.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for joining our review rebate promotion! Time displayed on our website includes the time for transportation from the hotel and check in time for the customer's courtesy, hence the additional 1 hour in the itinerary.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your next booking with VELTRA!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2015/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Katerina, 2015/05/29

Excellent tour

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Katerina, 2015/05/27

excellent tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Keisuke, 2015/05/06

I think it was worth spent. The tour went fairly punctual that at some place the bus left the lazy tourists who did not return to the bus on time. And I think it was very good for the rest of people.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Keisuke, 2015/05/06

I think it was worth spent. The tour went fairly punctual that at some place the bus left the lazy tourists who did not return to the bus on time. And I think it was very good for the rest of people.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ljerka, 2015/04/05

preporučujem drugima jako dobre turističke informacije

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Katerina, 2015/02/09

Realy god service.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Enjoy various faces of Holland!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

We joined a morning tour. We thought it would be rushed as we would cover 3 places in half a day, but it was well timed. After visiting a cheese factory, we had enough to time to try some seafood for lunch. Also, we were able to go up to the top of a windmill. I was very satisfied as we were able to enjoy Holland-like landscapes efficiently on a fine day.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I really had fun!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

There were so many places to see! I didn't expect I could go on a sightseeing ship, so I was excited.
With the blue sky, white clouds and a lake without waves, it was like a mirror world. (It was like Uyuni lake in Bolivia.)
A harbor town where we went to had a beautiful streetscape.
After seeing a cheese factory, we had a lunch (you have to buy it yourself) and took a walk - fish and chips was really tasty there!
The one day sightseeing was like a dream. I'm very satisfied.

<Translated by Veltra.com>





Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very satisfied

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

We have joined several tours, and this is the best so far. You may be under the impression that Zanze Schans is flooded with tourists, but this is the only place you can view a vast landscape lined with numerous windmills.

Marken and Volendam are both small fishing villages, with a spectacular view of the dock in the evening. We enjoyed visiting a wooden shoe factory and a choose factory, with interesting explanations provided by a female guide.

The bus guide spoke English, which was easy to understand, and he was always all smiles. It is the best tour to see the rural areas of the Netherlands.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Holland’s rural landscape

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

Blessed with a fine weather, it was an excellent tour. Girls at a cheese factory and a wooden shoe factory were all dressed in cute traditional clothes and gave humorous explanations, which we all enjoyed. The cheese was excellent!
The guide was very friendly and cheerful.
In the last, we sang "Amsterdam, Amsterdam" (Holland song?) together.
It was a fun and memorable trip!

<Translated by Veltra.com>




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

We enjoyed Holland to the fullest!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/27

It was not that far from Amsterdam, and we could experience the true Holland. In Zaanse Schans, we saw the windmills, tasted and bought some cheese. Volendam and Marken are both fishers' villages where cute houses line up along the streets. In Volendam we ate the local specialty of fried cod, and in Marken we watched how craftsmen make clogs. We crossed over from Volendam to Marken by boat, and this was already included in the price, which made this a very good tour.

<Translated by Veltra.com>


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Luis, 2014/10/27

Very nice trip and interesting seeing the cheese factory and the windmills, well worth it! very good guide also.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gordon, 2014/09/13

This was an excellent trip, allowing us to see up close a variety of aspects of the life of the country and packing so much into the time.
It would have been good,however,to start a little earlier in the afternoon. And given the amount of walking involved, we would have preferred meeting at the point of departure rather than the ticket office!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: humberto paulo, 2014/09/11

Wonderful places! A piece of history of Nederland's people!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Maheen , 2014/08/17

The tour was lovely and the places we visited were excellent however the time was too short for first stop on the other hand we were given long free time before the boat rid . Tour group was so big that we couldn't here the tour guide instruction at some times. its advisable to give a printed tour agenda to make sure that every one is fully aware of the timing and the places .

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tarekat, 2014/08/04

friendly chauffer and tour guideneverything went wellnwe recommend to other people

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Natalia, 2014/07/25

The guide was super helpful and the towns we visited were all lovely.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: FRANCOIS, 2014/04/25

Bon guide - variété dans la visite, intéressant pour les enfants

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CLAUDIA, 2014/04/22

depending on weather it can be delightful or just interesting, I did it twice over the years

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MOHD KHAIRY, 2013/12/08

Very enjoyable and very beautiful place

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Raffaele, 2013/10/23

Il tour è stato molto interessante e consiglio di farlo, anche il pranzo al ristorante dietro consiglio della guida è stato buono, l'unica nota negativa e che ha piovuto per tutto il giorno.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Browse by Amsterdam