This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Auschwitz and Birkenau Concentration Camp Guided Tour from Krakow

Overall Rating

4.604.60 / 5

Reviews

15 reviews (Post a review)

Moving and surreal experience

Reviewed by: Elodie E., 2018/11/15

The whole tour (7h duration) was very well organized. The bus ride was very convenient and we watched a film about the Holocaust during the ride.
In the morning we visited the Auschwitz I camp, which is now partially converted as a museum, where we faced the dark reality of what happened through pictures, deportee's belonging such as suitcase, glasses and tons of hairs, but also prison cells and the only gas chamber and crematorium remaining. And much more...
In the afternoon we visited Auschwitz II-Birkenau, this huge concentration camp famous for its railway ramps, old barracks and crematorium ruins.
Our guide was amazing, her commentaries were very respectful and clear event though it's a very hard topic. We though we knew all about this part of history and yet we learned so much during the tour.
We had short breaks along the way to eat, drink something and use the bathrooms.
This experience really was the highlight of our trip to Krakow, even though it sounds weird to say it like that. It was hard to take and I must say, it is unbelievable even when you see it with your own eyes.
But I think this is visit that everyone should do once in their life in memory of all the victims. As George Santayana said, "Those who do not remember the past are condemned to repeat it."









Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Auschwicz & Birkenau

Reviewed by: Bob, 2018/09/22

Excellent guide, very informative and deeply worrying that humans can treat other humans as they did. Something all should see so that this kind of thing never happens again.
We didn’t realise that more research was continuing, thank goodness.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

emotional experience regards trip to Auschwitz

Reviewed by: Liam McNally, 2018/05/08

we visited Auschwitz on a beautiful sunny day but although the experience became a lot more gloomier it was a fantastic opportunity to visit a place with a very sad history where some of the most grotesque atrocities in history were committed.
We were very well looked after by Krakow tours (organised by the agency VELTRA). The driver and guide on the coach were very friendly and accommodating and the tour guide in Auschwitz was very knowledgeable.
In summary we had an excellent day and came away feeling very emotional having heard what had actually happened in this concentration camp in WW2

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

EDUCATIONAL

Reviewed by: Keith, 2017/11/30

Great transport. Very good guide. A real moving and surprising tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Auschwitz tour

Reviewed by: ANDREW, 2017/11/28

An excellent tour with an excellent guide. Pick up from hotel right on time and all as they said it would be. Happy to recommend Veltra and this your

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Annia, 2017/07/24

It was excellent.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Don, 2016/02/01

I cannot say we loved it because of the history that goes with it but was very, very interesting and informative.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth experience

Reviewed by: maki, 2015/10/29

I booked with VELTRA for a trip to Auschwitz from krakow via warsaw.

They picked me up at the hotel around 11:00, and moved by the bus.
If you participate in the tour with bus, you can save time of moving.
It is in a faraway place.
I also strongly recommend the guided tour (not free entrance) because it gives an interesting overview of the history.

The explanation of the tour guide was easy to understand, and He was honest, informative and very balanced in the opinions.

Everyone should visit here, this way the Holocaust won't ever be forgotten.
I hope that will never happen again.
Many thanks to all involved.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

This is historical place that should visit by everyone

Reviewed by: ever, 2015/10/29

I and my partner booked with VELTRA for a trip to Auschwitz. (the tour price is not expensive)
They picked us up at the hotel around 11:00, and moved by the nice bus.
the movie about Auschwitz has been screened in the bus.

It was longer than other tours, we were able to watch carefully.
He also guided us Second Auschwitz, Birkenau slowly.
The explanation of the tour guide was easy to understand, and He was honest, informative and very balanced in the opinions.

Everyone should visit here, this way the Holocaust won't ever be forgotten.
Many thanks to all involved.

Visited Oct 2015

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/10/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gregor, 2015/09/11

Excellent

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Susan Irene, 2011/11/23

Well organised tour, liked the use of headsets for each of the group during the walk around Auschwitz,could have done with the headsets during the second stage of the tour to Birkenau. But overall a very interesting tour well worth seeing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2011/09/19

Guide was great and definitely a must see. Lots of crowds though, but it is to be expected

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: margaret , 2010/05/25

It was a very poignant trip. Unfortunately it poured with rain, but that seemed to match the feel of the place.

Very impressed with the coach and driver, guide.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sue, 2010/03/29

Very interesting and informative tour by knowledgeable guides. Well organisaed and we would recommend to friends and family

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: janean, 2008/12/12

it was surreal!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Krakow