Montserrat Monastery & Winery Small Group Tour from Barcelona with Tapas reviews, Barcelona tours & activities, fun things to do in Barcelona | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Montserrat Monastery & Winery Small Group Tour from Barcelona with Tapas

Overall Rating

4.30 4.30 / 5

Reviews

60 reviews
Post a review

Mountain top trip.

Reviewed by: Joseph Peh, 2019/03/27

Had always wanted to visit Spain and we did. Thus we came for our 2nd honeymoon and had been made wonderful by your tour. From the start, our guide Merak was infectious with his smile and humor. After a short bus ride we reach Monserrat and took in the lovely sights. Then tapas and wine to top off our visit. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool route. Toni is a perfect guide.

Reviewed by: Igor, 2019/02/04

Thank you.
All was smooth and nice.
Our bus driver was professional.
Our guide Toni was perfect.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!

Reviewed by: Nathalie , 2018/09/03

Small group kept it intimate & focus. I like that very much

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful day

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2018/05/20

Superb day out, guide Aurora was very knowledgable, entertaining and looked after us really well. Recommend this to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Carolina and Monserat

Reviewed by: Brenda Houlihan, 2017/12/03

The tour was intimate and outstanding. We were able to view and touch the black Madonna. Carolina was informative, energetic and fun to tour with. I highly recommend this tour

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding tour!

Reviewed by: Holly Carter, 2017/10/11

We really enjoyed our tour . Sandra was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, friendly and fun!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/10/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Linda, 2017/06/05

We were met promptly and left very soon from Hard Rock Barcelona. Xavier was our guide and he proved to be very entertaining in a subtle way. There were 2 groups, 1 for lunch and 1 for tapas but all were wine tasting and both groups were well managed. Our visit to Monserrat was spectacular and the ride on the cogwheel train amazing!! We came down in a bus but be warned it is a steep and twisty ride! The winery was a beautiful old castle and not busy at all. We tasted 4 lovely wines along with more than ample beautifully presented tapas. All in all a great day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Linda, 2017/05/31

We were met promptly and left very soon from Hard Rock Barcelona. Xavier was our guide and he proved to be very entertaining in a subtle way. There were 2 groups, 1 for lunch and 1 for tapas but all were wine tasting and both groups were well managed. Our visit to Monserrat was spectacular and the ride on the cogwheel train amazing!! We came down in a bus but be warned it is a steep and twisty ride! The winery was a beautiful old castle and not busy at all. We tasted 4 lovely wines along with more than ample beautifully presented tapas. All in all a great day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Karthick, 2017/05/05

First of all, thanks to City Discovery the trip was organised in a planned way as per the schedule. Our guide had a smile always and provided a brief history of Barcelona while we crossed the city & kept us occupied.

We boarded the 15 seater Air Conditioned coach. He guided us over to Montserrat base, where we were shifted to the Rack railways. The ride was awesome and gave us one of the best views. Once on top of the mountains the guide explained the history, and importance of the Church. Also he took us to the liquer tasting of Montserrat. Cookies were given to people who dint taste the liquer. We liked the Hazelnut flavoured liquer :). Then we got a short lunch break & they took us back to the mountain base.

Here comes another interesting part of the trip, the visit to Oller De Castle and wineries. We were welcomed with a white wine, and got a brief history of the wine making process, a feel of Spain, a classical Tapas, and lots more wine tasting. He explained us how the wine is judged on quality through its aroma, colour, and thickness in a wine glass. Again for those who dont want to taste wine, they had fruit juice :).

Then we took some great photos and departed back to Barcelona on time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Grace, 2017/05/04

was a wonderful tour and a lovely way to explore a little further out of Barcelona! Our guide (Simon) was great - really knowledgeable and very entertaining. Montserrat is a really beautiful spot and the tapas and wine stop was well worth it! We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/04/28

We had the most incredible day exploring Montserrat and the Oller del Mas Castle. Everything from the easy, convenient check in at the Hard Rock Cafe to the timely arrival at the end of the trip were planned perfectly!
Our tour guide, Agnes, was so very wonderful with so much local knowledge and a great sense of humor! In addition to sharing interesting factual and historical information, she provided us with local legends and myths. The views at Montserrat were indescribably breathtaking! Having someone there to help us navigate through purchasing tickets and getting on the rail car, up the mountain and to the monastery was wonderful. Agnes made our day run so smoothly!
When at Montserrat, we were able to see everything, plus had almost an hour of free time to explore the farmer's market and take an abundance of photographs.
After leaving the monastery and arriving at the vineyard, we were immediately greeted with a refreshing glass of white wine. The other wines on the tour were a great variety of tastes: a little something for everyone. The tapas were locally sourced, and tasted incredible!

We do not often travel with guided tour groups, as our experiences with them tend to be stiff and sometimes sc<x>ripted. This tour was the exact opposite. It really felt like we were exploring the sites with a very knowledgable friend, rather than a tour guide whom we just met.

If you are visiting Barcelona and looking for a way to get out of the city for a day, THIS is the tour to take!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kyoungmin Melissa, 2017/04/24

My friend came to visit Barcelona from Korea. She wanted to visit Monserrat. So I booked a tour for Montserrat. I found this tour thru Google search. Anyway we enjoyed it. Especially we really liked our "simpatico" guide Lorenzo. During the tour, he tried to explain many interesting things about Spain and Catalan which makes me more interested. Lorenzo studied in cultural anthropology (Am I right? I am not sure x_X but it's related with human anyway..) Thanks to his knowledge, he explained a lot of historical things and cultural things to us. And his English is good as well!! You will not regret! I highly recommend you to do this.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anita, 2017/03/26

Excellent tour! The tour you gave us to the amazing Montserrat Monastery and explorative, fascinating winery was a great ending to our trip. Huge thank you to Marta, she’s a wonderful guide, understanding, knowing and nice. Good luck to her! We had a great day exploring the Monserrat Abby. We were able to see the basilica, museum, La Moreneta and hear the boys choir sing at 13.00. Then we went on to an excellent tapas and wine tour. Marta was very informative and made the day fun. A PERFECT DAY! Totally recommend !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/03/25

This is excellent tour!
Marta was a wonderful guide. The whole tour was really well-organized, which made this trip a great experience. Would definitely recommend!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2017/03/25

Very nice experience if you have little time. Two experiences in one day! The sights, Montserrat guided visit, the winery, the wine, tapas lunch- everything was just amazing! The wine tasting in Oller del Mas was great. There was an amazing view of Montserrat from the vineyard, and it was interesting to hear about the history of the castle. Marta, the tour guide was excellent and very informative!
Thanks for everything! I would definitely recommend to my friends!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]