This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Montserrat Monastery Guided Tour with Rack Railway and Hiking Adventure

Overall Rating

5.005.00 / 5

Reviews

6 reviews (Post a review)

A fantastic day

Reviewed by: Angelos, 2018/09/03

We had a splendid day at Montserrat.

Adrian, our guide, is a really good guy and a really good guide! He is one of those rare people who love their work and can communicate that love to others. He was enthusiastic, he gave us a wealth of interesting information on the history of the monastery and the mountain range itself (and even Barcelona from where the tour starts). He was eager to answer all our questions and I must also commend him for his patience in taking photographs of the tour participants when they asked him for this!

The hiking part of the tour was very enjoyable and easy to do, which is important for those who are not so accustomed to walking on mountains. We took the St. Joan funicular up the rack railway to the top and then walked from there back down to the monastery, effectively encircling the mountain in a direction west to south to east. The hike was not too long and the views of the lands below were truly fantastic.

After arriving at the monastery, we had the chance to visit the Basilica and listen to the lovely performance of the Escolania Choir. I would have welcomed the opportunity to spend a little more time at the monastery itself, but unfortunately this was not possible due to the time constraints of the tour. I certainly want to visit Montserrat again in the future. It is worth staying there for a few days and there is a hotel.

If you do go on this tour, it is important to wear shoes with rubber soles. If you do it in the summer and you are not from a Mediterranean country, it is a good idea to bring with you a hat for the sun and some sunblock cream. The meeting point for participants in Barcelona is within easy reach of the Diagonal metro station.


  • View from the Monastery from the top station of the funicular


  • Montserrat seems to be guarded by giants...


  • Hiking route: The view towards the south-east


  • Hiking route: The view towards the north-west; the Pyrenees are in the distance.


  • Hiking route: St. Francis of Assisi


  • Hiking route: Back at the Monastery


  • The fantastic facade of the Basilica


  • Listening to the magnificent Escolania Choir sing inside the Basilica. People who queued for hours file past the statue of the Virgin Mary and pray, right above the choir.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Monserrat hike

Reviewed by: Anna, 2018/04/28

The Monserrat tour has been the highlight of my Barcelona trip! Our guide Adrienne ( not sure how he spells it) was a thorough, friendly, and professional guide. He kept our group on track so we could see everything. He was very knowledgeable and helpful, giving us information and history throughout, and even offering suggestions for other things to do in the area during my stay. The views from Monserrat were amazing and the choir was incredible. I highly recommend this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding !

Reviewed by: Gema , 2018/02/03

Unai was an excellent tour guide! He treated me like we were old friends, and happy to see me again! He is knowledgeable, respectful and mindful of everyone’s fitness level.
The only thing that I would recommend is to bring snacks and water with you! Not enough time to buy something to eat, and the day is long.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful

Reviewed by: Dn , 2018/01/21

Got out of the city and ate some mountain cheese. They let me hike off on my own and we all had a meeting time. It was a special day.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2017/06/22

OUTSTANDING!! This tour was perfection. We had a small group of 7 plus guide. No children or elderly folks to slow us down which enabled us to hike to the summit which was both rewarding and offered spectacular views! A clean Mercedes air-conditioned van met us in the city, right on time, we actually left earlier than scheduled, (great group, punctual and fit!), so we reached the monastery site prior to all crowds, waited less than 5 min for access to Black Madonna which we touched and photographed, then rode the funicular to top, hiked even further to the summit (about 1.5 hr up?), hiked back down (about 45 min) in time to hear Boys choir (which was overly crowded and easily skippable, imo), then returned to the city in the van arriving around 2:30pm. Our guide also had a few great restaurant suggestions in Barcelona. He spoke impeccable English and was a perfect fit for a group that did NOT want a "tour group" experience with headsets and flags, running commentary, etc. This was NOTHING like that. It was relaxed, casual, amazing and the highlight of our trip to Spain. Wish I could remember the guide's name, it was unusual and I had no idea how to spell it, but I'm sure they are all great! I won't lie, the hike was a bit strenuous for this 54 yr old, but we took lots of breaks and never felt rushed. It was totally worth it!
Do.This. You won't regret it!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Avischen, 2017/05/06

Absolutely fantastic

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]