This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Madrid Hop On Hop Off Bus City Sightseeing Tour

Extensive coverage of the city

Reviewed by: Rob Parker, 2018/05/15

The two routes offer a good overall impression of Madrid both historical and modern. The buses are modern and clean and have a very good commentary in multiple languages although on route 2 the commentary was slightly behind the locations being explained.

If you get a good seat that you are happy with then I'd recommend that you take one circuit on the whole route first and then get off at places of interest the second time around. The only reason i haven't given this 4 stars is because at certain places on route buses arrive full and you may have to wait for one or two later buses before you are able to continue your journey.

Overall it is well worth doing and is good value for money as both routes take over 60 minutes depending on traffic.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

More buses required

Reviewed by: Wittanarat Gajaseni, 2018/04/29

Comparing to Barcelona hop-on hop-off sightseeing buses, Madrid buses have been petty less in number and buses were mostly full and unable to accommodate some passengers, In this regard, some tourists have wasted their limited time waiting at the bus stops.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Madrid Hop On Hop Off City Sightseeing Tour

Reviewed by: Sylvie, 2018/01/28

Very good when we only have short time to explore the city. Onboard staff was kind and helpful.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice ride!!

Reviewed by: mon & dolly, 2017/12/09

may wife and me are so very happy to ride this tour bus!... the driver and the tour guide are so very gentle and nice!... they are so very lovely companionship on tour!.. May Almighty God Bless to all!!... see u again on our next tour for my lovely childrens.


  • a very lovely and sweet smiling spanish girl tour guide, thks so much for ur kindliness.


  • and the most beautiful smiling spanish girl tour guide goin toledo tour. ur so very lovely! God Bless to all of u!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Really fun and relaxing

Reviewed by: Loren, 2017/11/27

This is a really fun and relaxing way to see Madrid and get a feel for the city. After you've seen 2-3 museums and your feet are killing you... get on the bus, sit up top if the weather is nice, and ride. Be sure to ride BOTH loops in their entirety. Very worthwhile. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mora, 2017/08/10

This was an excellent way to see all of the sitest in Madrid and figure out the layout of the city and what I wanted to come back to see. The staff were very helpful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alisa, 2017/08/03

Bus was clean and the narrative was great. The bus came to each stop pretty often.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: NAGLAA, 2017/07/17

It's a must do, shows you all places you need to visit.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Elzebir Kimball-Nunez, 2017/07/14

The staff was very polite. Easy to take the bus, I highly recommend city discovery. We have been traveling with them since 2013.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/06/14

We always like to do the hop on hop off buses when we first tour a city to see where we want to explore during our vacation.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sergejs, 2017/06/09

It is very convenient not to waste time buying tickets

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CARLOS, 2017/04/18

good option

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tracey, 2017/04/11

Best way to see Madrid whilst busy we always managed to get a seat. Busses were frequent and staff were very helpful

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: DM, 2017/04/02

Excellent, and the staff were wonderful ! Many Thanks :-)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: PHILIP, 2017/03/19

I went on the 2 day ticket and used it a lot, the information through the earphones was good but sometimes behind because of traffic around Madrid but that was not their fault

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Gregory , 2017/02/17

Brilliant!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/11/21

The HOHO buses are always generally a good value when you have limited time in a city. It allows you to see all of the attractions and possibly more than you knew about. Good starting point of what you really want to see.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Rosy, 2016/05/25

you can see all the interesting monuments of the city. Easy to visit something and then go on with the following bus

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CityDiscovery, 2016/04/11

Perfect way to explore the city without taking the metro or taxis. The route really covers all the interesting sights and areas of Madrid. Buses were in perfect conditions and the audioguides were working fine.
We never had to wait more than a few minutes for a bus to come and the stops were well indicated.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Randall, 2016/01/24

Very good tour!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Mitul, 2015/10/05

Great service!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Madrid - easy transport

Reviewed by: Karen, 2015/10/04

The Madrid hop on hop off sightseeing tour takes you by double-decker bus to numerous stops on two inter connecting bus routes around the city including the Royal Palace, the Prado museum, the mighty Bernabéu stadium and more. With the one day ticket I was able to listen to the informative onboard recorded audio commentary on board, which is available in many languages, as I sat back and relaxed. There was even a separate children's commentary to inform the kids at their own level. I took my 2 kids with me and we would simply hop off at any stop that interested us to walk around and sightsee in depth. We enjoyed experiencing Madrid's most noteworthy attractions, sights, and shopping and dining areas at our own pace.

It was easy to buy tickets on the internet which are instantly confirmed so you can print them out. The print out in exchanged for tickets on the bus which you need to keep and present to the assistant each time you get back on the bus. The company also gives you a discount voucher booklet with quite good savings on retail, restaurants and activities. We saved money during our stay with the booklet. There's something for everyone.

Having never been to Madrid before I researched the best sights to see before I travelled making a list of all the places I wanted to go. All were either a stop on the hop on hop off bus, or just a short walk from a stop. The hop on hop off bus is a perfect introduction for first-time visitors. We used the bus as a way of working out exactly where we wanted to go on our first day in Madrid. With the two bus routes interchanging we were able to sit on the bus and sight see and work out exactly which stops we wanted to see later. We actually did a loop without really getting off much at all, and then did another one knowing exactly where to get off. This was good for us as we had an entire day to fill in.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/09/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Margaret, 2015/08/23

Easy to find a stop to get on and change voucher for a ticket. A very good way to get your bearings when you first arrive. Then you can plan where to go and use the hop on and off
to get there. Extended route was a bonus.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very convenient for 1 Day Madrid Sightseeing

Reviewed by: Monika, 2015/08/12

The bus was very useful and very convenient for Madrid sightseeing. It's a good way to get a general overview of the city and see some of the most important landmarks, such as Prado Museum, Puerta del Sol, Gran Via or the Royal Palace.

First we used the red route to take a round of the city to get the general idea of Madrid and then green to see Las Ventas Bullring. There are only 2 departures to Las Ventas, so you need to be careful with your time.

Overall the whole tour was very useful and made our Madrid sightseeing much easier during the next couple of days, as we learned where the most interesting spots are. The departures were frequent, so we always managed to find a seat at the top deck.


  • Las Ventas Bull Ring




  • The Royal Palace

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/07/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Bogdan, 2015/07/23

While ordering I am satisfied with:n- good information about inndividual toursn- clear and easy bookingn- immediate confirmationn- quick voucher deliveryn- possibility to check the booking statusn- possibility to change date of a tourn- reorder discount coupons

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very useful

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

We used it during our honeymoon trip to Spain.
It was very convenient, because you can ride briefly around the city and then go back to the places that interested you the most and walk around at your own pace.
Japanese audio-guide was also very helpful for us as private travelers.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It's convenient.

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

I used it with my family - 6 people in total. It's very convenient way to go around Madrid effectively.
Also it was good to know the distance in town between places, as we decided to continue sightseeing on our own the next day.
I recommend it to everyone.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was more than I expected

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

We used the bus, as it seemed helpful to move from one place to another.
But in fact it was so nice that we have even passed my destination to go for another extra round.
The sun in summer is so strong in Spain that we recommend you to sit on under the roof on the second floor of the bus.
It was nice to feel the breeze. We really enjoyed the tour, as we could go around major sightseeing spots in Madrid.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sightseeing in Madrid

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/01/26

There are 2 courses available that allows you to enjoy sightseeing spots effectively in Madrid. Both courses are excellent and highly recommended. You can walk around the old town or to visit the home stadium of the famous football team Real Madrid, a bull ring and shopping area. You can take this bus to know where everything is in Madrid so you can plan your travel well suited to your own schedule!

<Translated by Veltra.com>



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Giuseppe, 2014/12/16

Very good way to visit the city in a short time. With 2 routes all the main attractions can be seen. High frequency of the buses and friendly staff.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |