Royal Monastery El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half Day Tour from Madrid reviews, Madrid tours & activities, fun things to do in Madrid | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Royal Monastery El Escorial and Valley of the Fallen Half Day Tour from Madrid

Overall Rating

4.23 4.23 / 5

Reviews

22 reviews
Post a review

Amazing

Reviewed by: Regina , 2018/08/26

Very informative tour. Fantastic and amazing décor of the monastery.
Breathtaking scenery from the mountain. Highly recommend taking the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/08/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Be careful of the actual tour company Veltra partners with

Reviewed by: Mom of 4, 2018/05/31

Veltra is simply the frontman for the actual tour company. In this instance it was Julia Travel based out of Madrid. Julia Travel has many tours so be careful when you book with Veltra to double check that you are not actually touring with Julia Travel. Our tour guide was NOT very warm and welcoming, simply held the card up and yelled "El Escorial follow me" and then we followed her for 5 minutes to a bus parked underground. She told us firmly to buckle up or we would get a ticket and "Not her", she also told us we could not eat because we might choke and finished with the statement, "Don't talk because others are paying for this too and don't want to hear you talk". She warmed up a little at El Escorial but when we went to the Valley of the Fallen she did not even take us into the memorial. I don't understand what I paid for! This was the MOST expensive tour I took and it was a half day with the worst guide. DO NOT assume paying more makes for a better tour. I took a free tour with New Europe Tours and it was outstanding!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Truly an experience that should not be missed. The snow made it all the more magical and special!

Reviewed by: Liliana, 2018/03/31

We headed out of Madrid early in the morning, and the drive was beautiful with the snow falling. It was the middle of March, so that was an added bonus.

El Escorial is imposing and grand. The tour guide was informative and entertaining, and kept a good pace with the group.

But the best part was the Valle de los Caidos. A befitting monument to the casualties of the Spanish Civil War. We knew it was hallowed ground at first sight. The cross in the middle of the white snow covered mountains was impressive, but the cathedral inside blows you away, both in size and significance. A befitting monument to the fallen of the Civil War.

The equivalent of Gettysburg in the US.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patrick, 2017/05/27

I did not know how controversial the Valley of the Fallen is among Spanish citizens due to dictator Franco being buried at the site. The site is beautiful. El Escorial was also beautiful and we'll worth the effort to see it. Lots of walking up and down stairs at El Escorial.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: FLAVIA, 2017/02/27

Amazing!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nery, 2017/01/08

Absolutely beautiful, just wished for more time to see the gardens of El Escorial.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Nicole, 2016/12/29

Great tour overall! It started off a little odd, as our group was small and we rode on a bus with a different tour to be dropped off and merged with another doing ours as well. I was the only english speaking person and that wasnt communicated well initially. Weather wasnt the best for visual at Valley of the fallen, but that is mother natures doing. You cant take pictures inside either of these, but that is what has kept the colors so vibrant.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eigna, 2015/11/07

My tour was book up and was rapidly handle. *** responded inmediatly and find a solution. I could not be more happy to choose your company. I am please with the professionalism that you work. i will certainly recomend you to my family and friends. Keep the good work and looking forward to make bussiness with you in my next trip.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2015/07/05

We really enjoyed this tour, especially the very knowledgeable guide. Sights we would not have been able to see without going on this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ellen, 2015/06/30

This was a great tour with a most knowledgeable guide. We definitely would not have been able to see these two places - representing two very different pieces of Spanish history - without the tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Allan, 2015/04/05

Yes,I will recommend to others

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Myrna, 2014/05/22

The tour to El Escorial and the Valley of the Fallen was very interesting and enjoyable. It was well run and the allotment of time at both locations was sufficient. Also the bus was comfortable with a good driver.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]