Lucerne and Mount Pilatus Day-Tour from Zurich with World's Steepest Train Ride reviews, Zurich tours & activities, fun things to do in Zurich | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Lucerne and Mount Pilatus Day-Tour from Zurich with World's Steepest Train Ride

Overall Rating

4.21 4.21 / 5

Reviews

33 reviews
Post a review

switzerland mountains

Reviewed by: gurucharan, 2017/12/04

Loved the trip ......hope to do it again!! Scenes etched in memory forever

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent journey

Reviewed by: Lusi, 2017/10/22

My trip was excellent. Besides beatiful scenery, also the nicest guide of tour I've ever had.
Thank you very much for the unforgatable trip

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sara, 2016/06/20

My husband and I had an amazing day exploring Lucerne and Mt. Pilatus! Our tour guide, Guillermo, was not only knowledgeable and interesting but so sweet and helpful, too. This was certainly a highlight from our trip to Europe and one we highly recommend to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Yasmin, 2015/11/23

Our guide 'Urs' was exceptionally informative and entertaining . The tour was very well organised . We loved the experience and are looking forward to getting our family there.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lucerne and Mount Pilatus tour from Zurich

Reviewed by: Annie Boreham, 2015/10/01

We booked this tour online with no trouble at all. When we arrived in Zurich, we found out that the tour company can provide pick up from our hotel with no extra cost. It's a definitely advantage, saving us from looking for the meeting place early in the morning. We departed Zurich on time and headed towards Lucerne. We were given sufficient time to explore the area before heading to Mount Pilatus. Once we arrived at the bottom of Mount Pilatus. We were greeted by our local guide. He was very informative and guided us up the mountain and back down to Lucerne. It was an overcast day and we read some other review about similar tour. However, it was still amazing once we were above the cloud level. The scene was just magnificent. The cogwheel ride came down the mountain was also a very special experience. I highly recommend this tour if anyone visiting Switzerland .

  • Mount Pilatus.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour of Mount Pilatus, though check the weather!

Reviewed by: Andrew, 2015/08/16

I would suggest, if possible, checking the weather before booking this tour. Unfortunately, I had already paid for the tour before I knew it would be rainy and cloudy that weekend, and in the end I could not see anything. Quite a disappointment. This is not really a fault of the tour company itself, though, and I am satisfied with how the tour was conducted. For example, I made a mistake with my reservation and had to call the office the day before the tour debarked, and the lady I spoke to (Mirja) was very nice/helpful/professional.

The tour itself seemed to be more popular among the senior folk, but as a younger solo traveller, I was still able to make some friends on the trip. The tour guide was nice and friendly, but she did not explain much or guide us around when we reached the top (we were to just explore on our own). There was also a bit of disorganization in the tour. The trip honestly was quite boring for me because of the weather, but I can imagine it would be great if you could actually see the views at the top of the mountain. I enjoyed the cogwheel train part of the tour the most.

For comparison, the tour basically follows the golden round trip, and the price for buying the tickets and going yourself is ~100CHF as of this review (Though my hostel sold it for 90CHF). Add to that the cost of transport to/from Lucerne (~30+ CHF if you buy the super saver train tickets online). Especially with a rebate offer from Veltra, it turned out that booking this tour ended up being a lot cheaper than buying the tickets and going alone, so it was a good deal for me! This is because the tour is able to take advantage of group rates and charter busses, saving everyone money in the end.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Leonard, 2012/10/08

It was an excellent trip to Pilatus. The weather was kind of gloomy down below but when we were at the top it was sunny and even warm. I will take the tour again if given the chance. Highly recommended. A highlight to a visit in Switzerland.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patrick, 2010/08/06

Action packed - very informative - worth the trip even though the Alps were completely socked in -

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]