Loch Ness and Scottish Highlands Guided Tour from Edinburgh reviews, Edinburgh tours & activities, fun things to do in Edinburgh | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Loch Ness and Scottish Highlands Guided Tour from Edinburgh

Overall Rating

4.09 4.09 / 5

Reviews

112 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Ivan, 2017/09/19

We really enjoyed the trip! Better than expected

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: , 2017/09/13

Nice trip and nice guide. Our guide was very friendly and gave us Explanation about not only attraction but also scottish cultures. We could take pictures with nice view when he left us sometimes. Also taking cruise in Loch Ness became the wonderful experience. The only shame thing is that we couldn't see some Castles closely but only in the bus.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MARIE, 2017/08/14

Thoroughly enjoyed to day. Brian our driver was very informative and made the journey most interesting. The only downside was the short stops only 30mins for a break just enough time for a urgent call and grab a coffee and a sandwich to eat on the coach. Not his fault just such a long trip so time was not on his side. But would have loved more time to look around and relax.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: garima, 2017/06/30

We loved the tour. Our tour guide Graham was a delight.
Scotland is an amazing country with spectacular views.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: DEEPAK, 2017/06/25

We liked it very much. However, don't recommend the lock Ness boat trip. There is nothing special in it

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Tung Yee, 2017/05/15

The tour guide is really nice and the hotel pick up service is also very heartwarming and convenient!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: mariam, 2017/04/19

the tour was amazing ! highly recommended for those who wish to see more of Scotland !!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Matthew, 2017/04/18

Graham was a fantastic tour guide. Highly recommend.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: mariantonietta, 2017/04/05

Everything was ok. The driver was very nice and friendly. His English was a little difficult to understand as he spoke too quickly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Patricia, 2017/03/08

The guide Brian was incredible, he gave us so much information. It was the most beautiful tour I made in 20 years after visiting many countries !! It's passionate, historical and marvelous. You feel like a Scotsman !!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christina, 2016/12/26

Dougy is the heart of the tour! Very helpful, very descriptive and very enthusiastic!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Lykke , 2016/04/24

The tour was beautiful but we were uncomfortable the whole trip because the driver/guide Brendan were driving really fast up in the mountains also in the curves. We would never get on a bus with him again. But again the views were amazing.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Jose, 2015/07/22

Very complete tour, knowledgeable and fun guide (Brendan), beautiful sites.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: SIGALIT, 2015/06/30

I recommend this trip with Brian the tour guide. It was a very good trip and a good and funny driver, always make jokes and fun.
He took us near the hotel and return us to the hotel at the evening that was very good.
We came from Tel Aviv and the bus was full with people from all over the world and that was interesting.
Sigalit

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: David, 2015/04/26

Best tour guide ever. Graham rules!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loch Ness tour

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/04

The guide was very professional and I enjoyed the tour very much!
I would definitely recommend this tour to everybody who's interested in history and this part of the world.
I was seating with another person who was alone as well, we chatted a little, so I wasn't bored.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Winter Loch Ness

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/04

Pick up was right on time.
The driver was also our guide and he's English was very easy to understand, so there was no need to worry, even though I participated alone. He especially made sure that we knew meeting time and he repeated it many times. he was also very funny and made everybody laugh.
Loch Ness cruise was optional, but almost everybody went. Lake shore and surrounding scenery were beautiful. Nessie was in winter sleep, so it was a shame...
It was early November, so at the end of the tour it was completely dark.
I would recommend this tour.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Matthew, 2015/02/16

Interesting for newcomers. Too much travelling on coach and very little time to explore. Ferry trip is good but better if prepaid.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: kristin, 2014/11/23

I had no expectations really, just wanted to see the Highlands. Got so much more because of the fantastic guide, Graham. He was awsome!! Had so much knowlege and funny and interesting stories about scotland and the areas we drove throgh.He really made an 12 hour long bus drive really short:) i was never bored. I have seen much of scotland before, but my mum had not. She also loved it. Loch Ness was the main attraction (although it was not for us), wish we could have stopped more in the mountains on the way, that is my only complaint. I would def. go for another trip with this company!!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Brigitte, 2014/11/14

Our driver Brian was very good. He tell us a lot of things.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Martina, 2014/06/10

Our Driver and guide, ***, was simply great - with exceptional knowledge in understandable Terms he explained all the way throughout the highlands very interesting things.nthe Chosen Areas for coffee breaks etc were unfortunately very touristical, but I suppose this has to be... But *** made the best out of it and told us where the toilets were etc so that we had opportunities compared to other buses :-)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Carolyn, 2014/06/02

Bit confusing when you put in offers for next year so early. Thought mine was discounted for our trip this year by the advert bit misleading. When I looked up trip only a few weeks ago it was cheaper, perhaps I should have booked it then. Looking forward to going to the Highlands and being collected from our hotel. Will decide on recommendations after our trip. So far so good.n***

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Timothy, 2014/02/03

Good value for money. Pleasant journey with a vey knowledgeable driver/guide. Amazing scenery. Thoroughly enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Robert, 2014/01/03

The tour was really good organized by Grey Line Scotland. The guide did his best to show us the most of Scotland. We could even reach Inverness in daylight despite being one of the darkest peroid of the year. I can recommend it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Suzanne, 2013/10/13

We were only visiting Scotland for 4 days so wanted a tour of the Highlands and Loch Ness. We were so glad to book with City discovery the driver was our guide and he was amazing, he hardly stopped talking the whole way! There was nothing more he could have told us. The whole day ran on time and was very enjoyable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: michael, 2013/08/27

graham was a wonderful and knowledgable bus driver-tour guide. Highly recommend to anyone!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Pat, 2013/08/20

Although it rained most of the day, the tour was fun, interesting and the commentary great.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sowmya , 2013/07/25

We were lucky to have beautiful sunny weather on the day we went on this tour. This is probably what mainly contributed to it being good. However, our tour guide cum driver Graham, was also very knowledgeable and friendly and told us interesting stories from Scottish history. We got beautiful views of the countryside and mountains on this trip too. A longer stop at Glen Coe would have been nice though. The cruise on Loch Ness was enjoyable and the boat captain had us absorbed in his stories. The stop at Pitlochry was also interesting, but by the time we got there, most shops were closed and our time there was short. This is a great tour for those wishing to see the highlands and Inverness in 1 day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Iréne, 2013/04/19

En utflykt som var väl värd varenda öre. Mycket intressant tur med mycket info tack vare vår helt suveräna chaufför och guide Brian.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Anne, 2012/11/07

Tour felt rushed at end by driver who decided on hois own that we shoujld return 30 minutes early and cut our last break short. As the tour was quite long at 12 hours, we were simujltaneolusly getting tired and ready to return but also getting hungry and needing a break from the bus. Therefore, a discussion with bus of preferences would have been appropriate.

Also did not appreciate the driver's lecture at the end about the tipping industry in Scotland and how it is now a service industry that expects tips. This begging for more money gave the tour an amateuriosh feel and it was difficult to determine how much was appropriate for the length of the tour. Please state on tour brochures and registration process whether gratuity is expected and not included. The tour was not cheap for the simple bus ride that it entailed, and the bus was not elaborate or highly comfortable at continaing no toilet and seat beverage holders, etc. We had to pay separately for the one diversion to the lake boat ride, a cost that also should have been noted at the registration.

Bus driver did attempt to provide much historical and geographical naarative which was appreciated. His frequent reprimands to unruly passengers, however, may have put-off certain customers, however.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]