Loch Lomond, The Highlands and Stirling Castle Guided Tour from Edinburgh reviews, Edinburgh tours & activities, fun things to do in Edinburgh | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Loch Lomond, The Highlands and Stirling Castle Guided Tour from Edinburgh

Overall Rating

4.04 4.04 / 5

Reviews

52 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Afroditi, 2017/09/25

Really friendly and nice driver-tour guide :)

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sumanta, 2017/08/14

The tour was pretty nice

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Alexander, 2017/05/24

Very good, the driver was very interesting with his brief as we toured around.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Konstantinos, 2017/02/16

Nice tour, glad we did it.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Yvonne, 2015/09/19

We had a wonderful day. Scenery beautiful. Our driver Brendan was superb with so much knowledge, we learnt a lot about Scotland. Brendan was such a cheerful and helpful driver and guide. Thank you.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful nature!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/05

Our flight from London to Edinburgh was delayed and we though we won't be able to join the tour, but a polite staff member managed to change the date for us and we eventually joined the tour without any problems.
Out driver guide was also amazing. He didn't have very strong Scottish accent, but I wish I knew English better, so I could understand more..
The guide was fun, but the views from the bus window were spectacular!!
You can't experience this kind of nature or weather changes anywhere else, so it's really worth going.
They picked us up right from our hotel, so it was very convenient. We were really sad it was over when we headed back to Edinburgh.
We decided we definitely have to come back to Scotland.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was fun

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/05

Pick up was right on time.
The driver guide was very nice and polite.
Except us two, there was also one Russian, an American couple and a family from Holland, 9 people in total.
We drove through Glasgow, which was a surprise, but we were very glad that we could see the city.
On the cruise on the Loch Lomond there were only 5 people.
The scenery of the Highlands was beautiful and there was almost no tourists in most places. We had lunch in a small farm restaurant, it was cheap and delicious.
Then we visited Stirling castle and had a lot of time to walk around.
We decided we need to learn more about history after we come back.
I think it would be quite difficult to go to all those places in one day just by yourself.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/05

We stayed in a small guesthouse, not a hotel, but the pick up arrived just on time.
It was raining, so he really saved us! From there we went to pick up other participants and then changed the bus and joined our tour. The driver-guide was very easygoing and he kept telling us different stories while driving.
There was about 15 people on the tour.
The rain was on and off, so it was very comfortable to be able to do sightseeing in the bus.
When we reached Loch Lomond we went on a 1 hour cruise, 9 pounds per person (separate fee).
We grove through Glasgow to see the city, which was very good.
When we drove through the Highlands, we stopped a few times to take some pictures.
We didn't go to more distant parts of the Highlands, so if you want to see more magnificent views, you should probably go on a tour that focuses mainly on the Highlands.
When we reached Stirling castle, the rain was really strong, but we had a lot of time to see the castle and the tour inside was very interesting.
We finished the tour near Edinburgh train station.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

It was great!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/05

The bus arrived just in front of our hotel to pick us up.
We've spent most of the time on the bus, but the views were amazing and we couldn't get tired of it.
The length of the tour was also just right.
The price is very good and I will definitely recommend this tour to my friends.
The guide was very knowledgeable, we've learned a lot about Scotland in a fun way.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Totally recommend it!

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2015/03/05

We were picked up from our hotel.
The driver was also our guide and he was great! He was talking about Scotland without a break :-)
There were only 10 participants, so we stopped in Glasgow for 20 min and had a drive through the Highlands, so it was even more than the usual schedule.
If you don't take the cruise on Loch Lomond, there is nothing much to do there except waiting, so I recommend you to take it. It's cold on the boat but the views are more refreshing and vivid than from the shore. The view on Stirling Castle was great, you can buy entrance ticket and visit the castle as well.

<Translated by Veltra.com>

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sowmya , 2013/07/25

It is convenient that you are picked up from your hostel, and Graham, our tour guide, did his best to drop us off as near to our hotel as possible on return. There was only a drive through Glasgow, so most of the sights passed us by in a second. Cruise on Loch Lomond was interesting. We had to rush through Stirling Castle a little but we did the castle tour which was good. The Trossachs were scenic. Lunch was also a little rushed as we wanted to watch the border collie training session at the venue. No stops at Bannock Burn, Wallace Monument or Linlithgow Palace, so some people did not even get to see them as we drove by. A quick stop at one or two of these locations would have been good. However, an enjoyable trip overall.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Geoffrey, 2013/07/24

I would have liked to have visited the Wallace Monument.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2013/04/05

A really good tour with well informed guide.I would highly recommend.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Eridania , 2011/06/01

The tour itself was very good, enough time was alloted for each site. The scenery was breathtaking and the driver was full of information.
I was very impressed by the drivers knowledge of history, his surrounding area, and entertained by all his folk stories.
My only negative to this trip was the fact that we were originally picked up at 8:30 by one very nice driver, hauled all over Edinburgh picking up other passengers that were going on a Distillery trip and others that were going on our Loch Lomond trip, we drove around with him for at least an hour, then we get thrown on another bus ( our intended Loch Lomond bus) and by this time, the only seats available were all the way in the back seat. Well not only is it very uncomfortable, you don't get much of a view, the engine noise was so bad, the driver was barely audible. We thought well we can always try to change seats at the next stop. We attempted to do this when we were reprimanded by the very nice, full of information driver that we were not allowed to change seats that we had to keep our original seats throughout the whole trip as if we were back in school. Needless to say I was a bit upset. Here my friend and I had been the first ones on the Distillery Tour bus, and because of poor planning on someones part we ended up sitting in the worse seats, it put a real damper on the trip. So I suggest you redesign that part of the pick up, or you might even have people meet at the point of departure of the bus. Just a thought.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Vicki, 2011/02/20

Unfortunately, I had a dreadfully rainy and foggy day, so I saw very little of Loch Lomond or the sights along the way. Alan, my tour guide, and Jerry, the driver, were fantastic, however! Alan provided interesting information in such a funny and entertaining way, it made the ride worth while. In fact, it was because of them that I signed up for their Loch Ness tour the following day. That tour was wonderful, as it was a better day weather wise and Alan and Jerry were still great!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: ENRICO, 2011/02/18

very nice tour - good driver - good notice

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: AFRODITI, 2007/11/08

Absolutely beautiful experience!I would recommend it to anyone who really wants to make a his trip to Scotland memorable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]