Niagara Falls from New York by Plane with Sightseeing Tour and Lunch reviews, New York tours & activities, fun things to do in New York | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Niagara Falls from New York by Plane with Sightseeing Tour and Lunch

Overall Rating

4.47 4.47 / 5

Reviews

120 reviews
Post a review

Reviewed by: Daniel, 2015/05/30

Great day, saw both falls from the US and Canadian sides. Boat ride was great and good guide. Depending on the weather, it can get quite cool, especially the closer you get to the falls! Be prepared though, it is a long day when you're traveling from Manhattan.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Marcia, 2014/06/11

Simply one word to describe our recent tour to Niagara Fall AWSOME very well organised tour, from pickup to end all very seamless. very knowledgeable guide, small group.
After maid of mist boat tour of falls, took a short walk across the boarder to view Falls & lunch from Canadian side (which has the better view of Falls) . Would highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Shane, 2013/10/31

The only way to see the Falls and the surroundings with a tour guide that supplies all the information you can ask for. Plus the wonderful buffet lunch!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ignacio J., 2013/10/02

Fantastic trip. Very special.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sheryl, 2013/09/12

A wonderful experience. The Falls seen from every vantage point

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sheryl, 2013/09/12

A wonderful experience. The Falls seen from every vantage point

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: MANEESH, 2013/09/08

Well organised trip. Covered quite a lot in a day. Our tour guide was excellent. City Discovery offered a very competitive price. It does not charge for toddlers less than 3 years old unlike some other service providers. The only downer was that our pick up was delayed by an hour in the morning but we were not updated about the same. We were ready at 5 am but did not get picked up till 6 am.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Greg, 2013/09/08

The employee (Alejandro) running the beginning of the trip and the very end of the trip (p/u and airport) was very unorganized, rushed and he did not communicate well with the tour group. A lot of confusion and he really seemed irritated by any questions anyone had for him.
Once we arrived in Buffalo, Giuseppe was there to greet us and every thing went smooth and we had the most amazing time.
You do have to go through customs when you go to Canada so bring your passport. Maid of mist is amazing. Buffet lunch at the Sheraton was good. Very glad we did it.
I would have to pass on a tour if I knew Alejandro was running it but would love to have Giuseppe again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Michael, 2013/09/06

Too long a day. Up at 4am and back to Hotel in New York at midnight. OK, the plane was delayed an hour on return from Buffalo but still too long especially as the day before I was told that we would be back at our Hotel by 8pm.. So I am not impressed by the misinformation. Also unsatisfactory not to receive any details of the itinerary before or during the day. Guide was OK but his coach was like the black hole of Calcutta as the Air Con didn’t work and everyone was complaining due to the extreme discomfort we all had to put up with during the times we were on the coach. Thus his sign effectively demanding 15% of the total cost of our trip ($200 in our case) was treated with the contempt it deserved. But Niagara was great.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: PETER, 2013/08/31

A not to be missed brilliant day. From the Maid of the Mist trip, buffet lunch overlooking the falls, coach excursion visiting sights of interest on the Canadian side and finishing back at the American falls. Only issue was length of the day (we were picked up at 5am in mid-town Manhattan and dropped back at hotel at 11.30pm), but don't be put off, just be aware and plan accordingly.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Colin, 2013/08/30

Brilliant, but very long, day! Was everything promised and more. Our tour guide, Eduardo, was very knowledgeable and approachable throughout as was the coach driver Bill. Would not hesitate to recommend the trip to others. The buffet lunch provided was exceptional and in the most fantastic location with views over the falls themselves! Thank you to all concerned.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Susan, 2013/08/08

Niagra Falls was the highlight of our holiday. It was a memorable day. The trip was very well organised and our tour guide Guiseppe outstanding. The buffet lunch at the Sheraton Hotel was excellent. The only downside was that the flight was delayed going home and we got back to our hotel at 1.30 a.m. !

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sonya, 2013/07/27

Pick up/drop off from hotel was great, flights were fine - this part was all well organised. Lunch brilliant with spectacular views, Maid of the Mist - great and Niagara Falls also spectacular which is the whole reason for the tour.
Unfortunately most of us on the bus felt like we were shuffled around like cattle, rushed through the Maid of the Mist with no time to take photos as the tour guide at the other end said we can do it later, which we did, but it was unnecessary to go, then come back at a later time - the moment is then gone. Felt like the whole tour could've been done in A lot less time. Our tour from the time of pick up and drop off was 19 hours all up, exhausting and everyone was over it - being shuffled around on/off the bus like herd. We were also taken only to the places where the guide at the other end receives a commission on what we spend. Had no time in places you'd like more time, then at the end of the day we got to sit at the park for an hour! Visited the power plant which was really no interest to anyone - it was just killing time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Susan, 2013/07/26

Sue from England. We loved this trip. Picked up on time at 0500 from hotel, plane ride lovely going up. Eduardo our tour guide met us at Buffalo airport. Had a fantastic day and had plenty of time to see everything. Eduardo was fantastic, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. We had a lovely group of 13 of us. The buffet lunch was excellent with superb views of the falls. Only problem was the flight back to NY was delayed by 2 hours and we didn't get back to hotel until 1230, which made it a long day. Thanks also to our NY driver who took us to the airport and was still there waiting for us on our delayed return. Overall, a fantastic day though. Thank you to all.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2013/07/16

Fantastic day out and well worth the money. it is a very long day but you see some fantastic views of Niagara Falls and great views of Canada overall. Guide was very knowledgable and friendly and lunch was vey good. Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Joann, 2013/07/15

Was a great day. Eduardo and our bus driver provided lots of information and I saw parts of the falls that I would not have seen had I done the trip by myself.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Christine, 2013/07/03

Unfortunately we started off badly as I had been instructed to be at the pick up point at 4.10 we were not collected until 4.50 there was not way of contacting a representative as the office did not open until 8am. The tour itself was good but a very long and tiring day.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2013/05/26

Guipseppe was a fantastic tour guide, made it fun and interesting, everyone all 15 of us had a wow of a time and got wet

well done

Deborah from South Austrlia

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Deborah, 2013/05/26

Well done Guiseppe tour guide,
had a fantastic time and so did everyone one else, great day.. worth the time and the money

Deborah from South Australia

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: John, 2013/05/25

Extremely well organised from pick up at hotel to drop off at night. Recommend the trip for people who only have a short time available and want to see Niagara Falls. Would not hesitate to recommend this tour company.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Darren, 2013/05/24

The hubby, kids and I enjoyed this very well organised tour! The Maid of the Mist boat ride was a lot of fun, the views we had were amazing. Our tour guide Giuseppe was very knowledgeable and friendly. I would definitely recommend this tour.

The only negative comment I would make is, when you get on the bus there is sign saying something like 'a tip of 15% of the cost of your tour is customary'. Well we paid $1800 for the four of us, and there is no way we could afford another $270 for a tip no matter how fantastic Giuseppe was!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Ester, 2013/05/23

A day full of sightseeing around Niagara Falls. Our guide, a local man, was excellent in showing us around and providing information.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Allan, 2013/05/20

On arriving at the airport - City discoveries had put GENDER as my wife's surname, which obviously did not match her ID. The airport staff after 55 minutes waiting finally agreed to change the name to enable us to fly - but charged us $100. The error was by City Discoveries as the pick up service had the same mistake and he had the List for 2 days. Not good administration on your part.
The tour itself was very good though and we had excellent service at ends, apart from this hiccup.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sarwat, 2013/05/06

It was such an amazing day! We got to see both the american n canadian sides of the falls! Seeing and hearing the waterfall roar was breathtaking. We even got to see the whirlpool which was a nice suprise. The tour guide was so informative. The buffet was on the canadian side n the food was so good. The resturant walls are all glass so you get to see the falls as you enjoy ur food. The icing on the cake was goin into the heart of the falls on the maid of the mist and wearing the sexy raincoats. It was such a fab day I would defo go again.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Sarah, 2013/02/16

Very good tour, lovely place to go see but not sure we needed to stop for souvenirs before seeing the falls. Food was not all that special- lots of fruit but not much choice of meat or desserts. I would recommend this trip in the winter as there were no queues

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Matthew , 2013/01/29

We did enjoy this tour and everyone, in particular our driver and guide was excellent. We appreciate that our visit was in the winter and therefore would be cold; what would of been nice was if the tour changed to accommodate this, for example, visiting ponds with sparse wildlife could of been changed to allowing us some free time to explore the area ourselves. We were unable to visit the tower with revolving restaurant which would of been amazing! The tour should recognise the different needs of those who chose a winter tour or a summer one. But, please this experience was amazing!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Amanda, 2012/11/17

Seeing Niagara is worthwhile although the tour is dragged out - there are only so many angles that you want to see the falls from. The logistics coordination is not good, not too sure how well City Discovery assess them. You pay a lot of money and then end up doing all of the chasing yourself in terms of confirming the trip and arranging your transfers. If you get stranded (as we did due to our flight back being cancelled), you are left to your own devices - be prepared!!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: KWANG WOO, 2012/10/12

It was great tour for me

Everythig was nice

Thanks~

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: Howard, 2012/10/07

A great full day tour!

Our Niagara guide, Giuseppe, showed us all the planned sites and more. He was knowledgeable, friendly and in possession of a good sense of humor.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Reviewed by: CINZIA, 2012/10/05

GUIDE EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT ITINERARY, ALL ARRANGED TO PERFECTION!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

New York Categories