(All Reviews) Melbourne Sightseeing Tours, Melbourne tours & activities, fun things to do in Melbourne | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

All Reviews for Melbourne Sightseeing Tours in Melbourne

Overall Rating

4.42 4.42 / 5

Reviews

40 reviews

Melbourne City Tour with Phillip Island Transfer and Penguin Parade Experience

City tour and penguin Island excursion

Reviewed by: Juan, 2018/11/04

We enjoyed very much the tour. Our guides (Jeff and Ben) were really nice and instructive.
The only point against is that we saw the penguins from far away and it’s not allowed to take photos or vídeos, we didn’t know this before. Everything else was great.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Melbourne Highlights Tour with Visit to St. Kilda

Awesome

Reviewed by: Ciel, 2018/08/28

The tour guide is very knowledgeable and considerate :)

Rating:
Attended as: Friends
Activity Date: 2018/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historic Tour of Melbourne with Yarra River Cruise Option

Walking and Riding a Comfy bus

Reviewed by: Cindy S , 2018/07/09

We enjoyed the morning tour of Melbourne. Being able to walk the arcades and the park gave the morning some variety while becoming acquainted with the city.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Good way to see Melbourne

Reviewed by: Monika Lulla, 2018/04/09

Was a really nice comfortable way to check out Melbourne. Would have been great if either there were more speakers, or if they were louder.

Overall, a really nice time and love the freedom to hop on and off anytime we wished.

Rating:
Attended as: Couples
Activity Date: 2018/04/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Melbourne Tour with Yarra River Cruise and Colonial Tramcar Dinner

Poor Updated Information and Tour Drop Off

Reviewed by: OPadua, 2018/03/28

This tour was some what boring and also the bus driver drop us of at the Wrong pick up for the Train Tram Dinnervwhich we miss and had to make Several call to have it corrected- itscwas for 3 people and I who purchased the ticket was not able to go when the fix the error and was not refund that portion of the ticket- so it was Not a good tour and having to deal with several representatives to resolve the issue of the wrong drop of place and setting it up for the next day did not real solve all the issue, since I was not able to attend and was not refund that portion of the tour. Over all I was very disappointed and I will think about twice before I purchase another tour with Veltra since several other companies were involved and cooperation was slow and explanations were repeated several times before a solution was given.

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Activity Date: 2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Miguel Angel, 2017/08/14

Great support from the driver

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Tour with Phillip Island Transfer and Penguin Parade Experience

Reviewed by: Abhijeet, 2017/06/19

Awesome tour package. Had a great time. Our driver Gordon was really informative and thoughtful. Our first time visit to Melbourne and this is what we needed to get introduced to such a lovely city. The staff promptly answered my queries during the booking of the tour. The pick-up and drop off facility from the hotel was great and punctual.
City tour: For those who don't have much time to go around the city and explore the city I would really recommend the tour. Victoria market was worth visiting. The walking tour through arcades and looking at the fantastic city architecture was overwhelming. The coffee shops near the arcade have very good coffee. Nice overview of the city with lots of time to walk and explore stop sites. The drive through the city with live commentary made it more interesting. We had couple of stops during the tour to get some photos and walk around.
Philip Island: The long drive was worth as our driver and guide Ian was providing commentary as we went past places. Gave us exact overview of how Melbourne has become the most liveable city in the world. The sheep shearing show was interesting. We could locate some Wallabies and Pelicans around the farm. The visit to Koala sanctuary was quick but was good to spot the Koalas lazily sitting on the top of the gum trees. Got some photos with the Koalas. The Penguin parade is a spectacular phenomenon and would recommend everyone. Was a bit chilly and crowded but managed to get good look at the Penguins as they arrived on the Island. The Penguins are adorable and cute. If you need a good spot to view the penguins, be at least 45 minutes early as the viewing stands get crowded. Also carry warm cloths as it is very chilly. Our driver Ian gave a good tip to us, as the first batch of Penguins start coming to the island, people in first row leave to watch them go back to the burrows on the hill. You can then move forward to watch other batches of Penguins come back to the island. You cannot take photos. To get the best view of the Penguins is when the scurry along the raised walkways, you can watch them within a foot’s distance. This was definitely highlight of the tour. The restaurant at the Philip Island is good. We came back to the city around 9pm where we were dropped back to the hotel. I would still recommend upgrading the package to Penguin plus to get better view of the Penguins. Pity that you are not allowed to take photos of the Penguins. At the end of the tour, the driver played a movie about Penguins and was very interesting and comedy.

Overall: I would rate the city discovery tour 5 stars We impressed with the way of communicating throughout the journey to keep us involved and engaged during the entire tour. The tour pricing is very competitive and less than other tour agencies.
The bus was clean. Wifi provided on the bus. The bus had water and toilet facilities. The trip is surely worth the cost and time. I am not an animal lover, but after this tour I am certainly one. I will definitely suggest this tour to my friends in future. You get to see Penguins, Koalas, Kangaroos, Pelicans and other animals and what else do you want. Relatively good sized groups, schedule not to packed makes it comfortable. We had plenty of time to wander around do our own thing but not so much that we were waiting around. I can surely rate this experience as the highest.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2017/04/26

Knowledgeable staff, interesting trips....a quick & easy way to get around! Highly recommended!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: PATRICIA, 2017/04/21

AMAZING TOUR

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Highlights Tour with Yarra River Cruise

Reviewed by: David, 2017/04/19

Enjoyed the river cruise and the history of Melbourne. The coach toour was good with adequate time at a number of stops.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Melbourne Tour with Yarra River Cruise and Colonial Tramcar Dinner

Reviewed by: Theresa, 2017/04/07

The tour guide was excellent and knowledgable and the tramcar was just fantastic. Loved it. It's a must do in Melbourne

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: George, 2017/03/05

An easy way to see the city with limited time.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Tour with Phillip Island Transfer and Penguin Parade Experience

Amazing scenery

Reviewed by: MMM, 2017/03/01

I joined this tour with my sister, and we were the only Japanese passengers on board. The weather wasn't good so there was a bit of rain here and there.

The first stop was for cookies and hot drinks. On the way to Great Ocean Road, we also stopped by several popular sightseeing spots.

We also got to go on a 20-minute trek at a rainforest. The guide was incredibly entertaining!

After that, we had lunch at a lighthouse. I ordered vegetarian so I got a falafel instead of sausages.

The 12 Apostles was so beautiful, it took my words away. This is a must-see!

On the way back, we stopped for dinner, but the rest was around a 3-hour drive. It might be a good idea to bring snacks with you. The prices at surrounding shops are a bit pricey. Other than that, make sure you wear warm clothes!

(Translated by VELTRA.com)

Rating:
Attended as: Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Highlights Tour with Yarra River Cruise

Reviewed by: Tara , 2017/02/20

Needed more time in St Kilda/Brighton Beach

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Diane, 2017/02/05

Informative commentary- difficult to keep to timetable and waited nearly an hour before leaving Federation Square so took the whole 2 hr city tour and went back later in week to places of interest.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Mirella, 2017/02/02

Very informative and punctual.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Afternoon Melbourne Highlights Tour with Visit to St. Kilda

Reviewed by: Leonny, 2017/01/16

The driver is funny and very knowledgeable.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Scott, 2017/01/08

Great way to see Melbourne but hitting the trees was a bit of dodging and ducking but otherwise great

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Liz, 2017/01/02

The audio on the first bus was terrible, although a number of people asked that the volume be turned up, it was at its maximum.
We stopped for lunch and the next two buses had very good volume and we could hear everything unlike the first bus.
We will have to repeat it as we missed the first hour of commentary which is a real shame.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Melbourne History and Laneways Walking Tour

Reviewed by: Jeff, 2016/12/11

Very friendly and knowladgible guide. Leant quite a bit about Melbourne buildings and history that we didnt know.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Highlights Tour with Yarra River Cruise

Reviewed by: JOAN, 2016/10/03


The Yarra River cruise was good but the city bus tour was wonderful. Our guide was Geoff and he was great! We went all over Melbourne in a comfortable Grayline bus. At the Royal Botanic Gardens we went "punting" on the lake which was an added surprise. The gourmet boxed lunch was very good & a good idea to eat while on the River cruise. Also, a nice stop in St. Kiilda to enjoy a "cake" from one of the many cake shops on Acland Street. A stop at the Brighton bathing boxes was fabulous - they are something to see. I researched a lot of tours for sightseeing in Melbourne and I was extremely happy with this one. The day is long but Geoff dropped each of us off at our various hotels.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Sightseeing Hop On Hop Off Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Susan, 2016/01/10

Easy!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Melbourne Tour with Yarra River Cruise and Colonial Tramcar Dinner

Reviewed by: Brian, 2016/01/04

Good description of what available on tours. Booking procedure easy to follow. Have used City Discovery in the past and have been very satisfied with tours taken. Would certainly recommend it to others.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

West Melbourne History and Laneways Walking Tour

Reviewed by: Derek, 2015/02/24

John the Laneways guide was very good and adapted the tour so as not to cover the same ground we had seen in the morning

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Highlights Tour with Yarra River Cruise

Reviewed by: BALAJI, 2014/09/28

Good communication. I will be doing my tour in December 2014. Aft final feed backer words I am able to give my

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Melbourne City Tour with Phillip Island Transfer and Penguin Parade Experience

Reviewed by: Milena, 2014/07/09

I loved Penguin Parade

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full Day City Tour of Melbourne Highlights

Reviewed by: Sue, 2014/05/25

The tour was excellent and i would recommend it to anyone who visits Melbourne. A very good orientation to a great City. *** was a very informative tour guide and i felt very safe in his care. The clock was such a good idea as visitors can visually see what time they are due back on the bus.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Melbourne Tour with Yarra River Cruise and Colonial Tramcar Dinner

Reviewed by: Sue, 2012/09/27

The highlight was the dining on the tram, the staff were great (Tim, Bernard (the chef) and I think Marilyn), the food really good and the experience wonderful.

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Morning Tour of Melbourne City Highlights with Eureka Skydeck Entry

Reviewed by: Jacobo, 2012/04/15

my mom & i had a great time, the tour drivers/guides for both phillip
island & great ocean tour were great, funny, good knowledge & great
drivers.
d city tour with eureka tower was great too!! tea wid cakes were a
blast! loved them!

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Historic Tour of Melbourne with Yarra River Cruise Option

Reviewed by: Ian, 2011/05/20

Rating:
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Browse by Melbourne