This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Gion Geisha District Evening Walking Tour in Kyoto with English-Speaking Guide

Great interaction and explanation

Reviewed by: Swarna , 2019/06/02

Our guide Ms Chaco was patient and through in her job as the guide.







Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No Geisha sighting due to rain

Reviewed by: Guest, 2019/05/13

Interesting to see the tea houses etc but no Geisha girls were sighted due to rainy weather

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was fun and informative

Reviewed by: Gina M, 2019/05/03

I booked this tour on the day.
Easy to book online and confirmation was instant.
I really enjoyed the tour and glad that I choose to do it.
The tour was informative and the guide was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. Our tour group was large, but our guide had a microphone so it was easy to hear during the tour. Lucky enough to see a maiko during this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful night in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Heather, 2019/04/28

We had a lovely couple of hours walking around the Gion area of Kyoto... our guide gave us a wonderful, passionate insight into the life of a Meiko/Geiko... we were so happy to see both of them during our tour... very good value for money tour...


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto geisha evening tour

Reviewed by: No name, 2019/04/18

Many people in the tour We did not liked the guide was very good but with so many people it is difficult to run a tour. It is enough words

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fab tour.., great guide and we saw a couple of Geikos

Reviewed by: Brian Kelly , 2019/04/17

We booked this tour last minute and we’re a little aprehensive given some of the negative reviews and very reasonable cost. We couldn’t have been proved more wrong. The tour was excellent value for money.. in fact our group of four all said we’d had our money’s worth in the first 10 minutes. Our guide Uri was brilliant. She was fun, full of enthusiasm and provided a real indite into the Gion area and history and life of the geikos and Meikos. When we happened upon a couple during the tour her delight was genuine and totally heartwarming. It was great for us too!! I can’t understa where the negative reviews have come from, this tour did exactly what it promised to do and more. Probably the best value tour of our time in Japan. Would highly recommend andall credit to our guide Uri for a job very well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super informative and well worth the time!!

Reviewed by: Shelby, 2019/02/01

Our guide was well informed and an absolute delight! We were taken to some great areas in Gion and the cultural insight provided made it worth every minute. We would've loved it to go longer than it did because we were having such a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful evening with amazing guide!

Reviewed by: Emma, 2019/01/09

It was an incredible tour with an extremely friendly and informative guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour and very informative

Reviewed by: Raymond, 2018/12/30

Great tour and very informative on the history of Gion district. Given the poor weather condition at the time of the tour, our guide still completed the tour and is very engaging throughout. We enjoyed hearing about the geisha life, education, etc. We saw points of interest - shrine, streets, tea houses, and relics. A suggestion would be to have a better meeting location as it was quite difficult to find for those not familiar with the region.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mo Mo is the best!

Reviewed by: Mike D, 2018/11/18

We really enjoyed learning from Mo Mo about the history of Gion and it's culture. The group was big but we had no problem hearing and staying together. All questions were answered and we all were given plenty of exposure to the shrines and the sights on the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

missed an appointment in front of Kitaza and missed experience

Reviewed by: Radmila, 2018/11/05

We missed an appointment in front of Kitaza and nobody of agency did second option on case of such cases...So, paid for 6 person without seeing this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion walking tour

Reviewed by: Amelia, 2018/11/04

More Explanation would have been given.
Commentary not interesting

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Rose W, 2018/10/14

Ellie was excellent, explaining the history and present day details of the community of the geisha. We visited lots of different areas and really felt the atmosphere. Well worth going. I would recommend this tour

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very recommended tour in Gion

Reviewed by: Eded, 2018/10/07

Really interesting tour. We learned a lot about the Geishas. Guide had fluent English and also used a microphone. Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfection

Reviewed by: Tiffany, 2018/10/05

We had perfect weather and a wonderful, friendly guide. The walk is long enough to see it all but short enough not to tire. Loved all the facts about Geiko-san and Meiko-san. We were lucky enough to see a Meiko-san. This has been the highlight of my trip to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An average tour

Reviewed by: Irit, 2018/09/30

The tour was ok. It gave some information and took us through nice streets. It taught us a bit about the meaning of Geisha in the Japanese world. However it was not interesting enough to justify two hours of tour. We saw some relevant houses from outside which opened our eyes to realize what these houses are but it felt as if we are avoiding on purpose encountering the Gaishas themselves.
All in all it was not enthusiastic experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!

Reviewed by: Jules, 2018/09/26

Our guide was Momo she was excellent! Wonderful tour highly reccomend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2018/09/14

A good way to discover the real character of legendary geisha

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Tal, 2018/08/29

We did our tour on Monday night 8-27-18 with Yuri. She was very nice and knowledgeable as she walked us in the Gion quarter and taught us more about the history and culture of these Geishas. It was fascinating and very interesting. I recommend !


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Atmospheric evening tour of Gion

Reviewed by: Keenwalkerphotos, 2018/07/06

Great tour taking us all around Gion, through Yasaka temple, ending up at Gion Corner as night fell. Our guide Ellie took us in a group of 25 through the back streets, telling us the in-depth history of Gion, the geikos (geishas) and Maikos, and pointed out significant buildings. It was a wonderful tour and gave us insights we could never have got from a guidebook or the internet. Would recommend it fully to anyone who would like to explore fully the history of Gion and Kyoto itself.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Tour!

Reviewed by: Lei, 2018/05/27

Thoroughly enjoyed this walking tour, worth absolutely every dollar and step we took! Learned interesting facts about the life of the geiko/maiko. Saw the shrines that they visit, storefront for the purchase of Hair pieces, and boarding houses. We even got lucky and saw 2 maiko on our tour that evening. Highly recommend!


  • Maiko on her way into the Tea House


  • Shrine for beauty

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

it was very good and the tour guide was wonderful.

Reviewed by: Patty Shurtleff, 2018/04/09

I enjoyed the trip and the information. Our guide was very good and was very informative. She had a great attitude and was very friendly.
It was a great tour but the group was a little to big to really hear everything, but again we really enjoyed it.
Thanks

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/03/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommended tour!

Reviewed by: Hana, 2018/03/31

The Gion evening tour about Geisha's world, was very interesting.
Very well organized, it allowed a inside view of the mysterious lives of Meiko's and Geiko's.
A lot of information was shared.
The guide was very nice, spoke perfectly English!
I highly recommend this tour!
Hana

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

סיור מומלץ

Reviewed by: Irit, 2018/03/31

הסיור היה מהנה , מעניין וחווייתי, המדריכה היתה מקסימה ודיברה אנגלית טובה וברורה.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overcrowded

Reviewed by: Mbc, 2018/03/28

Tour size was at least 60+. Way too many people. wasn't able to enjoy the tour and we even left early.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome gion tour!

Reviewed by: Emily , 2018/02/23

My brother and I had a wonderful time on this tour! Ally was so lovely and very knowledgeable. We were really lucky to spot some geisha during the tour, which was a highlight. I would definitely recommend this tour.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Recommended...but....

Reviewed by: Granger, 2018/02/04

My second time to take this tour, this time with friends. Guide was knowledgeable, but our group size was much too large, making this experience much less enjoyable. I suggest limiting the group size to improve the overall enjoyment.





  • Too. Many. People.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Affordable, entertaining and educational

Reviewed by: SaS, 2018/01/26

Mia, our guide, was fun and knowledgable. Loads of information on the cultural life of a Maiko/Geikas. We were successful in spotting both scurrying down the streets of Gion. A few good tips on restaurants and areas to return to. Great tour for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Tour

Reviewed by: Tourist1, 2017/11/26

The tour was fantastic! Our tour guide was funny and super knowledgeable.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful and informative

Reviewed by: MMN, 2017/11/24

Booking was easy, price was very affordable and our tour guide, Ally, was awesome. It was super informative and she answered our questions well. Her English was clear and she said as very nice. If I did have to change one thing though, it would be to make the group size smaller.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |