Kyoto Gion Geisha District Evening Walking Tour with English-Speaking Guide reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Kyoto Gion Geisha District Evening Walking Tour with English-Speaking Guide

Overall Rating

4.53 4.53 / 5

Reviews

81 reviews
Post a review

Veeeery funny!

Reviewed by: Juul, 2020/02/13

It was awesome! Our guide, Mia, was really funny. I didn’t expect the tour to be so hilarious which was a nice surprise. Definitely would recommend to do this, it is quite cheap for the amount of time you walk around and the facts are really interesting!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding!

Reviewed by: Denise and David , 2020/01/11

We enjoyed the night walk in the Gion District! Our guide was very informative and funny. She explained the difference between a Maiko and a Geiko Geshi girls, we even saw a few going to a party! I would highly recommend this tour, it was a very enjoyable evening out. Well worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting slick tour

Reviewed by: Dr Helena, 2019/12/28

Well done . A sweet dream tour of the Gion district and a very informative guide who has clearly done this numerous times . Definitely worth the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

High recommended Kyoto tour

Reviewed by: Changs Singapore, 2019/12/27

Our guide, Ayu was awesome. She’s knowledgeable and friendly. Interesting tour to learn about geisha/ geiko & Gion history. We were lucky to see a Maiko-san at the end of the walking tour. This tour is highly recommended to all visiting Kyoto.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Ana, 2019/11/29

The guide was great and funny. Very informative and enjoyable!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing night

Reviewed by: The Traveling 7, 2019/11/15

Our guide was very informative. She answered all of our questions about the life of a geisha. I informed her of an older person in our party and she made sure we moved at an easy pace so she could keep up. Mahalo nui!!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Passionate Tour Guide

Reviewed by: Lloyd , 2019/11/13

Our tour guide was very passionate about the Geisha area and her English was fantastic. She went out of her way to assist and answer all of our questions.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour of the Gion district to learn about Geisha culture

Reviewed by: Family of 5, 2019/09/04

This was an excellent tour of Gion. Our guide was Mia and she was great. She was very knowledgeable and very engaging. We learned a lot about the Geisha culture. I highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Night walk!

Reviewed by: Gen, 2019/08/30

À Perfect evening in Gion with a lot of information from à very kind guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Loved it!

Reviewed by: Asha, 2019/06/21

Walking through this quaint, quiet part of Kyoto with a very entertaining guide was fun and a good learning experience. Paced really well. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and our group was lucky to see a Geiko and 3 Maikos! So amazing! Good time of the evening to walk. Lots to see.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great interaction and explanation

Reviewed by: Swarna , 2019/06/02

Our guide Ms Chaco was patient and through in her job as the guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/05/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No Geisha sighting due to rain

Reviewed by: Guest, 2019/05/13

Interesting to see the tea houses etc but no Geisha girls were sighted due to rainy weather

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tour was fun and informative

Reviewed by: Gina M, 2019/05/03

I booked this tour on the day.
Easy to book online and confirmation was instant.
I really enjoyed the tour and glad that I choose to do it.
The tour was informative and the guide was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. Our tour group was large, but our guide had a microphone so it was easy to hear during the tour. Lucky enough to see a maiko during this tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful night in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Heather, 2019/04/28

We had a lovely couple of hours walking around the Gion area of Kyoto... our guide gave us a wonderful, passionate insight into the life of a Meiko/Geiko... we were so happy to see both of them during our tour... very good value for money tour...

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kyoto geisha evening tour

Reviewed by: No name, 2019/04/18

Many people in the tour We did not liked the guide was very good but with so many people it is difficult to run a tour. It is enough words

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fab tour.., great guide and we saw a couple of Geikos

Reviewed by: Brian Kelly , 2019/04/17

We booked this tour last minute and we’re a little aprehensive given some of the negative reviews and very reasonable cost. We couldn’t have been proved more wrong. The tour was excellent value for money.. in fact our group of four all said we’d had our money’s worth in the first 10 minutes. Our guide Uri was brilliant. She was fun, full of enthusiasm and provided a real indite into the Gion area and history and life of the geikos and Meikos. When we happened upon a couple during the tour her delight was genuine and totally heartwarming. It was great for us too!! I can’t understa where the negative reviews have come from, this tour did exactly what it promised to do and more. Probably the best value tour of our time in Japan. Would highly recommend andall credit to our guide Uri for a job very well done.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Super informative and well worth the time!!

Reviewed by: Shelby, 2019/02/01

Our guide was well informed and an absolute delight! We were taken to some great areas in Gion and the cultural insight provided made it worth every minute. We would've loved it to go longer than it did because we were having such a great time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful evening with amazing guide!

Reviewed by: Emma, 2019/01/09

It was an incredible tour with an extremely friendly and informative guide!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour and very informative

Reviewed by: Raymond, 2018/12/30

Great tour and very informative on the history of Gion district. Given the poor weather condition at the time of the tour, our guide still completed the tour and is very engaging throughout. We enjoyed hearing about the geisha life, education, etc. We saw points of interest - shrine, streets, tea houses, and relics. A suggestion would be to have a better meeting location as it was quite difficult to find for those not familiar with the region.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mo Mo is the best!

Reviewed by: Mike D, 2018/11/18

We really enjoyed learning from Mo Mo about the history of Gion and it's culture. The group was big but we had no problem hearing and staying together. All questions were answered and we all were given plenty of exposure to the shrines and the sights on the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

missed an appointment in front of Kitaza and missed experience

Reviewed by: Radmila, 2018/11/05

We missed an appointment in front of Kitaza and nobody of agency did second option on case of such cases...So, paid for 6 person without seeing this experience!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion walking tour

Reviewed by: Amelia, 2018/11/04

More Explanation would have been given.
Commentary not interesting

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic!

Reviewed by: Rose W, 2018/10/14

Ellie was excellent, explaining the history and present day details of the community of the geisha. We visited lots of different areas and really felt the atmosphere. Well worth going. I would recommend this tour

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/10/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very recommended tour in Gion

Reviewed by: Eded, 2018/10/07

Really interesting tour. We learned a lot about the Geishas. Guide had fluent English and also used a microphone. Highly recommended!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfection

Reviewed by: Tiffany, 2018/10/05

We had perfect weather and a wonderful, friendly guide. The walk is long enough to see it all but short enough not to tire. Loved all the facts about Geiko-san and Meiko-san. We were lucky enough to see a Meiko-san. This has been the highlight of my trip to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/10/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An average tour

Reviewed by: Irit, 2018/09/30

The tour was ok. It gave some information and took us through nice streets. It taught us a bit about the meaning of Geisha in the Japanese world. However it was not interesting enough to justify two hours of tour. We saw some relevant houses from outside which opened our eyes to realize what these houses are but it felt as if we are avoiding on purpose encountering the Gaishas themselves.
All in all it was not enthusiastic experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great!!

Reviewed by: Jules, 2018/09/26

Our guide was Momo she was excellent! Wonderful tour highly reccomend!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nice

Reviewed by: Valentina, 2018/09/14

A good way to discover the real character of legendary geisha

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Tal, 2018/08/29

We did our tour on Monday night 8-27-18 with Yuri. She was very nice and knowledgeable as she walked us in the Gion quarter and taught us more about the history and culture of these Geishas. It was fascinating and very interesting. I recommend !

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Atmospheric evening tour of Gion

Reviewed by: Keenwalkerphotos, 2018/07/06

Great tour taking us all around Gion, through Yasaka temple, ending up at Gion Corner as night fell. Our guide Ellie took us in a group of 25 through the back streets, telling us the in-depth history of Gion, the geikos (geishas) and Maikos, and pointed out significant buildings. It was a wonderful tour and gave us insights we could never have got from a guidebook or the internet. Would recommend it fully to anyone who would like to explore fully the history of Gion and Kyoto itself.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]