Reserved Tickets for 62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10) reviews, Kyoto tours & activities, fun things to do in Kyoto | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Reserved Tickets for 62nd Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto (Nov. 1~10)

Overall Rating

4.61 4.61 / 5

Reviews

67 reviews
Post a review

Great Look at the Japanese Culture

Reviewed by: alol, 2018/11/14

Great event, excellent experience (wish some of organizers spoke at least some English - but we came to enjoy their culture so have to expect... and have some patience - but after we settled everything was outstanding).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Advanced reservation was totally worth it.

Reviewed by: Abs, 2018/11/12

Tickets were waiting for us so we could skip the line. The event it self was totally worth it. We got decent seats, not the best...we booked 2 weeks in advance so I'd recommend booking earlier if you want the good seats.

Tea ceremony was worth it, it's a bit rushed and can't see much if you're not in the first 2 rows, so try to wait by the entrance to be the first ones in. You get a small amount of good matcha, a little sweet thing and you get to keep the saucer the it's served on.

We didn't pay any extra free for booking via Veltra so props to Veltra for this!

10/10 would book through Veltra again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori Maiko and Geisha Dance in Kyoto

Reviewed by: Katey King, 2018/11/12

Beautiful! Very hepful English speaking staff. The music was also lovely.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bad feeling

Reviewed by: Olivier Shaw, 2018/11/12

I reserved my place weeks ago before the dance and when i came the womens from the office where not nice at all.
I went into the theather and i had to seat on A PLASTIC CHAIR. Really ?
I paid 4000 yens and everybody has a confortable seat and me not.
This is not possible. Yes it s touristic but please...

After that the dance was nice , i mean special. I recommaned because we can t see this everdays. The old womens who sang and played instruments for the geisha and meiko were really goods.

Thank , olivier Shaw.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori

Reviewed by: Shadow, 2018/11/11

This was an amazing experience even without understanding Japanese. The Geiko and Meiko performed dance/acting performance to a set theme and live music is also played. Some of the stage backdrops were very beautiful as well. At the end they threw signed a fabric with all the names of the performers out and we were lucky enough to catch one. I highly recommend going to a performance like this at least once!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori

Reviewed by: Richard, 2018/11/09

Amazing. When I arrived I was directed to the counter where the reserved tickets were, I then went to watch the tea ceremony, which was amazing. Then we were led to the theatre, I was given a seat in the front row - the odori was amazing - great dancing, beautiful costumes, music and singing was amazing. If you are in Kyoto in early November please go to this.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Magnifique !

Reviewed by: Corinne, 2018/11/08

Tout était parfait, l'accueil, le spectacle incroyable ! C'est l'un des meilleurs moments que nous ayons passés à Kyoto. Merci.
Je recommande à 200 % !

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

WOW

Reviewed by: Sharon Walker, 2018/11/08

What a fabulous show, highly recommend seeing these amazing talented women. A cultural show not to be missed. Colourful, mesmerising and wonderful experience. You wanted to get up on stage and learn the dances.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing spectacle

Reviewed by: Couple from Europe, 2018/11/07

We were invited into tea ceremony with some mochi dessert and a little
Spectacle was amazing despite no any Japanese language skills. Show is so unique that is worth it's price and time spent.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience!

Reviewed by: Iris, 2018/11/07

Ordering was easy, as was exchanging the voucher for the tickets. We had great seats on the 7th row and all in all this was a great experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Legit Voucher and good seats

Reviewed by: Anna R, 2018/11/07

This is legit, I printed voucher from home and presented it in Gion Kaikan 30 mins before tea ceremony and show. Tickets and seats were prepared and got good seats.
Show was okay, would've been better if they talked about the geisha culture prior to show start. Tea ceremony is okay, it's a classroom type arrangement and the geisha/maiko doesn't necessarily serve you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Lovely Traditional Dance was a Great Experience

Reviewed by: BelaES, 2018/11/06

My friend and I attended a performance of Gion Odori at the 1:30pm time on a Sunday. Getting to the theater is easy and there is nearby parking for anyone driving.

Upon arrival the ticket office immediately recognized us as having reservations (maybe it was me fumbling with the confirmation email) and produced our tickets and sent us into the theater almost instantly. The lovely usher sat us and we had the good fortune to get really good seats and they were together. The theater was quite packed so definitely get there on time.

The dance itself was very interesting. The free little flyer we got before entering the theater does give a little explanation on each dance in English, but it was a little sparse so try to do a little research before coming if you really want to understand the stories.

Otherwise, it was a full hour from entering to leaving of gorgeous dancing, costumes, and sets, with the traditional music accompaniment really clinching the feel of authenticity. If you're in town, definitely try to catch this performance!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing evening

Reviewed by: Adrian, 2018/11/06

Absolutely loved the evening. Great venue & amazing food. The Maiko & Geiko were delightful - loved watching them perform and was overjoyed at opportunity to talk to them and be able to ask questions. Had seen the Gion Adori (annual dance of Geisha) the day before and loved it but being even closer to them & experiencing the geisha hospitality was amazing.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Kaikan

Reviewed by: Baron Von Count, 2018/11/04

Very good seat in the 3rd row through Veltra for the Gion Odori.
A fascinating look at a performance by geikas and maikos.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion odori

Reviewed by: Rose, 2018/11/04

Not with the green tea ceremony but the show was amazing!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

must see!! great show

Reviewed by: amy , 2018/02/22

Beautiful, fantastic and great show!!
I will go to Gion next spring to watch spring MAIKO and GEISHA Dance show in kyoto Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Eyhidiaze, 2017/12/02

We reserved with veltra for the Geisha dance show "Gion Odori". The booking was very simple, and the price was the same as if we booked directly. We were surprise because we really had a great place, from where we had a perfect view on the Geishas.

The show was amazing, we couldn't have come in Japan and not see a Geisha dance show. It was even better than we expected and if we come back, we won't hesitate to book one more time with veltra.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Impressive performance

Reviewed by: Laima, 2017/12/02

You bought tickets for Gion Odori in November. The exchange of the voucher was very easy and hassle free. The seats allocated were not the best however, in the balcony. I guess i is done randomly, so we had no good luck :)But for a decent price we do not complain. Performance was very good, 6 Geiko and Maiko dances with grand finale when there were around 15 dancers on the stage. Highly recommended!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very Special Experience

Reviewed by: Jon from Canada, 2017/12/02

My girlfriend and I very much enjoyed this Geisha dance and it was one of our highlights in Kyoto. The process of buying the tickets through Veltra was easy as we only had to print off our ticket receipt and show this at the door. By booking our tickets a few days in advance we ended up with great seats near the front of the theatre.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An amazing and memorable show

Reviewed by: Chris K., 2017/11/27

An amazing and memorable show. Extremely well worth the time and money if you're in Kyoto at the time, or even altering your trip time to include it if it's not too much of a hassle. If you've seen any of the other seasonal dances it's still worth seeing because of the differences in theatricality, dance and performance style. Excellent.

As for the Tea Ceremony plan, go in with tempered expectations. Chances are you won't be able to see the maiko making/serving the tea and, even if you can, it's even less likely you'll be the one being served. But that's fine as you still get a very nice snack, tea, commemorative plate and kerchief for a very low price. Consider actually seeing the maiko as a bonus and not the main course.

Also, picking up the Program option is well worth it. You can get it at the show as well but it's the same price as just buying online and when you buy online you'll get it right at the door with no extra fuss or muss.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Need to allow photos

Reviewed by: Ron, 2017/11/25

For some reason they do not allow photos. This is 2017, every smart phone has a camera and especially coming from a foreign country you want to capture the experience. Next time just watch online the dozens of postings.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

wonderful show, strange seats

Reviewed by: suzanne sasse, 2017/11/25

We arrived and were given some tickets in exchange for our online voucher. Then we were taken to some folding chairs in a passageway. I dont understand why we didnt get a normal seat in the theatre.

  • no photos of the dance permitted but this is the stage

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Simply Magical

Reviewed by: Tatjana, 2017/11/25

If you gave the chance to see this performance, don't miss it!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/11/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy check-in; great experience

Reviewed by: Catherine, 2017/11/12

The Gion Odori was an emotional, moving performance. You could never have the same authentic experience anywhere but Japan. There were maiko and prominent Kyoto residents in the audience, too, so you know it’s for real! The Veltra booking service made it super easy to get a ticket as a foreigner. I picked up my ticket at the theater about 30 minutes before the performance.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Gion Odori Fall performance

Reviewed by: Ramon, 2017/11/12

The show was very nice with magnificent colors. The location of our seats (view of the scene) was very good but the quality of the seat was poor, we were on add-on type hard seats instead of the normal softer seats. The show lasts one hour and tends to be boring with the same music and voice all along. In any case, a must-see show to get acquainted with Japanese culture.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

100% worth it, definitely one of those rare Japanese experiences you gotta do in Kyoto!

Reviewed by: Princeton, 2017/11/10

If you're fortunate enough to be in Kyoto for this, I recommend you absolutely do it!

A few things to note:
-Booking online through Veltra guarantees you a seat; we were originally going to wait for tickets at the theatre itself, but they had long lines on the day of and it was SUPER cramped.
-We arrived an hour early to check in; just showed a print out of the Veltra voucher and got some souvenir stickers, and the lady at check-in said "Your seats are not very nice, so please accept this as an apology" -she gave us a free souvenir cloth - the same ones the Geiko & Maiko throw at the crowd during the show!
-We opted for the Tea Ceremony - After getting into a bit of a tight line on the upper level for 20 minutes, we got a piece of mochi and a bowl of green tea - just enough for a few sips, nothing too crazy/big. The room it is held in is quite small; it felt like a classroom with desks very close to each other. You are squeezed into a spot as soon as the previous people have vacated their seats; No photos but there is a Maiko and a Geiko at the front of the room looking quite solemn/stern so you might be lucky to be seated directly in front of them while you're enjoying your snack but you're equally likely to be put in the far corner. Again, a tight squeeze.
-The seats were really not that bad, we were on the highest level and it seems like other Veltra buyers were too (other Westerners). The view for us was great but it seems you don't have a choice in selection.
-It's not in the same spot as Gion Corner; the theatre for this is actually across the street from the Yasaka Shrine.
-Everything's in Japanese, heads up - even the program you receive. Again, we're a couple of fairly smaller people under 5'8" and it was a bit cramped - so take note if you're on the larger side. We noticed a heftier American couple with mobility issues having a slightly tougher time... but they also talked through the entire show. Avoid coming with bags!

  • The first act of the show!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

AMAZING!

Reviewed by: Alexandra , 2017/11/10

One of the most beautiful dances I have ever seen and one of the highlights of my trip in Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome

Reviewed by: Erik, 2017/11/08

Nothing short of spectacular! These public dances emit a magical atomsphere that is sure to spell-bound everyone. There is nothing else like it in the world !

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting show with beatiful outfits and dance

Reviewed by: Ingrid, 2017/11/08

Good show with a quick cup of tea at first in a separate room. Easy to change the voucher into ticket (one hour before the show). Very pleased.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very nice performance

Reviewed by: Raquel, 2017/11/08

Very nice and impressive performance. The tee ceremony not really worth it, but the performance was excellent

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/11/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]