Mt. Fuji Tour from Tokyo with Lake Ashi Cruise and Hakone Ropeway Ride reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mt. Fuji Tour from Tokyo with Lake Ashi Cruise and Hakone Ropeway Ride

Overall Rating

4.25 4.25 / 5

Reviews

198 reviews
Post a review

Amazing Mt. Fuji Trip!

Reviewed by: Charm, 2020/03/06

I was very lucky that we had a clear day during our Mt. Fuji trip so the group I was with was able to do and visit all the attractions as stated on the description except that we were only able to visit 1st station since 4th and 5th station were closed due to heavy snow. It's not a big deal though as there are still lots of chances to see the magnificent Mt. Fuji on the way. If you're planning to visit Mt Fuji during winter, make sure to layer well since its colder there compared to the city. Expect as well a long travel time from Tokyo to Mt Fuji as it's roughly 139 km away. And lastly, I highly suggest to take the option with Bullet train as it will only take you 40 mins back to Tokyo compared to 2-3 hours travel back by bus.

FYI, the bus first row (left and right) are reserved for the guide and driver#2!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2020/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

a great tour to do if you are in Tokyo

Reviewed by: andrew, 2020/02/02

a must do tour if you are in Tokyo. Fantastic tour guide and a great way to get the best views of Mt Fuji.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/01/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Tour

Reviewed by: Chaitanya Kartheek , 2020/01/12

This tour covers all the mandatory sights in and around Mount Fuji on a day trip from Tokyo. The guide was very helpful. If you have JR pass then you can take the shinkansen back to Tokyo else it is good idea to boom the tour with bullet train package. Food served during the tour was average. Overall a goos experience.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Very enjoyable Mt Fuji tour.

Reviewed by: Anders W., 2019/12/16

Great trip. We were blessed with good weather allowing us to visit the 5th station and see Mt Fuji up close, and clear, although it is pretty cold up there (with the wind chill). Tour guide Yoshi is very professional, courteous, helpful all the way. He provided some good Japanese cultural and historical information which helped us to enjoy the tour even more. The Hakone ropeway ride and the Ashi cruise were also very enjoyable. The lunch was enjoyable. Everything in the trip was great. The drivers were safe & courteous. I couldn't ask for any more. Will definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day trip from Tokyo

Reviewed by: Leong, 2019/12/06

Good day activity out of Tokyo. Not too strenuous for elderly yet get to see mt fuji and enjoy hakone! Lunch was good too. Only set back was controlling the other people on the tour. With each stop being 5-10mins late, we ended up being half hour late for last activity which was the lake ashi cruise and being late autumn/early winter, the sky was dark and we couldn't see anything! And because it was late we decided to take the bullet train back to tokyo which cost extra. Overall, a good day tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long day in foggy rainy Mt Fuji

Reviewed by: Bob L, 2019/12/02

The guide was very good and informative. However, Mt Fuji was completely fogged in (even it was hard to see the shops at the 5th station in the fog), and it was rainy, foggy for all of the other sites. The lunch was great, though, and it was a nice day to get out of the city into the countryside. Because pretty much all of the sites were not visible I would have hoped that this tour be rescheduled (the following day was clear).

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/10/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Trip to mount Fuji from Tokyo

Reviewed by: Thilakan, 2019/11/28

It was a superb trip. Everything went on as planned with right time pickup. The guide was excellent. All places were visited as per the brochure. Lunch was very good. OnlY the weather was very bad.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/11/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Started well but deteriorated into boredom then chaos.

Reviewed by: Wayne, 2019/11/07

Pick up was efficient but the time was an hour later than that advertised in the literature, Mount Fuji was great, lunch was fine then it rapidly deteriorated. The post lunch itinerary was changed due to volcanic activity at the advertised ropeway. The lake cruise was forgettable, it was overcast and wind, it was very poorly supervised by the guide who gave garbled instructions that we couldn’t understand The ropeway was left to last by which time it was getting dark and the wind was getting up so we gave it a miss and poodles around for an hour in the souvenir stalls.

The return was chaotic we wasted ages dropping off people returning to Tokyo by train then it was a crawl even though the congestion wasn’t bad. It took more than 3 hours to cover the 70 km from the ropeway to our hotel

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Fuji

Reviewed by: Jane Dorey, 2019/09/23

The trip was excellent along with the guide and the lunch we had, well done

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Beautiful Mt Fuji day trip

Reviewed by: NatC, 2019/09/14

Awesome day tour lead by a very knowledgeable and funny tour guide Kana-san!
We were a little unlucky with the weather however Mt Fuji was visible for a very limited time throughout the day. Would highly recommend for anyone with limited time in Tokyo as a must see!
Lake Ashi cruise was also beautiful and gave us another brief view of Mt Fuji as the clouds parted.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/09/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: LeZakAttack, 2019/08/26

Outstanding from beginning to end.

The guide was funny, knowledgeable, and spoke IMPECCABLE English.

There was heavier than usual traffic and the guide kept us updated on ETA and impact on schedule.

All the activities were excellent, including the substituted activities that were neceisstated due to closures of part of the original activity (due to volcanic activity).

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour experience

Reviewed by: Russell NY, 2019/08/23

The guide was terrific - friendly and knowledgeable. She kept the group engaged and interested. It's a shame that Mt Fuji was shy and hiding from the tourists but that's no fault of Veltra. We had a wonderful time on Fuji and the rest of the tour anyway.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic day trip!

Reviewed by: Celeste, 2019/08/15

We had not anticipated just how difficult it would be to get around Tokyo. This day trip gave us the opportunity to relax in a comfortable bus, and see the beautiful sights. We would most definitely do this tour again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointing

Reviewed by: Lesley , 2019/08/10

This tour is spent mainly on the bus. The stops are not more than 30 mins. The lunch place was awful with no atmosphere. Due to mist the cable car and boat trip was a waste of time.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/08/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My Fuji day tour

Reviewed by: Michael Hill, 2019/08/07

Unfortunately the traffic heading to My Fuji was very bad which meant the rest of the day was a crush to keep the schedule. Weather was also against us. My Fuji and the cable car was a white out.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Skipped the trip of Owakudani

Reviewed by: Girish , 2019/08/03

Skipped the trip of Owakudani .. my parents from India visited japan and they were very interested of Owakudani, but it was skipped and disappointed a lot. I had used same package trip myself and find satisfaction, but this experience with veltra was very poor and I doesn’t recommend or use it again

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/08/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Disappointed tour

Reviewed by: MTP, 2019/07/26

Tour was not well organized. We were scheduled to be picked up at Royal Park hotel, then bus didn’t come there. One tour staff member came and got cabs for us to go to the other hotel where the bus parked there. The tour guide lady told us that tour was full that day and there were only 3 seats left for us but not together! Why they couldn’t assign seat number? Some activities were canceled.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spectacular day

Reviewed by: Inma, 2019/07/07

Japanese punctuality and attention to detail, all in a very simple and unassuming way. Great experience and very well paced and organized.
We were an eclectic crowd and the guide was even discreet enough to just act surprised when somebody asked her why Japanese “Fuji” water was exported to the United States and never drank by the japanese. I think she confused Fiji water with the water from Mount Fuji. Oh lord!...The guide was marvelous and discrete by saying she did not know....

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not worth the money.

Reviewed by: Amber, 2019/07/02

The entire tour was rushed not sure why as we couldn't do the ropeway, so you would think we would have had extra time. They added a box to the website showing that it was closed after my group had already booked the tour. We took a cruise through the fog, and it was not on the cool pirate boat described and pictured. The cruise was a waste as well because you couldn't see anything. We also went to the museum which is supposed to provide a great view of Fuji but again we couldn't see anything.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fabulous Fuji.

Reviewed by: Margret Best, 2019/06/27

We only had one full day in Japan on our way home to Australia so we decided to take a tour out to the iconic Mt Fuji. We were picked up right on schedule from our hotel and spent about half an hour collecting other people from various locations before heading out to Mt Fuji. Our guide entertained us along the way with some history and personal anecdotes and even a little sing-along in Japanese. The weather favoured us too, the day being clear and sunny, so we were able to see the peak. The only downside was the cold wind. I was wishing for earmuffs! The cable car ride was cancelled due to the wind but we were able to see a lovely peace park instead. We could have returned to Tokyo on the bus, but we opted for the Bullet train instead. Our guide made all that easy. The experience of seeing those fantastic trains whooshing through the station while we waited for ours was amazing in itself. I'd definitely recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good Trip

Reviewed by: Laura Vanegas, 2019/06/18

The tour was good. I enjoyed.
I like that during the bus the guide was talking about some interesting things about Japan.
During the Cruise in Lake Ashi, you only can see Mt. Fuji almost when you have to leave de ship. I think this is not a good lake, a better one its the lake next to the Ashi Lake.
The lunch was very tasty but too small. I could eat more.
They have no pick up and drop off service from Asakusa area.
The tour was OK.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Outstanding

Reviewed by: A. A. , 2019/06/18

Every thing was out standing. Six of us. Guide was also v good. Even whether was in our favour.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I had a wonderful time

Reviewed by: Dipaul Nix, 2019/06/17

What I love the most about the trip is our tour guide. Kana did an awesome of explaining and lifting the spirit of everyone on the tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour, bad weather

Reviewed by: Calt, 2019/06/12

In spite of very inclement weather conditions, we enjoyed the tour and appreciated the effort of our guide, Asako, to keep the tour on track.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour guide and bus drivers but very poorly organized your

Reviewed by: Patrizia , 2019/06/03

I want emphasize that our tour guide and bus drivers were great! They were sweet and kind and really made sure the tour was kept organized. However, the actual tour was incredibly expensive for no reason! The only picture I was able to get of Mt. Fuji was on the bus! Now I understand that Fuji is very easily covered by clouds and the mountain can be seen once the clouds move. What I did not appreciate was that we were not able to go to the 5th station because of over crowding? How is that our problem? So we went to the 4th station and there was nothing there but a parking lot and a gift shop. Then we took the sky gondola ride just to see a dried up forest. The hot springs gave me a headache re the smell and the boat ride offered no views of Fuji. I believe this tour is falsely advertised and overpriced. I just wanted to get back to Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rather rushed itinerary and poor tour guide

Reviewed by: UKWMtraveller, 2019/06/01

I chose this tour for the convenience of being picked up from my hotel in Tokyo. The seating in the coach was a little tight but no different from other coaches I've been on in Japan. Unfortunately, our guide repeated herself incessantly throughout the journey and this was exceedingly irritating. I'm sorry to say that I resorted to listening to music through my earphones in preference to hearing what our guide was saying. I booked the lunch option and was pleasantly surprised at the food quality. The place where we stopped catered specifically for large groups and was well set up for these.
My main issue was with the very short amount of time allocated at each stop. The day was cloudy, but with occasional clear spots, providing sporadic opportunities to photograph Mt Fuji. However, with only 15 to 30 minutes at each of the viewing stations, it was frustrating to have to return to the coach so quickly without having enough time to wait for a break in the clouds to take a decent photo of Mt Fuji. That said the views on and around lake Ashi were fabulous and the cable car journey to the top of Mt Komagatake was worthwhile, with some very nice scenery at the summit.
On the way back to Tokyo we chose not to return on the coach (even though we had booked it) and took the bullet train instead. This turned out to be an excellent choice because we were back in Tokyo Central Station within 35 minutes of boarding the train, rather than the three hours or so on the coach.
In fairness to the tour operator, I would say that the short time available at the viewing stations was not their fault, because I suspect that time restrictions applied to the large coaches at each stopping point. In hindsight, I think that I should have booked a more bespoke tour catering for fewer people. Being in a smaller vehicle/group might have provided the flexibility to make brief stops during our journey to take opportunistic photos of Mt Fuji when there were breaks in the clouds.

  • Mt Fuji, sadly obscured by cloud cover

  • Cable car view of Mt Ashi

  • Cable car view of Mt Ashi

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/05/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Everything was good

Reviewed by: Daniel W, 2019/05/29

Thanks for the tour. Everything was good: the tour guide has helpful, the places we visited were memorable and the lunch was great!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rooms for improvement

Reviewed by: Eve Wong, 2019/05/27

Difficult to locate the tour provider at pickup pt, no counter or signage board. The cruise is rather boring, would rather pay more if snacks and drinks can be provided during the cruise since it's a long day tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/05/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome trip

Reviewed by: Sathiah Sankar, 2019/05/27

Everything was perfect about it. I loved it. Guide was awesome. Looking forward for my next trip.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Rain = no mountain

Reviewed by: Julie, 2019/05/26

If you go on this tour, please take into account the weather forecast. The morning we left from Tokyo, it was pouring rain. The rest of the day was also covered in grey clouds, rain and fog. We therefore did not see Mt. Fuji at all. Not even a glimpse unfortunately. Although we did go up the cable car, we could not see more than like 30 meters ahead due to the fog.
Although the weather forecast is unpredictable, and the organization is of course not to blame for bad weather (humans can unfortunately not control it) it is a pity that we did not get any compensation whatsoever. Having paid this huge amount of money for a bus tour where we did not even see the mountain has simply been a disappointment. Nevertheless, the tour guide was energetic and nice.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]