This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mount Fuji Tour, Hakone Cruise and Ropeway Ride (Bullet Train or Bus Return)

Great Day to Mt Fuji and Hakome

Reviewed by: Michael, 2019/03/13

We had a great trip and were very lucky to see Mt Fuji on a clear day. Everyone on the tour had a great time, the trip was very well organised and we cant recommend it highly enough! Definitely a must for when coming to Tokyo


  • View from the south

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I had a blast!

Reviewed by: Nick, 2019/03/04

My trip to Mt. Fuji and Hakone was wonderful. My tourguide (Reiko? I can’t remember if that was her name exactly. “Sunshine girl”) was fun, bright, informational, and lovely! My favorite part was being on top of Mt. Fuji and looking out at the Japanese Alps. I imagine when the forrest is alive Hanoke would be even more magical. I liked taking the rail car up the mountain to visit the shrine. I made my own prayer rock stack, and took in the view. Overall, it was an excellent experience. My only issue was a rude couple behind me on the bus, but that stinks for them that they had such a bad attitude. Thank you so much for a great day!



Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/02/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt Fuji tour without Mt Fuji

Reviewed by: Dianne Balderama, 2019/03/03

Tour was on time and organized. But it was a big disappointment for all of us that we didnt get to see Mt Fuji when we get to the site. The beginning of the tour title says Mt Fuji tour, but instead we had to stop at two souvenir shops in the morning til we had to take our lunch at around noon. By the time we take the Hakone cruise and ropeway ride in the afternoon, it was all gloomy and there was no view of my Fuji at all because it was all covered with clouds. When i asked the tour guide if we will still get to see a view of Mt Fuji that afternoon, he just said that that was it when we saw it when we were on the bus that morning. And he knew that it is always clear in the morning, so i just didn’t understand why we didn't go that morning but instead we spent most of our time to two souvenir shops when in fact I believe that the main highlight of the tour is Mt Fuji right??

My family were sleeping when the bus pass through the view of mt Fuji. Apparently, we came back to Tokyo without seeing the view of the mountain or any pictures with it. Maybe, we booked the wrong tour but the itinerary should say the most of the morning will be spent shopping and there is a least chance of having a view of mt Fuji in the afternoon during the cruise. The tour also ended very early. We got in Tokyo at around 6pm when the tour says we will be back around 8pm. Im wondering if we are supposed go stay longer? Because right after our ropeway ride, the bus had to leave right away to take us to shinkansen station which we could have done the souvenir shopping by the end of that day.

Im sorry, but wouldn’t recommend this tour to people especially those who are looking forward to see the view if mt Fuji upclose.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very nice day made better

Reviewed by: TonyR Traveler, 2019/03/03

The weather was nice and permitted the tour to go up to the Fifth Station. The tour guide was informative, the views majestic and the driver drove safely, minimum requirements met. The bonus were the sumptuous and authentically local lunch in a beautiful Japanese rural village setting, the time given to appreciate our stops. The weather turned for the worse on the gondola right up the mountain. The bullet train ride back to Tokyo was comfortable even considering we were hitting the much dreaded Tokyo rush hour traffic. Took some extra time to explore the city and for some nice warm ramen before heading back to Shinjuku. Day well spent. (posting a photo I took from the restaurant grounds with a view of Mt. Fuji.


  • Mt. Fuji from the Ninja Village Restaurant where we stopped for lunch

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A very full and interesting day packed with activities

Reviewed by: Tom, 2019/02/22

Pick up point was a centrally located hotel then it was on the coach to Mt Fuji. The tour guide was first class with a great sense of humour and a few useful anecdotes about Japanese life. We were greeted with a fantastic view of the peak of Mt Fuji then headed to a generous lunch at an authentic restaurant followed by a short cruise on a volcanic lake. Then it is cable car ride to the top of another peak in the clouds. After some shopping in the village below we were back on the bus to the station to catch the Shinkansen back to Tokyo. Highly recommended and very good value for money.


  • Close to the peak of Mt Fuji

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful experience !!

Reviewed by: Indian_traveler, 2019/02/20

My family was apprehended with ever changing weather situation and booked this trip at the last minute. The pickup location was accurate. Our guide Masa was already there. The bus started at exact time and followed the schedule as was mentioned.
The guide, Masa was very an interesting guy with good hold on English. He kept sharing lot of information about Mt. Fuji, Japan, Japanese culture and what not. He made sure everyone in bus was engaged and entertained and the long journey did not become boring. He joined the group at Shnikansen and spoke to everyone of us to make sure we knew how to reach to our hotels from Tokyo Station. I felt that was a good gesture. I give five stars to him.

We could get glimpses of Fuji San from "4th" station and clicked few fotos. Weather turned hostile in no time. Boat and ropeway ride were good. There was not any queue anywhere. Food provided was tasty. It wasn't a wide spread buffet but there was enough for everyone.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Exciting, interesting and fun but long drives

Reviewed by: Chuiwah, 2019/02/11

It was exciting, interesting and fun going to Mount Fuji and Hakkone. However, each destination had such a long drive between 1-2 hours of driving which allocated a short amount of time for each activity. Overall, great experience!!! Great guide speaker (Keiko)!!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/02/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent day.

Reviewed by: Richard, 2019/01/26

A very good day visiting many locations with a knowledgeable and helpful guide. I highly recommend this tour.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good

Reviewed by: Catherine, 2019/01/16

The food was great!

However, we only got to the first station, so the view of Mt. Fuji was not so good.

The tour guide, Miko, was very good, could speak good English, and was very entertaining and informative.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just Excellent

Reviewed by: Arturo, 2019/01/13

Fantastic trip, great guide and driver. Highly recommended

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour

Reviewed by: Huda, 2019/01/10

Excellent tour. It's completely Muslim friendly. I highly recommended it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great tour!

Reviewed by: Emma, 2019/01/01

Our tour guide, Tam, was great! Very informative, he did a really good job!
Mt Fuji was great, Hakone was even better!
Highly recommended day tour.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great day !

Reviewed by: Russell, England, 2018/12/30

Well organised, punctual start, friendly, cheerful guide who had so much to tell us. A good driver - I felt safe all the time. Super lunch, and luckily we had fantastic weather, so we did everything the tour described.


  • 28 December 2018

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great family fun!

Reviewed by: Ducmeister, 2018/12/29

Our family had a wonderful time on this tour. Our kids were 13 and 9 and they both had a lot of fun. Note that this tour has a lot of travel time (~50% of the tour's total time); fortunately, we knew that prior to booking based on our own research of the various sites being targeted. Mi Ka Mi-san was our guide; she was very nice and funny.

One suggested improvement: pickup could use a bit more clarity. We stayed at the Keio Plaza Hotel so technically, pick up should be rather straightforward. However, there were at least 5 different Mt. Fuji/Hakone tours - all departing within 15 minutes of each other. JTB Sunrise Tours is the only tour company with a resident office at our hotel so their lines were clearly marked. Our tour was with Japan Gray Line and we had to hustle a bit to find the right area to wait.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mr Fuji in December

Reviewed by: Mick Wong, 2018/12/28

Pick up is in the lobby of the Cerulean Tokyu Tower Hotel. After a few other hotel pick ups, we were on our way to Mt Fuji. Overall the tour was organized and offered good sightseeing, as long as the weather cooperates. Yes, the guides do speak English, but you must listen very closely in order to understand them. Yes, we were able to see Mt Fuji from the bus as well as from the lookouts we stopped at. Lunch (paid for) was a nice surprise, typical Japanese bento with a great variety of dishes. The highlight was the tram ride and vista of Mt Fuji. We had a great time.




Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Tour Guide.

Reviewed by: Shan, 2018/12/10

The tour guide was awesome, very nice, pleasing personality. Always smiling and very informative. I learnt some japanese from here in this short tour. Awesome.

Keep up the good work.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/12/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Only The Best

Reviewed by: Ronnie Libramonte, 2018/11/29

I did not expect much from this tour since it's only 1 day and almost half was spent for pick up and driving to Mt Fuji, But Eriko-san (our Tour Guide) made it a better experienced. The knowledge and the delivery that she brought was amazing. The stopover although short was good, the lunch and the service was above than expected. Of course everything was done in a hurry but everything is worth it. I am with my son and wife but I know they are all listening to Eriko-san. Even on the way back to Tokyo Eriko-san still take care of us. Thank You very much.


  • Lake Ashii


  • View of Mt Fuji


  • 富士山世界遺産センター / Fujisan World Heritage Center.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Below expectations

Reviewed by: Rimsha, 2018/11/26

The only reason I gave this two stars is because our tour guide was really nice and friendly. Everything else was horrible. I assumed the bus would stop at some nice locations where the tourists could get some good pictures of Mt. Fuji; it did not. We stopped at the tourist center which has an observation deck, but no really nice views of Fuji Then we were supposed to go up to the 5th station however due to snow we sopped at the 1st station of Myt. Fuji... again in a spot where you could barely get any pictures because the trees were towering over (plus there were about another 25 tourist buses that stopped at the same location and at the same time, so it was crazy)... Then we headed down for lunch which was poor but the location was nice. We had to eat super fast (40 minutes) and get back to the bus; couldn't explore the location.. this last part was where the remainder of the 2 starts come from: stopped in Hakone, a super rushed boat ride (10 mins) on Lake Ashi and then a ropeway to the summit of Mt. Komagatake... (to spend 25 minutes) and be rushed back down. There was a nice shrine on top of the Mountain but you'd have to rush up there and take pics and get back down hoping you still have enough time to get some snacks for the ride back and maybe get a souvenir or tow.

Over all, they should just take "Mt Fuji" out of the title because we didn't see it. It was an amazingly clear day but the bus didn't stop at nice locations to snap pics... the only nice pics i took were while we were ON the bus, and of course those didn't turn out nice as the bus was moving. I wouldn't recommend this.


  • Hakone shrine from the ropeway, you'd have to get there and back down in 30-35 minutes.


  • View from the 1st Station (you can see all the people at the bottom of the pic)


  • View from the observation deck of the Mt Fuji heritage center :(

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/11/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day trip apart from the weather

Reviewed by: Mike , 2018/11/12

- Easy to find pick up point
- great guide called Shin who was very knowledgable providing facts throughout the day with handy picture cards
- reasonable amount of time spent at the 5th station, Hakone cruise and cable car




Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/11/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Way behind schedule

Reviewed by: Kristopher. , 2018/11/10

The entire tour was way behind on its schedule. We barely mad it to Mount Fiji and when we did make it the obserervation deck was closed. There were way to many tours going on at the sametime we were told 7 busses that’s close to 301 people just for this company If the tour was not so far behind i might rank it good

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/11/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OUR HOST WAS THE BEST HOST EVER!!!!!

Reviewed by: Joseph , 2018/11/07

She even sang to us :)

Such a great day, couldn't have done all the spots without this guide. Defo worth it... Definitely bring lots of snacks with you as there is only one meal and barely any time to grab things throughout the day.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/11/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Shared shuttle from Yokohama Port to Hotel

Reviewed by: Connie, 2018/09/07

I had a very good experience with the shared shuttle van from Yokohama Port to my hotel in Shinjuku.
The people manning the counter at Yokohama Port was very courteous and polite. The shuttle was on time.
The driver was very polite and smiling all the time.
Would take up your service again when I am next in Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/09/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day adventure

Reviewed by: Gill & Blair, 2018/08/26

We took the bus / bullet train return (recommended during busy traffic days) to Mt Fuji. Too bad about the foggy conditions, but we got a really informative guide called Yuko & a great driver called NakanoSan. They showed us the best of Lake Ashi & Hakone as well as a delicious noodle lunch, comprised of local produce/cuisine. Level 5 of the Mt Fuji way is quite crowded in the summer & difficult to navigate, Yuko's advice was sensible & time aware. She had some fun japanese exercises & origami games to pass the time too.



Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/08/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mount Fuji & Hakone Tour

Reviewed by: Raffy Campos , 2018/08/23

Very Glad we chose this tour! Our guide Fumi San was very pleasant and informative. We loved the beautiful scenery plus it was nice to learn facts about Mt. Fuji and the Hakone area. An added bonus was the Bullet Train experience on our way back to Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great

Reviewed by: Quaneesha Bey, 2018/08/03

Great time! Just wish we had more time at Mt. Fuji and in the restaurant for lunch.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A pleasant day out

Reviewed by: Johng, 2018/08/01

Unfortunately the clouds covered Mt Fuji whilst there but luckily they lifted during the cable car ride at Hakone. The views from the top of the cable car ride we good. The guide Hiro was good and informative.


  • View of Mt Fuji

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/07/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome!!

Reviewed by: Shane Hattingh, 2018/07/28

What a great day out with the family, would highly recommend it, would be doing it again on my return.
The tour guid (Hiro) was brilliant and he had the patience of a saint (we were late for just about everything‍♂️), and yet he always had a smile on his face and welcomed us.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great day, with an extremely informative guide.

Reviewed by: Jenny , 2018/07/18

This tour covered a lot for my Tokyo holiday. Mt Fuji, fantastic to both see it up close and from afar; bullet train; typical Japanese meal and great local information.
I really recommend the tour for all ages.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing day out at Mt Fuji !

Reviewed by: Ana Medina-Vaega, 2018/07/17

Amazingly easy to book online, smooth process with plenty of instructions. Great staff to meet you and get you on your way. Our tour guide, Toshi, was also amazing, caring and very accommodating. Would highly recommend this tour company without hesitation.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must do in Japan

Reviewed by: Shaheen Khokhar, 2018/06/14

Loved the experience and the hospitality of a wonderful guide who not only told us about the sites but gave us some insight on Japanese traditions and folk lore

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 |

Tokyo Categories