Mt. Fuji Tour with Lake Ashi Cruise and Ropeway Ride from Shinjuku or Shibuya reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Mt. Fuji Tour with Lake Ashi Cruise and Ropeway Ride from Shinjuku or Shibuya

Overall Rating

4.38 4.38 / 5

Reviews

244 reviews
Post a review

Really enjoyable trip with a great guide

Reviewed by: Sarah - from Ireland, 2020/03/14

Our lady guide made our trip all the more enjoyable as we travelled on the bus to Mt Fuji by Telling us funny but interesting little stories on Japan’s culture & growing up there. We even made our own Mt Fuji from colored paper that she gave us & then following her instructions . Once the trip was over our guide checked where we were staying so she could assist us with directions to get back there from the drop off station. A wonderful caring guide. The dinner was lovely and we got lots to eat & we all got fed really quickly on arrival there. Catering ladies were really nice too.
The weather that day was just perfect to view Mt Fuji so my daughter & I totally enjoyed our trip and would recommend it as great value for the cost.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/03/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

An icing on the cake

Reviewed by: Temitope Bodija , 2020/03/10

Mt Fuji blew me away. It was the best experiences and best part of my holiday. Mt Fuji was great and i enjoyed the lunch served. The driver and the commentator were fantastic. The cruise as well as the ropeway was an experience that will stay with me for a long time. Will definitely do it again. Five star.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/03/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A comfortable 1 day trip.

Reviewed by: Sadia, 2020/03/06

It was a great experience. I have already recommended this to my coworkers who have expressed interest to visit mt Fuji. Unfortunately, the weather was not cooperating right after lunch. I have failed to see Mt Fuji when we got to Hakone (Lake Ashi cruise and cable car) which was THE major attraction. I wish I got to see Mount Fuji from the cable car. :( But, we cannot fight with the weather. Anyways, I took the bullet train back. Overall, I am happy. Thank you.

  • Cable Car, going up in the cloud

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2020/02/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Much better than expected!

Reviewed by: Glennda and Nick, 2020/03/03

At first I was apprehensive about purchasing this tour, but am I ever glad I did. My son and I had a wonderful time. Our guide Keiko was very informative and engaging throughout the tour. The weather was great in the morning, so we were able to see Fuji. Since we couldn't go to the 5th station, we were treated to an alternate stop which was just as engaging. The tour was run with precision and met all expectations. I will book with this company again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Long but fascinating day

Reviewed by: Gerald Fitzgibbon, 2020/02/26

Our guide was a wealth of knowledge re politics , history and geography of the Mt Fuji region. He really added great depth to what was a well organized tour blessed with great weather.

We elected to take the Shinkasen train back to Tokyo which was fast and given the heavy traffic expected, a good call in getting back fast.

Highly recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2020/02/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best day

Reviewed by: Shanaye and Jarrad, 2020/02/24

Our guide Kanae was incredible with sunrise tours! Kanae spoke amazing English and was very informative throughout the tour day.
We managed to score the best weather you could imagine for this experience with mt fuji in its glory!
Lunch was incredible
Transportation by bus there and bullet train return was the best way for time and comfort.
Would definitely do it again and highly highly recommend sunrise tours for this day.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2020/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt.Fuji

Reviewed by: Malathi , 2020/01/18

Overall it was a good trip. Service was good and the staffs are very helpful. We was informed it was snowing at Mt.Fuji, the tour guide keep us informed on the situation whether we able to goes up atleast station 2 but unfortunately we could not make it. Although it was sad unable to see Mt.Fuji, but the base was amazing covered with the snow.

Lake Ashi amazing again no luck to see Mt.Fuji view due to rain and cloudy.

For my niece, this trip is memorable and her dream comes true for able to see snow.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/12/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

well organized tour

Reviewed by: Sudhir, 2019/12/17

The trip was wonderfully organized and we really enjoyed it. Our Guide Harry was very good.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/12/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great way to see a fair amount in one day.

Reviewed by: Donal, 2019/08/21

It was a hot, cloudy day and almost no part of Fuji-San was visible, but it was an enjoyable trip and a great way to see the area quickly in one day.

  • Mt Fuji 5th station

  • Lake Ashi

  • Lake Ashi

  • Fuji-San 5th station

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt fuji

Reviewed by: Ravi, 2019/08/20

Bad weather destroyed this tour. The operator was aware of the typhoon that hit Japan but decided to go ahead with the tour. The weather did not improve, we could not see mt fuji at all. Instead we saw a museum and a pathetic aquarium.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

MT Fuji tour

Reviewed by: Lisa, 2019/08/17

The tour was great. Our guide was very informative and a delight. Lunch option was very good.

  • Ropeway

  • My Fuji

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/08/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Value for money

Reviewed by: Arsalan, 2019/08/16

Amazing trip with a nice tour guide... covers almost all the best places around Mount Fuji. Gives ample time to roam around. Nice local lunch.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/08/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Such a great experience!

Reviewed by: Cary, 2019/08/12

Yoko was such a fun and helpful tour guide! From the informative bus ride, the beauty and awe of Mt. Fuji, Lake Ashi, and the Ropeway, to the ride back to Tokyo on the bullet train, this was a fabulous excursion. I highly recommend this day-trip.

Yoko even guided nearly our entire tour group from Tokyo Station to Shinjuku Station after even though the tour ended at Tokyo Station. Such a helpful and kind person!

  • Lake Ashi from the Ropeway

  • Lake Ashi from the Ropeway

  • Hakone-Mototsumiya Shrine

  • Mt. Fuji

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good day out!

Reviewed by: Olivia, 2019/07/27

To anyone that hasn't been to Fuji before, whether it be on this tour, any other tour OR just your own, please understand that you might not see the summit at all. This is no fault of the tours company. I've been on two of these tours, I saw a faint outline of Fuji the first time and none of it the second time, that's just the luck of the draw.

My trip was in the summer also, Fuji is far more visible in the winter because the clouds are higher.

As a day out it's very nice. The food and the garden at the restaurant were lovely, the boat ride and the cable car are both very fun, and the wood crafts and souvenirs in Hakone (yosegi zaiku) are some of the most beautiful in Japan in my opinion.

Everything you do on this tour could be done alone with enough pre-planning, but it is nice to be around other English speakers once in a while if you're on a long trip.

  • Laki Ashi

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent trip to Fuji

Reviewed by: Mom and daughter, 2019/07/23

Very organized and right on track throughout tour. Very nice and humorous guide who took us to the best buffet restaurant ! Yoko even took us to JR train station after tour ended.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent trip - highly recommended.

Reviewed by: Aussie Travellers , 2019/07/23

Brilliant day. Well organised and packed with adventure. Kids loved it as well. Bus very comfortable and Mt Fuji was very special. Perfect amount of time at all destinations including Mt Fuji, lake Ashi and the top of the mountain of the rope away ride was spectacular. Highly recommend it.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/07/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Iku was an amazing guide!

Reviewed by: Alexandria S, 2019/07/14

Iku was wonderful! Very knowledgeable and extremely kind! She got us safely to each destination in a timely manner. Everything went smoothly because of Iku.

The food was amazing! We didn't expect such a lovely meal.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/07/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

My. Fuji tour with Lake Ashi Cruise

Reviewed by: Christine , 2019/06/28

The tour guide is great unfortunately, the tour itself is not exactly how it disclosed. The bus stop for 5 minutes for one spot to view Mt. Fuji but not the best view at all. As we drove by we saw there are few spots that we can see the Mt. Fuji very clear but the bus just driving by very fast. The ropeway was under construction so they skip that part. This tour claims that we’re supposed to go on a pirate ship to tour Ashi Lake instead we just went on a ferry. We were a little disappointed cause it was not how it disclosed.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt Fuji

Reviewed by: Rowel, 2019/06/27

Good but we were not able to see mt. Fuji due to the weather.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Almost perfect.

Reviewed by: Tiernan, 2019/06/21

Almost everything about this trip was perfect, from the travel guide, to the atmospheric views. The only major con I have is the ropeway ride. They stuff as many people as possible onto oa singular cart so that you can't move or take photos of the views through people's heads. Not a dealbreaker, but it's the reason I wouldn't give this trip a perfect score. 4/5.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OK tour

Reviewed by: Ali, 2019/06/19

The tour was ok. It was good to have a tour guide to help explain things. We were only on the mountain for 30 minutes which was no where near enough time. We needed at least an hour. The boat ride was nice too. The ropeway was closed due to wind so they took us to an aquarium close to the mountain. The aquarium was absolutely awful. There were dead turtles in a few of the tanks. I would have preferred to have headed back to Tokyo a little earlier and skip the aquarium. Most of the folks on our tour complained about the aquarium. Not having a reserved seat on the bullet train was also a disappointment. I would recommend a reserved seat on the bullet train to and from the mountain if you can do it.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt Fuji

Reviewed by: Eugen, 2019/06/17

Outstanding, wonderful tour, wonderful tour guide. Unfortunately we were not able to ride the gondola. The boat tour was windy and cold. The Mt Fuji did not hide from us. Kristi the tour guide is excellent and tried to educate us as much as she can. Thank you.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Overall good, impolite travelers, lots of bus time.

Reviewed by: Jill, 2019/06/09

Overall, Caca did a good job. Her English was understandable. I am glad I took the trip as I would not have seen these sites otherwise. Now, negatives were the really impolite guests- obviously not the fault of the company. We waited on the bus at our first stop for 45 minutes, Caca looking for them, and we thankfully just left. The next stop we waited an additional 15 minutes for 2 more guests. The departure times were very clearly stated. There were 2 other guests continually having a loud conversation while Caca was talking-making it difficult to hear. I wish someone would have said something because they were obviously oblivious- but I guess I also could have stepped up. The only other thing was I felt we spent way too much time on the bus. I totally understand these tours need to cater to all, but I definitely like to be more active. Something to think about for an active traveler. The lunch was surprisingly very good and filling. I took the bullet train back and Caca was great about making sure we knew exactly what we needed to do.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First time in Japan

Reviewed by: AdamB, 2019/05/17

It was the best experience abroad so far to me. From beginning to the end everything was excellent and went as it was said with their promised schedule. Our tour guide was great she informed us not only by sound system but also she used charts and written notes on the large papers sheets to help her messages memorized while she was using quality communicating techniques to help her group stay together and informed well. Bus was very clean and driver did great job along with all route course.

Thank you so much for everything ❤️

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/05/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience! Wonderful views! Amazing tour guide!

Reviewed by: J. Brown, 2019/05/14

The tour guide, May, was wonderful! She kept tabs on everyone very well, always making to have everyone when time to head to a new destination. She was very informative on the bus, telling everyone about how Mt. Fuji was formed and why things are certain ways. She even sang us traditional Japanese song for Mt. Fuji in both English and Japanese.

The experience was great. Definitely add the lunch option! So many choices and you definitely get your money's worth!

The tour bus does have wifi, but it was not super strong. My children were able to play apps, but not watch videos from it. There is no bathroom on the bus, so plan to use it before you get on at each stop (important with younger children).

  • Riding the Hakone ropeway

  • Mt. Fuji

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/05/12
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't Book with Mt Fuji Tours With Veltra or JTB Sunrise Tours - The send you on tours knowing 100% they cannot deliver the product as advertised

Reviewed by: Kevin, 2019/05/06

It seems both Veltra and JTB Sunrise Tours think its acceptable to sell a tour called "Mount Fuji Tour" when they know 100% in advance that you will not see Mount Fuji

Our experience was as follows

Book online on the Tuesday Evening
Arrive at check in on Wednesday Morning
At check in ask JTB is everything open will we see Mt Fuji - YES

Get on the bus to depart for Mt Fuji

Tour guide runs through the itinerary exactly as advertised
Station 5 Mt Fuji
Cruise
Lunch
Ropeway
Shinkansen Back

1 hour into the drive - OH! sorry Station 5 is closed due to an avalanche we can only go to station 1 today, you wont see Mt Fuji

When we get to station 1 we ask the roadblock security when was the avalanche - 2 days BEFORE!!! so for 3 days they have been selling tours knowing its closed also knowing it will be several days before the avalanche is cleared

So JTB Knew Mt Fuji will not be seen before they sold the tour to myself and busses full of people who booked in the last 3 days, Veltra say they were not informed by JTB and JTB when asked say they only call for an update at 9am AFTER the bus leaves so you have no option to get off and do something else - convenient timing for them and too late for you, but they all knew 2 days in advance, yet no one takes ownership at either company blaming each other - neither company loose out only the customers

Had I known I would not see anything and be on a bus for several hours at the checkin at Niko Hotel JTB Desk I would have cancelled and got 50% refund and booked another tour for the day and done something more productive with my time

Feel quite cheated as did most of the other people on the same bus

JTB/Veltra snake policy is set so you basically can be sold ANY tour and they have a way to not refund you

DISSAPOINTED - CHEATED - WASTE OF TIME - CHECK BEFORE YOU GET ON THE BUS - REQUEST REFUND

JTB SUNRISE TOURS
VELTRA




Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great start to sightseeing in Japan

Reviewed by: Stewart Allen, 2019/04/11

Superb guide.Transport good.
Pity we could only go to stage 1 on Mount Fuji but only the weather is to blame and not the company.
The lake cruise was very short and perhaps not as interesting as may have been expected? Thew bullet train ride back to Tokyo was great.
Overall well worth the effort and well organised.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun tour!

Reviewed by: Becky, 2019/04/08

We had a fun time. The clouds cleared and we had a beautiful view of the mountain. Food was great, and our guide Nori is awesome :). The only down sides were the long lines at Mt. Fuji station and for the ropeway. We had the Japan Rail pass, so I scheduled a bus return with drop-off at Odawara and we just used our passes to take the bullet train back to Tokyo. Easy and comfortable.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fuji the shy Mountain was not shy to see us.

Reviewed by: Amin Devjee, 2019/04/05

we had MAKOTA as English guide
He is exceptional person and made ride our fun, informative about japan.
I would go anytime with him being our guide.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Day to Mt Fuji and Hakome

Reviewed by: Michael, 2019/03/13

We had a great trip and were very lucky to see Mt Fuji on a clear day. Everyone on the tour had a great time, the trip was very well organised and we cant recommend it highly enough! Definitely a must for when coming to Tokyo

  • View from the south

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/03/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]