This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Tokyo Sky Bus Tickets: Ride a Hop-On Hop-Off Double Decker Bus (24 Hour)

Poor quality

Reviewed by: Thomas. , 2019/05/13

French language

The voice in French was recorded with an automatic and robotic voice like Google translate. It was totally unnatural.

Also, the story suddenly stopped when the bus was crossing a new building in order to explain the new building.

Please take care of non English languages guys!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/05/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Excellent tour but poor service by staff at Tokyo Skytree Station

Reviewed by: Wendy, 2019/04/19

The tour itself was an excellent way of seeing some landmarks in Tokyo if you are short of time. We highly recommend online booking before you turn up at one of stations. Although the sign at the station states you can purchase tickets on the bus, at the counter, and sales offices, and no reservations required, when we turned up at the Skytree Station on 15 April, the lady at the ticket booth insisted that the buses are full and there are no seats available. She told us even if we waited for the next buses, there were no guarantee there would be seats. I went outside, booked and paid for 2 same day tickets via Veltra, went back inside the ticket office, gave the lady my booking reference number, got my tickets straight away and got on the next bus. I didn't understand why she was adamant she couldn't sell us tickets and the buses were all full when we first went in. As we were leaving Tokyo the next day, we almost missed out on experiencing the bus tour if I had not tried getting the tickets via Veltra. To avoid same experience, we highly recommend booking via Veltra.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Just So-so...

Reviewed by: Julie W, 2019/04/17

Staff was very friendly but the overall experience didn't compare with other open air bus trips in other major cities. The monotone English audio was minimal and mostly uninteresting. Lots of room for improvement there. Not many stops and gap time between stops is quite long. I agree with other reviewers- spend your money on a cab.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2019/04/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best of Tokyo in a day!

Reviewed by: Liezl, 2019/01/25

Great organization and coordination! Will definitely use Veltra again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

First Time Tokyo visitor, Hop on Hop off bus was good!

Reviewed by: Jerome G, 2019/01/19

The day was cold but we made the most out of it, hopping off almost every stop. Every bus had blankets, which helped a lot!
The red line has many more stops so we spent most of our time on it. The skytree and ice skating below it was great and our 3 year old daughter enjoyed! The kimonos and "backstreet" shopping near the Ueno stop were great to see and experience. The timing of the audio playing was not always accurate, but acceptable.
The blue line has few stops, but still offers plenty, including the interesting stores around Tokyo Tower.
While the Tokyo hop on hop off bus does not have as many stops as other cities, my wife and I felt it was a great way to get a "taste" of many Tokyo attractions!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had good experience in Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Kim, 2019/01/16

I've used hop on and hop off bus in many cities, so I chose Sky bus.
As it was so complicated to use public transportation in Tokyo, It was good way to travel major places without transfer.
But I could only sit upstairs without roof, it was so cold, especially during running highway to Ginza.
I think it would be better if the bus runs more hot spots like Shinjuku, Shibuya, Roppongi and so on.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/01/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Experience

Reviewed by: Jdb, 2019/01/16

It was our first time in Tokyo and I want it to be stress free so we decided to get a hop on hop off bus. The experience was wonderful. We had the top view of the Tokyo with the cold weather. It was awesome. Not to mention it was very easy to book thru VELTRA. We booked the day before only but they still had available seats. Awesome!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to get around Tokyo and very comfortable buses and friendly host conductors!

Reviewed by: Colin, 2019/01/15

The buses were very comfortable and blankets were provide on top of heating which made it both comfortable and enjoyable on the whole. The routes covered all the key parts of Tokyo which I wanted to visit. The commentary could be further improved. On the whole I enjoyed the trip!


  • Bus Tour!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2019/01/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok but not great.

Reviewed by: Alex, 2019/01/11

We were glad to learn our bus was a fully roofed bus in the red route. In January Tokyo can be cold and being open air is a hard pill to swallow.
The blue route was open roof, but they provided blankets so it wasn't as bad as expected.

The routes were just ok. The red one is good, but the explanation on the audioguide was limited. Too much music and too little insight information. However the blue line had no information at all and the route was a waste. It's short (53 minutes) and only two stops before going back home, missing all the important points of the city.

It's kind of expensive for what they give you, compared to other cities in the world.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/01/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to see the streets of Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Anneke, 2019/01/10

We decided to take a ride on the Sky Bus as a way of seeing the connectivity of the city, which sometimes can be difficult to establish when you travel underground the whole time. We were a group of four, 2 adults and 2 kids and enjoyed every last minute of our ride! The English guide was great and the hand warmers and blankets worked a treat to keep everyone toasty and warm.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fun and informative way to get around Tokyo

Reviewed by: Ninprab, 2019/01/10

We had a great time on the Hop-on Hop-off bus around Tokyo. We were able to see the sights and stop at the areas of interest to us. When the temperatures dropped, the staff politely offered blankets to help us keep warm. We took the blue line and most of the red line in one day, and wished we had more time for a multi day pass. Everyone we interacted with was polite and helpful.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/12/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience to see downtown Tokyo

Reviewed by: Rex, 2019/01/03

Beauty of urban planning at its best, Tokyo's megalopolis is a well planned development for the world to emulate. Integrated transport system that is accessible to everybody creates an environment that encourages its people to walk creating a healthy populace.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/01/02
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Day adventure in Tokyo

Reviewed by: Crischelle, 2019/01/01

Online booking was easy and easy to understand . Very easy to find the place to get the ticket. Skyhop has everything provided for. from the blankets with this cold winter days. Heat pads and the earphones. They have though of everything. It be nice with the translation they should add also Spanish, Italian and some other European languages.

My family and I had a fabulous time and really enjoyed the scenery. Couldn't ask for more.

Thank you for an enjoyable and wonderful trip.


  • City of Tokyo. We had a fabulous time

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to get to know Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Gizem, 2018/12/31

The online registration and check in process was very smooth. We took the tour on a cold December day and they have provided covered bus option for certain times, which was great. For the double decker they have also provided hand warmers and blankets which were much appreciated. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only improvement I would recommend would be to provide more historic information on the tour. Try this tour if you have limited time in Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So fun!

Reviewed by: Jojo, 2018/12/31

I did the same tour by myself last year and enjoyed it a lot! So this year I took my parents and they were overwhelmed with the city! So this tour just gives you a great overview and is quite informative too! Recommend (again) :)

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/12/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to get to know Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Gizem, 2018/12/30

The online registration and check in process was very smooth. We took the tour on a cold December day and they have provided covered bus option for certain times, which was great. For the double decker they have also provided hand warmers and blankets which were much appreciated. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The only improvement I would recommend would be to provide more historic information on the tour. Try this tour if you have limited time in Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hop on Hop off Tokyo - Good Coverage

Reviewed by: Vaidyanathan, 2018/08/31

The staff and Bus are good.The Bus is ok and sitting only on top floor and due to Sun Shine very inconvenient and very hot.
Need to take care of this.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/08/28
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

convenient way for a quick Tour of Tokyo

Reviewed by: Travel with elderly, 2018/08/19

Hop on/off bus offer convenient way for quick sightseeing. Bus schedule is on time. Be aware there is no lower deck seating. Passenger need to be able to ascend steep steps to upper deck.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

The bus never came to the stop on time and we had to pay for cab rides which were very expensive.

Reviewed by: Pang, 2018/08/15

they would not allow you to sit on the bottom level although it was extremely hot and started to sprinkle. Bring an umbrella for shade and rain.

The bus never came during the allotted time.

The bus did not make a stop like it was supposed to. The lady would not allow us to get off when there is clearly a stop on the map they give.

I spent a lot of $ on cab rides because they never came by the stop. We were 20+ minutes early.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

HOT!

Reviewed by: Travelers , 2018/07/25

The day was hot as hades. There is no cover, we were told not to go downstairs and we were also told not to use umbrellas to help with the sun. It would be nice to add 2 more busses on the Roppongi loop, there is way too much time between busses.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great service!

Reviewed by: Priyanka B., 2018/07/15

Decided last minute to take a bus tour as in it was 10:00 AM and we bought the tickets online and got on the tour bus at 1:00 PM! (There are times running throughout the day). No issue getting our information and the staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. They even helped us find out information regarding other landmarks in the city and typical tourist questions like where to eat, shop, and metro stations near landmarks. Highly recommend it and would do it again!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/07/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worked Out Great!

Reviewed by: Tokyo Time, 2018/06/28

This service worked out wonderfully! My wife and I decided last minute to do a tour bus ride to visit spots around Tokyo. When I say "last minute" I mean at breakfast around 0800 we decided to do the hop on hop off bus tour at 1030. From the time I booked it on my phone and when we checked in, the Representative already had our information printed out and confirmed our activity. Check in was smooth. The bus ride tour was perfect for us. We were able to hop off and visit a few popular locations. All in all, it was a great experience. I will use Veltra, again. Thank you.
EB


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/06/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good service but could do better

Reviewed by: Varzavand Debara , 2018/06/22

It's a good service if you are short on time but want to experience Tokyo.

The staff was helpful and the service started promptly.

The issue I faced was, the audio commentary and the location I was viewing was different.

If this could be coordinated, it would be worth it.




  • Skytree tower on an overcast day

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

excellent tour, see alot in a short time

Reviewed by: Thomas, 2018/06/17

see most of the city, with excellent commentary and history. Helpfull staff.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Interesting tour round central Tokyo

Reviewed by: Bee, 2018/05/24

As mentioned, this was an interesting tour round the centre of Tokyo, with the ability to get on and off the open-topped bus at points of interest.
On the Roppongi/Odaiba route, before Tokyo Teleport, however, there are only three buses per day, meaning you'd need to spend quite a long time at e.g. Roppongi Hills. At or after Tokyo Teleport, the route coincides with the Odaiba-only route, so you can change between buses, meaning the gap between buses is only an hour and a half or so.
It was a strong sunshine/30C day this week, so future travellers are strongly advised to check the weather, and to take hats and sunscreen.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/05/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

バスの数が少ない

Reviewed by: アルビン, 2018/05/21

30分単位でバスがこれば良いなと思います。

I think it would be better if the bus arrives every 30 mins.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

OK

Reviewed by: amb, 2018/04/23

Not enough stops, not enough pick-up points.
English narrative was good.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hop on and off bus.

Reviewed by: RITA L OSBORN, 2018/04/20

WE returned our tickets, as it was inconvenient to use , it was raining and we were too tired.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo 17th April 2018

Reviewed by: Malek, 2018/04/19

Good way to explore Tokyo City. It was raining but covers on our bus is inoperable


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo versus Hong Kong Hop-On Hop-Off Double Decker Bus services

Reviewed by: Alexander,Ukraine, 2018/04/18

It is worse than a similar service in Hong Kong by three criteria:
1) Flexibility for Hop-On and Off users
Purple and Red paths differ only by 3 stations. A short (3-stops) Purple extension to the Red one would be a better option for covering all sites.
2) Usage as an all-weather carrier from point A to point B.
No sitting places on the lower deck is a serious disadvantage on rainy or too sunny days.
3) No Russian language in the list. Adding this option is cheap and will draw more customers from CIS countries like myself (My wife does not speak English and I had to translate for her)

4) The good news is that Tokyo service is organized better than that in Kyoto :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |