Tokyo Sky Bus Tickets: Ride a Hop-On Hop-Off Double Decker Bus (24 Hour)

Excellent Tokyo View

Reviewed by: Neeraj Bedi, 2017/09/09

A great and amazing experience of viewing the Tokyo of Japan with full horizon.

One can take a break in between stops to explore the Skytree, Tokyo tower, Shinjuk and other areas.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/08/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good way to preview Tokyo

Reviewed by: Ben, 2017/09/09

It was a good way seeing Tokyo. Enjoyed the hop on hop off experience in the beautiful city of Tokyo.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

No Benefits

Reviewed by: Anonymous, 2017/08/23

The buses all have a long waiting time, between 60 to 90 minutes for the next ride. They are on schedule which is nice but the ride also goes too fast. The audio will cut off halfway while explaining a monument or something of the sort and then will never complete. The audio also usually didn't sync with what was being seen/ passed by which was annoying.

Two of the routes are almost exactly the same, one with an additional four stops in Roppongi but you're really paying for two and a quarter lines, not three.

Seating is only on the top deck so if it's boiling hot or pouring rain, you're out of luck. I have taken hop on, hop off buses around the world but this has to be one of the worst. Would NOT recommend.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/08/13
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Don't forget the sunscreen

Reviewed by: Nay Nay, 2017/07/08

It's mostly cloudy in Tokyo during the month of June. It was sunny and hot when we went on the bus ride. The whole experience was great except the sun shining excessively on us. Don't forget to apply sunscreen and bring something to keep you covered from the sun.


  • Tokyo Tower

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/06/15
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hop-On Hop-Off Double Decke Bus

Reviewed by: Ray-Ray, 2017/06/23

Great way to see Tokyo if you have limited time in the City. You can quickly see the must see places and return on your own via train. Price is reasonable. Audio tour guide only helped a little. Good bargain tour if you are in a hurry!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/06/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worst hop on hop off bus I have experienced

Reviewed by: Cas, 2017/06/17

I have been on many throughout my travels and this would be the worst experience I have had. The driver was terrible! The bus lurched, braked suddenly and all the other actions you can imagine from the roughest ride ever. I had to actually leave the tour about half way through as my back was hurting so much. Due to the infrequency of the tours we were only able to do the blue route which was a shame as all you really saw was the Tokyo tower and the rest was just driving around this huge City.
Very disappointing. It was the only black mark of all our travels in Japan which we absolutely loved.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pretty Tokyo Buildings and Citylights

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2017/05/17

It was my first time to participate on a hop-on hop-off sightseeing tour. I used to kind of make fun of these "touristy" activities whenever I go on an out of the country trip. Surprisingly, I had fun with the tour! It was amusing to hear the guide talk non-stop. The bus left promptly so no time was wasted. As we drove along the expressway, I loved how the chilly air made my face numb (LOL). Also, pretty citylights view never gets old with me. Oh, and this sightseeing tour made me realize my new fascination -- buildings! Tokyo has one of the most interesting buildings I've seen so far.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Ride for a First Timer!

Reviewed by: John Paul, 2017/05/17

Indeed, the experience was great for a person new to the city! The view from the top of the bus is incomparable to that from inside a taxi or car. But, since it's open, the cold wind somewhat gave us chills, perhaps it's nice if they could provide blankets or whatever :) English audio guide is ok, I guess... not really into the history and stories of each place, just took pictures of everything! Instagram worthy! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10 Would Recommend (y)

Reviewed by: Geinah, 2017/05/17

It was the first ever tour I went on... ever! It's a great way to see the city especially for me, a first time traveler. We took the Odaiba Course and we passed through the Rainbow Bridge.

We also took photos of the Tokyo Tower while it was illuminated by 276 (as per the audio guide! Ha!). We were very fortunate that the stop light turned red at a good spot and for an enough amount of time to take nice IG photos from the open-top bus.

The Audio Guide was very helpful and the perky guide was very nice! I would totally recommend taking this tour. I will definitely do it again when I get the chance!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Pleasant Ride

Reviewed by: E. Moor, 2017/05/17

Nice intro to the city, all for a very reasonable price. Seats were comfy and the sights were a delight. Barely used the audio guide, though.


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome Night!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2017/05/17

The tour is perfect for first-time Tokyo visitors. The bus took us around the must-see sights such as the Tokyo Tower, Rainbow Bridge, Odaiba Marine Park, Tokyo's version of the Statue of Liberty and the Kabuki-za Theater (I can't remember the rest!). There was an audio guide that translated the commentaries, which was helpful, but after a while I took it off and just kind of figured it out. We went for the night tour in May and it was still pretty chilly, so be sure to bring a jacket!


  • Tokyo's Statue of Liberty with the Rainbow Bridge in the background

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Less Expensive than London Hop On/Off

Reviewed by: TokyoTime, 2017/05/17

Good price/quality, although the audio can be a bit funny at times (some of the descriptions had us in fits, because they were unintentionally hilarious). Tokyo Tower's lights came on right as we passed by, which was really pretty


Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/07/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Brisk tour of Tokyo!

Reviewed by: Jas, 2017/05/17

It was nice seeing some of the highlights of Tokyo in a quick time. The audio guide had pretty strange facts that I didn't know about Tokyo too. But after a while, I just decided to ignore the audio and just enjoy the view.
Even in May after the sun went down it was rather cold!


  • Symbol of Tokyo!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Had a great time

Reviewed by: Cali, 2017/05/14

The tour was really nice and I got to see a lot of Tokyo that I might not have gone to otherwise. I was able to do all three route in one day, but that was with only getting off at two stops for an hour each. So you might only be able to do two of the routes if you want to get off at more places. I did notice a slight problem with the recorded tour cutting off and skipping to the next section if we were going to fast, but it didn't happen too often. Would definitely recommend if you want a quick overview of the area to see where it is you want to explore more later.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Not as good as I'd hoped

Reviewed by: dbuley, 2017/05/09

All 3 trips are worthwhile and there's adequate English translation. However I found the time between pickups too long. It meant that if you got off at a couple of things you struggled to complete the loop. They need a few more buses to make the average waiting time 30 minutes, not 60 or 90 minutes.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Bus Tour

Reviewed by: Virgil, 2017/05/07

Customer service was great other than you have long waits at bus stops which can range from hour and half to two hours until pick up time.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/05/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Slow

Reviewed by: Markus, 2017/04/18

5 Persons at ticket counter could process only 1 ticket per 3 minutes

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good value for money as one can visit Tokyo in a day

Reviewed by: Lydia Teo, 2017/03/28

After reading many reviews some positive and negative, we decided to try this Hop on Hop off bus ride. We (group of 10) started late due to our distance from Tokyo Station. As we got off the station we asked around to finally get to Mitsubishi building which one cannot miss its signage. It was freezing cold that day on 25th and we did our first ride through the first to last stop on the blue line. It was interesting as we listened to the introductions of the places we passed by through the ear recorder in the language we preferred. Personally, I felt I gained more knowledge as the voice introduced the places we passed through in the comfort of the open decker bus. We then took the purple line to Ginza /Tsukiji. By the time we reached Tsukiji, some shops started closing at 1.30pm. It is best to go early in the morning . We were left with not much time to visit Asakuse instead we took the last bus to go round to view the Tokyo Rainbow bridge in the night. It was a different sight when viewed in the night with all the llightings. I am very sure when the cherry blossoms are in full bloom next week, it is a good idea to take this hop-on hop-off bus as we passed the cherry trees which was budding then.

We are going to recommend our friends who will be visiting Tokyo to try out this bus as it is money well spent to enjoy the whole of Tokyo in a day.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Blue and Purple bus route

Reviewed by: Chris, 2017/02/12

Overall, I am happy we took your bus tour. We learned much about Tokyo and its history. However, when we got off for a cup of coffee on the Purple line we discovered that the next bus wouldn't be there for over 3 hours. Had to take a cab to get back to the hotel for our dinner reservation. Also, the taped message on the Blue line was not synchronized correctly and was off by several minutes. It was very difficult to place the narrative with the correct scenery.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/02/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great start

Reviewed by: Richard. , 2017/01/06

This was our first time visiting Japan and this was a good way to start our vacation We boarded the sky bus at 3pm and found places we wanted to go back and explore the following day. The audio recording was helpful in giving suggestions of what is available to explore at each stop. The stop was easy to find when wanting to hop back on the bus.
We enjoyed the sky bus tour and the tickets worth worth the price. The entire family found it worth the price, even the teenagers. The tour was fun for the entire family. :) We will return to Japan to do more exploring.
Thank you sky bus team!! Especially the bus driver!!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great way to get a feel for the city

Reviewed by: Bella, 2017/01/05

This is a great way to get an overview of Tokyo and have the ability to get off and explore. We did two of the three lines and felt we had a better layout of Tokyo.
My teenagers even enjoyed it after hours of teasing me prior to arriving for our first ride. The hop on/hop off ability was very nice and the recommendations of why to get off and explore from the audio were helpful. . The stops were easy to find when you wanted to get onto the bus.
It is worth the price and we will ride the sky bus again when we are back in Tokyo. Thanks sky bus for showing us around Tokyo and areas to explore.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/01/03
1 people find this helpful!
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good tour experience

Reviewed by: May chan, 2016/12/15

This is the first time we visited Tokyo with young children, we chose hop on hop off bus to get an overview of Tokyo. It's very easy for us to find their ticket office in Mitsubishi building, there are plenty of restaurants inside the building thus you can grab someting before boarding the bus. Bus arrival is super on time, clean and spacious. The route design also allow us to view most of the attractive places, bus attendants are helpful and polite.

There are three routes per day for travelers to choose, we managed to go blue & purple line within 24hours, I would strongly advise a well time planning is essential for you to finish all routes.

The disadvantage of the bus route is the bus didn't stop in front of the tourist places, e.g. Sensoji temple (Asakusa line) & Tsukiji fish market. There are about 10min walking distance, as I said, this is our first time in Tokyo, I need to remember where the bus stop is, so that I can find it after visiting the tourist places.

Besides, this is good to have Multilingual Audio Guide in English, Chinese, Korean and Japanese. However, the audio guide will suddenly switch to next introduction before ending the current one. I think this need improvement so that complete information is provided as described






Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience to tour around

Reviewed by: Mei Wong , 2016/12/15

This is the first time we visited Tokyo with young children, we chose hop on hop off bus to get an overview of Tokyo. It's very easy for us to find their ticket office in Mitsubishi building, there are plenty of restaurants inside the building thus you can grab someting before boarding the bus. Bus arrival is super on time, clean and spacious. The route design also allow us to view most of the attractive places, bus attendants are helpful and polite.

There are three routes per day for travelers to choose, we managed to go blue & purple line within 24hours, I would strongly advise a well time planning is essential for you to finish all routes.

The disadvantage of the bus route is the bus didn't stop in front of the tourist places, e.g. Sensoji temple (Asakusa line) & Tsukiji fish market. There are about 10min walking distance, as I said, this is our first time in Tokyo, I need to remember where the bus stop is, so that I can find it after visiting the tourist places.

Besides, this is good to have Multilingual Audio Guide in English, Chinese, Korean and Japanese. However, the audio guide will suddenly switch to next introduction before ending the current one. I think this need improvement so that complete information is provided as described.






Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/12/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hop on hop off of Tokyo city

Reviewed by: Dorothy, 2016/11/13

Bus drivers very helpful, staff generally very kind and helpful. The two routes we took encompassed quite a great deal of the city. We preferred the route that took in the Rainbow bridge. We had a job finding the office to collect our ticket after getting our online voucher, but a kindly bus driver took us to the office and dropped us off. Once there we were able to get our tickets and were off. The bus is hop on hop off but limited in time, so we were only able to do the two routes in one day as there was a gap over lunch time, which is why we found a little restaurant near the office to while away the time until the afternoon bus. They are not as frequent as we have found in other cities, but on the whole worthwhile for the money.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Ok but not amazing

Reviewed by: Kerry, 2016/10/30

The bus ride is fine for a speedy trip through parts of Tokyo. We had good weather, but I would not do this in the rain. The guide was a bit out of sync at some points and cut the commentary short when you went past locations at higher speeds. It was a good intro to Tokyo, but I am not sure I would recommend it for the price.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Hop on Hop off in Tokyo

Reviewed by: Bobby, 2016/10/29

Unfortunately, rain was pouring down this day. We got all wet on the bus. Can only visit Asakusa Temple. Not a memorable day to speak off.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/10/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo sky bus

Reviewed by: Diana, 2016/07/31

Enjoyed our time on the hop on, hop off bus. The first loop we did was Asakusa course and got off and on the busses at different stops. We were able to see some major sights and the time in between the bus returns was reasonable with about an hour time frame. We then did the Odaiba Course and only got off at a one stop since the time frame was over an hour for the next bus and it was getting late. We enjoyed having the transportation around Tokyo since it was our first time there and it helped us determine what sites we would like to return to the next few days using the subways. I would highly recommend this tour for first time guests in Tokyo.



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best Way to Tour Tokyo if you dont' have enough time!

Reviewed by: Winnie Navarro, 2016/07/28

Hop on Hop off is the best way to Tour Tokyo when on a limited time. It gives you enough information of the sites as you go around the city. They also have 3 selections for Tour routes which you can access. Also allows you to go around without having to use the subways.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

informative ride

Reviewed by: Aro ocampo, 2016/06/16

we enjoyed our sightseeing, cllimate was just right as we cross the rainbow bridge. we discovered so many things about Japan's diff locations, very informative and helpful to in selecting places we want to explore on our limited time in Tokyo. we were glad that we book hop on hop off.


  • waiting for our flight to tokyo , narita.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Must Do!

Reviewed by: Hoai My Winder, 2016/04/30

When coming in to any new place to visit, we look for bus tours such as this. The tour was informative and gave us an idea of places we would want to return to and explore fully. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was worried about using a service such as Veltra but I had no problems whatsoever. We plan on doing the bus tour again when friends visit and using Veltra. Highly recommend!


  • Our family on the bus tour

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/04/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 |

Tokyo Categories