Wear Kimono in Asakusa with a Rental Dress Up Experience in Tokyo

Great experience and beautiful pictures!

Reviewed by: Adele, 2017/08/13

I had a really good time meeting Hiroshi and learning more about Asakusa and the Japanese culture. It was really nice wearing the kimono and the ladies at the studio did such a pretty hairstyle for me. The photos came out great. I am very happy I did this.


Reply from activity provider

Thank you for such a wonderful comment. And, we all were very pleased and honored to have you over our studio. We expect we can meet you sometime again!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing experience

Reviewed by: Delphine , 2017/08/07

This was an amazing experience. The staff is so nice and speaks English and did an awesome job. It's not cheap but make sure to also do the make up and have someone to take pictures. While wandering around in Asakusa, people will look at you amazed and amused. This is really unique!


Reply from activity provider

Hello, Delphine Thank you so much for a nice comment. We were very happy and honor to have you over our shop! We provide you with fabulous photos by our studio`s photographer, and we also have a makeup artist as well. We look forward to serving you with those next time. See you again! Best regards,

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/08/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience!!

Reviewed by: Esther Feng, 2017/07/08

Really felt like I was part of the Japanese culture!! They let you pick out the kimono and then help style your hair in a really pretty way to match your kimono with a cute hair accessory :) definitely would try again next time I'm in japan


Reply from activity provider

Hello, Esther Feng.
Thank you so much for a splendid comment!
Our service could not be better for the customers, like, you felt you were part of the Japanese culture.
We are very so happy to hear that!
Thank you so much.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/07/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Explored Asakusa and Senso-ji Temple in a Kimono!

Reviewed by: Anna, 2017/06/12

Newfound respect for the ladies who had to wear kimonos on a daily basis back in the day! I didn't know the prep was so tedious. It was both surprisingly fun and tiring to walk in a kimono. We ate street food, shopped around Orange St and walked to Senso-ji Temple while we were wearing them. We were lucky that the place where we rented it from had actual silk kimonos instead of polyester because it was a very hot Sunday afternoon. Would recommend this experience to first time Tokyo visitors!


  • Senso-ji Temple and some kimono-clad ladies (and a samurai-clad gent)

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So that's how it feels like! :)

Reviewed by: John Paul, 2017/05/24

I was the only guy in the room! Why did it felt like I'm the only one who tried to wear it that day, haha! But I guess it's not a bad thing? :D Wearing the Kimono in public feels a little bit awkward at first, but as we go on, it feels fine. Maybe one of the most unforgettable experiences I had :)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our studio. We will have more variety kinds of kimonos for male as well. Please come to our shop again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Dress-up

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2017/05/23

I didn't enjoy this tour. I didn't expect that I had to strip off my clothes in a space (with just a cloth as a door) with other strangers. Wearing the kimono was uncomfortable. It was heavy and complicated to wear (and take off). That particular day was also hot, so I was all sweaty and uneasy while walking outside. Good thing about this tour was the friendly staff at the Sakura Photo Studio.




Reply from activity provider

We appreciate customers who let us know when things are not right. We are sorry you did not feel good with wearing kimono. Kimono is traditional wear that people need to put those in patience because of process to wear and with lots of layer clothes sometimes. Lots of people understand that. We are sorry for dressing room curtain. Extreme expression, `you had to strip off with other guests`? We never treat customers like that, anyways. We let our staff this issue notice as a serious warning if some of our staff treat you like that.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: JJC, 2017/05/22

Good and efficient service. Staffs are very helpful. It is definitely one of the highlights for our Tokyo trip. Must try activity.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for great comment! We are looking forward to having you over here in Tokyo again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Luisa, 2017/05/22

It was great and service was great. Location is good so that you can go and take pictures with amazing scenarios!! :)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for the comment. We expect you to come to our shop again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/05/21

It was a great experience, my mum loved it!! I am glad our booking was early as by the time we came back it was a little but hectic. Also, they need to put signs out or something more visual out so people can find the shop. We caught a cab, as we were running late, but if we caught public transport we would be really lost.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Rental In Asakusa

Reviewed by: Girl's Day, 2017/04/10

I visited Tokyo with my two daughters. The kimono rental dress-up was the highlight of our trip. The ladies that dressed us and did our hair were so nice. It was such a fun experience that I would highly recommend.


Reply from activity provider

thank you so much for your comment!
We expect you to come to our shop again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Roxie, 2017/03/25

I scheduled our appointment for the very first of the day and was so glad that I did. We were the only ones there and had our pick of so many kimonos that I almost couldn't decide which one to wear. When we came back to return our kimonos, the studio was full with three or four people. The woman who runs the place speaks good english and was so sweet and delightful. She made the whole experience of picking out our kimonos and dressing so much fun. The best part was getting to walk around Tokyo in our kimonos. At first we were a little anxious, because we seemed to be getting a lot of looks. The Japanese people seemed to get a kick out of seeing foreigners dressed in kimonos as they'd mostly smile and do the little nod bow thing. We walked from the studio to Nakamise shopping street and Sensoji shrine. By the time we'd gotten through those two sight seeing places we started to see a lot of other people dressed in kimonos. As we saw the other people in kimonos, I realized how much nicer the Sakura studio dressing experience was than all the others as we looked way better than everyone else we saw. My husband had the kimono top with the hakama pants on and the kimono jacket over top. The other men I saw had just the kimono and jacket, no pants. It could have been a choice on their part, I'm not sure, but I thought the pants looked better. My obi was an actual obi that the woman tied into a really cool knot and added a second accent pre-tied knot that made it look really cool. The other women I saw walking around had only a pretty poor looking pre-tied obi on. We also got to pick out Zori sandals and a kimono purse to go with our kimonos. I was also surprised at how warm the whole getup was. It was around 50 degrees outside the whole day but I wasn't cold at all, and I usually get cold very easily. Overall, I would recommend this activity, and I would definitely recommend the Sakura Studio.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Roxie
Thank you very much for such a great compliments!
We were really happy and honor to have you two over here at our studio.
We also have photo option plans, and guide service on location.
We will expect to have you here again sometime!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Unique Experience

Reviewed by: Amanda F., 2017/01/04

My wife and I did this experience together. The dressing studio is small and bustling, and being able to experience the art of formal kimono dressing was something we will never forget. Although we were the only foreigners there, suggesting this place does a robust local business, the English-speaking assistant was very accommodating. We were given a variety of beautiful kimonos to choose from, and ended up adding on a photo shoot package at the last minute, which they were great about. I have already recommended this experience to a friend who is traveling to Tokyo in a couple weeks.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for coming to our studio, and it`s our honor to have your compliment. We are very much looking forward to having you over our studio again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10, Would Do Again

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2016/11/25

I brought my family to Asakusa, solely to participate in this activity. At first, they were very apphrehensive, but after donning the kimonos with the help and reassurances of the staff, my parents enjoyed this as much as I, a young adult, did!
If you're looking for a fun family activity, or an activity that allows you to dress up and admire the beauty of Japan's reach history, then this is the one for you! The staff are super duper helpful, and assisted us in finding the best places to photograph our outing! The staff also pointed us to Kaminarimon, a Japanese gate whose shopping street leads you directly to Senso-ji, Asakusa's most famous temple!
My only regret is that the selection of kimonos mostly consists of flower themed fabric; there were little to none featuring animals such as skylarks, koi, or even just trees and branches. But other than that, this experience was well worth it!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Jelena, 2016/08/14

I went here for a kimono dressup and I selected the option for a make-up session as well. The ladies were welcoming and very friendly. They had a lot of kimono's to choose from, and the kimono's they had were beautiful. The make-up and hair was also beautifully done (using brands such as MAC!).
I recommend this to anyone that wishes to dress up in a kimono and walk around beautiful Tokyo. There are Nice parks and sights closeby by which lovely pictures can be taken!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Rental and Photo Shoot

Reviewed by: happyfeet3563, 2016/07/17

My son, nephew, and I did the kimono plan and photo shoot around Asakusa in early June 2016. The pictures were fantastic! The whole experience was the highlight of our trip in Japan. I’m looking forward to returning with my daughter and doing this again!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mother/daughter experience

Reviewed by: Penny, 2016/07/13

I did this with my 12y.o daughter. It was a great experience. Even though we don't speak Japanese, the ladies looked after us and did our hair & makeup as well as dressed us. They were very friendly and polite. The dressing up was just as much fun as the walking about. We only lasted 90 mins in costume as it was a hot sultry day and a festival was on so very crowded when we walked to the temple.


  • Many people wanted to photograph my daughter, and especially old women were appreciative of us being in kimonos.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/07/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sooo beautiful Kimonos& kind staffs!!

Reviewed by: Sejung, Hwang, 2016/06/21

I have been there with my mom and staffs were super kind. This studio has various kimonos and flowers. My mother was touched by delicate caring. When we put on kimono, they cared so much and it was all authentic and traditional way. They were very considerate.
When we went outside, so many people asked us to take photos. It was one of my happy memory. Thank you very much and we will come back to you with my sister! :)




Reply from activity provider

We are so grateful that we could serve you in Asakusa.
Thank you so much!
We are looking forward to serving you again.

thank you
sakura photo stuido
감사합니다.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/06/16
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Rental at Sakura Photo Studio

Reviewed by: Yolette, 2016/06/11

Short review: BOOK IT NOW! Do not hesitate and just do it!

Detailed review:
My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time! We got to choose from a huge collection of kimonos (seemed like 100+ styles for women). The ladies spoke English decently and put in a lot of effort to putting on my kimono. I am on the bustier side (34Ds) and after teasing that they were "too big", the lady wrapped them up tightly and made me feel and look beautiful (so don't be worried, busty ladies!).

I didn't have a choice on hairstyle (or I wasn't asked what I wanted). I just let the lady do what she felt was best. After doing my hair, I got to choose a hair piece from the "free" collection or fancier ones for an extra 500 yen.

We then roamed Asakusa and felt like celebrities! Everyone were taking pictures of us and with us. One thing I regret forgetting to do was buying an umbrella to look even more the part, but we still had a blast!

I definitely recommend this to everyone! Try to go right when they open so you have the first pick for kimonos!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Good experience

Reviewed by: Lolly, 2016/05/23

We arrived to a room full of other customers and it felt a little cramped and rushed at first, however the workers were attentive and meticulous with the kimono dressing. The overall experience was great and is a must for a first timer.
P.s. be prepared to be the centre of attention as a lot of people will be looking at you and asking for pictures...

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Worth it!

Reviewed by: Anoc, 2016/05/07

My friend and I wanted to wear kimono and just got the day rental, with the first appointment at 930am. Being able to wear the kimono for the whole day in Tokyo was definitely worth the price. They do your hair and we loved our hairstyles! The quality of the materials were also much nicer than some of the rentals we saw people walking around in. The ladies who worked there were also very kind. I highly recommend!

Reply from activity provider

We are so grateful that we could serve you in Asakusa.
Thank you so much!
We are looking forward to serving you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great experience!

Reviewed by: Emilie and friends, 2016/04/03

The ladies at the studio were lovely, they made us feel really welcome and our time at the studio had a great atmosphere. The kimonos were stunning and there was a large variety of high-quality kimono to choose from. Thank you ladies for a lovely experience, we will most definitely be back again :)



Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Must Do Experience in Asakusa!

Reviewed by: Maiko, 2016/04/02

I could not have asked for a better way to spend my vacation day in Asakusa than being able to roam around with a Kimono. The moment I entered their office, I was greeted immediately by the ladies there, and I can attest that they are all professionals. There's an array of kimonos and hakamas to choose from, and it only took less than 30 minutes for them to dress me. For women, they even fix your hair for you. When I posted up my pictures, all of my friends who visited Japan before were jealous that I got to experience this. This is definitely another way to immerse yourself in the culture, and a great way to spend your visit in Japan.

Thank you to the ladies for being so dandy! You will be pleased to know that I recommended you to all of my friends and family.





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Asakusa kimono rental

Reviewed by: Judy S, 2016/03/30

Located on a side street will need directions or map. Helpful ladies at Sakura Photo Studio quickly dress you. Selection of different colors. Memorable experience to walk around in kimono attire!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Ilaria , 2016/03/27

The kimono experience was awesome!
The whole outfit and hair do made me feel a bit Japanese, all the ladies who took care of it were lovely.
The photographer was great too, and an amazing guide too!in on of the best locations in Tokyo.
Truly recommended.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2016/03/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Awesome experience for adult and kid!

Reviewed by: Emily, 2016/03/23

We had an awesome experience! There were plenty of beautiful kimono choices and the staff were very friendly, efficient and professional! My daughter who is 4 yo totally enjoyed the experience too!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/03/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great experience

Reviewed by: Sasha, 2016/02/27

We love sakura studio as their provide fast and efficient service from the kimono choosing process and hair do. Some how just a minor irritation when its get too crowded in the shop. There is no personal room/separate room for gents or ladies as well as locker to put your valuable stuff. Its kinda bit of discomfort when other guy looking at you dressing up. Make sure to wear not see through clothing for your inner because you need to wear your kimono in-front of others. Overall, it can be improve in future and the host is great in many languages!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2016/02/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Crazy environment but GOOD price and Better service

Reviewed by: Robert, 2015/11/29

These women work so hard to "get it right" so the tight quarters become almost a part of the experience.


Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2015/11/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

great day! great dress!

Reviewed by: Doc Nice, 2015/11/05

I've always wondered how it felt like to wear a Kimono. I never knew how elaborate it is to wear it, until I tried it. It was so beautiful... I was carefully dressed up from head to foot by three people, as if I was a VIP. Their efforts paid off since many strangers praised how I looked.Walking around wearing the Kimono was an experience I'll never forget. In fact, I will do it again if I will have the chance to go back to Japan.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2015/10/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Sakura Studio!

Reviewed by: Minh, 2015/09/28

Wowowoow.. It was an amazing experience. We are late cause we got lost but when we got there they were super friendly. it was the highlight of our trip! We love every bit of it.


  • Love it! =)

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2015/09/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Time in Asakusa

Reviewed by: Oradee, 2015/09/11

I am very impressed with service and Kimono dressed up experience in Asakusa last year so this year I returning with my two brothers. Both of them get an attention from tourist some tourist asked them if they can take their photos. I wear my own Yukata this year but the service my brother received was great with professional and attention. They dressed up in about 15 minutes after chosen the Kimono. I would recommended Kimonos dressed up experience if anyone plan to come to Asakusa.


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2015/08/10
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 |

Tokyo Categories