Wear Kimono in Asakusa with a Rental Dress Up Experience in Tokyo

So that's how it feels like! :)

Reviewed by: John Paul, 2017/05/24

I was the only guy in the room! Why did it felt like I'm the only one who tried to wear it that day, haha! But I guess it's not a bad thing? :D Wearing the Kimono in public feels a little bit awkward at first, but as we go on, it feels fine. Maybe one of the most unforgettable experiences I had :)

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for coming to our studio. We will have more variety kinds of kimonos for male as well. Please come to our shop again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Dress-up

Reviewed by: Sheila, 2017/05/23

I didn't enjoy this tour. I didn't expect that I had to strip off my clothes in a space (with just a cloth as a door) with other strangers. Wearing the kimono was uncomfortable. It was heavy and complicated to wear (and take off). That particular day was also hot, so I was all sweaty and uneasy while walking outside. Good thing about this tour was the friendly staff at the Sakura Photo Studio.




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/21
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Highly recommend

Reviewed by: JJC, 2017/05/22

Good and efficient service. Staffs are very helpful. It is definitely one of the highlights for our Tokyo trip. Must try activity.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for great comment! We are looking forward to having you over here in Tokyo again!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/05/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Amazing Experience

Reviewed by: Luisa, 2017/05/22

It was great and service was great. Location is good so that you can go and take pictures with amazing scenarios!! :)

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/04/25
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono

Reviewed by: Kim, 2017/05/21

It was a great experience, my mum loved it!! I am glad our booking was early as by the time we came back it was a little but hectic. Also, they need to put signs out or something more visual out so people can find the shop. We caught a cab, as we were running late, but if we caught public transport we would be really lost.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Kimono Rental In Asakusa

Reviewed by: Girl's Day, 2017/04/10

I visited Tokyo with my two daughters. The kimono rental dress-up was the highlight of our trip. The ladies that dressed us and did our hair were so nice. It was such a fun experience that I would highly recommend.


Reply from activity provider

thank you so much for your comment!
We expect you to come to our shop again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2017/03/31
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

So much fun!

Reviewed by: Roxie, 2017/03/25

I scheduled our appointment for the very first of the day and was so glad that I did. We were the only ones there and had our pick of so many kimonos that I almost couldn't decide which one to wear. When we came back to return our kimonos, the studio was full with three or four people. The woman who runs the place speaks good english and was so sweet and delightful. She made the whole experience of picking out our kimonos and dressing so much fun. The best part was getting to walk around Tokyo in our kimonos. At first we were a little anxious, because we seemed to be getting a lot of looks. The Japanese people seemed to get a kick out of seeing foreigners dressed in kimonos as they'd mostly smile and do the little nod bow thing. We walked from the studio to Nakamise shopping street and Sensoji shrine. By the time we'd gotten through those two sight seeing places we started to see a lot of other people dressed in kimonos. As we saw the other people in kimonos, I realized how much nicer the Sakura studio dressing experience was than all the others as we looked way better than everyone else we saw. My husband had the kimono top with the hakama pants on and the kimono jacket over top. The other men I saw had just the kimono and jacket, no pants. It could have been a choice on their part, I'm not sure, but I thought the pants looked better. My obi was an actual obi that the woman tied into a really cool knot and added a second accent pre-tied knot that made it look really cool. The other women I saw walking around had only a pretty poor looking pre-tied obi on. We also got to pick out Zori sandals and a kimono purse to go with our kimonos. I was also surprised at how warm the whole getup was. It was around 50 degrees outside the whole day but I wasn't cold at all, and I usually get cold very easily. Overall, I would recommend this activity, and I would definitely recommend the Sakura Studio.

Reply from activity provider

Hello, Roxie
Thank you very much for such a great compliments!
We were really happy and honor to have you two over here at our studio.
We also have photo option plans, and guide service on location.
We will expect to have you here again sometime!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A Unique Experience

Reviewed by: Amanda F., 2017/01/04

My wife and I did this experience together. The dressing studio is small and bustling, and being able to experience the art of formal kimono dressing was something we will never forget. Although we were the only foreigners there, suggesting this place does a robust local business, the English-speaking assistant was very accommodating. We were given a variety of beautiful kimonos to choose from, and ended up adding on a photo shoot package at the last minute, which they were great about. I have already recommended this experience to a friend who is traveling to Tokyo in a couple weeks.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for coming to our studio, and it`s our honor to have your compliment. We are very much looking forward to having you over our studio again!

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2016/12/29
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

10/10, Would Do Again

Reviewed by: Hannah, 2016/11/25

I brought my family to Asakusa, solely to participate in this activity. At first, they were very apphrehensive, but after donning the kimonos with the help and reassurances of the staff, my parents enjoyed this as much as I, a young adult, did!
If you're looking for a fun family activity, or an activity that allows you to dress up and admire the beauty of Japan's reach history, then this is the one for you! The staff are super duper helpful, and assisted us in finding the best places to photograph our outing! The staff also pointed us to Kaminarimon, a Japanese gate whose shopping street leads you directly to Senso-ji, Asakusa's most famous temple!
My only regret is that the selection of kimonos mostly consists of flower themed fabric; there were little to none featuring animals such as skylarks, koi, or even just trees and branches. But other than that, this experience was well worth it!


Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/11/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful

Reviewed by: Jelena, 2016/08/14

I went here for a kimono dressup and I selected the option for a make-up session as well. The ladies were welcoming and very friendly. They had a lot of kimono's to choose from, and the kimono's they had were beautiful. The make-up and hair was also beautifully done (using brands such as MAC!).
I recommend this to anyone that wishes to dress up in a kimono and walk around beautiful Tokyo. There are Nice parks and sights closeby by which lovely pictures can be taken!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2016/08/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]
Page Previous | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 |

Tokyo Categories