Full-Day Private Mt. Fuji 5th Station and Lake Kawaguchi Tour from Tokyo reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

Full-Day Private Mt. Fuji 5th Station and Lake Kawaguchi Tour from Tokyo

Overall Rating

4.88 4.88 / 5

Reviews

16 reviews
Post a review

Awesome Mt.Fuji!

Reviewed by: Chu Chee Peng, 2019/12/07

Our tour guide Mr Tetsuya "Teddy" ISHIDA, and driver 林 were very punctual and very friendly. He speak good in mandarin and English.
This trip is completely tailored to suit our family of five (3, 9 and 12 year old)
We were all blown away with how well we all enjoyed our day trip. We managed to get some brilliant images of Mt. Fuji. Highly recommended- money well spent

  • Beautiful of Mt Fuji!

  • Diamond

  • I jump!

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/12/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Oh Darn, It Rained

Reviewed by: Sara and Walt , 2019/12/01

We hoped to see Mt. Fuji, but, unfortunately, it rained the day of our booked tour and Mt. Fuji was not to be seen. But all was not lost. Our driver, Toshi, picked us up promptly at the scheduled time and drove us to the Mt. Fuji area. On the way he gave us information on local sites that we passed. Our guide, Yuko, was very knowledgeable and gave us options for our rainy day. Our driver and guide learned that we liked to hike so we went to a beautiful shrine at the base of Mt. Fuji and hiked on an ancient trail to the first station. A great way to experience Mt. Fuji on a rainy day. Yuko gave much information on local customs and the Shinto religion involving the mountain. We then had a leisurely lunch at a local restaurant. Following this, we chose to go to a museum featuring a world renowned textile artist who made kimono art. These were fabulous. It was then late in the day and we traveled back to Tokyo. A different experience than we hoped for due to the rain, but a memorable and enjoyable day thanks to Toshi and Yuko. We definitely recommend their services for guide and driver for the Mt. Fuji tour. They’re the best!

  • The Shinto Shrine at the base of Mt. Fuji

  • Our hike to the first station on Mt. Fuji.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2019/11/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fujitastic!

Reviewed by: DazzS, 2019/11/09

We had a wonderful day out with our driver, Tuk and our local guide, Yuko. We saw a quick film of Fuji and the information centre then went to fifth station to visit the shrine and to admire a closer view of Mount Fuji and the surrounding areas. We then visited a local restaurant for delicious noodles and sake. We then continued to Arakurayama Sengen Park to take photos of Mount Fuji with the Pagoda and continued to enjoy the local markets and stalls and the Autumn Leaves Festival at Kawaguchiko. We were able to take phots of Mount Fuji from a variety of different locations and our day was well paced as we have young children (3, 6 and 11 years).
Our day was pleasant as our guide and driver were very knowledgeable, polite, friendly and accommodated our preferences. Highly recommend this tour if you like your own space and you’re travelling in a small group.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2019/11/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Perfect private tour of Mt. Fuji & Surrounding area

Reviewed by: MC from Canada, 2019/07/12

My family (3 adults, 2 children) had an incredible time during this tour which was individualized for us based on our requests and preferences. Our guide Takashi was extremely knowledgeable, spoke excellent English and taught us so much about not only Mt. Fuji but Japan and Japanese culture. Additionally, Takashi’s broad international knowledge and understanding provided an added perspective and important context on Japan’s place globally today. Our driver Toshi was also excellent and entertaining and because of his understanding of weather patterns on the mountain, we made 2 critical stops along the way that allowed us to see the peak despite some poor weather conditions overall. Takashi took us to an incredible restaurant for lunch, a meal that all of us enjoyed and none of us will forget. An incredible trip overall which was made even better by the connection we made with our guide Takashi. On a personal note, I left my phone in the vehicle and Takashi & Toshi ensured that it was returned to me the same evening! It was much appreciated! I would highly recommend this private tour and ask for Takashi!

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for your excellent review with such detailed description. It is very kind of you. Toshi and I are very pleased to know that we contributed to your family having a good time in Japan. It was our pleasure to have such a lovely family as you as our guest. We also had a wonderful time with you as we really enjoyed discussing various issues relating to Japan, Canada and the rest of the world. I hope that you also enjoyed your travel in Western Japan. Please give our best regards to the rest of the family. All the best wishes. Takashi

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/07/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A great trip to Mt. Fuji area

Reviewed by: Intan, 2019/06/11

My family and I took the private tour arranged by Tokyo Star Agency to the Mt. Fuji area, not to the Mt. Fuji itself, but rather to the surrounding areas such as Lake Saiko, Saiko Iyashino-Sato Nenba, Hanaterasu, Mt. Fuji Ropeway and also a visit to the local sake brewery, Ide Sake. Our tour guide, Mrs. Yuko Matsuka was an amazing lady and spoke good English. She lives in the Mt. Fuji area so she has extensive knowledge about this particular region. I really adored her. She also paid attention to my daughters' needs, I could tell that she's sincere and thoughtful. She took us for lunch at Maple Restaurant, the food was very good, enjoyed by my kids and also myself. It was one of the many great meals I've had during my trip in Japan.
Although what we hoped for was to see Mt. Fuji from a far unfortunately didn't come true due to the weather (it was covered with clouds), yet we weren't disappointed since Mrs. Yuko tried her best to entertain us and took us to alternative spots for us to enjoy the day. I also need to mention our driver, Mr. Kenichi Higashi, who was a good driver and also very friendly. He made sure that we're well informed about the traffic condition; also was keen to offer us to make stops at the rest station along the highway.
Overall, I do recommend everyone who's interested in taking a private tour to Mt. Fuji area, to choose the Tokyo Star Agency's service.

Reply from activity provider

Dear Intan-san,

Thank you for writing such a positive review for the driver, Kenichi-san and me!
We are so flattered. Also, we appreciate your detailed description of our tour.
I suppose your recommendation will invite other people, especially the people who want to travel with their family,
to the places you have visited. I would like to say thank you again and I expect hopefully we will be able to meet you and your family here in Japan next time.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/06/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Higashi is the best! 东谦一真棒!

Reviewed by: LKL, 2019/04/04

Higashi is my Chinese-speaking Japanese born private
tour guide and having worked in China for many years, he is a gem that could give us Japanese culture and yet be able to relate to us - we are a Singaporean family (I was with my 70 year old mother and 2 sisters). He paced the entire trip nicely taking into account our speed, to the extent of serving our food needs and even accompany us to shopping to wherever we want and with such patience for a man! Encourage all to book him!

东谦一是我们的日本长大又能说中文的私人导游。他在中国工作了很多年,所以美好的融合了日本传统又能够跟我们的文化接近。由于我带了70岁的妈妈和两个妹妹,他完美得随我们的步伐导游,恰到好处。他更帮我们照顾周到, 餐饮和购物都随我们一起走,帮我们翻译,难能可贵的一个导游。大家请指定他为你的导游!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2019/04/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Full-Day Private Mt. Fuji and Lake Kawaguchi Tour from Tokyo / Mt.Fuji 5th Station and Lake Kawaguchi Tour

Reviewed by: Jeannette and Tony, 2018/10/02

Overall tour was excellent. Long drive, but that was to be expected. Nori was friendly and informative.
Climate control in van needed to be more efficient.
Lunch stop location was excellent. Participants pay for own lunch, not included with tour price.
Tour stops were not the typical tourist stops, but more local attractions which were wonderful and not at all crowded.

  • off the beaten path shrine in cedar grove

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your warm words! Very happy to hear from you... It was a pleasure for us as well to spend with you all!!! Cloud sea was so beautiful, wasn't it? So sorry for the climate control in van and thank you for letting us know... Please say hi to everyone and thank you very much again!!! Noriko

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/09/27
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Couldn't be happier

Reviewed by: DiJoyce, 2018/04/06

Endo-San was waiting for us at the appointed time in our hotel, he is truly fluent and an excellent guide and we had a knowledgeable and fun day. The other thing that was memorable was our udon lunch in a small restaurant (inn?) which was both delicious and good value. We ended the wonderful day with 45 minutes in an onsen - my first in an open-air onsen, looking at Mt Fuji. Of course thanks to God who gave us perfect weather and thus a marvellous view of the mountain. I would recommend Endo-San to anyone traveller.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/04/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Wonderful tour of Mt Fuji

Reviewed by: Don, 2018/03/28

This tour made me enjoy seeing Mt Fuji at our own pace. We were picked up by a good driver and a knowledgeable tour guide. Upon riding the van wee discussed first the final.itinerary. the guide Akiko detailed out the places we were visiting and their significance. So we proceeded as planned to the heritage center shrine lunch near the pond and the lake. My family enjoyed it very much especially at our own pace. I highly recommend this tour to small groups.

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/26
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt Fuji Experience

Reviewed by: Erth C4, 2018/01/28

The tour was really enjoyable and educative. The sceneries were amazing. The tour guide was very kind and accommodating to assist us and extend extra services to his customers.
It was only frustrating that we did not reach the 5th station since the access was closed due to the climate condition. However, the overall experience was great

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/01/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Taiji Endo is an exceptional guide

Reviewed by: MML, 2017/05/26

On the morning of our tour, our guide, Taiji was waiting when we exited our hotel lobby. After introductions, Taiji familiarized himself with folding my wife’s wheelchair. Once we were in our seats, we explained that we would prefer not to participate in the hot springs bathing. Taiji accepted this and said we should still see the lakes and towns along the way to Mount Fuji as they are quite remarkable.

Taiji took us to the World Heritage Site Visitor Center where we watched an informative video about Mount Fuji. It was there that my wife noticed photography by Rocky Tanaka. We later learned Taiji and he are friends. At the end of our tour Taiji arranged for us to meet with Mr. Tanaka so we could view his gallery and purchase a piece of his art.

From the Visitor Center, we traveled on to see lakes and ponds which have formed by snow melt from Mount Fuji. Some of the villages along the way also exist only because Mount Fuji is towering in the distance. Mount Fuji is a Religious symbol to the Japanese.
We saw and ate white strawberries for the first time. We saw a traditional Japanese home with a thatch roof that will last for 100+ years. We saw bonsai trees and gardens and shops and fish ponds with giant fish and markets. We ate a traditional Japanese meal in an authentic Japanese restaurant where no one spoke English except for us. The food was DELICIOUS and the portions were HUGE! Then we continued on to the Fifth Station.

Taiji is an exceptional tour guide: He was a very safe and capable driver. Even in the high traffic areas of Tokyo’s interstate, we felt we were in safe hands. His English is impeccable and he is extremely articulate. His manners are first rate and he was professional, observant and intuitive. He has a seemingly unending knowledge of Japanese history and culture.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you so much for giving me such an impressive comment.
You posted actually few days after my birthday and I felt like a gift for having the best comment I've ever had.

I felt like you found me at the right moment and we've had a wonderful day and you finally found your favorite picture of Mount Fuji at the end of the day. It was beautiful one and I'm also telling Mr. Tanaka that I will one day get one of his picture and bring it to my place.
I also learned from you about the shift of power in US from an objective angle and could have a fair understanding witch keeps on helping me every time I'm asked what I think of your new president from US guests.

Everything that took part of the service I did it because I don't think as a part of the job, but I myself enjoy or even love to do it and I appreciate so much that you could keep such good memory of the day.

I really hope that your wife is getting better and we will have the chance to meet again.

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/05/06
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Mt Fuji Pilgrimage Tour

Reviewed by: Nicca.p, 2016/11/13

We went on the private Mt. Fuji pilgrimage tour. Our tour guide was Taiji Endo. We all had a good time and our our guide was great! Very informative and a safe driver. He also gave us a good restaurant recommendation for lunch. We would definitely recomment the tour and our tour guide as well.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you very much for your comment. It was also great for me to attend your family. We've had a very nice day and I'm so happy that you enjoyed my plan. I hope you enjoyed the rest for your days in Japan. I wish I had more time to talk with you all and I really hope to see you again.

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2016/11/04
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]