SEIBU 1 Day Discount Train Pass for Tokyo and Saitama reviews, Tokyo tours & activities, fun things to do in Tokyo | VELTRA

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

SEIBU 1 Day Discount Train Pass for Tokyo and Saitama

Overall Rating

4.70 4.70 / 5

Reviews

30 reviews
Post a review

Highly recommended

Reviewed by: phoebe, 2018/06/02

Highly recommended especially if you are a nature lover, want to see the traditional side of Japan and want to know its culture and rich history.

There are lots of places to go to and choose from. A wide selection from seibu and saitama attractions. Not to mention the blossoming flowers on each season.

Unfortunately in our case we were too late for spring and too early for summer. Nevertheless, we still enjoyed the tour by going to Kawagoe to experience the edo period from the old building structures to the delicious local delicacy they offer. We also rented a bike which was very helpful to tour the whole area, else it will take a lot of time going from one location to another. So I must say this is a must to maximize your time at Kawagoe.

We also visited the anime museum to know its origin. Too bad we arrived few minutes late before closing time 'coz we got lost going to our destination. Thus, we were not able to enter and see how our favorite animes were made. But they were too kind and still accommodated us by giving us souvenir. So make sure to map out the designated location in your google maps app to save you from any trouble. Also, take note of the opening and closing time of the desired places you want to go to so you won't get disappointed.

Make it a point to plan the places you want to visit since most of it requires a bit of travel time. The brochure they gave us was very informative and helped us a lot on our trip. Don't forget to read all the details written on it.

To end our tour on a positive note, we endulged ourselves in a relaxing onsen experience at Toshemaen niwa no Yu to soothe our tired body and swollen feet. We got on the last train trip going back to our accommodation feeling refreshed and rejuvinated ready to embark on the next trip the following day.

  • Bell tower

  • Old buildings at kawagoe

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2018/05/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Comfortable and save you time

Reviewed by: Busakorn wara, 2018/05/07

Comfortable and save you time because you get not in line to buy the ticket
you can show the passport at counter seibu Ikebukuro station only (not seibu-shinjuku station) give a ticket for you immediately



Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/05/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great Deal for 1-day exploration! Recommended!

Reviewed by: Jlove, 2018/05/05

It was a great deal for a day pass. I explored areas during Shibazakura season and I was thrilled to visit the tourist spots.
I had a hard time though to find Seibu line tourist center in Ikebukuro station because I'm new here but managed to find it by asking.
It would be great if you can come earlier to find the center because it opens at 8 AM. It would also be helpful if you list all the tourist spots and stations you want to visit for smooth travel. I did not research at all and managed to plan my trip boarding the train with the help of the manuals they gave me along the ticket. I also end up skipping some spots because I board the express train and I am out of time to go back. All in all, I still do recommend this pass is a great deal for travelers. I may try this again with my friends.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/05/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A must have if you want a meaningful travel

Reviewed by: Rachee Francisco, 2018/03/18

My sister and I went home with so much meaningful memories. We bought this Seibu card ahead, got it with so much ease and got some freebies (so happy). We got an artsy postcard, a passpost holder and a membership card that grants discounts from Ski resorts. The freebies are seasonal so raise your hand if you got one too!!! ♥️ We came to visit Totoro's house but we failed to finish the trail. We met these two lovely people though who walked us through back the station. Indeed a humbling experience of generosity and love from stangers. Saitama will always have its place in our hearts.

I will be back for sure. One day is not enough to explore the beauty of Saitama. Please do visit Edo Open Air Architectural museum and Paleo Train (waaaay cheaper if you book your SL Paleo train from Veltra too). I recommendeded this to friends and they bought too - so excited d for them!

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Cool trip with friends

Reviewed by: Alexandra , 2018/02/26

My friends and I wanted to experience something a little bit different from the big city so we decided to go see the icicles in Ashigakubo. The trip from Ikebukuro to Ashigakubo and Chichibu takes around 1 and a half hour and is a different type of train compared to the ones in Tokyo, so we had our own sort of private space to chat while getting there and enjoy the scenery. Once we got to Ahigakubo we went to see the icicles, it was pretty interesting to see them and see how they make them by spraying water over them; after going around it there's a small hill and once you climb it you can get free tea or amasake, I recommend getting the amasake :). The ticket to go to the icicles is for a whole day so returning during the night is a must! We decided to go to Chichibu and explore it a little bit, had dinner and then went back to Ashigakubo to see the illumination, it was so worth it.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/17
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

What an experience!!

Reviewed by: SausomeSalsa, 2018/02/25

Not so much a restaurant as a show although the show was 99/10 and more than anyone could expect. AMAZING! Everything is well organised as well, I was surprised by the performances and organisation of each event. Recommend to anyone who wants a good time!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chichibu trip

Reviewed by: Anaru, 2018/02/06

We used this pass in order to visit Chichibu to see the sites that the movies “Anohana” and “Anthem of the Heart” were based on. Picking up the pass was really simple, we visited the Seibu Tourist Information center in Ikebukuro, showed them our voucher and proof that we were foreigners, and received are passes. The staff were friendly and helpful, and provided us with maps of the available Seibu routes that could be taken using this pass. To get to Chichibu, we opted to take the Red Arrow Limited Express train, which required an extra 700 yen limited express fare. All in all, travelling with the Seibu pass was quick, simple, and cheap. Thank you veltra!

  • Seibu-Chichibu Station

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/02/05
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Instagenic self-guided tour

Reviewed by: Chichibu Be With You, 2018/02/01

Our itinerary:
Our itinerary:
1.) Strawberry picking in Chichibu
2.) Chichibu Shrine
3.) Bamba Street
4.) Ashigakubo Icicles

A relaxing way to spend the weekend! The best thing about the tour being self-guided is that we could spend as much time as we wanted in each location. I particularly had fun at Bamba Street because nearly every corner was Instagrammable. Had fun taking photos!

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Strawberries and icecles

Reviewed by: ichigo, 2018/01/22

Gorgeous day with perfect weather, we went to one of the strawberry farms near Seibu Chichibu station for the all-you-can-eat strawberry picking (I managed to eat 34, they were incredibly sweet and wonderful). We then checked out Chichibu, nice retro town and shrine. Then we finished the evening at Ashigakubo, to see the icicles lit up after dark. We even got a free drink of amazake and there were fire stoves set up to keep off the chill.

Loved it, and recommend booking the Red Arrow ticket for the journey there, so you have longer to enjoy the daylight.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Strawberries and icicles

Reviewed by: ichigo, 2018/01/22

Gorgeous day with perfect weather, we went to one of the strawberry farms near Seibu Chichibu station for the all-you-can-eat strawberry picking (I managed to eat 34, they were incredibly sweet and wonderful). We then checked out Chichibu, nice retro town and shrine. Then we finished the evening at Ashigakubo, to see the icicles lit up after dark. We even got a free drink of amazake and there were fire stoves set up to keep off the chill.

Loved it, and recommend booking the Red Arrow ticket for the journey there, so you have longer to enjoy the daylight.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/01/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

A nice relax day using the pass visiting Kawagoe and Mitsui outlet mall

Reviewed by: Wee, 2017/12/18

Used the one day pass for Kawagoe and Mitsui outlet mall.
Enjoy the old town mood and architecture of Kawagoe in relaxing pace, walk along the town, have a nice lunch in 樂樂 sandwich cafe(delicious sandwich highly recommended) and end the day with outlet shopping. Settle dinner in the food atrium of Mitsui outlet mall with wide selection of food.
Very satisfied with the one day pass and enjoyed using it.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/01
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review for Seibu Pass

Reviewed by: Jazz, 2017/12/17

This SEIBU Pass is literally an unlimited train pass within Tokyo and Saitama and there is nothing more to say other than it's super convenient and a cost-saver! You don't have to wait in line to purchase tickets. Also, there are a lot of routes included on this pass so it's well worth the price. If you want to explore Tokyo and Saitama at your own pace we strongly suggest you book this!

  • Taken from Noninji temple

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review for Seibu Pass

Reviewed by: Phoebe, 2017/12/17

I highly recommend this! I would prefer using this than a guided tour. You'll have lots of adventure doing this on your own using the unlimited train pass to visit beautiful different places from parks/gardens, shrines, attractions and have cultural & historical experience.

  • Photo from Noninji temple

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chichibu yomatsuri

Reviewed by: Allan, 2017/12/07

Found this wonderful offer when browsed for transportation from tokyo to chichibu to witness chichibu yomatsuri on dec 3rd. The process was smooth and they even give brochures on what to explore area covered in the pass. Will order again when I'm back to Tokyo

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Chichibu Night Festival

Reviewed by: Marlon, 2017/12/05

I used this discounted pass last December 3 to visit Chichibu and experience its night festival. It was a massive event with a lot of food, sake, etc. After dark, lighted floats were pulled through the streets towards city hall and there were spectacular fireworks throughout the night. I will definitely purchase this pass on my next visit to Chichibu.

  • Float

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/12/03
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great route to outside tokyo

Reviewed by: Wut, 2017/12/02

Touch nature in rural area. And great holiday vacation in autumn relaxation with many tourist attractions such as museum and temple.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Seibu 1 Day Discount Train Pass for Tokyo and Saitama/Review Rebate

Reviewed by: Ling, 2017/11/14

We bought a one day seibu pass and the pass was so easy to use and convenient. Exchanging the veltra voucher for the ticket was fast at the tourist information counter at ikebukuro station. The station staff were friendly and helpful and gave us guide maps for the seibu route and told us the places we can explore. We used the guide by veltra to plan our day trips as we were ambitious and wanted to cover a few places. Our first stop was at kurosokhouse as we did not plan to hike through the totoro forest which would take hours. We took the train to kotesashi station then a local bus which was headed towards waseda university. A giant Totoro welcomed us at the door and it was so cute. We bought a few totoro badges as momentos and for our friends. Next we headed to grape picking at miyashin farm but it was at closed. Guess must be out of season. So we went to Kinchakuda Park although there were no more autumn leaves to see. We ended the day shopping Mitsui premium outlet before we headed back to Ikebukuro. Traveling with the seibu pass was easy and worth it. Thank you, Veltra!

  • kurosuke house

  • kinchakuda park

  • walk to miyashin farm

Rating:
Attended as:Couples
Activity Date:2017/11/11
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Best place to visit near Tokyo

Reviewed by: Jakkapatt, 2017/10/24

I took this Seibu train to Hanno station. Although it was a rainy day but the view along the road caught my attentions. There were a place called Kinchakuda where mountains and rice fields. I also saw some plum and several fruits all the way. The best part is in Chichibu where mountains and cloulds are their best friends..lol

  • Seibu Train

  • The cool ancient temple

  • The kid’s resort

  • Fruits farm

  • Male and a female..I guess

  • Kind a like temple

  • Along the road

  • Train station scenery

  • The rice field and the mountains

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/10/22
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Pleasant Day Out with Friends

Reviewed by: Velvet, 2017/10/12

Using the guide on VELTRA, we customized a day trip for ourselves. We wanted a relaxed day out, so we chose to go to Kinchakuda Park, Alishan Cafe and Moomin Park. These three are relatively close to each other so they were easy to go to.

It was already past peak season when we went to Kinchakuda Park, but we managed to see spider lilies in full bloom. Alishan Cafe was such a lovely place to eat and the food was good. My absolute favorite is Moomin Park. I felt like I was in a fairy tale! I would definitely go there again, perhaps on a weekday when there are less people.

I recommend planning your day carefully. You can visit many places using the pass, but it would be difficult to do them all in one day.

  • Moomin Park

  • Kinchakuda Park

  • Alishan Cafe

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Review for Hanno and Mitsui Outlet

Reviewed by: Khai Kun, 2017/10/11

In last week, I went Ikkebukuro station and looked for seibu tourist information center to get seibu 1 day pass which I bought. Although Veltra wrote the center is near by east exit of ikkebukuro station, I didn't find because it's situated nearby east entry of station and seibu line. So, if you plan to go there, please make sure which exit you are going out. Then I took seibu ikebukuro express to Hanno to visit Hanno, Koma, Iruhashi and Kokukoen regions. When I arrived Hanno, I asked information center about Hanno hiking trip till to Koma station through Mt. Tenran, Koma ridge and Kinchakuda garden. On the hiking way, some old men asked and told me that the spider Li Li in koen is now finished. It's really annoyed for me to go on my hiking. After arriving the midst of Mt. Tenran, I decided to get back to spare the time for other places. Then the way to that garden through koma ridge seemed to be very long way and not only forest journey. I believed that 2-3 hours for that hiking means walking without a rest. If you plan to see spider li li in such garden, you should plan before the end of September. Old men told me september 20 is the last time to see it beautifully. Then I went to irumashi to get Mitsui outlet because I like window shopping. I usually go to Ami outlet in ushiku. Mitsui is almost the same but it has 2 floors and Ami is just one floor, that's why Ami is wider. Shops in Mitsui including food court are narrower than Ami. But Mitsui is easier to get. Unfortunately my plan was terminated in Mitsui because I was late for my lunch and also my shopping took long time. Altough I really wanna get Tokorozawa aviation museum, I couldn't go because it close at 5 pm. For that trip, I just satisfy. If you plan to go just one spot for a day, one way tickets or suica may be cheaper but it depends on your spot. One point is that don't believe the pictures and informations on internet and guide book totally, the difference may make you to be disappointed.

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/10/09
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Spider Lily Festival

Reviewed by: FlowerPower, 2017/10/02

We used this pass to go see the spider lily fields in Koma, so pretty and ethereal! It looked like something out of a fairy tale. On the map on VELTRA we saw that the Moomin Park was nearby too, so we went to see that on the way back, very cute.
Exchanging the pass was easy, and we saved at least 1000 yen by using it. Would buy again.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/09/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]