This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more here

SEIBU 1 Day Pass + Nagatoro

Overall trip was good

Reviewed by: Amnard R. , 2018/05/20

The trip was fun, however,we need to change the voucher to actual train ticket at veltra booth which was located on the floor 1 of the station, but it is rather difficult to find, and the train officer did not aware of veltra voucher, so we spent a long time trying to find how to exchange voucher to ticket until we were almost missing the train. However, Nagator trip were overall very enjoy and recommend to those who had not tried.


  • On the train with my kids

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2018/04/28
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic views, delicious local food and one 1-Day-Pass

Reviewed by: CarlosInTokyo, 2018/04/08

Is all you needed to enjoy your stays in Chichibu. I picked up my pass on Saturday morning at exact 8 am, went for the first early morning train that left on 8:05 am, arrived at Seibu Chichibu station at around 9:45, then headed out to my final destination at Nagatoro station at 10:30.

It is April, but the temperature was about 10 degrees lower than in Tokyo, so please be prepared and well dressed.

Started off my hiking in Mount Hodo, it is an easy hike, only takes about 1 hour to reach the summit, you're guaranteed to have a panorama view of Chichibu. Also, sakura trees can be found on the mountain, still blooming. To save some time you can either go down the way you came or use the cable car, which costs 480 yen per adult.

Afterwards, I went to Nagatoro Iwadatami Rocks. If you want to go to the farthest point, it will take roughly 40 minutes. I didn't finish the route because there was a sign says "Wasp Ahead", I didn't want to take my chances so I went back. But the river, the overall view was beautiful and peaceful.

Ended my day back at Seibu Chichi station, went to Hitsujiyama Park where you can see the more popular 芝桜の丘, but right now isn't the best season, only 50% of the flowers bloomed, maybe in May it's the best time.

Overall, it was an amazing trip for me. I enjoyed Chichibu quite a lot. Just for one day getaway from Tokyo, this pass is definitely worth it.


  • Nagatoro Iwadatami Rocks


  • Hodo Shrine


  • Mount Hodo


  • Hitsujiyama Park

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/04/07
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Agano Hiking

Reviewed by: Mochomu, 2018/03/26

Used the pass to go on a 4-hour hike from Agano to Higashi Agano. The trail was a lot trickier than I expected and I regret not wearing hiking boots. Overall it was a pretty good workout. We got to see both cherry and plum blossoms, too!




Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/24
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Easy process

Reviewed by: Laura, 2018/03/21

It was pretty easy to get this pass though
the staff did ask me for my “my number” which is the equivalent to my Social Security number because I’m a resident in Japan. This was not listed on the website of things I needed to bring in order to pick up the pass. It’s unclear if it was a communication issue or something that should be added. As I don’t carry that document with me I told them I didn’t have it, I was still able to pick it up. Also it would be nice if I would be able to pick this pass up the day before just because it takes quite a while to get to chichibu from ikebukuro so if I were on a time crunch I don’t think I’d use it again.

Reply from activity provider

Thank you for your message and using our “SEIBU 1 Day Pass + Nagatoro”.
And we apologize for making you confuse at when you pick up our pass.
When we confirm identification, we usually check the passport (or something we could check foreigners.) and booking number.
Maybe our staff wants check the booking number but because of our guide, there was a misunderstanding.
Also for the pickup date… currently we could not able to change the pickup date because of our system. But we are now considering to updating it.

Once again thank you for your message and we apologize for the inconvenience.
We look forward to seeing you again in Seibu Line.

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2018/03/19
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Fantastic...

Reviewed by: Sunny S., 2018/03/18

What can I say... This day pass experience left us speechless. You have got to try this if you are on the fence. We were skeptical in the beginning like most first timers would be, but we gambled on the chance and the benefits of purchasing the daypass was so much worthy, way more than what we expected...

Rating:
Attended as:Families
Activity Date:2018/03/14
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Iconic Icicles in Misotsuchi Wintersweet Flower and its Fragrance Hot Spring bath

Reviewed by: Maribel, 2018/01/10

Iconic spot of winter.

The icicles of Misotsuchi is an artistic work of nature. It is a frozen waterfall on the Arakawa river and one of the famous for its natural environment . It can be seen from the middle of January till middle of February. They also look superb when lit up between 5:00pm and 9:00pm.

this photo taken by me using iphone6 plus only but worth enough carrying it strolling around country side .
Amazing and incredibly beautiful, its the beauty of nature, it's also freezing cold to stay long at the place.. hahaha
I also went up again in Hodousan Yama to see beautiful “Wintetsweet flower” and enjoy its fragrance. On my way back to Tokyo I dropped by in Hot spring bath in Chichibu. Worth going for the second time. Definitely I will be back in Summer or in May for Nagatoro Boating or rafting.

Thank youfor this addordable train pass. Looking forward pass for different destinations.

Maribe Osawa
1.8.2018













Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2018/01/08
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

I travel December 30, 2017 from 8:00 am to 8:30 pm Nagatoro, Hodossn yama, Ashikagubo, Chichibu onsen worth traveling..

Reviewed by: Maribe, 2018/01/03

I w ent to Hodosan Jinja and took the ropeway to Hodosan Yama . It was a bit windy and cold, wintersweet wad starting to bloom . Dropped by at the zoo and buy souvenir. Then we went to Ashikagubo viewed icicles along the river. Its was amazing, i thought of frozen movie that turned to reality. But, sad to say we wasn’t able to go to Misotsuchinotsurara because its still close for viewing. Anyway, I enjoy the rides on the train. Its worth going..











Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/12/30
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Well spent autumn day

Reviewed by: Marlon, 2017/11/27

We used this special discount day pass last November 23rd to visit Nagatoro.
Pick up of the pass from Seibu Tourist Information Center Ikebukuro went smoothly; staff gave us brochures and instructed us to pick up a special souvenir at Seibu-Chichibu station.We arrived at Nagatoro Station around noon and decided to firstly grab a bite before sightseeing. After lunch, we purchased tickets for river boating course A for JPY1,600 per person, and we were transferred from the station to boat boarding point near Oyahana bridge by minibus. We enjoyed the 20-minute river boating along Arakawa River. It was fun, and the autumn scenery was really amazing. The highlight of the boat ride was the viewing of the huge rock terrace called Iwadatami from the boat. After several minutes of taking pictures at Iwadatami, we walked back from there to Nagatoro station and headed to Hodosan Shrine.This shrine with elaborate wood carvings is dedicated to the guardian deity to ward off fires and thefts. We walked back to Nagatoro station and boarded the train to Kami Nagatoro to see Japanese maples at Tsukinoishi Momiji Park. We stayed there until 6 PM to see the light up and started our journey back to Tokyo from Kami Nagatoro.
Planning the itinerary is so easy as there is a promotional information on the Veltra website. Information on sightseeing spots is very specific and helpful (i.e. what to see and expect the nearest station and how minutes of walking required to be there). The train ride itself was very comfortable and transferring to the next line is very convenient. I will definitely purchase this pass on my next visit to Chichibu and Nagatoro.


  • Iwadatami


  • Hodosan Shrine


  • River Boating


  • Tsukinoishi Momiji Park

Rating:
Attended as:Friends
Activity Date:2017/11/23
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Great value for a fun day in Chichibu

Reviewed by: Pang, 2017/11/25

This ticket will allow you to go around Chichibu area (plus Nagatoro cruising). It's really worth it if you would like to check out nature scenes not too far from Tokyo. It was not so crowded when I was there even though another parts like Kamakura and Kawagoe were full of tourists which is a good thing!

Rating:
Attended as:Solo Travelers
Activity Date:2017/11/20
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Classic station at nagatoro

Reviewed by: Kanokkorn Promkorn , 2017/10/22

our first time in Japan for 1 week weather so bad everyday raining. We book this program in advance and fortunately choose a lucky day that’s only 1 sunny day in Tokyo and Nagatoro, we travel with daughter age 3 years she can join nagatoro white water rafting they selling children ticket start from 3 years I trust this country they concern about children if they can sell tickets for children that’s mean don’t worry. My daughter she was very happy and excited along the way surrounding by nature ,fresh air, on the way staff waited on the rock we have taken our photo, Before destination some paper form was bring from the others passengers that is registration form for get our photos but we don’t know what does it mean (form no English ) and all japanese passengers didn’t want it ,no one filled . so we missed it .However we highly recommend this place, visit here before crowded


  • Destination After boat trip


  • Peaceful Nagatoro station


  • Seibu-Chichibu station

Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Nagatoro white water rafting experience

Reviewed by: Praphat Promkorn , 2017/10/22

We buy seibu 1day pass+nagatoro for nagatoro white water rafting(boat trip pay more 1,600 yen / person for adults and 800 yen /person for child)This place quite new the most tourist are Japanese , so all staff can communicate a little English but they were tried to service us, 2 staff who control the boat they was described everything around (I guess) they speak only japanese, along the way surrounding by rock many small waterfalls and trees but my pocket wifi was work well. There are many restaurants and desserts at nagatoro station after boat trip we walk to ....shrine along the way we found many cute cafe but didn’t try. All people in this city are friendly ,slow life style. We were fascinated Here is different from Tokyo, train station work without ticket insert so IC card , Passmo card doesn’t work here on electronic timetable but we think is very classic!! We needed to spend the time here as long as we can. Hope to visit here again and again.





Rating:
Attended as:Families with Young Children
Activity Date:2017/10/18
Was this comment helpful? [Yes]

Tokyo Categories